Travel Macau, Inc Zhuhai

zstan
post Oct 1 2012, 09:24 AM

15,856 posts

Hi all. May i know how do i take a ferry from zhu hai to hong kong? which port should i go? any shuttle bus from zhu hai or need to take taxi? how much is the ferry cost? duration? time? anywhere i can read about the info? thanks!
zstan
post Oct 1 2012, 10:05 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 1 2012, 09:52 AM)
from zhuhai, go to 九洲港 and take ferry to HK. google 珠海九洲港 to see their website of all their ferry schedule . you can choose which port in HK you want to go from there, either 中港城 or 港澳码头, however, prepare to queue up super long for immigration lolx

also, they got ferry that directly reach HK airport too if you are directly going to airport

where are you staying in zhuhai?  it should cost less than RMB30 from gongbei border to  珠海九洲港, journey maybe 15minutes or so. For bus, i don't know d tongue.gif

if you are staying in zhuhai, please go and eat at 伙工殿, 毛家饭馆,满庭湘 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
alright thanks for the tip.

i am staying at 珠海银座艺术酒店. dunno where's that. i following a tour but they have 2 free days so i decide to run to hong kong la if my parents allow me tongue.gif

hmm if that's the case. then i should probably find an accomodation which is nearby the harbour instead. hmm.gif

ah okay. what's nice at the restaurant? biggrin.gif
zstan
post Oct 1 2012, 12:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 1 2012, 10:41 AM)
hm...don't find hotels near to the harbour. Nothing much to do there. Zhuhai is quite a boring place, nothing much to do de for tours. But for gals, it's quite a shopping heaven especially at the gongbei underground shopping complex

btw, i just google your hotel, 珠海九洲港 is very near to your hotel. Taxi will just cost abit over RMB10 (which is the starting price of the taxi). Staying there seriously nothing much to do, should stay at GongBei area, which more than 5km from where you are staying.

order anything spicy at those restaurants...mwahaha. Although i just back from there less than a week, i already miss the dishes there  drool.gif  drool.gif

PS: do you like gadgets, electronic stuff?
sorry i should be more clear. the harbour i was referring to is at hong kong. still unsure where should i stay so that i can go back to zhu hai/macau via ferry to catch my flight without much hassle. ohhh i see. that's why i thought i wanted to escape to hong kong!! biggrin.gif

ah i see. thanks for the heads up. i am not very sure whether i am staying at that hotel or not because its up to my tour package. following parents laugh.gif

ooooo.. ok thanks for the tip icon_rolleyes.gif

yeah i guess so. is it cheap in macau/zhuhai? biggrin.gif
zstan
post Oct 1 2012, 12:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 1 2012, 12:48 PM)
ahh i see...yea, choosing a hotel near to it will be better since you going back zhuhai again. anyway, travelling from zhuhai to HK is pretty easy because almost every 30 mins there are 1 ferry to there liao, just that you need to spend real long to enter HK at the immigration (last time i spend 90minutes there, just at the part to enter HK)

btw, just asking, your flight back to malaysia is from macau?

well, if you been to HK before, and you like electronics stuff, you shud go to shenzhen computer city, it's amazing there.

but if you never been to HK, then just go HK lo.
wahhh. then i better not plan anything heavy in the morning. what about going back to zhu hai? should be less congested right.

yeap from macau.

awwww. i think shenzhen is a bit too far lar. hahaha
zstan
post Oct 10 2012, 09:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 1 2012, 01:02 PM)
yea..that time i think i arrive HK harbor at around 10am, almost 12pm only settle. because that harbour handles alot of ppl coming from different place, hence super pack.

Going back zhuhai is super fast, because it only handles that few ferries. usually take less than 10 minutes (actually i takes 1minute if you are the 1st person to go  out from the ferry lolx)

and dei, the time needed from zhuhai to shenzhen , is the same as from zhuhai to HK la. also around 60 to 70minutes. but then, HK more things to do lo
the harbour in HK is it Hong Kong – Macau Ferry Terminal? trying to find out what is the last ferry i could catch to go back to zhuhai on that night :/

According to this website its 9.30pm but i don't know how reliable it is.

http://www.travelchinaguide.com/cityguides...ion/ship-hz.htm

so right now i think its best to enter hong kong via Hong Kong China Ferry Terminal and then leave via that hk-macau ferry terminal. hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Oct 10 2012, 09:55 PM
zstan
post Oct 11 2012, 10:27 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 11 2012, 10:23 PM)
you know how to read chinese?

if yes, then please visit

http://www.zhjzg.com/ship.asp?id=1
港澳码头 = hong kong macau ferry?
中港城码头 = china hong kong ferry?

what currency is this ¥175 ? yen a? unsure.gif

zstan
post Oct 11 2012, 11:38 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 11 2012, 11:37 PM)
港澳码头 is at hong kong island

中港城码头 is at kowloon, the big shopping mall at tsim sha tsui area
¥175 is RMB lo
Ohhh okay i think i pretty much figured out how to get around now. Thanks!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

means RM175 to and flo la omggggg rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
zstan
post Nov 28 2012, 12:14 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Nov 27 2012, 12:10 AM)
how is xmas celebration in macau?
beautiful or not?
there is already a christmas tree building in process at Dai Sam Ba biggrin.gif
zstan
post Dec 5 2012, 11:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ Dec 5 2012, 02:48 PM)
@stimix, thanks for the assurance.

In all my previous oversea travel, I usually booked directly through the hotel website as it will have my reservation captured immediately after booking. I since found out from reading in LYN that it is cheaper to book through Agoda so that's why I just wanted to check with those who have booked through Agoda before. I will give them a call by end of this week to confirm my reservation.

In fact I just booked 4 nights in a hotel in Mongkok through Agoda after checking that their rate is much lower than the hotel published rack rate and/or promotional rate. Given that it is during Christmas I am happy that the rate in Agoda is very competitive compared to other hotel booking engines.

So I am all set to go on my trip to Macau then HK. I will be travelling with Cathay Pacific as I managed to get their promotion fare two weeks ago.

Thanks for all the help.
i didn't even bother to call the hotel when i booked through agoda. just showed up on the day, showed them my confirmation slip and got my room laugh.gif
zstan
post Dec 5 2012, 11:42 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ Dec 5 2012, 11:40 PM)
Haha, salute you lah. It is better to be sure than to be sorry. Thanks anyway.
my 2 person room got upgraded to a 4 person room as well for no reason icon_rolleyes.gif
zstan
post Dec 6 2012, 12:53 PM

15,856 posts

Water fountain show at Wynn Hotel which I recorded biggrin.gif

zstan
post Dec 7 2012, 11:46 AM

15,856 posts

Crossing the border to Zhu Hai is crazy lah! Took me 3 freaking hours! My first and last time.
zstan
post Dec 7 2012, 11:55 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 7 2012, 11:55 AM)
u cross from where to where? at what time? lolx
Zhu Hai back to Macau. About 12pm. 3pm only managed to reach Macau. doh.gif
zstan
post Dec 7 2012, 11:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 7 2012, 11:58 AM)
oh...lolx really a? too bad for u liao haha

weekdays? coz that time i sunday i pass around lunch time too, not so long

3 hours is worst of the worst! haha
yeap. friday afternoon. from macau to zhuhai not too bad. 1 hour plus. this one really crazy. dunno why go back macau all the lanes same. D: at least zhuhai immigration got special lane for foreigners. really not worth la hahaha

Added on December 8, 2012, 12:21 am
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 7 2012, 08:07 PM)
Paling sien is when you queue up from to pass macau imi from macau to zhuhai..those PRC cut queue like nobody business..once, after cut queue the guy even dare to turn back and ask the person in front of me..you angry or not? sure not angry la....tattooo here and there  sweat.gif
LOL thumbup.gif my time there no place for u to cut queue also unless your face damn bloody thick can squeeze here n there

This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 8 2012, 12:21 AM
zstan
post Dec 10 2012, 02:59 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(crazyhoong0101 @ Dec 10 2012, 01:13 PM)
I wil be going to Macau + HK trip on 21st of Jan. Any nice, clean, convinient and affordable hotel recommended? i m looking for Grandview Hotel @ Taipa, Macau and Kings De Nathan Hotel @ yau ma tei, HK. Any comment? :-D
i stayed at grand view. not bad biggrin.gif but maybe a bit far from those tourist attractions
zstan
post Jan 3 2013, 03:41 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jan 3 2013, 03:10 PM)
Why not stay at Gongbei, Zhuhai ? For that price, can get 4-5 star hotel.
Just a 5-10 minute walk from Macau/China immigration.

A lot of shopping can be done at Gongbei there, mainly for female.
Male go eat standard egg-tarts hot from oven from shops there, I think it is nicer than Macau Portugese egg-tart.
lol. to cross that immigration alone would already take you 1.5 hours per way at least. not a wise decision unless you don't mind squeezing around with rude chinese nationals and have a lot of time to burn.
zstan
post Jan 3 2013, 03:46 PM

15,856 posts

[URL=Macau Trip 2012 - Ma Zu Temple (媽祖廟)]My Webpage[/URL]

Since my flight was around 6.30am I had to be at the airport by 4a.m for check in purposes. This means I only had about 2 hours of sleep that night and it was only during the afternoon the day before I came back from Penang @_@. Anyway the flight arrived right on time at the Macau International Airport and a cooling air greeted us as the skies indicated that its about the pour anytime soon.

As soon as we emerged from the arrival hall our tour guide met up with us and soon we were on our way to some western food restaurant for lunch. Throughout the journey he began to brief us all about Macau and how small the whole country is. Basically there's only a few reasons people outside of China mainland come to Macau. Firstly its no other than its grand and luxurious casinos and second being a stop over point from Hong Kong. After the not so hearty meal (fried dory fish + rice +red wine) we proceeded to our first tourist spot of the day, Ma Zu Temple! It started to drizzle as soon as we stepped out of the bus. The weather forecast was indeed spot on.

Along the way to the temple there were many wall murals which are pretty unique and cartoonish. Street photographers will definitely love these.

The temple is like no other temple, with its own unique architecture. Macau residents are mainly Christians or those who worship this god/ Guan Yin, I won't actually label them as Buddhists though. Hence, the significance of this temple. However at this time my feet was still hurting so I didn't really bother to explore around, especially those that involved stairs :/

zstan
post Jan 5 2013, 06:59 PM

15,856 posts

Koi Kei Pastry (鉅記手信)

Actually, there's another reason for people to come to Macau, which is for their egg tarts!! Koi Kei Pastry is a very established brand here at Macau and you are bound to bump to this shop as they are everywhere! The first shop that I encountered was nearby Ma Zu Temple and it was really my first time tasting such delicious egg tarts! Another big shop that I found was located at St. Paul's street area. Major casinos will definitely have their branches in it.

What makes these egg tarts so special is the pastry. It's really fragrant and crispy unlike any other I've tried in Malaysia. The egg filling is also really delicious as it instantaneously melts once you put the tart in your mouth. The tarts sells out really fast hence they are always freshly baked. Besides egg tarts, Koi Kei also has an assortment of other goodies like almond cookies, and so forth and are all selling really well. So if you plan to buy some back be sure to be at the shop early, and perhaps fight with a long queue at certain outlets.

Of course, there are other shops selling egg tarts and purist will tell you that they taste better. To me I can't taste the difference because they all really seem so tantalising to me xD Another famous egg tart seller seem to be from Cafe de Nata or more famously known as Margeret.

Directions to the pastry shop by AskDs (Thanks!):

It is at least about 15 minutes walk (casual) from the entrance to Senado Square. From Senado Square, walk left toward Grand Lisboa, along Avenida do Infante D. Henrique road, you'll find Luk Fook Jewelly at the corner (from here you can see the whole of Grand Lisboa hotel). Turn left at Luk Fook Jewelly, and immediately turn left into an alley, you should be able to see the Margaret Cafe e. Nata sign on the wall as you about to turn into the alley. Click here to see the place on Google Maps.

This post has been edited by zstan: Nov 21 2013, 11:14 PM
zstan
post Jan 7 2013, 03:53 PM

15,856 posts

Ruins of St. Paul/Dai Sam Ba (大三巴) and St. Paul Street

As the skies opened in torrent, we moved onwards to our next destination which was Macau's most significant symbol : the ruins of St Paul or Dai Sam Ba in Cantonese. It was raining quite heavily now and everyone was either donning a rain coat or having an umbrella in their hands. Taking photographs with an umbrella with one hand and a 1kg DSLT in another proves quite challenging as I did not bring along my camera strap for this trip. It is also here that I realised that I have forgotten to bring my battery charge so I only had 2 batteries for the next 4 days and I had to really conserve and squeeze every juice out of it. For the record I managed to take almost 1000 shots including a 2 minute full HD video using the a77.

Since it was raining quite heavily, the skies were very dull and gloomy, which was kind of reflected in the photos. There's nothing much of interest at the ruins here unless you are a very historical person who wants to know what was the purpose of this structure.

Going down the stairs brings you the St Paul streets which reminded me of Korea's Myeongdong and Namdaemun in a way. There are a lot of shops and eateries here for tourists to shop and eat around while enjoying the cooling wind, especially in the evening. I only explored this area on my last day back in Macau in an extremely rushed manner and I will certainly come back here to visit again at a slower pace.

There seems to be only one souvenir shop in this area and I bought some casino look alike chips for my friends and some other goodies. The chips were relatively cheap. only 40HKD for 12 pieces. Oh by the way, you could use Hong Kong dollars in Macau as well instead of Macau dollars as their value are roughly the same. Some shops even accept China's Ren Min Bi but the exchange rate is much higher.

This post has been edited by zstan: Nov 21 2013, 11:15 PM
zstan
post Jan 7 2013, 05:50 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ Jan 7 2013, 04:11 PM)
Looks like they are starting to dismantled those Christmas tree at Senado Square when you visited. When I was there 4 days before Christmas, they were all lighted up.

Also, probably because of the rain, there is less tourist at the Ruins of St. Paul. When I was there on 20th Dec, the whole place was full of tourists from China taking group photo. They virtually occupied the whole staircase so much so we can't find a spot to take photos.

On the way back after visited the Macau Museum, they close off the landing area in front of the facade and prepared for a parade. Many participants dressed in Portugese costumes are lining up for the parade on the road (on the left of the flower area in your photo) leading to the facade. It was almost impossible to get out of the area without pushing our way through. We didn't stay for the parade as it got too crowded and went off to find Margaret Cafe e Nata. Unfortunately it was closed for that day so we had Lord Stow's portuguse tarts instead in the evening.
nope. i went before christmas. they were just starting to build the tree laugh.gif yeah the rain was quite annoying sad.gif

QUOTE(AskDS @ Jan 7 2013, 04:48 PM)
Margaret Cafe is not situated here Ruins of St. Paul. It is at least about 15 minutes walk (casual) from the entrance to Senado Square. Here is what I remembered when I was there last month.

From Senado Square, walk left toward Grand Lisboa, along Avenida do Infante D. Henrique road, you'll find Luk Fook Jewelly at the corner (from here you can see the whole of Grand Lisboa hotel). Turn left at Luk Fook Jewelly, and immediately turn left into an alley, you should be able to see the Margaret Cafe e. Nata sign on the wall as you about to turn into the alley.

Attached is an image from Google map of the sign:
Click Margaret Cafe e Nata for the Google map location

I read in some blogs that Margaret Cafe is closed on Wednesday but when I was there on a Thursday, it was closed!
thanks for the information. will edit it in my post! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif hmm maybe they were closed for christmas celebrations? laugh.gif honestly i can tell the tastes apart blush.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Jan 7 2013, 05:56 PM

0.0423sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:57 PM