Nokia Lumia 1020 & Various Nokia M$ Talk, RM2,499 with camera grip.

andrekua2
post Jul 11 2013, 05:13 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Jul 11 2013, 12:36 PM)
i can see less fish-eye distorted on L1020
now what backing me off is ..functionality wise in Symbian compared to WP..
What is it that you can do with Symbian that you cant with WP...

andrekua2
post Jul 12 2013, 12:09 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ Jul 11 2013, 11:22 PM)
You can zoom out from the image, even if you've zoomed in to take the shot.

shocking.gif
You won't be this shock of you know that every zoom shot is basically a cropped shot.
andrekua2
post Jul 12 2013, 12:17 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Jul 12 2013, 12:05 AM)
smaller sensor, bigger aperture!  shocking.gif

I don't know if it is oke but, I'll be definitely love to see its review!

and where the hell is its 2nd rich recording mics? I don't see it!!  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
That explain my suspicion on how they managed to thin it down so much.
andrekua2
post Jul 12 2013, 07:00 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(SJ Chua @ Jul 12 2013, 03:49 PM)
http://pureviewclub.com/2013/15270

this post quite detailed into the camera optics part...
for example lumia 1020 has a RGB sensor for better white balance than 808
I wonder if pureview got this info correctly. No mentioning that it will have rgb color filter. In fact, it explained about bayer color filter and how oversampling helps.
andrekua2
post Jul 12 2013, 08:44 PM

13,468 posts

Some Nokia fans are a funny bunch. Before EOS, pray it will happen. After it happened, dream it never happened.

If you can't keep up, that's your Damn problem. Work harder so that you could afford it.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Jul 12 2013, 09:10 PM
andrekua2
post Jul 12 2013, 09:10 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jul 12 2013, 09:03 PM)
Every OS and phone also got these kind of people de lah  whistling.gif
Just buy what you're comfortable with and use the phone for 2-3 years. After that change again.  biggrin.gif
True also
andrekua2
post Jul 13 2013, 07:36 AM

13,468 posts

Gsmarena sounds like wanna kill somebody for ruining their dream phone...

Certainly, the only cameraphone that can come close to the Lumia 1020 output is the Nokia 808 PureView with its even larger sensor. As we already mentioned we compared those two side by side and found that Nokia has slightly altered the processing algorithms in its new cameraphone flagship.
Unlike the 808 PureView, which delivered natural colors that are as close to reality as we've seen any smartphone get, the Lumia 1020 goes for boosted saturation and warmer colors. We suspect this has a lot to do with the former head of Nokia imaging Damian Dinning leaving the company. Mr Dinning was a fan of more natural unprocessed look and most Nokia smartphones developed under his lead reflected that.
Now the Lumia 1020 takes a different path and goes for the punchier output even if that means sacrificing some detail. The saturation boost has cost the Lumia 1020 some fine detail, which is still present on the 808 PureView shots. We really hope Nokia tunes down the default saturation in the final product as those who like more vibrant colors can always boost the saturation from the camera settings.
andrekua2
post Jul 13 2013, 09:19 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Jul 13 2013, 07:42 AM)
Good morning bro.
I kinda see your point there, I guess we kinda have different perspective on the variant I supposed.
According to your perspective, 1020 Zoom and 1020 Active will only be considered as variant as they are based on the 1020 the flagship.
However, in my perspective, I actually treat the Lumia 920 as the flagship of the first WP8, and 925 & 928 are the variant that are based on the L920. I don't know how others people actually think of this.
So I guess this is where our opinions conflicted... haha...
As for the delay, I know Nokia has the problem of undersupplying their flagship devices usually worldwide.. however, this problem is not only plagued on Nokia flagship alone, I think Apple iPhone 5 also has similar issue, where the phone is available about September 2012 while us Malaysians can actually get it in December 2012 IIRC (or November?)
So I guess this is the fate that us Malaysians usually have to accept and get used to it now. Haha...
But still I agree to your point that Nokia should keep up with their flagship phone timeline delivery issue.

As for the December phone, I guess it will be based on the new chasis that runs WP 8.1 that will allow quadcore and 1080 resolution, so yeah... but I kinda doubt they will release a 41MP Pureview on that device, most likely they will try other innovation perhaps focusing on the Speakers or Pelican technology.

Just my two cents  wink.gif  wink.gif

on a side note, is there any difference between AMOLED and Oled +?
Although I still prefer IPS SLCD due to the color production is more accurate, but if OLED or AMOLED can improve the battery consumption, then hey I'm all in for that. Just hope they didn't over saturated it like Samsung phone did most of the time, Vibrant and vivid but just fake.
PS: HTC ONE SLCD is superb.
AMOLED is based on Pentile matrix, RG/BG. AMOLED Plus is Samsung own version of AMOLED with full RGB.

You choose the very wrong comparison. Apple did have problem supplying enough but the numbers they sold is probably tens of millions unit whereas the whole Lumia series, I wonder if it even exceed 10 millions unit.
andrekua2
post Jul 13 2013, 09:41 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Jul 13 2013, 09:30 AM)
yeah, i noticed that sales volume of Nokia and Apple are different. Just trying to say that Malaysians or some other countries are just getting the phone delayed for a couple of months. It doesn't matter the volume, just the fact that the phones are delivered region by region and we are getting them much later than Singapore, USA, Europe etc.
So we cannot blame Nokia alone for being delivering the products so late. By your logic, we can say the same for Apple and Samsung. Samsung GS4 and GS3 has much more sales than iPhone (IIRC, I could be wrong), but still why can Samsung get them available for sale here while Apple cannot?

Anyway, so AMOLED = OLED?  rclxub.gif
Oh... I didnt realized that you were referring to OLED. The + simply reminded me straight to AMOLED PLUS.

Anyway, you can google instead of asking me really.

OLED = Organic Light Emitting Diode

AMOLED = Active Matrix OLED

Same or not... You google and see.
andrekua2
post Jul 16 2013, 02:39 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Jul 16 2013, 11:54 AM)
yeah, but what I really like is the ability to crop any picture at high resolution after the photo is taken. So no need to keep adjusting and zooming here and there just to find the perfect size on the spot. haha...
Hope that Pelican tech is upgrade-able via software updates and this will make L1020 the perfect camera phone.
There's no pelican tech...
andrekua2
post Jul 17 2013, 12:41 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Jul 16 2013, 07:24 PM)
true. very true. the pic quality too high, very difficult to upload sometimes.  nod.gif
Not difficult but Fb very bad cause they had a limit for every image uploaded. Once your file exceeded the limit and they resize or resave it, the quality is very bad.
andrekua2
post Jul 31 2013, 09:11 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 30 2013, 10:48 AM)
6 lens or 6 elements  unsure.gif
The lenses are usually refer to as elements.
andrekua2
post Aug 9 2013, 09:31 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(jbb_lkh @ Aug 9 2013, 02:15 AM)
Have I been away from the Phone thread too long? Seeing most of the folks from the previous Nokia N8 thread makes me feel so at home when I'm reading the threads here in 1020. My initial decision was to get a 925, however when I was searching up for 1020 (no harm searching), I can consider my backside itchy already. LOL!!!

I'm still using my faithful Nokia N8 (not ashamed but bottom cover very loose already) and back then I was counting down with the LOWYAT folks on the Symbian flagship. Come to think of it, it's been close to 3 years and I still haven't make my final decision until this thread. Feel so at home!
You wouldn't itch so much if you bought the RM999 808.
andrekua2
post Aug 19 2013, 11:26 PM

13,468 posts

2.5K total damage?

Oh man, that's a pretty steep price to pay...
andrekua2
post Sep 19 2013, 08:36 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(anwarmatlani @ Sep 19 2013, 07:49 PM)
http://asia.cnet.com/nokia-lumia-1020-avai...25-62222419.htm

Waaaa Nokia Malaysia really kaw kaw ahh with the price. If convert to USD about $789. In US they sold it for $659 only.
Plus the grip and external charger, more or less the same. Why bundle two external battery charger? To make it even bulkier?
andrekua2
post Sep 20 2013, 02:57 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Sep 20 2013, 01:02 PM)
the good thing about 1020, i pretend take pic of my frens but actually take the chick pic sitting far opposite...then can zoom until just make pic of that chick... biggrin.gif
Yeah... I wonder if 1020 can do better.

On 808, really need good lighting then only can capture sharp enough after zoom. Tried capture someone from 50m away medium lit indoor using 808, the result is so so only. Can recognize the person but no details at all. Tried again with someone from 10m away, and seem much better.

Capturing people details is harder than say a car lor...

0.0236sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:03 PM