Science How Do You Write Masters/ PhD Thesis Quickly?

[PF] T.J.
post May 29 2013, 12:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Madonna Britney @ May 17 2013, 01:37 PM)
This thread is created for those of you who had experience in writing thesis for Masters and PhD. How do you write the thesis quickly? What are some of the problems that occurred when you wrote the thesis?
Any help/ guidance from you guys are much appreciated  cheers.gif
Based on my experience, the fastest way of writing thesis is to focus on publishing papers 1st.
[phD students in UM are required to publish 2 ISI papers 1st before they can plan to submit their thesis]

After publishing that 2 papers (related to your field, that is), its more or less just copy and paste + a little bit of elaboration to finish up your thesis writing. I spent alot of my time instead in doing paperwork for thesis submission and also polishing (putting in figures, formatting etc.) the thesis doh.gif

[PF] T.J.
post May 29 2013, 12:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Beauty Paradise @ May 28 2013, 12:00 AM)
Ask the seniors to help!!! it always work!!
Good advice~
Its best to learn from other's mistake rather than to go through them yourself laugh.gif
But always be sure to be appreciative of your seniors' advice and guidance icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post May 29 2013, 03:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 29 2013, 02:15 PM)
As an experienced postdoc in biological science, I'm sure you have lots of valuable advices to prevent some impending pitfalls. Since Madonna Britney has to learn to publish papers, her concern is probably back to square one, “How to publish research papers quickly?” Perhaps you can tell what needs to happen for publishing papers quickly. icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the input bro notworthy.gif

Whether one can publish paper quickly depends on a lot of factors i.e. supervisor quality, facilities, helpfulness of lab members etc. and even luck! haha laugh.gif
Most of these factors are not really in our hands anyway, so what we can do is try to improve ourselves nod.gif

Apart from dedication and hard work, a postgraduate student should read more articles related to his/her field, so that he/she will have a better idea on what to write and focus on for the paper. This is especially true for those with poorer command of English hmm.gif
And the other thing is to try to publish paper as soon as possible. I noticed that most of my colleagues tend to accumulate ALOT of data (even more than what's required for a paper) and have yet to start writing anything. This may be because of:
1. Supervisor being "greedy" or "pessimistic". 1st timers (us) wouldn't know how much is enough for publication anyways so we listen to our supervisors, who are not always correct laugh.gif.

2. Poor command of English/ Scared of writing. This appears to be true among my Chinese friends who seemed to have a harder time expressing their thoughts and ideas in papers. I've noticed that the Westerners can simply write ALOT out of something simple, whereas we write very little out of ALOT of data laugh.gif

My advice is to write early. Don't worry too much about language since you could always ask friends/supervisors or even pay for proofreading anyways. What's important is the data, which will undoubtedly "expire" if not published ASAP. Its a competitive world sad.gif
As for how much data is actually required for a decent paper; it will be hard to "estimate" for the 1st paper (especially if the supervisor is not being helpful), but it can only get easier as one publishes more papers. My advice is to try consulting seniors or other supervisors who are more helpful, they will show you the way icon_rolleyes.gif

Just my 2 cents~

[PF] T.J.
post May 29 2013, 09:22 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 29 2013, 03:53 PM)
Hi Tanji,

(1) How many postgraduate students (by research) in Malaysia? Suddenly, I've got an idea. icon_idea.gif

(2) I noticed that you have been consistently giving lots of practical and valuable advices to the research students. Not to mention that you are also Dr Notebook. laugh.gif

(3) If you write a 100~150-page self-help book in this topic and this book is priced under RM 20.00, most of them will benefit from your Midas touch in a lot of areas, i.e. academic, time management, communication skills, research skills, software & equipment, ethics, publications, working with RTM2, traveling, etc. icon_rolleyes.gif

(4) Plant a tree, write a book, and have a child... that's what Jose Marti said when he was asked what every man ought to do before he dies. You worked on seaweeds (Kappaphycus and Eucheuma Sea Bird's Nests), didn't you? Because writing a thesis is not the same as writing a book, therefore, please consider the idea seriously. ohmy.gif

(5) After publishing the book, you can get married to your girlfriend and have a child then. thumbup.gif

Thanks for the praise man, much appreciated laugh.gif
You are here for a longer time man, you deserved much, much more credit ~~

1. I've no idea how many research-based postgraduate students in Malaysia laugh.gif But I'm sure there are ALOT laugh.gif

2. I'm merely giving some advises based on what I've been through haha... my concepts and ways may not always be right. But thanks again for the praise~

3. I'm not so sure about writing a book haha, can't really see much benefits from it since there are already a lot of books about this I think? hmm.gif Forums are much more interactive imho. Still, good idea.. I might add this into my blog when I start writing again lol T_____T

4. I'll probably just earn less than RM20 for the 1st copy. The rest will be photocopied by everyone. This is Malaysia haha laugh.gif. Still, me and my supervisor are working on publishing a small,simple and educative booklet on Kappaphycus and Eucheuma Sea Bird's Nests~

Thanks again bro XD

[PF] T.J.
post May 30 2013, 12:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 29 2013, 10:54 PM)
Don't mention it, buddy! You really deserve better. Correct me if I'm wrong, you specialize in Molecular Systematics and Taxonomy or Aquaculture, don't you? I'm not sure if seaweed cultivation in Malaysia is in its infancy but I heard National Seaweed Research Institute is going to be set up in Tawau. When you complete your postdoc research in Institute of Biological Sciences, then what's your next meaningful plan? happy.gif

By the way, is it safe to eat roasted seaweed (small pack) everyday? dry.gif

Thanks again laugh.gif
Yeah, my work is on Molecular Systematics and a bit of in vitro Aquaculture work.
Seaweed cultivation was started in Sabah at around the 1980s and has been around since then, again mostly on Sea Bird Nest only. The seaweed industry is pretty important to the economy of the country, which is why the development of the seaweed industry has been given due emphasis by the government in the recent Budgets. There is still a lot of room for improvements to the seaweed industry to be honest, especially in terms of management and logistics.
I think setting up a Resaarch Institute at Tawau is a great idea in the long run although at 1st there will surely be logistic problems since chemicals and equipments will have a hard time being delivered to that place hmm.gif
But good also la, we can just work there instead of the constant flying from KL to Sabah all the time.

I will become a lecturer 1st,then aim for promotion and get married? laugh.gif

Oh, that is Nori (Porphyra sp.). Yeah, its good to eat them everyday. My supervisor always steam them along with rice laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 7 2013, 07:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Steaky92 @ Jun 4 2013, 09:18 PM)
That moment when you see the brighter side of the LYN forum. I'm still doing my degree, but your posts are good morale boosts. Just a praise from a stranger, to a group of higher educated strangers smile.gif
You will notice alot of the brightest students/people are actually spending a lot of time spamming and causing havoc in Kopitiam just for fun tongue.gif tongue.gif
All the best in your degree notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 7 2013, 07:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jun 7 2013, 07:17 PM)
Hi Tanji,

Will red tide toxin in Sabah make seaweed unsafe to eat? icon_question.gif

Wah, you are pretty knowledgeable in this kind of stuffs yo laugh.gif
Good to see you are constantly updating yourself with info ~

Red tides or algal blooms are caused by dinoflagellates at places with high nutrient contents (be it natural or man-made ones). The biggest effect of algal blooms is that they will destroy the entire habitat i.e. coral reefs and any other seaweeds and organisms in that specific area.
I've never heard of red tides growing at the same areas as where seaweeds are farmed, probably because all the nutrients are already absorbed by the seaweeds tongue.gif , leaving no chance for dinoflagellates to grow, so its not going to be a problem near farms. But its a different story when we're talking about wild populations of seaweeds, corals, etc.

Food safety-wise, they are alright to eat, no worries haha laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 19 2013, 10:02 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Jun 17 2013, 11:07 PM)
My supervisor said the same - Publish Papers! The thing is when my papers get rejection, I will procrastinate for awhile before start writing again.  After my frustration's gone, only then I write better and speed up LOL. BTW, it's true that when you already have published paper, the panel whom examines your progress will take note about you/your speech and your thoughts.  nod.gif
Now, I will quit whining when it comes to writing. #Repent. Now belajar must start with hati yang ikhlas...... Just a self-reminder.  tongue.gif
All the best man~ rclxms.gif
I have to admit some reviewers can be pretty demoralizing sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 19 2013, 02:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Jun 19 2013, 12:50 PM)
They have high expectation T____T
Luckily my supervisor helps me in writings too. She would mold my sentences into fantastic words. LOL.
I'm still a newbie in academic writing. Always seeking icon_question.gif .

Thank god, I'm surrounded by warm academicians biggrin.gif
Yeah, it will be much easier if our command of English is better laugh.gif
Still, one of the most important things about a scientific writing is to be as conservative as possible. Most reviewers (being one myself) hates to see people who exaggerates too much laugh.gif

0.0216sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:24 PM