Tyre lifespan? Faulty Sport Rim

TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2013, 04:27 PM, updated 13y ago

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

To all sifu, my Nissan Sentra is now using all 4 pirelli tyres which is around 4 years in age. I can notice that there are like tiny crack in the surface of the tyre due to ageing i suppose.

I went to check the tyre and the guy there told me it is still functional and ok but depend on whether i wanna change all 4 of them or not. What do you guys think? icon_question.gif

Furthermore, they have also found that 1 of my sport rims is faulty ( In cantonese it is called 'kop' ) meaning like the shape is no longer like a circle, but an oval instead. They ask me whether i want to change or not, but in the mean time, they put that rim at the back of the car. So should i change it all 4 rims? icon_question.gif
Quazacolt
post May 15 2013, 05:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 15 2013, 04:27 PM)
To all sifu, my Nissan Sentra is now using all 4 pirelli tyres which is around 4 years in age. I can notice that there are like tiny crack in the surface of the tyre due to ageing i suppose.

I went to check the tyre and the guy there told me it is still functional and ok but depend on whether i wanna change all 4 of them or not. What do you guys think?  icon_question.gif

Furthermore, they have also found that 1 of my sport rims is faulty ( In cantonese it is called 'kop' ) meaning like the shape is no longer like a circle, but an oval instead. They ask me whether i want to change or not, but in the mean time, they put that rim at the back of the car. So should i change it all 4 rims?  icon_question.gif
4 years should change all 4 tires already especially when you can see cracks

rim no need change, get it repaired + re-balance.
then do proper tire/rim balancing on all 4 wheels

"kuk", as in bengkok, bent, btw
TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2013, 05:04 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 15 2013, 05:02 PM)
4 years should change all 4 tires already especially when you can see cracks

rim no need change, get it repaired + re-balance.
then do proper tire/rim balancing on all 4 wheels

"kuk", as in bengkok, bent, btw
THank you for your suggestion notworthy.gif WIll really consider change all tyre already notworthy.gif So i just go to a tyre shop and ask them to repair that rim?
Quazacolt
post May 15 2013, 05:18 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 15 2013, 05:04 PM)
THank you for your suggestion  notworthy.gif  WIll really consider change all tyre already  notworthy.gif  So i just go to a tyre shop and ask them to repair that rim?
welcome.
yes. +/- rm50 or so per rim.
kabuto rider kick
post May 20 2013, 02:40 AM

160 posts

looks like time for me to change my tires also,4 1/2 yrs di tongue.gif
SUSkimsim
post May 20 2013, 06:21 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 15 2013, 05:04 PM)
THank you for your suggestion  notworthy.gif  WIll really consider change all tyre already  notworthy.gif  So i just go to a tyre shop and ask them to repair that rim?
Ori stock rims is much durable & bullet proof.
Just repair lah.. If due to wanna drive as more pickup then change to lightweight rims for save fuel and power.

Tyres usage up to 4 yrs is consider long period.
If not change also can for Sentra is quite heavy weight and just drive as slowly when in raining season.

But end up you still will change all 4 tyres smile.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 20 2013, 09:20 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ May 20 2013, 06:21 AM)
Ori stock rims is much durable & bullet proof.
Just repair lah.. If due to wanna drive as more pickup then change to lightweight rims for save fuel and power.

Tyres usage up to 4 yrs is consider long period.
If not change also can for Sentra is quite heavy weight and just drive as slowly when in raining season.

But end up you still will change all 4 tyres smile.gif
THank you for the advice! notworthy.gif Yea sentra is quite a heavy car sweat.gif
SUSkimsim
post May 20 2013, 10:35 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 20 2013, 09:20 AM)
THank you for the advice!  notworthy.gif  Yea sentra is quite a heavy car  sweat.gif
Becoz current I'm still own the Sentra 03 until now.
If you feel free come to talk here.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/344926425626409/

0.0157sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:58 AM