Need help choosing tyre, Toyota Vios J spec

TSHenry217
post May 15 2013, 10:06 AM, updated 13y ago

13 posts

Hi all, I wanted to change rims and for my Vios.
I'm very new on these so I can't decide.

1. Is there any warranty avoidance if I were to change rim and tyre? Is yes, please list out for me to understand blush.gif

2. Should I upgrade from 14 inch to 195/50/15 or 17? Do help me decide. And recommendation fr 17 inch.

Too new on performance, willing to know more about it, I'm more to outlook mods icon_idea.gif
azbro
post May 15 2013, 10:57 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ May 15 2013, 10:06 AM)
Hi all, I wanted to change rims and for my Vios.
I'm very new on these so I can't decide.

1. Is there any warranty avoidance if I were to change rim and tyre? Is yes, please list out for me to understand blush.gif

2. Should I upgrade from 14 inch to 195/50/15 or 17? Do help me decide. And recommendation fr 17 inch.

Too new on performance, willing to know more about it, I'm more to outlook mods icon_idea.gif
1) Of course warranty void...
Wanna know whats void? the whole suspension system incl shafts, absorbers, bushings, bearings etc.
What ppl do is keep the original wheels....if got any problems, they fix it back and then send to SC to claim warranty.
Why those parts cannot claim warranty?.....Some ppl fix 17inch lousy heavy rims...wear and tear with increase rate. Those original parts were manufactured just ngam ngam for the car.

2) If wanna upgrade...of course 14->17...then its called an upgrade.
But seriously, I'm more to standard looks and best handling
So I go for 15inch 195/50/15 with PS3 tires or even extreme tires.
But if your place many potholes, 195/55/15.

But I think you are more interested in outlooks right?
amduser
post May 15 2013, 02:21 PM

5,542 posts

i wont recommend 17", 15" is more recommended without losing too much power
overfloe
post May 15 2013, 03:52 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

Budget, budget & budget.. you can put the most expensive forged rims & tires if you have the budget.

195/55/15 will be nice, you can get good tires with reasonable price.

for 16 and above, the price gap will increase by a good margin. and you need lighter wheels to compensate the loss of acceleration.
NINJIAO
post May 16 2013, 08:52 AM

214 posts

from 14 to 17 inch. tyre price increase to rm200 per tire. lolz.

better use the money for suspension upgrade lor. stick with 14 inch, or most 15 inch is enough already.
TSHenry217
post May 17 2013, 03:30 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 15 2013, 10:57 AM)
1) Of course warranty void...
Wanna know whats void? the whole suspension system incl shafts, absorbers, bushings, bearings etc.
What ppl do is keep the original wheels....if got any problems, they fix it back and then send to SC to claim warranty.
Why those parts cannot claim warranty?.....Some ppl fix 17inch lousy heavy rims...wear and tear with increase rate. Those original parts were manufactured just ngam ngam for the car.

2) If wanna upgrade...of course 14->17...then its called an upgrade.
But seriously, I'm more to standard looks and best handling
So I go for 15inch 195/50/15 with PS3 tires or even extreme tires.
But if your place many potholes, 195/55/15.

But I think you are more interested in outlooks right?
QUOTE(amduser @ May 15 2013, 02:21 PM)
i wont recommend 17", 15" is more recommended without losing too much power
Thanks for letting me know! Now I'm in doubt when to change rims, after warranty finishes? hmm.gif
Don't feel like keeping the original steel rims, lol

QUOTE(overfloe @ May 15 2013, 03:52 PM)
Budget, budget & budget.. you can put the most expensive forged rims & tires if you have the budget.

195/55/15 will be nice, you can get good tires with reasonable price.

for 16 and above, the price gap will increase by a good margin. and you need lighter wheels to compensate the loss of acceleration.
Agreed on budget, far too expensive for me to get them.. Most of my friends who are more on performance mod. they suggest to change to 15 while those friends who look at outlooks told me to get 17 rclxub.gif

QUOTE(NINJIAO @ May 16 2013, 08:52 AM)
from 14 to 17 inch. tyre price increase to rm200 per tire. lolz.

better use the money for suspension upgrade lor. stick with 14 inch, or most 15 inch is enough already.
I hate the steel rim, so definitely minimum upgrade to 15 cry.gif
I know the price increased a lot when upgrade to 16 and above..

azbro
post May 17 2013, 07:46 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ May 17 2013, 03:30 PM)
Thanks for letting me know! Now I'm in doubt when to change rims, after warranty finishes? hmm.gif
Don't feel like keeping the original steel rims, lol
Agreed on budget, far too expensive for me to get them.. Most of my friends who are more on performance mod. they suggest to change to 15 while those friends who look at outlooks told me to get 17 rclxub.gif
I hate the steel rim, so definitely minimum upgrade to 15 cry.gif
I know the price increased a lot when upgrade to 16 and above..
Just keep the ori...any issues fit it back

Or just change to Original Vios sport rims, I doubt got warranty issues

Got so many Ori vios trd sportivo for sale in mudah
OC4/3
post May 18 2013, 01:53 AM

4,746 posts

I vote for 15"
195/50/15 or 195/55/15
Plenty of decent tyre choice at reasonable price
Brand new high performance tyre is like RM250~RM350 thumbup.gif
Vios not putting down enough power to need 225+ section laugh.gif
TSHenry217
post May 18 2013, 09:50 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 17 2013, 07:46 PM)
Just keep the ori...any issues fit it back

Or just change to Original Vios sport rims, I doubt got warranty issues

Got so many Ori vios trd sportivo for sale in mudah
I couldn't find any cheap ori TRD through tongue.gif btw, my house do not have space to keep the steel rims, I need and must trade in and get a 15 inch.. what could be the risk? will my whole system be affected that much? I personal think that if I increase to 17 then yes I need to take note of all those stuffs under warranty..

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 18 2013, 01:53 AM)
I vote for 15"
195/50/15 or 195/55/15
Plenty of decent tyre choice at reasonable price
Brand new high performance tyre is like RM250~RM350 thumbup.gif
Vios not putting down enough power to need 225+ section laugh.gif
I think I would give 15" a try first, if I can't accept it I could upgrade again thumbup.gif
azbro
post May 18 2013, 06:08 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ May 18 2013, 09:50 AM)
I couldn't find any cheap ori TRD through tongue.gif btw, my house do not have space to keep the steel rims, I need and must trade in and get a 15 inch.. what could be the risk? will my whole system be affected that much? I personal think that if I increase to 17 then yes I need to take note of all those stuffs under warranty..
I think I would give 15" a try first, if I can't accept it I could upgrade again thumbup.gif
Seriously bro.....forget about your steel rims....unless you are changing to 17s, trade it in.

I would certainly go for those TRD ones in Mudah...since it come from Toyota also, I dun think got warranty issues with it.

Anyway, is your car warranty for 1 year?

If yes I dun think any of those suspension parts will break within a year......other than the Wheel Bearings..
TSHenry217
post May 18 2013, 08:05 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 18 2013, 06:08 PM)
Seriously bro.....forget about your steel rims....unless you are changing to 17s, trade it in.

I would certainly go for those TRD ones in Mudah...since it come from Toyota also, I dun think got warranty issues with it.

Anyway, is your car warranty for 1 year?

If yes I dun think any of those suspension parts will break within a year......other than the Wheel Bearings..
Bought my car last year, should be 1 year + 1 month roughly now.. I will not keep the steel rims, so I definitely trading them in..
btw, I wanted some other rims instead of TRD ori ones, like rota and so on, not advisable? hmm.gif icon_question.gif
azbro
post May 18 2013, 09:35 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ May 18 2013, 08:05 PM)
Bought my car last year, should be 1 year + 1 month roughly now.. I will not keep the steel rims, so I definitely trading them in..
btw, I wanted some other rims instead of TRD ori ones, like rota and so on, not advisable? hmm.gif  icon_question.gif
If no more warranty than can change to anything

My advice...16inch lightweight
OC4/3
post May 19 2013, 10:02 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ May 18 2013, 08:05 PM)
btw, I wanted some other rims instead of TRD ori ones, like rota and so on, not advisable? hmm.gif  icon_question.gif
Up to your budget and $$$
For awesome functional improvement wheel,get some 15x6.5JJ RPF1
Original japan one
Lightweight and quality assured brows.gif
TSHenry217
post Jun 30 2013, 12:47 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 18 2013, 09:35 PM)
If no more warranty than can change to anything

My advice...16inch lightweight
bro, I just changed to 16 inch light weight, Japan ori, Falken ZE 522 205/45/R16, your advise on pressure?
azbro
post Jun 30 2013, 07:14 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ Jun 30 2013, 12:47 PM)
bro,  I just changed to 16 inch light weight, Japan ori, Falken ZE 522 205/45/R16, your advise on pressure?
Hey, thats great, i would say 220...but better ask the shop, they will give best answer

Anyway, be careful of the Falkens on wet roads and braking
6UE5T
post Jun 30 2013, 07:41 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ Jun 30 2013, 12:47 PM)
bro,  I just changed to 16 inch light weight, Japan ori, Falken ZE 522 205/45/R16, your advise on pressure?
Normally just start with the suggestion sticker on the door and increase by about 2-3psi from that. If still too soft then increase again bit by bit. If too hard then just reduce bit by bit.
TSHenry217
post Jun 30 2013, 08:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 30 2013, 07:14 PM)
Hey, thats great, i would say 220...but better ask the shop, they will give best answer

Anyway, be careful of the Falkens on wet roads and braking
They told me can stick to original which is 230 front 210 rear biggrin.gif

My Falken was made in Indonesia, and according to few reviews and friends, they said ZE 522 is very good, unlike ZE 912, most people reviewed bad is 912 instead of 522, so far feeling the handling is so damn good, felt a little heavier and slower acceleration, will wait for a rain day and test out the wet floors..

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jun 30 2013, 07:41 PM)
Normally just start with the suggestion sticker on the door and increase by about 2-3psi from that. If still too soft then increase again bit by bit. If too hard then just reduce bit by bit.
I don't know how to feel it aoft or hard? Mind to teach?
6UE5T
post Jun 30 2013, 09:46 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ Jun 30 2013, 08:56 PM)
I don't know how to feel it aoft or hard? Mind to teach?
Things like that cannot teach la, you have to feel it your self! If don't know then just follow the sticker.
TSHenry217
post Jun 30 2013, 10:47 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jun 30 2013, 09:46 PM)
Things like that cannot teach la, you have to feel it your self! If don't know then just follow the sticker.
Hahaha, will try to feel it.. but I just can't stop saying how good the handling it is! thumbup.gif fast, steady icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0180sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:03 AM