Nokia Lumia 925 Discussion thread, Codename: CatWalk
jonchai
May 17 2013, 12:50 PM
Just for your information, L925 will be available worldwide while L928 is tied to Verizon US only.
L925 should not be seen as an upgrade over it's brother L920. It's more of a choice than a successor. L920's true successor will be announced in September / October, exactly one year after the announcement of L920. This is Nokia's yearly cycle, so to those bashing L925 that it lacks the wow factor, hopefully this would clear up your confusion.
L925 comes in 2 variants, 3 colors. 16GB and 32GB and Black, White & Grey. Apparently, both variants will be available worldwide. In some countries, the 32GB variant is tied to operators while the smaller capacity variant is sold unlocked. Hopefully this does not apply in Malaysia.
To those who own a L920, don't worry. You will get Amber update as well which will reportedly boost your camera ISO to 3200 and improve image algorithms.
jonchai
May 17 2013, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ May 17 2013, 01:20 PM) ya kah? ok  It's confirmed. However, what's not certain is whether 32GB would be released unlocked. Apparently, 32GB is meant for carriers while the 16GB is meant to sell unlocked. So, let's see.
jonchai
May 17 2013, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(EXkurogane @ May 17 2013, 04:05 PM) I'll email Elop "How to beat the Galaxy Note 3" Nokia Lumia 950 - 5' 1080p CBD-RGB AMOLED PureMotion HD screen with curved gorilla glass 3 - Snapdragon 800 with 2GB RAM - 64GB ROM - 41MP Pureview camera with OIS, Xenon and LED flash - 3000 mAh Battery minimum + unibody design (and a camera hump of course)  That'd be a phablet which doesn't belong in the 9xx series. 1050 is more like it
jonchai
May 17 2013, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(EXkurogane @ May 17 2013, 09:42 PM) As far as i know Nokia doesnt use the digits 1, 2, 3, or lower digits for flagship models. Usually 1-3 is low end, 5-7 is mid, 8-9 is high. No idea if they will adapt 4 digits and start with 1XXX, but i think it is unlikely. They dont use digit 4 since N-series existed, you know why. It's be cool if they brought back old style naming, maybe like, Lumia X90, Lumia C73, etc. The alphabet can differentiate what class of the device is in (like, phablet class, PureView/camera class, etc, and the numbers indicate ow, mid or high end). Just like you can make 5 inch but low spec to fit mid to lower end price range, like Samsung's Galaxy Grand. Haha doesn't really matter what they name it. Just release it already!
jonchai
Jun 21 2013, 10:01 AM
I expect it to come some time end of next month. I may be wrong.
jonchai
Jun 21 2013, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(ahnien @ Jun 21 2013, 10:14 AM) i dont have any news on it yet though  Yea, still no news. Hopefully they come in July, just in time for me to renew my Gardens card
jonchai
Jul 25 2013, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jul 25 2013, 08:58 AM) Nice, can't wait for the GDR2. Speaking of GDR2, still no news on the coming updates? Last I heard, GDR2 is slated for August release
jonchai
Aug 1 2013, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(ahnien @ Aug 1 2013, 10:32 AM) yes, indeed. nokia announce its rm1799 last week. haha... you guys double check bah. but its revised to RM1599 see who more updated tak akan i whole month sell 920 rm1430 + foc wireless charging plate. simply to welcome the price of 925  the rm1599 price range is to welcome the upcoming price for 1020 oso??  Bro, PM best price for L720. Is it a Zitron set?
jonchai
Aug 3 2013, 08:47 PM
Just back from Gardens. Lumia 925 is RM1,599 while Lumia 920 has dropped to RM1,399.
jonchai
Aug 4 2013, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(chapree @ Aug 4 2013, 12:00 AM) *pats* sorry to hear that, man. Too bad I'm gonna be outstation right until raya or else I would like to test out this issue too since I've just received a test unit. While I never encountered the need to visit Nokia Care but man, that sucks indeed. 1399? Serious? They announce 1549...oh well, I'll drop by Gardens tmrw then. No official date for Malaysia yet, so far. 1,549 comes with free wireless charging plate. If you don't want the plate, it's 1,399