Nexus 7 (2013) Official Thread v1, Launched - FullHD 7" Tablet from US$229

mastering89
post Jul 31 2013, 09:43 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Jul 31 2013, 08:33 AM)
Err... Brothers and sisters, to those who actually wonder if the US LTE actually works here, the answer should be yes. It's just the same as how the iPhones and iPads work here, because they all use band 3 as well.
The US Nexus 7 covers band 3 which is compatible with both Maxis and Celcom but not Digi at the moment.

That being said, if you're planning to go for the EU version, you're getting 1 more supported band here in Malaysia. So if you're using Digi, there are 2 options, 1 wait for the EU or local set, 2 get the US set and wait for Digi to introduce band 3 or maybe switch telco. I'm pretty sure Digi will try to cover band 3 as well cause the Apple folks need it. =D
the LTE band covered here only the 1800Mhz and 2600Mhz. last time apple made the iPad 3 to have bandwidth other than those 2. but now most device covers near all range band , so buy the Nexus 7 LTE laugh.gif
mastering89
post Aug 6 2013, 10:52 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

got mine today.
now so verry heppy biggrin.gif

suggestion of what to install?

This post has been edited by mastering89: Aug 6 2013, 10:56 PM
mastering89
post Aug 7 2013, 12:41 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

the earliest i saw stock coming in by 15th Aug sad.gif
sked my device calar by then
mastering89
post Aug 7 2013, 11:20 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(RedLC @ Aug 7 2013, 05:00 PM)
Why no direct conversion like smartphones when it come to tablet?
In term of price
becoz Asus malaysia very greedy biggrin.gif

last time $199 become rm899
this time dunno doh.gif
mastering89
post Aug 8 2013, 05:41 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Aug 8 2013, 04:30 PM)
Update:

Hello James,

Thank you for contacting Google Play Support Team. I understand your concern with your gps working on your device. I want you to know I am here to make sure to resolve any issues you may have with your device.

It is a know issue that Google is aware of and we are currently working on a update to fix the issue. I do apologize for the inconvenience this may cause.

Feel free to reply to this email and I will be able to further assist you.

Regards,

Osiguy
The Google Play Support Team
my device also seems unable to lock just now.
now ok alredy...
good to know its bcoz google updating biggrin.gif
mastering89
post Aug 9 2013, 10:41 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

GPS glitch sad.gif
sos : http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-57597753-...-by-gps-glitch/
mastering89
post Aug 9 2013, 10:43 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Aug 9 2013, 09:35 PM)
Which telco has LTE running on band 3, may I ask?
as far as i know Maxis.
celcom not sure, digi said to had launch their 4G but dunno the band
mastering89
post Aug 10 2013, 08:20 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 9 2013, 11:42 PM)
For now... Nexus 7 2013 has some serious problems:
i) AOSP Problem. Hope Google can fix it.
ii) Touch screen
iii) Speaker buzz
iv) GPS

Slow slow wait and see how thing goes biggrin.gif
i notice the keyboard sometimes jumpy and key repeats typo easily sad.gif
multi touch like to zoom pinch also not that nice.
is this the touch screen problem u mention?
gps still a no go :'(
mastering89
post Aug 11 2013, 01:59 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Aug 10 2013, 11:44 PM)
I'm keen on wireless charging my nexus 7

What's your take on either the Google charging orb or the Nokia dt-910?

Plan is to run daydreams while it's charging
Just got me nexus the Nexus Orb. works great rclxm9.gif
saw a post somewher said the Nokia Wireless Charging plate and Fatboy also works

QUOTE(ThehWS @ Aug 11 2013, 04:16 AM)
Been using my N7 2nd gen for almost a week now... So far everything in perfect condition(no dead pixel, touchscreen working fine, gps working like a charm when tested on a 2 hour drive). Really happy with my N7. Screen really really nice, speaker loud (though i can feel the N7 vibrating, wonder if it's normal  hmm.gif  ), camera... just stick to the one on my galaxy ace, same 5mp but it snap a much better picture compared to the N7's. too bad no flash but no biggie. Currently looking for case+sp+usb otg. Anybody selling any of these in lowyat? I don't like the official one cause i heard quality not so good. So now looking after my N7 worst then a new-born baby haha.  rclxub.gif

bro, what brand? matte, clear?
Quick question, does the clear SP nowadays still the same as 2 years ago? I mean it's not that smooth as the matte and tends to attract fingerprints...  icon_question.gif
True dat!
im happy with my nexus, only some bits and pieces to make it perfect.
just wait for the update patches, hopefully rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Aug 11 2013, 09:35 AM)
The people on top of you said negative and you said positive,now I don't even know whether I should get this tablet a not doh.gif
my less than 1 week review, after few years on the apple side . this is my first android tablet so still much to explore (root/cfw/cynogen/etc) :

+quite cheap for its spec
+its Nexus *updates and support is a sure fact*
+7' *pocket-able*
+camera is good enuf
+photosphere is best of the best. the stitch is quite good, the dynamic range is great!
+i like the screen feels without SP, dunno if gonna put one or not laugh.gif
+bought my wireless charging Nexus Orb biggrin.gif *probably buy another for car*
+NFC

- the touchscreen thingy - but i can live with it. hopefully can patch fix
- gps - still problem. but it was fine the day i bought. smooth
- wifi - cannot change dns *i know there's a way, not that important yet*
- bluetooth - cannot set other bt device as trusted so no need to authenticate everytime. need apps/root maybe
- still no case available *takut jatuh* sweat.gif

still working my way into android, much to learn cool2.gif
mastering89
post Aug 11 2013, 03:18 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(xchaosdragon @ Aug 11 2013, 02:08 PM)
how's does the device feels like in your hand? the previous n7 feels rather sturdy with the leathery back.
feel abit odd. bcoz feel like abit panjang, not like the previous nexus and ipad mini.
but body is grippy and study. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 11 2013, 02:25 PM)
DNS can be changed.

It's in the Advanced option for each Access Point. But you can't set one for all AP you connect to. Check if it's there in the N7 2013 since I'm on GNex but I believe it's same.

If you want to change DNS for your existing AP, just go to WiFi settings, long press, modify network, show advanced option.

The problem is... You must set it from DHCP to Static IP in order to see DNS Options and set it.

Have fun with android brows.gif Especially Vanilla android!
ah thanks so much smile.gif
tried many things, but didnt try to 'long press' to modify network sweat.gif
but im using mifi modem, so already set dns there, anyways thanks thumbup.gif

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Aug 11 2013, 02:56 PM)
Well,obviously I know all the facts you write down,I also have experience with 1st gen nexus 7,but I have experience quite a lot of problem,time and date suddenly reset,show incorrect battery percentage(it died in 50%),dead pixels,yellow screens,screen lifting,it get very lag after i use about 6 months(even after factory reset),and a lot more,I just hope when I buy the new one,there's no more one of the issue I experienced previously
i suggest for u to wait till officially launch here, maybe they bring the next batch with bug fixed.
like my friend waited to buy the asus padfone2, the later batch proven better nod.gif
mastering89
post Aug 11 2013, 10:51 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Aug 11 2013, 10:21 PM)
Hey bro, you have to put the nexus 7 on landscape right? Does the bottom touch your table? Or its floating?
yup need put in landscape, touch and no touch to btm also still would charge.
but i put something at the base so the plane is flat no senget...

anyway u put also is safe coz it sticks like magnet nod.gif

This post has been edited by mastering89: Aug 11 2013, 10:57 PM
mastering89
post Aug 12 2013, 12:05 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Aug 11 2013, 11:04 PM)
Sounds good. The cable that came with it is pretty short though right?

How slow/fast does it charge
im not sure, didnt use that one sweat.gif
got many micro usb hahaa biggrin.gif

not sure, i think 1%/min. didnt try fully charge yet...
mastering89
post Aug 12 2013, 04:14 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Zee @ Aug 12 2013, 04:11 PM)
anybody bulk ordering this cover from ASUS?

[attachmentid=3578695][attachmentid=3578694]
Seller 88sales88 bringing in some, but stock coming only dark grey for the moment.
getting mine from him, hopefully tmr can sarung my nexus rclxms.gif

Oh these are nice casings drool.gif https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2881085

This post has been edited by mastering89: Aug 12 2013, 04:21 PM
mastering89
post Aug 12 2013, 07:05 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Aug 12 2013, 05:35 PM)
ok lah. gonna get my orb tonight.

Hope it charges coz some nexus 7 reportedly cannot charge  cry.gif
Buy2 rclxms.gif
or get the Nokia plate or Fatboy pillow .
mine works, yours should too smile.gif

Can dunk in water lah! shocking.gif

http://youtu.be/UeEdG8R5qzE
mastering89
post Aug 13 2013, 04:24 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

care to suggest what u ol install in the nexus?
apps, launcher, widgets, etc

if rooted, what do u add on?
i know u can do anything after root, but what is 'anything' actually? heheeee
*sorry im noobie android user* sweat.gif
mastering89
post Aug 13 2013, 09:42 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

No more worries biggrin.gif
*except still no SP*

i tested the gps today, earlier today wasnt working, but suprisingly tonite it works... hmm.gif

mastering89
post Aug 13 2013, 10:19 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 13 2013, 09:58 PM)
that's the official travel case? how does it feel like? read some reviews on it and it doesnt seem to be too good
my first look and touch at it is allround rubber. sweat.gif
the back cover itself is grippier than the case. from front it look like cheap case, but from back it covers nicely.
the Wireless charging works with the case on. good enuf to cover me nexus for a while nod.gif
mastering89
post Aug 13 2013, 10:52 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 13 2013, 10:27 PM)
i bought 1 from taobao and 1 from amazon waiting for my friend to bring it back to me from the States next week. i m now using a crappy pouch which was given to put my laptop's adapter.  sad.gif
care to share link from taobao biggrin.gif
me all this while just bring it naked, if put in bag then only wrap with 2-3 layer cloth sweat.gif

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Aug 13 2013, 10:31 PM)
Received mine today from Amazon with case and screen protector.
What other accessories should I get?
got alot promo from amazon but most wont ship here sad.gif
cheap2 summore $0.99 - 2.99
but some add on $20 for shipping sweat.gif

moar accesories?
- Qi wireless charger
- OTG cable usb
- dock
- Chromecast
- what more a?? hmm.gif
mastering89
post Aug 14 2013, 08:00 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Aug 14 2013, 04:45 AM)
Wahhhh so many choice for the Qi wireless charger - which should I get?
Recommend pls.

OTG cable I have a few
Dock - err dont think I need that
Chromecast - ordered
i got myself the Nexus Orb, but u could get the nokia ones too smile.gif

For those who dont think need of chromecast, and have few android devices . why not try CheapCast and make ur nexus to be your screen biggrin.gif
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....maui.cheapcast
mastering89
post Aug 15 2013, 10:41 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Aug 15 2013, 10:05 PM)
Whats the sleekest and slimmest case for this baby?
u can check for discussion at xda http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2410
they posted price, links and some reviews biggrin.gif
amazon there veli cheap sad.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:46 AM