Sony Xperia ZR compact quadcore!, 4.2.2 update rolling out
zan4182
Nov 14 2013, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(kysham @ Nov 14 2013, 03:19 PM) I got a charging dock (actually I bought 3 units  ) off eBay. Not original Sony dock but it costs less than RM40 each, shipped to me. I buy 3 docks cheaper than 1 original Sony dock. Works the same. At the back got 1 additional slot to charge an extra battery some more. Well? I go on eBay and bought to original Sony batteries for RM100, again including delivery to me. So yeah, now I got 2 spare batteries. I just bring them along with me whenever I go travelling. And for short trips (1 or 2 days), I don't even need to bring charger.  This phone's lack of internal memory really does limit it. I did hit the memory brick wall recently. Had to uninstall quite a few apps to free up the memory. Forces me to remove some rubbish apps also lah.  PM me if u want to sell ur xtra charging dock..
zan4182
Nov 21 2013, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Nov 20 2013, 06:31 PM) anyone ask Sony M'sia abt the update? I emailed them 1 month ago, they ask me to wait..... They replied to me within 3 working days.. below is what they replied: Thank you for contacting the Sony Xperia support centre.
With regards to your query, as for the 4.2.2 update, you can do a check of the available software version for your phone through the Update Service. Here is the link: http://www.sonymobile.com/global-en/tools/update-service/ On the other hand, as for the 4.3 update, we have not been informed of the exact release date for the software rollout as of currently. However, do note that software rollout will come in batches and it depends on per country and the respective telco operator. Rest assured that should the phone software is already available, you will be notified directly through the phone, prompting you to update it. For the latest news, information and product support please visit www.sonymobile.com.
To learn more on how we can support you, please visit our XperiaTM Care at www.sonymobile.com/support. For further assistance you may also contact us at 1-800-88-7666. Please be aware that should you not respond within 5 days of this email your query will be automatically closed. Any further communications will not reach our support and a new query will need to be raised.
Kind Regards, Nura Sony Xperia MY Customer ServicesI haven't try the link though as i don't have much free time
zan4182
Nov 24 2013, 04:07 PM

Latest reply from Sony Malaysia to me regarding 4.2.2 update
Thank you for your feedback. We are unable to know when the update will be release in Malaysia as update releasing is based on region but definately we will send your request to the global team on this.
zan4182
Jan 24 2014, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(kysham @ Jan 11 2014, 10:53 AM) I have the same dock (in fact, I have 3 docks, all the same model). The blue LED is to indicate if the dock is receiving power from USB or not. That's all. It doesn't indicate charging. To know if the phone is fully charged or not, have to check on the phone itself. If you slot a 2nd battery into the battery charging port at the back, then there will be another red LED light (next to the blue LED) that will light up, indicating that the dock is charging the spare battery. Once that battery is fully charged, the red LED will go off. The dock is capable of charging both the phone and the spare battery at the same time. After I upgraded to 4.3, I noticed that my SMS app is sometimes lagging and I will need to force close it. But everything else is very good. Just this damn sms app.... haish.... can never have everything working perfectly.  Bro.. when u charge ur phone using the charging dock, will the screen rotate to horizontal view or not? i saw some pics showing that the screen doesn't rotate. http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTAwWDUwMA==/z/P...p/$_12.JPGwebpage
zan4182
Jan 31 2014, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Jan 29 2014, 04:46 PM) Finally got my phone back from warranty and i can answer your question. The screen will rotate to landscape mode after inserting to dock. Just that the lock screen will not rotate only. Do not use china/brandless charger for the dock also, will cause the phone screen to go crazy thanks for the answer.. so is it ok if i buy here??
zan4182
Mar 24 2014, 08:19 AM

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 23 2014, 07:51 PM) Wechat... delete the photos using clean master... Cannot manually delete? i've uninstalled my wechat but the tencent files still remains
zan4182
Mar 24 2014, 11:58 AM

deleted.. Thanks
zan4182
Mar 30 2014, 02:15 PM

Latest update available through PC Companion.. Anyone updated yet? Attached thumbnail(s)
zan4182
Mar 30 2014, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Mar 30 2014, 02:59 PM) Waited this update for long time and finally it come to my phone also..... Yup.. almost 2 months now.. dont know how long will it takes for kitkat once it released for ZR
zan4182
Apr 1 2014, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Apr 1 2014, 09:53 AM) There is slight improvement on battery life in standby after the update yup.. around 20-30% improved
zan4182
Apr 10 2014, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Apr 9 2014, 09:57 PM) Go to developer option, select 'Stay Awake' I'm using Lucid - DayDream Screensaver app.. no need to set the Stay Awake option
zan4182
Apr 11 2014, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(eone @ Apr 11 2014, 10:21 AM) Does the dock fit with the phone covered, or you need to remove the cover to dock? Nope. need to either remove everytime u want to dock or modify the cover to fit in the dock.
zan4182
May 5 2014, 10:33 AM

Mine can last 16 hrs with balance of 20% (moderate usage) after the latest update. Turn on data all the time with stamina mode on. Never thinking of using power bank. QUOTE(sss2sssss @ May 4 2014, 11:13 PM) My charging dock still no reach..... zzzzz Ordered I think near to a month from ipmart, and they said stock will reach last week (if refer to Sunday is first day), and yet still no received any massage, sent a massage to ask them whether stock reach already or not Luckily mine arrived after 2 weeks.
zan4182
May 8 2014, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(coldfusion @ May 5 2014, 11:41 PM) wow, this is the best timing so far. with data on all the time somemore. did you do any extra tweaks (i.e. root, greenify, etc..)?? I didn't do anything.. not even install any battery optimizer app.. the screenshot is from last night. Attached thumbnail(s)
zan4182
Jun 10 2014, 08:22 AM

Guys.. Pls give ur tips on updating this firmware and give some review on battery life, memory usage and etc.. a bit hesitate to update as i'm happy with 4.3 at the moment..
zan4182
Jun 23 2014, 05:33 PM

My camera lens anti-reflective coating had worn out.. should i send it for repair at Sony? can phone maintenance shop resolve this? Attached thumbnail(s)
zan4182
Jun 23 2014, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jun 23 2014, 05:36 PM) same for my xperia TX, some say alcohol will do.. i dont have alcohol base liquid..  QUOTE(Aydee @ Jun 23 2014, 05:42 PM) Perfume will do  sure alcohol/perfume will do?? if yes then i'll try it
zan4182
Jun 23 2014, 06:38 PM

ok thanks
zan4182
Jun 24 2014, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(kysham @ Jun 23 2014, 07:05 PM) erm.... alcohol will most likely completely wipe off the coating, if it is alcohol soluble. Are you sure it is an anti-reflective coating? How do you know it is wearing out? Is it peeling off? Your photo not very clear actually. It looked like a layer of oil on the lens. If that's the case, then a simple wash with soapy water under running water should clean it up. The ZR is waterprood anyway....  I'm positive that is anti-reflective coating.. sorry for not giving a better photo as it is hard to get a clear view.. is there anyway to re-coat the lense?