Sony Xperia ZR compact quadcore!, 4.2.2 update rolling out

shadowmorning
post Jul 29 2013, 08:21 AM

185 posts

Guys got some few questions regrding XPERIA ZR..

1) Firstly.. the difference between Ori and AP set of ZR?

2) Which are the trusted SONY AP SET Malaysian distributors of Xperia ZR AP SET as of 2013?

3) On the spot when buying from a shop...How to check/what are the steps
to see if my ZR phone is a TRUE, SAFE, GOOD AP set
and not a referbish or black market version?

4) Let say i bought the ORIGINAL SET from Sony Msia... then i took it to indonesia.. is the warranty covered in indonesia or not?

5) In case of ap set, will the IMEI number differ from the box and is it safe to buy then?

6) Is the LTE VERSION of Xperia ZR ap set version available in Lowyat Plaza and for how much?

Please give me some fresh answers... because old threads regarding ap set vs ori set maybe applies to older models... such as sony ericson models. now sony is only standalone as SONY brand, no more ericcson...
Please help me answer these questions properly... I saved up my money to buy this model... thanks smile.gif
shadowmorning
post Jul 29 2013, 01:00 PM

185 posts

At least can anyone tell me if they've found and bought a good LTE ZR unit from lowyat? I wanna go down there when i get back from overseas next week... so need some recommendations.. cmon this is THE zr thread right sad.gif
shadowmorning
post Jul 29 2013, 01:03 PM

185 posts

At least can anyone tell me if they've found and bought a good LTE ZR unit from lowyat? I wanna go down there when i get back from overseas next week... so need some recommendations.. cmon this is THE zr thread right sad.gif
shadowmorning
post Jul 29 2013, 01:03 PM

185 posts

shadowmorning
post Jul 29 2013, 10:50 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jul 29 2013, 01:13 PM)
Thank you for your help bro..

now i just need to know for those who have bought X ZR ap set OR if anyone knows... what are the trusty AP SET DISTRIBUTORS/REPUTABLE AP COMPANY FOR SONY XPERIA phones in msia?
shadowmorning
post Jul 31 2013, 02:14 AM

185 posts

Oh and I'm seeing the official shops are seling xperia ZR at rm1600+. And then I'm got original at rm 1499 (like the title of this thread). Why the difference?
shadowmorning
post Aug 1 2013, 11:51 PM

185 posts

Oh i have 3 more question before i decide to buy ap or original...

- If my ap set rosak, then can i got to any official sony centre and get it fixed there? will the official sony centre accept my ap set to be fixed with regular charge or is there a difference with original phone service repair price?
( its the same situation if a waranty of original xperia zr finished right?)

- LTE or Non LTE? coz i live in sungai buloh, and sure got no lte... also im traveling back and forth to indonesia(also backwards and only got 3g)

- honestly... what would you guys buy? ap or original? wanna see the majority...

thanks ya, i need some replies before saturday or sunday !! smile.gif
shadowmorning
post Aug 2 2013, 11:46 AM

185 posts

Thanks feedback bros. Just my last( hopefully ) doubts
1)can we send ap set to official sony Centre for repairs?I know I'll be charged certain fees but will they accept?

2) usually can the bros at the ap shop /distributors can fix smartphone like this which rosak Lcd, crack screen, replace housing? Coz I know they are expert at fixing old school phones but how bout smartphone? Anyone Experience it guys?

3)How much is a 4 gb and 8gb memstick that works with zr and recommended price?

4) are the charging dock zr and blue tooth headset for zr available and how much for each, the best prices?

Im sorry for asking too many questions.. Just saved alot of money for this.. Wan the best deal and guarantee. As I will be taking it overseas, where that place surely got no proper service center and the technicians there not experience
shadowmorning
post Aug 2 2013, 03:20 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 2 20I3, 12:04 PM)
cant

can

just get 16gb class 10..now cheap d

no official price yet
Wow this is new to me.. I thought as long it's a sony phone... AP or Ori.. Both also can serviced. Because when warranty is over for an original sony phone, can service, but will kena charge. I thought ap set is also a sony phone(regardless the fact it's a oversea model). So I tot ap set can also can send if broken, but kena charge heavy.

Based on this fact, I will decide to buy ap or original.
Confirmed the fact is true?
shadowmorning
post Aug 3 2013, 04:01 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 2 2013, 06:34 PM)
1. yes u can. they will charged the fees but wont guarantee to you if any damage happens during the repairation they are not covered. if during repair and they damage some parts of ur phone, they are not cover it.. pls take note. (personal experience)

2.most can.. as long as they got the spare parts.. (got technician and spare parts confirm no problem, personal experience before as handphone shop indoor sales, knew some technicians).

3. less 4gb in market, seldom.. 8gb class 4 rm24, class 10 rm34 (sandisk). 16gb also just rm44 for class 4, rm55 for class 10.

4. dock available in msia with price rm126.00 RRP
right.. warranty based on local only.
thank you for these definitive answers.. so based on your answers.. both sony and ap set shop technician can fix phone la... and that means ap set is the way to go right?
i mean, even IF the ap shop i bought from closed down, i can just go fix it at another ap technician... and surely lowyat people can fix one. if cannot, then i just take it as a last resort to sony center ... correct?

and i presume that lowyat centre is already selling the dock?

shadowmorning
post Aug 3 2013, 05:19 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 3 2013, 10:28 AM)
Correct. Technician will know to fix it. Price is dependable.

Dock I'm not sure. U might need to call the centre and ask for stock availability.
alright.. then thanks, i'll just buy ap set then!! thank you all for your advice!
to crosscheck again, so before i buy an ap set,
make sure the imei number on box same with one behind phone right? any other safety measures?
shadowmorning
post Aug 3 2013, 08:21 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 3 2013, 06:45 PM)
why u want AP set? LTE?? sweat.gif
just now i asked around... the zr ori 3g got price around 1550... so maybe its better to just buy the original la kot.
only if i want LTE i should buy AP...
And now im STUCK WITH THE DAMN DILEMMA of buying 3g or lte... im scared ...
since the mass produced versions are with 3g only, and with so many people reviewed the 3g version...
i'll be like the black sheep who buys the lte ver. and lte ver dunno if better or worse at recieving 3g line sigh, also dunno if lte version suck battery faster than 3g version... huhuhu...

This post has been edited by shadowmorning: Aug 3 2013, 08:27 PM
shadowmorning
post Aug 4 2013, 12:01 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(grayfox5129 @ Aug 3 2013, 10:58 PM)
Hi guys, im about to buy xzr tomorrow, may i know whats the difference between AP set and original set? The shop offering me rm1550 with 8Gb microSD, casing and screen protector+ free apps..i just checked the IMEI number from the phone and the box..its the same number..is this can consider as original set? Is there anything we can identify its originality such as sticker or something?
where is this shop? Lowyat? KL?
shadowmorning
post Aug 4 2013, 12:22 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(grayfox5129 @ Aug 4 2013, 12:20 AM)
nope..im at Kulim Kedah...shops here all around rm1500-1700 la..sony booth all selling at rm1590 with free casing and 8Gb micro SD...
wow that sony booth deal not bad ah.... o.O

shadowmorning
post Aug 4 2013, 12:35 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(grayfox5129 @ Aug 4 2013, 12:28 AM)
ya..but since the black color not in stock, so im buying from other fon shop..after some survey this shop at Giant Kulim, offering me with rm1550 dynamics set, sony 1year warranty, free casing+screen protector+apps+micro SD 8Gb..so i just worry about the originality, need to know how to spot the difference..
actually i contacted my shop man just now... he offer me same deal now.
now i just gotta make sure about the originality of the device. his phone got..
(after removing battery)
- got small box shaped sticker of sony original ( shiny foil)
- sirim sticker
- and a shiny label of distributor with red color words... i think it was avax?

and bro, check this thread... i think dynamics is original. see there.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1857682

This post has been edited by shadowmorning: Aug 4 2013, 12:39 AM
shadowmorning
post Aug 4 2013, 12:51 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Aug 4 2013, 12:43 AM)
can you guys believe this? i thought this is one of the best upper mid range phone out there!

http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/Sony-Xpe...R-Review_id3371
VERY SHITTY review. Gsm arena and other sites gave good and fair reviews. People seem to love ZR also!
shadowmorning
post Aug 5 2013, 08:54 AM

185 posts

so how much free space do you have on the phone memory with all those bloatware apps?
shadowmorning
post Aug 5 2013, 09:01 AM

185 posts

im sorry i meant the phone memory. INTERNAL memory. for the apps? i heard it comes with 8gb internal mem. and official sony bloatware takes up 4 gb is it true?

This post has been edited by shadowmorning: Aug 5 2013, 09:01 AM
shadowmorning
post Aug 5 2013, 09:10 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Aug 5 2013, 09:03 AM)
ram or storage you mention? ram so far largest is 2GB and the internal storage so far largest is 64GB
so bro... i checked.. internal storage is 8gb. external slot for storage expansion maybe up to 64 gb i think.
my question related to... when you turn on the phone the first time... what how much space will the official SONY APPS take? how much out of 8gb? as far as i know, system apps cannot be uninstalled unless you root your phone.

http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/Sony-Xpe...w_id3371/page/2
shadowmorning
post Aug 6 2013, 03:19 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Aug 5 2013, 09:13 AM)
Oh, I think there is around 3GB free for user, system used around 3-4GB
Thanks!!

0.0222sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:58 PM