Sony Xperia ZR compact quadcore!, 4.2.2 update rolling out
kilsmap
Oct 20 2013, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 19 2013, 08:38 PM) May I know how's the sound/call quality for this phone? My senior colleague said xperia Z mia sound quality was bad. A proud owner of one for a week.. It depends on what you have been accustomed to.. For me, transiting from a loud Galaxy S Advance makes Xperia ZR sounds a little weak.. But give it a few weeks and you will be fine with it.. However, quite disappointed with the slow release of Android 4.2.2 for Malaysia, while India and Vietnam already get it..
kilsmap
Oct 21 2013, 06:54 AM

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Oct 20 2013, 11:43 PM) anyone here using papago m9?i tried using the s3 organic map file but its not working. by default it cant run full screen mode. any solution? Papago M9 is the old version, try Papago M11 (just search Papago MY&SG on Google Play)..
kilsmap
Nov 9 2013, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Nov 8 2013, 08:46 PM) and we suppose to get 4.2 update in August  It did, just not in Malaysia..
kilsmap
Nov 9 2013, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(Aydee @ Nov 9 2013, 07:33 PM) It says in the Sony Mobile website that the 4.2 update is out but my phone still says I have the latest update http://www.sonymobile.com/my/software/phones/xperia-zr/yeah.. and you should also read the next sentence which says that the time differs according to each region... for Malaysia, not yet...
kilsmap
Nov 13 2013, 06:46 PM

QUOTE(green_algae @ Nov 13 2013, 05:38 PM) other than the problem that i mentioned,what is the problems that u have experienced with this phone? why this thread so dead.  well, given its internals, I must say that this phone performs admirably... Minimal lags, superb speed, but my only gripe with the phone is only its small internal storage which limits the apps I can install..
kilsmap
Nov 25 2013, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(zan4182 @ Nov 24 2013, 04:07 PM) Latest reply from Sony Malaysia to me regarding 4.2.2 update Thank you for your feedback. We are unable to know when the update will be release in Malaysia as update releasing is based on region but definately we will send your request to the global team on this.aik? it was supposed to be released by the global team, not Sony Malaysia? this is getting more frustating..
kilsmap
Dec 24 2013, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 24 2013, 11:38 AM) Yup, 4.3 upgrade available through PC companion. [attachmentid=3783704][attachmentid=3783704] Is this real? How about OTA? Can someone confirm if we have OTA for malaysian ZR?
kilsmap
Dec 24 2013, 01:25 PM

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Dec 24 2013, 01:20 PM) Now complaint want update through OTA pulak??? Why cant just use SPCC???  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Nt slalu la lurking kat sini ye.. http://www.xperiablog.net/Come on man, its just a question.. Why so serious? Is it even a complaint? Aiseh.. Ini mcm pun boleh ke.. Another thing, the difference between OTA and PC Companion update is the ability to keep root access, which i need.. Amcm skarang, clear?
kilsmap
Dec 28 2013, 07:46 AM

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Dec 28 2013, 12:30 AM) I have a problem.. i paired with my Sony Ericsson BT headset and after about 2 minutes listening music with the headset the bt connection is lost and cant be paired back. Only after repairing with the bt headset will it connect again but connection will be lost due to the same condition again and again... Hmm.. Not sure why, but I've known ZR's bluetooth can be quite problematic, have experience it myself.. Sometimes have to be rough a bit with the phone.. They say sonething might be loose.. In my case, even re-pairing can't solve, brute force only.. On another note, successfully updated to 4.3 and rooted and still have locked bootloader.. Loving the new themes, appearance and functionality..
kilsmap
Dec 28 2013, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Dec 28 2013, 04:28 PM) Whats your meaning on brute force? shake the phone? Yep.. Good ol' elbow grease.. But it works.. Or they say pushing a bit to the mic place under the cam also can yield good result..
kilsmap
Jan 2 2014, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(green_algae @ Jan 2 2014, 02:37 AM) Does anyone know how to root on 4.3?should i reflash to older firmware and do it there? Well, it might be a little hard since u have to unlock your bootloader, which voids ur warranty..
kilsmap
Jan 20 2014, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jan 20 2014, 12:39 PM) if FREE google maps and waze..  There are Navit as well, but only available from F-Droid (another Google Play alternative).. They have the map for the whole world..
kilsmap
Feb 9 2014, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(ujangns @ Feb 8 2014, 09:35 AM) Hello everybody. Need some help. I plan to root my ZR and to install folder mount. My ZR running 4.2.2 out of the box. I notice my ZR got new message to upgrade to 4.3. OTA.So what is the correct way to root my phone. Root the phone first then upgrade to 4.3 or upgrade to 4.3 then root. Which one is better? Is it safe to root use kingo root.? Tq Are you sure its running 4.2.2, not 4.1.2? If you are still on 4.1.2, the safest route is to root using DoomLord's toolkit, and then upgrade through OTA to 4.3. If you are on 4.2.2, rooting will be harder as you have to unlock your bootloader, which voids your warranty. QUOTE(alphaz @ Feb 9 2014, 10:55 AM) Where to buy new/used Xperia ZR LTE? It seems online shops only sell 3G version. Because ZR LTE was never released for Malaysian market..
kilsmap
Feb 9 2014, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(ujangns @ Feb 9 2014, 05:14 PM) Yes my ZR running 4.2.2. Just bought week ago. This morning manage to root my ZR. The DoomLord toolkit kit doesn't work on my ZR. Manage to root using toolkit from Japan website which some post it at xda forum. Straight forward step. No need to unlock the boatloader. Still got bravia engine. I'm happy now.. My ZR still running on 4.2.2 since 4.3 some people experience problem with WiFi, BT and battery drain Hmm.. that is weird in itself, since Malaysian ZR never received 4.2.2 update, straight jump from 4.1.2 to 4.3.. Anyway, good to hear that u are already rooted.. However, 4.3 is not so bad.. Battery drain, maybe worse than 4.1.2, but they say an update due around next week should bring a fix to all those problems..
kilsmap
Feb 9 2014, 07:21 PM

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Feb 9 2014, 07:13 PM) My phone come with 4.2.2 out of box...lol Well, it shows that the update exist, but was never made available for Malaysian 4.1.2 users..
kilsmap
Apr 17 2014, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Apr 17 2014, 11:14 AM) any user of ZR can tell me pro and cons of this phone?? heard thaT THE WIFI SIGNAL of this phone is weak, is that true? I don't think so.. Mine is very powerful, even can still score 3 bar when in a room separated by 2 more rooms from the router..
kilsmap
Sep 14 2014, 01:05 PM

Have to say, there is an improvement with battery life after 4.4.4 upgrade, even though Google Play Services is still the main culprit for battery consumption.. Or just maybe, factory resetting the phone contribute to better battery performance as well, since that is what i do (unable to upgrade OTA to keep root, have to do it by unlocking and relocking BL).. Usually the battery won't even last half a day with heavy usage, but now, almost 24 hours and battery still at 20%.. Back to the old glory 🙌🙌🙌..