Sony Xperia ZR compact quadcore!, 4.2.2 update rolling out
kysham
Aug 10 2013, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(shadowmorning @ Aug 10 2013, 03:25 PM) Thanks for the swift replies!! Also another prblem popped up! i cannot connect to maxis 3g! settings downloaded, card activated... but still cant use mobile data! to send sms/phonecall can... and wifi can. i just did a factory reset of the phone and tried activation still cannot... why like this  ( My ZR is the same. There will be some water collected inside the back cover, but not in the red seal zone, so no problem. I just brought it go swimming today at the swimming pool. No problem at all. As for the setting up, you might need to set it up manually. Get the Maxis settings from their website, perhaps? I am on DiGi, by the way, so I won't know what's your settings are going to be like.
kysham
Sep 7 2013, 11:43 AM
I can't live with that minuscule amount of data on my ZR. Might as well get a Nokia 3310. Hahaha.....
kysham
Oct 16 2013, 10:24 AM
The ZR has a charging dock (sold separately) which will enable you to charge the phone without removing the flap for the USB port. However, like previous post mentioned, if you are using a casing for the ZR, you will have to remove the casing every time you want to charge the phone via the dock, because most likely the phone + casing will not fit the dock.
The ZR is rated to be water resistant for 30 minutes submerged under no more than 1.5 meters of water.
kysham
Nov 14 2013, 03:19 PM
I got a charging dock (actually I bought 3 units  ) off eBay. Not original Sony dock but it costs less than RM40 each, shipped to me. I buy 3 docks cheaper than 1 original Sony dock. Works the same. At the back got 1 additional slot to charge an extra battery some more. Well? I go on eBay and bought to original Sony batteries for RM100, again including delivery to me. So yeah, now I got 2 spare batteries. I just bring them along with me whenever I go travelling. And for short trips (1 or 2 days), I don't even need to bring charger.  This phone's lack of internal memory really does limit it. I did hit the memory brick wall recently. Had to uninstall quite a few apps to free up the memory. Forces me to remove some rubbish apps also lah.
kysham
Nov 15 2013, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(zan4182 @ Nov 14 2013, 11:43 PM) PM me if u want to sell ur xtra charging dock..  Sorry bro. Charging docks not for sale.
kysham
Dec 24 2013, 11:38 AM
kysham
Dec 24 2013, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(nodeffect @ Dec 24 2013, 12:14 PM) Hi guys, may I know the price for this phone? and where can I get one cheap? Search in Garage Sales section?
kysham
Dec 24 2013, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(kilsmap @ Dec 24 2013, 01:25 PM) Come on man, its just a question.. Why so serious? Is it even a complaint? Aiseh.. Ini mcm pun boleh ke.. Another thing, the difference between OTA and PC Companion update is the ability to keep root access, which i need.. Amcm skarang, clear? The last I checked, OTA takda. PC companion ada.
kysham
Jan 11 2014, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(saperin @ Jan 8 2014, 03:12 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
hi, may I ask is there a battery charge indicator for the battery dock there? to know if it is full or not. I have the same dock (in fact, I have 3 docks, all the same model). The blue LED is to indicate if the dock is receiving power from USB or not. That's all. It doesn't indicate charging. To know if the phone is fully charged or not, have to check on the phone itself. If you slot a 2nd battery into the battery charging port at the back, then there will be another red LED light (next to the blue LED) that will light up, indicating that the dock is charging the spare battery. Once that battery is fully charged, the red LED will go off. The dock is capable of charging both the phone and the spare battery at the same time. After I upgraded to 4.3, I noticed that my SMS app is sometimes lagging and I will need to force close it. But everything else is very good. Just this damn sms app.... haish.... can never have everything working perfectly.
kysham
Mar 20 2014, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(waimin94 @ Mar 14 2014, 02:14 PM) I got my ZR last week and it's awesome! (as I moved from HTC Wildfire LOL) Currently android version 4.2.2. Any idea on 4.2/4.3 works better for this phone? Found out there's a disadvantage which is get heated very easily  Btw, anyone tested using the phone in a swimming pool? how? >< I didn't swim with the ZR (if that's what your definition of testing the phone in a swimming pool is), but I regularly take photos of my little boy in the kid's pool while he was swimming and diving into the water. I recently used the ZR to capture photos of some of us taking a dip underwater in a river during my cycling trip. The ZR came up tops. No issues. Just make sure all the flaps & cover is tight before going under water and you should be fine. Underwater shot taken inside a river, during our cycling trip.
kysham
Apr 2 2014, 09:25 AM
I got my .101 update OTA yesterday. No problems whatsoever. Smooth download. Just a minor update, I think. The download package is only around 35MB. Interesting to note on the following page screenshot that at the end of that Xperia ZR Android version overview that Kit Kat is clearly in the firmware update route for Xperia ZR.
Source : Xperia ZR Software UpdatesThis post has been edited by kysham: Apr 2 2014, 09:36 AM
kysham
Apr 2 2014, 04:59 PM
Battery life seems to have improved a little bit. I do notice that the phone is not hot for the whole of yesterday & today. Will need to monitor further....
kysham
Apr 17 2014, 03:26 PM
My wifi router is downstairs from my room. Still good wifi signal detected. No issues for me.
kysham
Apr 25 2014, 09:56 PM
I like the new album apps. More logical for me to navigate.
kysham
May 2 2014, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(nixonyang @ May 2 2014, 12:05 AM) Anyone experience all the widgets in homescreen went haywire? it wont load up properly and cant be interacted. Only solve by restarting the device Nope. Mine behaved..... normally.
kysham
May 5 2014, 10:28 AM
The main reason why I am still using my ZR is because of the removable battery. I have 2 batteries with me, so whenever one die, I just swap over with another one, and immediately I get 100% battery power. I'm also using the charging dock (not the original Sony one), so I have a spare slot to charge my additional battery, while still charging the phone. I don't like to use powerbank because I don't really like the idea of bringing the phone with a powerbank attached to it by a cable. It's too cumbersome to me. Personal preference though. Your mileage may vary.
My workday pattern is not fixed. Sometimes I am in the office almost the entire day. Other days, I am out of the office most of the time. So I tend to keep my phone on data most of the time. I check fb & whatsapp quite often, so I would say my data usage is probably quite regular (not light, but not heavy also). I find having 2 batteries is the best combination for me. 1 battery will easily last me from 8 am till evening 6 or 7 pm on a busy day. On a more relaxed day, I won't have to change battery at all. I leave my phone on the charging dock overnight.
kysham
Jun 9 2014, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(DawredTan @ Jun 9 2014, 09:23 AM) Actually ZR has the 10.5.A.0.230 for singapore(malaysia) few days ago, but only in PCC. There is no OTA yet. Thanks for the heads up! Downloading my update now via PC companion!
kysham
Jun 9 2014, 09:35 PM
I also got the media error and had to factory reset the phone. Heck, the phone can't even access my memory card! After the reset, all seems to be smooth for me so far. No more error.
kysham
Jun 12 2014, 10:01 AM
No wifi connectivity problems for me. All is well after my firmware update & factory reset.