What happened to my TYRE, Outer side of the tread is gone

Quazacolt
post May 13 2013, 07:46 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ May 13 2013, 05:59 PM)
Contrary to the popular belief, camber don't actually wear tyre down that much or fast. Even at negative 2.5-3, it still won't cause that much of obvious one sided wear lol.

I can assure you that the toe is the culprit here for your case.
The feathered worn pattern shown on the picture is the dead giveaway.

I had the same problem on my Civic's stock tyre as well (Michelin Pilot Preceda)
And this happened after I sent my car to service in Honda Service Center and they asked if I want to do tyre rotation and alignment. Never ever trust any service center to do proper alignment job for you :/ But that's just my opinion.
this pretty much. because if you're on negative camber, the extra/increased wear should be limited mainly on the shoulder, at most until around the first water draining groove, not all the way to the middle lol.

to TS:
do read this and learn how to read alignment (toe/camber/caster) readings
http://www.carparts.com/alignment.htm
Quazacolt
post May 15 2013, 11:48 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

edit
hmm brain isn't fully awake it seems rofl

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 15 2013, 12:01 PM
Quazacolt
post May 15 2013, 11:59 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 14 2013, 05:03 PM)
My car also suffers from this...mine even worst, outer and inner worn off....even I so pump in more and do very regular alignment.

But end of the day, whatever it is, even if it worn evenly, at that state, you still need to change it....dun kid yourself...your tires are bald....change it TODAY!

Nowadays I see tireshop got alignment machine...but actually, do they really know how to do settings?
actually alignment wouldn't have anything to do with BOTH inner/outer (at the same time) wearing, it's just lack of air pressure

and yes, agree if the tire's worn out severely, best is to change.

also, you can read and teach the alignment shop yourself, just learn it up via google LOL

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 15 2013, 12:00 PM
Quazacolt
post Jun 18 2013, 08:18 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 18 2013, 12:40 AM)
Tyres last 2 years? I haven't had tyres last more than 1 year in the past 8 years.
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

0.0162sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:34 PM