Perfumes for Guys v3
akib_mullen
Jul 22 2013, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jul 22 2013, 12:14 PM) lol, habit rouge is one of my fave staples. it's benzoin + vanilla with lemon top. i wear it often and im just 27 GV dosent smell like indian barber at all. it's khus oil and tobacco. which one habit rouge? got several right?
akib_mullen
Jul 22 2013, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jul 22 2013, 02:22 PM) There's one habit rouge but different formulations over the decades. The latest one is what is sold in counters and online stores worldwide. Vintage will be expensive and not much of a point unless you nose is ultra sensitive. i mean the ur fav habit rouge, which one?
akib_mullen
Jan 21 2014, 11:34 PM
reading this thread and suddenly tangan gatal order this lol » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
akib_mullen
Jan 28 2014, 06:58 AM
I wear opus V today. First time I smelled it, smile coming out from my face. Refreshing. I dunno what note it is but is it contain rose note? I got a very sweet scent from it.
How to recognize what notes contain in a frag?
akib_mullen
Jan 28 2014, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(t0n3 @ Jan 28 2014, 05:51 PM) Not sure how other seniors here do it as I'm still very new to this kinda thing but this is how I learn my favorite notes :- (1) Sniff actual thing (2) Compare and identify Spices and herbs are cheaper to buy and have easier access to. For example, I have coriander seed, cardamom (spices) and bay leaf (herbs). My local ColdStorage has vanilla pods from Madagascar I can sniff. I also have essential oils of frankincense (Boswellia Carterii) and myrrh (Commiphora Myrrha) both from Somalia by Neal's Yard. I also bought sample of Labdanum 18 by Le Labo (for Labdanum obviously) and Saffron Sample Set from SurrenderToChance which consists of Red Oud by Montale, Safran Troublant by L`Artisan Parfumeur and Rose Kashmirie by Les Parfums de Rosine. When sampling, make sure the note you wanna find out is prominent/major player and not well-blended. You could refer to fragrantica for scent's info. You could also read odor profile on fragrantica to find out the characteristics of a note. Maybe some of my examples given are a bit hardcore, you could just try reading odor profile on fragrantica and use compare and identify method. Happy sniffing   haha nice stuff there, gonna buy some of those too to sample
akib_mullen
Jan 29 2014, 12:03 AM
The sample program from TPS just arrive, 1 week taken, quite fast I would say. Some frag spilled I think I dunno which one » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
akib_mullen
Mar 17 2014, 11:17 AM
guys how much tabac rouge in malaysia for 100ml?
akib_mullen
Mar 17 2014, 02:17 PM
well tabac rouge considered cheaper substitue for TV right? Or is there other perfume similar to TR n TV?
akib_mullen
Mar 17 2014, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(t0n3 @ Mar 17 2014, 05:19 PM) Eau des Baux by L`Occitane is said to be another TV cheaper alternative. I tried them both briefly and found to be quite similar. half price from TR, pheww. It is EDT, I dunwan blind buy. I need sample, hehe. Thanks tho for the info
akib_mullen
Apr 26 2014, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Apr 26 2014, 01:00 AM) Sorry what does OCD mean? obsessive compulsive disorder
akib_mullen
Jun 29 2014, 06:43 AM
guys, how much is the price for Tom Ford TV 50ml or 100ml in malaysia? try to get my hand of them, if my wallet can afford it
akib_mullen
Jul 12 2014, 05:45 PM
yeh, finally got my hands on TV 100 ml for around 900 after convert, good i think? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
akib_mullen
Jul 12 2014, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(edwardleong @ Jul 12 2014, 06:00 PM) nice haul u got there... decent price lor... i saw Neroli Portofino 100ml for 930 at klia 2... very gatal to swipe my card after 2 sprays to my hand lol.. but then still struggling between Jubilation XXV / Epic Woman / Memoir Woman this is my 2nd perfume i bought after DHI. Just using sample TV before and already ran out. want to ask you, how's the smell of tobacco oud?
akib_mullen
Jul 23 2014, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(ludalord @ Jul 21 2014, 08:50 AM) hi guys, i'm new here and would ask a question. what do u guys recommend to get if i want a fragrance that has strong vanilla smell and long lasting? but i want it to be more masculine. also, i prefer if its less powdery/synthetic. thinking about tom ford tobacco vanille but i think its too pricey for me though. any recommendations? thx u can try phaedon tabac rouge, quite expensive too but cheaper than TV
akib_mullen
Jul 30 2014, 07:27 AM
anyone has tried Maitre Parfumeur et Gantier Bahiana? how is it?
akib_mullen
Aug 20 2014, 01:22 AM
QUOTE(marver @ Aug 19 2014, 02:20 PM) SOTD : SERGE LUTENS - AMBRE SULTANSniffing back some of my all-time fav. And decide to pull this on.  hows the smell ya? want to buy new perfume but I dont even know my taste myself
akib_mullen
Aug 24 2014, 02:47 AM
if someone want to sell TF noir de noir 50ml around 60% full for ~rm320 is it good? or too exp?
akib_mullen
Aug 24 2014, 09:51 PM
yesterday i went shopping complex trying some perfume i got my eye on. ambre sultan, chergui, un bois vanille, habit rouge. ambre sultan and chergui on my skin is too pungent for my nose while un UBV smells like synthetic vanilla on my skin but smell nice on paper. habit rouge too strong too on my nose so i decided to take a walk waiting the drydown. eventually ambre sultan n chergui smell nice and for HR i still can't take it. And I didn't buy anything lol. but got this sample, the person at the counter said its a new frag, izit? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « *already rotate the pic still comes out like that
akib_mullen
Aug 24 2014, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(Astroboy22 @ Aug 24 2014, 10:14 PM) Yes bro, it's new. Which shopping centre did you go to? I confused too. Outside shop jenners but inside said house of frasers QUOTE(Astroboy22 @ Aug 24 2014, 10:16 PM) Bro.. I think the price is still okay. Spore selling 50ml full bottle @ sgd 320! woot, that was almost rm800. looks like I'm going to buy it coz I like NdN
akib_mullen
Aug 25 2014, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(Astroboy22 @ Aug 24 2014, 11:55 PM) Oh... Edinburgh jenners house of Fraser yeah? Good luck with your acquisition of noir de noir!! haha u got me there, yeap thats it, princess street. thanks for the goodluck