55 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

infernoaswen
post Dec 27 2013, 05:04 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Since we are on the battery topic, may I know how long does your battery last? Mind sharing how long you get out of your laptop to those who owns 5470? I can't seems to find any proper review on this dell laptop? I would appreciate if you could share me the link if there is any hmm.gif

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 27 2013, 03:03 PM)
laptop since year 2011 is having less problem with their battery
if u can see in recent Dell, Asus and Toshiba laptop, their battery is not charging once it fully charged
they have auto-cut off feature to prevent the battery from overcharging
even if this feature is not available, our nowadays Lithium ion battery still can long lasting

the only reason people questioning about non-removable battery is because the heat from the laptop motherboard itself (either cpu, gpu or anything) but not from the charging process.

anyway, back to the original question, i wouldn't mind if its the battery non-removable
i travel a lot and i use a slim ultrabook (asus vivobook) with less area for heat dissipation, plus with non-removable battery, but i still satisfied with the battery lifespan.
- Yes it may have voltage cut off circuit but that circuit can fail (rare but it can happen), and when this happens there is nothing left to safe your battery. Read here for better understanding: http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article...based_batteries

I used to believe what you believe in the past (based on what I read by others) but last year my phone battery started to fail because I always leave it charging overnight. The next morning woke up, the phone battery is bulging. Battery started to fail after that and since that incident I never leave my devices charging overnight (although sometimes I do forget to remove the charger).

- Yes there is nothing wrong with non-removeable batteries. This is the trend now, they are using polymer battery which is thinner & lighter but performs same as lithium (your vivobook is not using lithium ion but polymer). Manufacturing cost is slightly higher so if you need to replace it, it would cost a bit more. Lifespan on the other hand is same, as long as you follow the guide on how to prolong your lithium battery there is nothing to worry about. I am also using non-removable battery in my asus zenbook & it is still performing in good condition after a year plus. smile.gif
fastreader
post Dec 27 2013, 05:14 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 27 2013, 05:04 PM)

smile.gif smile.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

thank you for your kind feedback. Greatly appreciated. smile.gif
infernoaswen
post Dec 27 2013, 05:25 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Dec 27 2013, 05:14 PM)
smile.gif  smile.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

thank you for your kind feedback. Greatly appreciated. smile.gif
No problem, I am also thinking of getting this model for my sis haha. The issue cannot install ssd is bugging me though.

In short, nothing wrong with non-removeable batteries. If you are not unlucky, the battery should last for few years. These kind of battery reduces the laptop weight a lot, I went lowyat plaza yesterday & wow, this laptop is light lol. Almost as light as my zenbook laugh.gif

Was thinking of the asus U38DT but after reading reviews, seems like that cpu is nothing close to this sad.gif Else I would have gotten that because its build quality is much better laugh.gif Also I see brightstar offers 3 years warranty with just RM10 extra, anyone knows about this? Is it legit? Its too cheap that I am kinda suspicious laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 27 2013, 05:54 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 27 2013, 05:25 PM)
No problem, I am also thinking of getting this model for my sis haha. The issue cannot install ssd is bugging me though.

In short, nothing wrong with non-removeable batteries. If you are not unlucky, the battery should last for few years. These kind of battery reduces the laptop weight a lot, I went lowyat plaza yesterday & wow, this laptop is light lol. Almost as light as my zenbook  laugh.gif

Was thinking of the asus U38DT but after reading reviews, seems like that cpu is nothing close to this  sad.gif Else I would have gotten that because its build quality is much better  laugh.gif  Also I see brightstar offers 3 years warranty with just RM10 extra, anyone knows about this? Is it legit? Its too cheap that I am kinda suspicious  laugh.gif
Yes, I even confirmed with Dell by calling the technical team up (Malaysian 5470 isn't compatible with SSD)

I got an idea for you, pass your ASUS to your sis tongue.gif
infernoaswen
post Dec 27 2013, 06:07 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 27 2013, 05:54 PM)
Yes, I even confirmed with Dell by calling the technical team up (Malaysian 5470 isn't compatible with SSD)

I got an idea for you, pass your ASUS to your sis tongue.gif
Man, this sucks. I guess no choice but to buy the one with the mSata ssd sad.gif

Told her, she dont want haha. Because last time also I pass my old HP laptop to her, now she wants a "NEW" laptop. She say dont want 2nd hand stuff anymore liao doh.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 27 2013, 06:11 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 27 2013, 06:07 PM)
Man, this sucks. I guess no choice but to buy the one with the mSata ssd  sad.gif

Told her, she dont want haha. Because last time also I pass my old HP laptop to her, now she wants a "NEW" laptop. She say dont want 2nd hand stuff anymore liao  doh.gif
I think the mSATA SSD is for caching only but the install the OS there I'm not too sure already.

Ohh haha, I would have grabbed it if I were her biggrin.gif Super nice ultrabook wei, and somemore free blush.gif
suadrif
post Dec 27 2013, 06:12 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 27 2013, 05:04 PM)
Since we are on the battery topic, may I know how long does your battery last? Mind sharing how long you get out of your laptop to those who owns 5470? I can't seems to find any proper review on this dell laptop? I would appreciate if you could share me the link if there is any  hmm.gif
- Yes it may have voltage cut off circuit but that circuit can fail (rare but it can happen), and when this happens there is nothing left to safe your battery. Read here for better understanding: http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article...based_batteries

I used to believe what you believe in the past (based on what I read by others) but last year my phone battery started to fail because I always leave it charging overnight. The next morning woke up, the phone battery is bulging. Battery started to fail after that and since that incident I never leave my devices charging overnight (although sometimes I do forget to remove the charger).

- Yes there is nothing wrong with non-removeable batteries. This is the trend now, they are using polymer battery which is thinner & lighter but performs same as lithium (your vivobook is not using lithium ion but polymer). Manufacturing cost is slightly higher so if you need to replace it, it would cost a bit more. Lifespan on the other hand is same, as long as you follow the guide on how to prolong your lithium battery there is nothing to worry about. I am also using non-removable battery in my asus zenbook & it is still performing in good condition after a year plus. smile.gif
yep
thanks for the correction sweat.gif
last time it was lithium and now changed already
didn't notice that coz seldom flip my laptop to check it at the bottom tongue.gif

but anyhow, there's no obvious reason to stop me using non-removable battery nod.gif
i think most of the batteries are having similar range of lifespan
perhaps when the battery is starting to spoil, we are changing to newer laptop drool.gif
infernoaswen
post Dec 27 2013, 06:21 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 27 2013, 06:11 PM)
I think the mSATA SSD is for caching only but the install the OS there I'm not too sure already.

Ohh haha, I would have grabbed it if I were her biggrin.gif Super nice ultrabook wei, and somemore free blush.gif
I have a plextor ssd, if I get this laptop maybe i'll just swap it & try (if she allows). Don't have any high hopes but hopefully it can boot up unsure.gif
enduser
post Dec 27 2013, 07:01 PM

1,280 posts

some say its possible to install the OS at the mSATA
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forum...1352=2#20491831

http://fashion.pconline.com.cn/article_source/200070.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/notebook...sd-4242559.html

This post has been edited by enduser: Dec 27 2013, 07:02 PM
justinlee
post Dec 27 2013, 08:25 PM

reading from the posts above I understand that the vostro 5470 does not support SSD. As a vostro 5460 owner, I was planning on upgrading to a Samsung EVO 840 SSD. Could you guys tell me if the vostro 5460 supports SSD?
Areas Elysian
post Dec 27 2013, 08:28 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(justinlee @ Dec 27 2013, 08:25 PM)
reading from the posts above I understand that the vostro 5470 does not support SSD. As a vostro 5460 owner, I was planning on upgrading to a Samsung EVO 840 SSD. Could you guys tell me if the vostro 5460 supports SSD?
I might not have the Vostro 5470, but I can't seem to imagine how could a laptop not support SSD since either, a) said laptop uses standard SATA HDD spinners, can be easily replaced with a SSD or, b) uses mSATA which ONLY comes with SSD flavour.. OR.. c) Flash Memory directly soldiered on the motherboard which, also means it's using SSD..

*confused*
infernoaswen
post Dec 27 2013, 10:37 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

The thing I dont understand the most is even if it can detect hdd only, why settle for 5400rpm hdd?? Why not straight use 7400rpm drives? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 27 2013, 10:49 PM

12,573 posts

It seems the 5460 supports it according to Alexdino

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=65089257

Thing about the 5470 as clarified by Dell Malaysia FB page (which is non existent now lol)

There are 2 version of the 5470

1) Notebook- Which is what is being sold here in Malaysia <--- Not compatible with SSD
2) Ultrabook- in other countries <---- This would be compatible with SSD

I don't know what's the big deal with the motherboard but people have been having problems booting from the SSD, refer back to page 38 on this thread or:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjIPTCDos_k
infernoaswen
post Dec 27 2013, 10:56 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 27 2013, 10:49 PM)
It seems the 5460 supports it according to Alexdino

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=65089257

Thing about the 5470 as clarified by Dell Malaysia FB page (which is non existent now lol)

There are 2 version of the 5470

1) Notebook- Which is what is being sold here in Malaysia <--- Not compatible with SSD
2) Ultrabook- in other countries <---- This would be compatible with SSD

I don't know what's the big deal with the motherboard but people have been having problems booting from the SSD, refer back to page 38 on this thread or:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjIPTCDos_k
Please tell me this works cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

-kytz-
post Dec 27 2013, 10:58 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 27 2013, 10:56 PM)
Please tell me this works  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

I know about this new product but they kinda cost a bomb, close to RM1k if not mistaken
infernoaswen
post Dec 27 2013, 11:00 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 27 2013, 10:58 PM)
I know about this new product but they kinda cost a bomb, close to RM1k if not mistaken
Really? Oh mai gawd, didnt know the price LOL. Thought gonna be priced something like momentus xt doh.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 27 2013, 11:02 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 27 2013, 11:00 PM)
Really? Oh mai gawd, didnt know the price LOL. Thought gonna be priced something like momentus xt  doh.gif
Yeah, USD299

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7540/western...-25-form-factor

Momentus XT is a more inferior technology.
nexus2238
post Dec 28 2013, 11:01 AM

4,195 posts

read previous posts.
owner of 5460 had no problem swapping HDD out for SSD.
nexus2238
post Dec 28 2013, 11:03 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 27 2013, 05:25 PM)
Also I see brightstar offers 3 years warranty with just RM10 extra, anyone knows about this? Is it legit? Its too cheap that I am kinda suspicious  laugh.gif
extended warranty from shop, not from brand directly. Usual caveat applied smile.gif
AskarPerang
post Dec 28 2013, 11:23 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Awaiting my new 5470 delivery. Yeah, taken the one with mSATA and i3 for RM2K only. Gonna use for normal office works stuff, web browsing and watching movie.

55 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:45 AM