QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 24 2013, 02:39 PM)
vostro 5460 and 5470 only got 1 sloti think max can go only 8gb
Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook
Sep 24 2013, 05:34 PM
2,650 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Sep 25 2013, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 25 2013, 12:10 PM) Okay..now I have a problem...it seems like dell do not provide the OS cd for the laptop... it is much easier to do factory reset nowadays since all the drivers are included in the image.1. So if I would want to reformat my laptop..the only way is through BIOS factory image reset? 2. So if I format my computer using lets say..win xp / win 7...meaning my ori windows 8 that came with it is lost forever? 3. As what dell chat told me..I'm not able to simply just download the same edition of windows and use the windows key that came with my original So what options do I have...if I want a clean install...and let's say adjust my HDD partitions to my preference? plus, u get it done with single button. |
Sep 25 2013, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Sep 25 2013, 12:39 PM) You also purchased the copy of Win8 together with your 5470. the problem is, he unable to reformat back if he wipe cleaned his hddSo you are free to reformat it back infinitely using the same key on your 5470 if you wish to. the key is not in sticker anymore. its built in the BIOS. if its wipe cleaned, its all gone. |
Sep 25 2013, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Sep 25 2013, 12:47 PM) u mean ISO file, is it downloaded from internet?bcoz new laptop doesnt come with win8 CD anymore, and no more license sticker key pasted below laptop. if its reset from factory setting its yes, thats our recommendation but he worried someday he accidentally wipe cleaned all of it and then unable to recover back. |
Sep 25 2013, 02:26 PM
Sep 25 2013, 04:40 PM
Sep 25 2013, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 25 2013, 04:11 PM) That's something about the "customisation" page that I never figure out. Even for the same models, for some spec, in the customisation page, has "OS Media Kit" option, but not for other spec one thing i miss, the product feature in vostro 5470 mention:Anyway, for corporate account, every single laptop come with OS media kit in the box "Boot up quickly with a fast solid-state drive (SSD) and get long battery life with the optional Ultrabookâ˘, inspired by Intel." but i dont see any option for upgrading to SSD another thing is, does it really come with fingerprint reader? "Essential security Prevent unauthorized access to your laptop and sensitive data with a built-in fingerprint reader. Protect against malware and cyber threats with preloaded security software. Safeguard your data and applications with Dell Backup and Recovery, offering simple and reliable protection from data loss." |
Sep 26 2013, 10:13 AM
Sep 27 2013, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Sep 27 2013, 10:11 AM) maybe reliable but not so popular due to simple designthe advantage of it is only slim and light but the design is plain and look empty. perhaps most reviewer attracted to other model such as Hp envy, sony vaio pro, lenovo ideapad and asus vivobook |
Sep 30 2013, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 23 2013, 04:26 PM) WhatMan, your awaits finally over presenting.... your dream laptop... Inspiron 7000!!! |
Oct 1 2013, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Sep 30 2013, 09:53 PM) "how good" is too subjective to explain but can refer notebookcheck.net to see the performance ranking if i m not mistaken, its slightly below nvidia 630m but this Inspiron 7000, its slimmer compared to vostro 5460 but heavier 15.3mm with 2kg, compared to 18mm with 1.3kg. |
Oct 6 2013, 04:09 PM
Oct 9 2013, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 8 2013, 11:59 PM) Well, since the 5470 do not come with a dvdr..and I would like to create a backup with the fresh laptop so that I can clean up the entire computer one day if I want to..something like a reformat on win xp. bootable flash drive requires no more than 4GB, which cost less than rm20.But I notice that I could only use a flash drive that will make it a bootable flash drive. I don't really want to sacrifice an entire flash drive just to keep the files in the drawer. Is there anyway I can temporarily transfer these files to a cd so that one day when I need it, I can easily transfer it back to a flashdrive for booting and reset purposes? nowadays usage of CD is very seldom already. most installer is downloadable from online. what is your specific usage / requirement for CD anyway? |
Oct 9 2013, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Oct 8 2013, 11:45 PM) I think you should call Dell:- based on your nickname & post content, i assume u r one of Dell Sales Rep?Home & Home office Systems Sales 1800-88-0301 Small Business Systems Sales 1800-88-0038 and ask them why late for the delivery. Just demand must receive by this week by Thursday or Friday. there's lot of user waiting for Dell 5460 / 5470 review all this while why not try to boost your sales by provide us comprehensive review? exactly like what MSI sales person did in this thread |
Oct 9 2013, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 9 2013, 09:36 AM) Nah, I just wanted a OS media kit in case that I would want to wipe clean to a fresh start one day. Its just like having the OS cd in my hands. So the initial thought was...why buy a pendrive and keep it in a drawer..so I thought of keeping it in a dvd..but if I cant transfer the files from usb to cd, and i would have to buy a external dvdr just for that purpose, it'll cost less to simply get a flash drive instead. 5470 offer a free media kit in Dell Customization page.if i am not mistaken u can try chat with Dell online and ask for it to deliver together with your package its free though but nowadays, CD & DVD had become like diskette. even company with PC also no more use CD anymore. the CD tray is left with dusty and sometimes stuck like never been use people prefer flashdrive nowadays because its more user friendly and easy access. i think u need to get comfortable with that nowadays btw, a tips from me: u can use a flash drive for bootable drive and keep your files at the same time. just create another folder but DO NOT name the folder as like boot system folder such as "Data", "windows" or "boot" for me, i just put my personal file in a folder named as "Personal" and "Work" it does work and it does not affect your boot process. |
Oct 9 2013, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Oct 9 2013, 09:32 AM) I'm a normal user / seller that works for IT company. Most of our re-selling owh i see products are Dell, hence I know a little bit about Dell system or operations. Not as pro as the real Sales Rep. It just a nickname though. but can u do the comprehensive review? we all waiting for it lah |
Oct 9 2013, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 9 2013, 09:36 AM) Besides, how reliable are flashdrives if not used for a period of time? And I had the thought. Lets say, I forgot to create a whatever bootable image in a flashdrive when the laptop is fresh from factory. Will I still be able to wipe clean the laptop back to factory in the future? as for the red one, i m not sure |
Oct 9 2013, 04:32 PM
Oct 10 2013, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Oct 10 2013, 10:34 AM) this is not about study or what, if REALLY got wifi problem then I should just to correct your understanding,face the SAME problem as well. If you buy a car, your RIM make an annoying sound, does that mean ALL got same problem? so far no problem yet. Not only Dell, asus hp toshiba msi acer and other also will face their own problem. Thats why in the first place manufacturer provides WARRANTY years warranty, correct? SPEEDTEST 1 VIA DELL VOSTRO 5460 WIFI (KOTA DAMANSARA - 08102013 - 10:11PM) SPEEDTEST 2 VIA DELL VOSTRO 5460 WIFI (KOTA DAMANSARA - 08102013 - 10:23PM) SPEEDTEST 3 VIA DELL VOSTRO 5460 WIFI (KOTA DAMANSARA - 08102013 - 10:25PM) Btw, I personally upgraded the laptop bios to BIOS: Dell Inc. A06 05/20/2013. [attachmentid=3668511] ** Full system check by Belarc Advisor ** WiFi signal strength check by inSSIDer for Home its not the laptop got problem with wifi. the problem is the wifi card itself. the wifi card for 5460 is short range frequency, which cause intermittent disconnect if u use the laptop in public. thats all. it happen to all model, not only few model like what u describe in example above. if your wifi signal is strong and wide, then u wont have problem with your laptop. |
Oct 12 2013, 07:46 PM
| Change to: | 0.0465sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:35 PM |