Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

Error404
post Oct 25 2013, 11:24 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 25 2013, 11:04 AM)
I just noticed ..

1. Dell's auto detect thing for the drivers etc...DOES NOT WORK !!..at least for me. So I have to search one at a time..to look for updates.. DAMN !!

2. The bluetooth on the Vostro 5470, ain't working. It gets connected, the disconnects

3. After updating to Windows 8.1, the obsolete digitalPersona fingerprint thing is pretty much useless with IE 11.

4. McAffee is driving me crazy..slowing everything down by half.
My bluetooth is working fine as im using bluetooth mouse from dell also, it never got disconnected.
Agree on the McAffee, it slows down everything & it does not have the option disable the auto startup in msconfig.
WhatMan
post Oct 25 2013, 11:40 AM

1,623 posts

It baffles me that Dell does not give me the option to not install McAfee.
WhatMan
post Oct 25 2013, 11:42 AM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 25 2013, 09:26 AM)
it depends on your size laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm not a very careful person with my gadget, and I find 5460 / 5470 is a bit fragile for myself tongue.gif If you twist it (base side to side, display side to side .. ), it will bend  hmm.gif
But it is actually quite on par with normal consumer line laptop around RM2k range in term of build quality.
I'm thinking of vostro or that new Inspiron 11 3000 but I have not heard much feedback from that unit.

To me, battery life is king, as I travel a lot.
Error404
post Oct 25 2013, 11:46 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:40 AM)
It baffles me that Dell does not give me the option to not install McAfee.
u can just un-install the program
Error404
post Oct 25 2013, 11:47 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:42 AM)
I'm thinking of vostro or that new Inspiron 11 3000 but I have not heard much feedback from that unit.

my 5470 battery can last about 6 hrs+ on Dell Power Plan
WhatMan
post Oct 25 2013, 11:50 AM

1,623 posts

How large is the adapter for the 5470? I really like the size of the adapter of the Asus zenbooks due to its smaller size. pics would be nice.
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 11:52 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:42 AM)

The Inspiron 11 3000 has longer battery run time, with Haswell Celeron + 50 WHr battery.
But Vostro 5470 with Haswell i3 ULT + 40+ ( hmm.gif ) WHr battery is still pretty good.

Purely personal opinion: since the 11 is smaller in dimension, when I tried to bend it, I felt it flex a bit less compared to 5460/5470. 1 thing, I find the arrow key in Inspiron 11 is a bit small hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 11:57 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Oct 25 2013, 11:04 AM)
4. McAffee is driving me crazy..slowing everything down by half.
I generally find Window Defender good enough for W8 smile.gif
WhatMan
post Oct 25 2013, 11:58 AM

1,623 posts

How you manage to get your hands with Inspiron 11 3000. From the youtube videos I've seen, the 11 looks 'solid' although its really is made out of plastic to look like aluminium.

What bothers me a bit about the 11 is the celeron processor. Kind of worried about the performance when it comes to booting from a cold start, browsing web and play facebook level games.

Although..touch screen is nice, but I wonder if it brings any benefit when using Win 8.1.

Very hard to find shop around Miri that carries dell laptops.
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:05 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:50 AM)
How large is the adapter for the 5470? I really like the size of the adapter of the Asus zenbooks due to its smaller size. pics would be nice.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1j7gEiSnUs
can look at this video on 5460. Should be same adapter.
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:18 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 11:58 AM)
How you manage to get your hands with Inspiron 11 3000. From the youtube videos I've seen, the 11 looks 'solid' although its really is made out of plastic to look like aluminium.

What bothers me a bit about the 11 is the celeron processor. Kind of worried about the performance when it comes to booting from a cold start, browsing web and play facebook level games.

Although..touch screen is nice, but I wonder if it brings any benefit when using Win 8.1.

Very hard to find shop around Miri that carries dell laptops.
Because my office colleagues (who were on netbook) are already using it laugh.gif (so I molested a bit). Some of them (who do lots of field trip) decided to grab this instead of waiting for Venue Pro 11 (our current IT procurement for workstation is all Dell, other still hold out for Venue Pro 11). Their slight beef is it come with 2GB RAM standard, so they just slap a 8GB DDR3L (unfortunately only 1 RAM slot, like Vostro 5460/5470).

That Celeron should handle web browsing and FB games well.

Another thing: if you compare them side by side, Inspiron 11 is very slightly thicker than Vostro 5460/5470.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 25 2013, 12:25 PM
WhatMan
post Oct 25 2013, 12:28 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 25 2013, 12:18 PM)
Because my office colleagues (who were on netbook) are already using it laugh.gif (so I molested a bit). Some of them (who do lots of field trip) decided to grab this instead of waiting for Venue Pro 11 (our current IT procurement for workstation is all Dell, other still hold out for Venue Pro 11). Their slight beef is it come with 2GB RAM standard, so they just slap a 8GB DDR3L (unfortunately only 1 RAM slot, like Vostro 5460/5470).

That Celeron should handle web browsing and FB games well.
I've been looking for netbook level laptop unfortunately Dell as well as other manufacturer simply stop producing it as they deemed netbook a dead category.

Inspiron 11 3000 would very much fit my needs, unfortunately the price comes so close to more powerful vostro.

Venue Pro 11? How many USB ports (not including mini) does it have? I require at the very least, 2 full size USB ports.
WhatMan
post Oct 25 2013, 12:29 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 25 2013, 12:18 PM)
Another thing: if you compare them side by side, Inspiron 11 is very slightly thicker than Vostro 5460/5470.
But lighter, right? Same adapter size as well? Do you feel the Inspiron 11 touch screen is 'worth' it?
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:51 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 12:28 PM)
I've been looking for netbook level laptop unfortunately Dell as well as other manufacturer simply stop producing it as they deemed netbook a dead category.

Inspiron 11 3000 would very much fit my needs, unfortunately the price comes so close to more powerful vostro.

Venue Pro 11? How many USB ports (not including mini) does it have? I require at the very least, 2 full size USB ports.
Venue Pro 11 is a tablet though (but battery detachable), with detachable keyboard (with another battery). Not available yet. Only 1 USB port, iinm.

If you need something solid, why don't you consider Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E135? I think you could get it at ~ RM1100 now (since E145 is coming out soon).
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 12:53 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 12:29 PM)
But lighter, right? Same adapter size as well? Do you feel the Inspiron 11 touch screen is 'worth' it?
Yes, Inspiron 11 is very slightly lighter (since it is smaller as well, I felt more portable (if you know what I meant tongue.gif )
Yup, same adapter size.

I am not a touch screen person on traditional form factor, so may be not the best person to ask laugh.gif

WhatMan
post Oct 25 2013, 01:08 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 25 2013, 12:51 PM)
Venue Pro 11 is a tablet though (but battery detachable), with detachable keyboard (with another battery). Not available yet. Only 1 USB port, iinm.

If you need something solid, why don't you consider Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E135? I think you could get it at ~ RM1100 now (since E145 is coming out soon).
I checked the unit, although I would prefer to get the latest one (E145) but the unit runs on AMD processor. sweat.gif

Still prefer dell due to its excellent on site service.
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 03:13 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 25 2013, 01:08 PM)
I checked the unit, although I would prefer to get the latest one (E145) but the unit runs on AMD processor.  sweat.gif

Still prefer dell due to its excellent on site service.
Since you mentioned your usage for this laptop is probably web surfing and FB gaming, that AMD APU should be fine smile.gif
You can upgrade the warranty on Thinkpad Edge to on site service (but I'm not familiar with standard of service by Lenovo on site support at Miri or East Malaysia, sorry tongue.gif )
Khalid21
post Oct 25 2013, 03:28 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 25 2013, 09:23 AM)
Dell will replace it for us FOC?
So you'd done it? Any improvement compare to original?
Dell going to replace anything you complaint between warranty period

i replace network card 2 time... 1st replace with intel, 2nd time replace with realtek network card
and replace palm rest due to space bar loose...
Error404
post Oct 25 2013, 03:33 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Oct 25 2013, 03:28 PM)
Dell going to replace anything you complaint between warranty period

i replace network card 2 time...  1st replace with intel, 2nd time replace with realtek network card
and replace palm rest due to space bar loose...
just call them & they'll come to your doorstep?
or need to send to their service center?
nexus2238
post Oct 25 2013, 04:36 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 25 2013, 03:33 PM)
just call them & they'll come to your doorstep?
or need to send to their service center?
if you get the on site warranty, then on site lah smile.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hjXNJVYO-Y

notice where they were smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 25 2013, 04:38 PM

55 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:41 PM