14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V22, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMC3

antt00
post May 15 2013, 12:38 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ May 15 2013, 12:33 PM)
Yes. I choose the recomended option for first time install (Got red color in the description) which is full wipe I think.

My contact apparently save in my google account. My deleting all my contact, does it mean all my contact in google account also will be delete?
Did you go through the whole process of registering your google account again when it first booted? Did all your apps remain?

Backup your contacts manually first to external/internal sd before trying anything.
antt00
post May 15 2013, 01:07 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ May 15 2013, 12:55 PM)
Yes, registered my google account and all apps sync to my phone. Have to stop everything through google play. Then, I install TB and do batch restore for all apps and data.
U batch restore only user apps right? Also do u have Hotmail app installed. Its known for this error.
antt00
post May 15 2013, 04:39 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Xa0102 @ May 15 2013, 04:31 PM)
My friend helped me root my Note 2 and I would like to try CM10.1, hoping that it will give me a better battery life over my already awesome usage time per stint.

I would like to backup my internal memory, i've Googled about and stumbled upon CWM. So I flashed it using ODIN and i'm now in the menu.

So my question is:
Am I able to backup my internal storage by using CWM > Backup & Restore > Backup to External SD?
Which CWM are you using? Advice you to ONLY use Philz CWM or TWRP. And yes you can backup to External SD.
antt00
post May 15 2013, 07:41 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 15 2013, 07:01 PM)
hey alexng2208, since you know that i played around with the systemui apk, do you happen to know what will happen if i use the same modified systemui file in another rom? because now i made it work for wanam which i am currently on, but can i use it after flashing to another rom? not just alex, anybody know about this? because i've downloaded romow and still hesitating to flash due to this matter.
It should be the same. Just watch out for roms that had done their own tweaks to the systemui. And there is a difference between simplistic and normal systemui
antt00
post May 15 2013, 07:43 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

It's easier and safer to use vrtheme method to change to png file for different roms than to change the whole systemui
antt00
post May 15 2013, 07:45 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 15 2013, 07:42 PM)
oh i haven't explored the realm of simplistic framework yet, and actually avoiding roms that use it for now as i want to master systemui first.  tongue.gif
oh and thanks for your advise.
I meant the systemui with simplistic mod active is different from normal systemui so just have a good backup.
antt00
post May 15 2013, 08:05 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 15 2013, 07:49 PM)
i see, but the only method i know to change the status bar transparency and such is to modify the values of systemui's xml files.
noted with thanks.
well i don't think i am the first themer here, i thought alexng2208 already took the position of first themer.
and also, OH NOZZZ!!! I CAN'T BELIEVE I USED THE WRONG WORD!!!  cry.gif
If i am not wrong you can vrtheme the xml file as well.

Also u can make flashable zip of the ori systemui.apk so if something goes wrong, u can just flash the safe systemui and there is no need to go through the long restore/reflash rom process.
antt00
post May 15 2013, 08:14 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 15 2013, 08:09 PM)
now what i've been trying to find since working hours. how do i make a flashable zip? i mean, i am looking for a really really really simple method to do it.
I will post a simple tutorial when i have the time later or tomorrow. Not easy to type on mobile.
antt00
post May 15 2013, 11:41 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Xa0102 @ May 15 2013, 11:30 PM)
Ahhh, Perseus is a TW based Kernel. That explains. And yes i've found MDNIE biggrin.gif

Apparently I did an internal storage wipe and tried restoring it with CWM backups and it didn't work cry.gif

I only lost some stuff since all of my camera pictures are stored in the external SD card
Look for Devil kernel on xda. It support n7105 and aosp and it have mdnie tuning like perseus.
antt00
post May 16 2013, 07:48 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Xa0102 @ May 16 2013, 01:43 AM)
Anyone here on Devil's kernel?

What's touchwake?
Turn on, set a timeout and you can wake your phone by touching/tapping the screen. After the timeout, your phone goes into deep sleep and touch wake cease to work until the next time your screen turn off.

Turn on, set timeout to 0, you can wake your phone by swiping across the screen. The phone will NEVER go to sleep and you can always wake your phone by swiping whenever you want. Power button becomes obsolete. tongue.gif This is called swipe to wake.

QUOTE(Xa0102 @ May 16 2013, 01:50 AM)
I see, I think I will only turn that on if i'm using my phone on a on-off-on usage.

And I noticed something, DEVIL's kernel can't adjust LED brightness sad.gif
If you mean LED notification light, i think Devil cannot adjust it.
antt00
post May 16 2013, 08:38 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

I see that some of you have already started making n test zip files. rclxms.gif It's good to explore as you learn faster. So just to recap.
1) CWM zip is just a zip file. The important things is what is inside.
2) It comes in 2 important part in the zip - The Meta-inf and the things you wanna flash.
3) The easy one is the things you wanna flash. It have to be located in the correct folder location as your phone. Example: Systemui.apk should be in System (as a folder) -> App (as a folder) -> Systemui.apk (the file you want to flash)
4) The meta-inf is what determines the zip file does. Inside this folder you will find the following files and folder
meta-inf (as a folder) -> com (as a folder) -> google (as a folder) -> android (as a folder) -> update binary & update script (both important files)
5) Update binary is a standard file that is not of your concern. You can just rip it out from any latest zip file that you know is working
6) Update script determines what the zip file does. Basically is a script of commands. Use it to edit in PC, i recommend using Notepad++ (This is not the Notepad that comes in your PC) Google and download it, its freeware.
7) Depending on what you want to do, you need to put commands in the script and here is where any simple programming knowledge comes in. You can dissect existing update script and its not difficult to figure this out

Example of commands
CODE
run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system"); --> This is for mounting, normally not required as system is mount when you enter recovery

ui_print(""); --> This is how you see text in recovery when you are flashing stuff. harmless code and just put what you want the user to see in between the double apostrophe

package_extract_dir("system", "/system"); --> This is the important command that will extract the files from your zip file to the phone. You dun need to specify to the exact folder. ("system", "/system") or ("data", "/data") will do since you dun put unnecessary files in the zip

delete("/data/dalvik-cache/system@app@SystemUI.apk@classes.dex"); --> Straightforward command used to delete files.

set_perm(0, 0, 0644, "/system/app/SystemUI.apk"); --> Set permission of a certain file

run_program("/sbin/busybox", "umount", "/system"); --> This is for unmounting

delete_recursive("/data/dalvik-cache"); --> Clear dalvik cache

delete_recursive("/cache"); --> Clear cache

You can google and look for more commands but for me these are sufficient to make simple flashable zip files. Commands for flashing rom especially with aroma is alot more complicated.

8) After you have all the files in place, just zip is normally on the pc. BUT make sure when you open the zip, it immediately shows the meta-inf and your folders.
Example: If you open up example_cwm.zip, you must immediately see meta-inf and your folders. If you open up example_cwm.zip and see a example_cwm folder then its wrong.
9) Sometime when you open up meta-inf you will see CERT.RSA, CERT.SF and MANIFEST.MF. I still dunno what these are but zip files work as normal even without them.
10) The easiest way to do a cwm zip file without pondering into all this is to download any existing one that does the function you want and just take its updater script and put into your own zip file.
antt00
post May 16 2013, 09:23 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

On the other matter of using vrtheme to replace png and xml files.

VRTheme utilizes a method where your own png/xml files are injected into the existing apk/framework thus there will be less chances of incompatibility. The easy way is just to download a theme that is already using this method. One of the notable one is this --> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2183112

Here is what you will find inside the zip file
1) meta-inf this is the same. if you are recycling the zip file dun need to touch this as the script does not need altering
2) vrtheme folder

vrtheme folder
Inside here you will find 1 folder and some files. Your objective is this folder. As you are only injecting png/xml, NO apk files are included in this zip.

Example you want to modify the png in the systemui.apk. So the folder will be as follow,
vrtheme (folder) > system (folder) > app (folder) > SystemUI.apk (folder NOT apk, ensure the folder name have the ".apk") > res (folder, all these location can be found if you decompile / extract the original systemui.apk) > drawable-xhdpi (folder) > xxxx.png (the png file you want to change)

So its basically putting ONLY the png/xml you want to change into the zip file and NOT the apk. icon_rolleyes.gif

Another good thing about vrtheme is that it makes a backup of the original apk before it injects. It can be found in /sdcard/vrtheme-backup.

antt00
post May 16 2013, 09:37 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 16 2013, 09:29 AM)
well i am having another problem, as i decompile i keep seeing some 'could not decode' errors, and i decompiled many times, all with the same errors repeating itself, but all resulting in different amounts of files. meaning this error leads to missing files.
If you are only changing the xml and png, let me give you another easier method that does not require decompile - recompile.

1) Get winrar (i use winrar, maybe other similar program will work also, i dunno you have to test)
2) Get ready your png/xml that have been edited with the correct file name
3) Open the systemui.apk with winrar
4) Go to the location of the png/xml (eg drawable-xhdpi)
5) Drag your png/xml into the folder
6) Winrar will automatically replace the file with the same name.
7) Replace the apk in your phone
8) Done

Or just use vrtheme, also no decompiling/recompiling.
antt00
post May 16 2013, 09:43 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

Tar file. Seldom use but let say u got boot.img from a cwm.zip and you wanna make a kernel for odin use for whatever reason i dun know. tongue.gif

Fact 1: Tar file CANNOT be just tar using winrar or similar app. tongue.gif This is different as you need md5 infused in the tar to be able to flash.

What you need --> Linux machine sad.gif
If you are on windows platform --> Google, download and install Cygwin

Now you need to run command in cygwin or your linux box
CODE
tar -H ustar -c the_file_you_want_to_tar > your_tar_filename.tar

eg
CODE
tar -H ustar -c boot.img > stockkernel.tar

followed by the following commands
CODE
md5sum –t stockkernel.tar >> stockkernel.tar
mv stockkernel.tar stockkernel.tar.md5

Done now you can use this as a odin flashable tar file.
antt00
post May 16 2013, 09:51 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

solsekuin44 Happy Teachers Day. rclxms.gif
antt00
post May 16 2013, 09:56 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 16 2013, 09:51 AM)
problem is i need to edit the xml file, so i guess i will have to use vrtheme then.
Yeah i know. Is the xml file visible if you open the apk with winrar? If yes you can just extract it, edit it and put it back in. This is not smalli or baksmalli file right?

This post has been edited by antt00: May 16 2013, 09:56 AM
antt00
post May 16 2013, 10:05 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 16 2013, 09:58 AM)
xml file visible. can't just extract and edit because it's not decoded yet. also there's a folder that only appears after decompilation but isn't in the apk when i open with winrar.  rclxub.gif
Ah yes i get what you mean. The hidden files are called smalli and baksmalli. I really hate recompiling systemui, always got error one.

Try this way, decompile, edit the xml, if you fail to recompile, place it back in manually. See it works or not. tongue.gif Make a backup first.
antt00
post May 16 2013, 10:09 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 16 2013, 10:08 AM)
my problem now is, i only managed to decompile during my first time, after that every other time i try to decompile i get the error and there will be missing files.
heh, decompile also got problem. usually thats the easy part. which method you using?
antt00
post May 16 2013, 10:15 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 16 2013, 10:11 AM)
yeah haha. i follow this.
Try clearing all old files from the apktool folder. I dunno what is the problem you facing. Try turn off antivirus also, maybe it remove some files it thinks is malicious. tongue.gif Seriously dunno

Or maybe your apktool not up to date. Try this guide here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2251719

Its new and in the android general section, so should have less issue, plus you can forward your queries there as well.
antt00
post May 16 2013, 12:34 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ May 16 2013, 12:23 PM)
Not that one. I have use Simplicity Framework in deoxdified ROM. There is a simple 2g&3g toggle that easily change between 2g,3g,auto  by one button.

Why dun u just try to flash simplistic framework on top of wanam. But please reflash normal wanam rom (not 23 status bar) before trying.

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0489sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:33 AM