Melaka DotA 6.27 SMM Results and News, Important Read for Gamers

TSTienhoven
post Apr 25 2006, 07:12 AM, updated 20y ago

1st - WN-SK
2nd - Blinknet 1
3rd - SKz

This post is not all about the results...but also the ugly truth that has taken place on that very day...Sadly it seems like the future gaming scene in our country is being handed into some irresponsible individuals. When E-sports is handed to unprofessional individuals to manage it, the whole thing that was build few years back turns out to be a joke and like what others think, it's a kiddy game and never will be huge. I wrote this hoping that this does not happen at upcoming qualification for the SMM tournament, and also future events.

On the very 1st day of the competition, one incident occurred whereby rules were broken in one of the fixtures. I will not mention names or clans or teams, I will only concentrate on the issue. The winning team, which won by huge number of points broke a rule, they accidentally passed an item, using CHICKEN to take items, the hero took another player's Head Of Rejuvenation and hold it. Marshall said, he knew there was an issue of that on the same time it happened, but said go on, replays to be checked after the match, I don't know he kept quiet about the item passing to the related player because if he saw it, he could have just asked the player to pass it back. Maybe the opponent made a complaint, but I doubt that, no way they would've any knowledge about it happening since it happened near to the players base. So why didn't Marshall warn the player?

But, not only the winning team broke a rule, the opponent made more than 2 mekanism. Ok now we have 2 teams breaking one of the rules. After checking the replay, the Marshall only called the winning team's leader, which again I repeat made the huge win. I told him nothing to worry, the worse they can do is deduct some points but you guys will still win it due to the heavy win. Then the dumbest decision I've ever heard took place, the Marshall said they are disqualified! Everybody was shocked, I then told the Marshall to deduct some points and go on with the event, he didn't agree and said they did the same thing in JOHOR qualifications. Once you break a rule you are disqualified he said boasting their experience. I argued then why did the opponent who were losing, made more than the allowed amount of mekanism didn't get punished as well. Again backing the absurd decision, saying the winning team broke the rule 1st before the losing team. He then loudly said, "team leader, you don't know the rules? How come your players don't know the rules". -REMEMBER THIS LINE -

To those who doesn't understand the issue clearly, let me help you. Team 1 raped a rule, later Team 2 raped the rule later after that. The judge said, since Team 1 raped the RULES 1st, they die, and Team 2 who also raped the RULES gets away. Do I need to write or say this any damn slower? Rapist all must get punished please...

Does the Marshall's answer sounds fair or logic to anyone out there? If it does, you must have and IQ lower than a cow. Ok, we shall not go there, lets review the issue...let me ask one question to everybody out there, does Head Of Rejuvenation that was passed accidentally made a big difference to 3-4 mekanism. Come on now, seriously... Replay showed it all. It was very shocking, hearing the strict actions taken by the Marshalls, yet absurd. Even after hearing the logic and fair arguments, they stand to their decision, even showing bad attitude. When such strong arguments where thrown at them, they as usual simply let their egos fly out, didn't admit their mistake and said they will only talk to team leader and others leave the meeting. This argument went on from afternoon to night, because something else happened later on.

This happened between another Team versus another Team. Again no names mentioned as I do not wish to insult or hurt anyone's feelings. Another rule was broken, this time a back door issue. The winning team made this mistake. Hero went blinking behind tower without any creep, used cyclone on enemy hero, and then start hitting the tower twice before concentrating on killing the enemy. Tower was in full health, I know you all might think that doesn't count back door since the tower was in full health. Think again please, the tower did break after that, 2 hits from a hero means more than 2 seconds was used to do that. This format of competition was 60 mins. Every second counts! Technically it was a very important issue. Earlier, one team won by 59:59 time, exactly 1 second they broke a tower for the win. How can attacking an important building earlier not taken seriously into account? Of course the team won with good points, same thing as earlier incident, winning team made mistake, looking at the nature of the situation, disqualifying a good team is not wise. Surprisingly the Marshall said no disqualification this time. How come they come out with a different decision now? How random can they be? If the 1st decision when a team breaks a rule is to disqualify them, how can they just change it to their liking with no good reasons? This paragraph will look long if I keep talking about their absurd decisions, lets create a new paragraph shall we?

Doesn't these two cases sound similar? Winning team with huge points broke 1 rule. Different sets of rule for teams? What is this? The Marshall even argued don't bring the old case as it was not the same. I don't know how confident can one person be giving absurd excuses and explanations, standing in the middle of an army of DotA gamers. What missing was a red nose, flashy clothes and make-up.

Gamers mostly are young and may not discus maturely in great manner, but when such unfairness was shown, I do not blame them. Yes some heated arguments went on, curses was thrown back to each other. I do not know how much knowledge do they have on the game, but you must have some common sense still, decisions doesn't make any sense at all. All they were interested was to finish the event as soon as possible, avoiding any decent meeting, or any complaints. Let me tell you, gamers pay for joining this competition, they wasted their time for training, wasted money, time, health not to be treated like this, without us GAMERS you are nothing. Few years back I was into Counterstrike (CS), traveling from Melaka to KL for tournaments. The very 1st competition, I still remember the Marshall's face, he showed some funny attitude for no reason. I said, can my team play in the second floor since we were there just now and it felt good. He said, you are placed there, but since you want it, I am not giving it to you, I heard giggling from opponent, my mates were damn furious, but we kept cool as we must be professionals. We didn't travel, wait, stay in hotel to be treated like this. Saw what happened to CS in our community? Dead. Those who promote the game killed it actually. Won't realize it and won't admit it.

You need knowledgeable people, deep knowledge of the game, kind friendly enough and of course a great problem solver. Not a clown. You put people like this handling the E-sports, how unserious that shows and of course it is a money making industry, and that is what they are aiming, nothing more.

Sorry, I'm not finished yet. After the 1st day of the competition, the team that was disqualified checked the website of the organization. It clearly stated that pooling doesn't say disqualifications, like I said earlier, just deduct some points. Well Marshall has the power to do what they wish don't they? Remember the line above? Yes, who don't know what rule? They don't even know their own rule, can boast some more about disqualifying a JOHOR team for that, I feel sorry for that team.

The next day, the team was placed back in the fixtures. Of course Marshall have to do it, and I know they felt ashamed. The next morning, when my team arrived, at 11 am Marshall stopped us at the entrance and scolded us for being late. Saying it was 10.30 am. Since the winning team was put back in slot, of course it wasn't our time to play, common sense. No, to the Marshall it was something else, it was personal I guess, then demanded for respect. "You guys don't give us respect, come late when I said it was 10.30am, you don't respect us is it?" I told him, it is not our time to play also, and said if we were there or not there it doesn't make any difference, as after we entered we had to wait a long time also for the matches to finish, duh! No registeration needed, no nothing! Still, Marshall wasn't happy. Not professional what to do, made it personal. Respect is not to be demanded or asked for, respect is earned. And they don't earn it yes. He can even say this without shame, "We admit we were wrong yesterday, but now you don't want to admit you are wrong". Since when they admit they wrong? We had to do their job, we had to rectify them, we had to keep it alive. Don't they get paid to do that? Did I mentioned how killing it was to wait in there? Felt like sauna, crowded , hard time playing in there plus crappy pc (karipap pc? LoL).

I bet Marshall were familiar with some teams there.

These set of Marshall will be the same at all the qualifications I guess. Hope they hire better people with good communication skills.

Anyway, it went well in the end. The best team won.

Decisions were one sided don't know why. (lala~)

Lets not kill DotA just like CS.

Good Luck to the rest in their upcoming qualifications!

Sorry if this post wasn't pleasant enough, but it is the truth.

P/S : Flizzardo, stop mentioning FLL in this forum. They don't fancy it.

This post has been edited by Tienhoven: Apr 25 2006, 08:25 AM
Fight4Spam
post Apr 25 2006, 10:26 AM

47 posts

wee.. i guess that we need more professionals/qualify ppl to handle such events. it just spoils the gaming spirit. i heard it was some kids who marshall the compy, is it? not sure thou.. no worries, winning uncorrectly, nah.. dont worry.. they know its unfair way.. its all in the replay smile.gif enough said..

great play there Tienhoven and the rest of the team. u ppl did your best, i know. it has been some time i have not been playing games with u all. smile.gif hope this will not happen in the upcoming compy.. rclxm9.gif

** if u wondering who i am, an old teammate from R.e.D smile.gif
TSTienhoven
post Apr 25 2006, 10:37 AM

wee...ReD...i miss this tag!

You are G or D?

You heard wrong! It was Marshalled by grown ups...tehehehe

No lar~ I play play for David's team

-.- got Snake in it, owned...plus his brother, twin-headed snake combo
Fight4Spam
post Apr 25 2006, 11:25 AM

47 posts

G. D dun have so good english kua.. haha.. You can go to my friendster and check out one of our old photo taken during Kluang compy smile.gif Well, i guess they need more exposure and proper attitude, else become attp. wahha.. miss that short form tongue.gif play play, but a nice play.. hehe.. keep it up then.. twin head combo? means 2 person control a medusa? tongue.gif wat does SMM stands for? lol.. out-dated rclxub.gif
TSTienhoven
post Apr 25 2006, 12:06 PM

LoL D's english fail. Eh, you can't post my pics online, it would be too sexay. SMM is not SM + M, its Sendi Mutiara + M <---this M I don't know for what, monopoly? multiplayer? metallica? I out-dated also...
Sesshoumaru
post Apr 25 2006, 03:08 PM

1,190 posts

Ahh after seeing what that marshall did, it makes me look sooooooooooooo nice.....

One team had one team member from Johor, and was driving to KL and would be late, and I allowed them to start 5 v 5 with the 5th team member empty and he arrives, where he can immediately jump into action.

Another part was sort of 'allowing' Gaya 1 and another team go off for a small break, although we were running out of time. Naturally, we got told off by head marshall for doing that xD.

BtW marshall's decision is final, yes that is true, if you are unhappy and the marshall won't respond appropriately, what you can do is look for the head marshall. But please don't go as a big group and try to intimidate him/her acting gangster-like like what happened in WCG. Just the leader would be enough, and do it ASAP after the match.

I would advise all gamers to immediately pause the game and inform the marshall if you strongly suspect/or know the opponent has cheated/broke the rules.

Side note: DotA is arguably the most boring game of all to marshall. T_T

Edit: Said events were ESWC 2005.

This post has been edited by Sesshoumaru: Apr 25 2006, 05:41 PM
ubhm
post Apr 25 2006, 05:35 PM

I kill fast and danger!
1,364 posts

Our very own marshal has spoken biggrin.gif .
Neslo[#^PenG^#]
post Apr 25 2006, 07:49 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Apr 25 2006, 03:08 PM)
Ahh after seeing what that marshall did, it makes me look sooooooooooooo nice.....

One team had one team member from Johor, and was driving to KL and would be late, and I allowed them to start 5 v 5 with the 5th team member empty and he arrives, where he can immediately jump into action.

Another part was sort of 'allowing' Gaya 1 and another team go off for a small break, although we were running out of time. Naturally, we got told off by head marshall for doing that xD.

BtW marshall's decision is final, yes that is true, if you are unhappy and the marshall won't respond appropriately, what you can do is look for the head marshall. But please don't go as a big group and try to intimidate him/her acting gangster-like like what happened in WCG. Just the leader would be enough, and do it ASAP after the match.

I would advise all gamers to immediately pause the game and inform the marshall if you strongly suspect/or know the opponent has cheated/broke the rules.

Side note: DotA is arguably the most boring game of all to marshall. T_T

yup, well said, the incident ast WCG was very ugly , hope no more incident like this that gives DOTA teams a bad name shakehead.gif

SUSFlizzardo
post Apr 25 2006, 08:12 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

what happened in wcg?

anyway got people dare create trouble to tien long meh
fishNchip
post Apr 25 2006, 09:23 PM

can u share the file 4 us ??
aveh
post Apr 25 2006, 10:18 PM

yeah the bad thing happened in the tournament should be improved next time and gamers should read the rules and regulation carefully b4 participae in the matches. This will make the work of marshall less:)

Anyway, when will the replay for the melaka states tournament open for download??
dualshock
post Apr 26 2006, 12:05 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

replay please.... thank you
Yluxion
post Apr 26 2006, 01:21 AM

543 posts

Well, I think whenever there's competitive tournament, sure there would be some unpleasant things happen.

Just take a football match as an example, whether there's a handball, penalty, offisde and etc... or not, it's all down to the referee to makes the call. During this period, you would see that both team of players go toward the referee and saying the things that would convince the referee that they're right. At this moment, the referee's head would be rclxub.gif I think.

This is the critical moment, whenever a referee/middleman/judge/marshall makes the decision, he/she must stand still of what they've said and the decision they've made. If the referee/marshall change their mind in midway it would cause even more havoc.

If the referees/marshalls reverse their decision, do you think they would be trusted next time? Would the players feel confident to the judging team again?

Myself also involved in a bad decision made by the marshall during ESWC 2005 Qualifying Round which causes us the match, cry.gif but it's already a past now.

So do understand the amount of pressure a referee/marshalls would get when an issue arise. Learn to be smart next time, don't throw bad words or speak loudly to them. Try to convince them wtih good manners.

I can't deny that there's some fine tuning that still need to be done regarding the gaming competition, but the manners of the players aren't any better too. A manner improvement from both parties would be able to reduce the issue such as this.

Yes, respect is earned and can't be demand. But to earn the respect of the people, you must respect the people first. smile.gif

PEACE
TSTienhoven
post Apr 26 2006, 07:12 AM

aveh, demos aren't given to us, Marshall said it will probably be uploaded by tuesday at their website www.smm.net.my .

I watched Arsenal vs Villareal CL 2nd leg just now, ref gave a penalty LoL! Heard what the commentator said?

Yluxion, agreed, this all wouldn't have happened if they didn't change judgement or shown any decent attitude to the gamers 1st. Eventhough it was not my problem, but watching it happening was sad.

This post has been edited by Tienhoven: Apr 26 2006, 07:31 AM
Hevrn
post Apr 26 2006, 08:58 AM

4,017 posts

yea the penalty was a clear cut dive...lucky riquelme miss, just shows he's human after all...summore i tired edi cannot tahan watch xtra time lol.

back to the topic, marshalls are there for a reason so respect them...watever decision is given is final n dun be a rooney n bad mouth them if it doesnt go ur way lol. dota isnt exactly an ez game to marshall n theres bound to be sum mishaps. all i noe is watever marshall decide, just follow.
delon85
post Apr 26 2006, 10:09 AM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Apr 25 2006, 03:08 PM)

that happened? i dont remember that xD whistling.gif
poor u suffer so much during that time, late lunch and all (but in the end the schedule was back on track)

but it was good experience nonetheless i'd say laugh.gif
Sesshoumaru
post Apr 26 2006, 10:56 AM

1,190 posts

Haha delon was talking about the prelim in Inferno... xD. Me and luige were there.

However, not all marshalls have a good grasp of the game, and with SMM's case, I believe they used their own staff, without even considering the fact that they have never played DotA extensively or even played it all. So I am not surprised.
nles
post Apr 27 2006, 06:35 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

I went before to some cybercafe's competition where they just ripped the rules from wcg and use their own staff as marshall. Those marshall dun even understand the rules and yet they are proud of being marshall and disqualified gamers with their own instict. Their face is like saying "I'm the uber almighty marshall, I want to disqualify you n00bs no mercy"
aveh
post Apr 27 2006, 09:49 PM

hmm, so everyone here dun have the replay of melaka tourney??? So sad......
underminer
post Apr 28 2006, 07:29 PM

All this shows the lack of common sense of the organisers .

I would rather they lower the price money and employ some better qualified marshalls so that the game has the slightest of chance to grow
sowhatz
post Apr 29 2006, 01:13 AM

30 posts

the replays mayb will be upload at the senti mutiara forum soon...
underminer
post Apr 29 2006, 09:42 PM

The sendi mutiara replay link cant work for me .
can someone downlaod and post here .
Maybe we can discuss also

aveh
post Apr 30 2006, 07:16 PM

ZZzzz, stil no replay of melaka tourney?? Ns tourney is going to finish soon, and the replay of melaka sill cannot be download @_@
fishNchip
post Apr 30 2006, 08:45 PM

smm can dl replay de..........got problem.
NakA
post May 1 2006, 11:43 AM

171 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
haha

totally agree with Sesshoumaru.. Dota is the most boring game for marshals,but but DOTA is chiKEK in the 2nd half time.. and maybe tats why still got ppl willing to marshal. but i dunno SMM case is like how. lol so i cant give any comments.

Dota itself memang bugs lot. so we cant really do anythin bout it also.
What we have to do is clearly explain the rules, brief thru,answering question before match start.. just in case if there's anything happen.

anyway, i do not wish like last year WCG, so messy, many probelms. well i do hope this year ESWC2006 will be runnin smoothly, nothing happen. then i will be very happy d.

haha...

pOpFynX
post May 1 2006, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(NakA @ May 1 2006, 11:43 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
haha

totally agree with Sesshoumaru.. Dota is the most boring game for marshals,but but DOTA is chiKEK in the 2nd half time.. and maybe tats why still got ppl willing to marshal. but i dunno SMM case is like how. lol so i cant give any comments.

Dota itself memang bugs lot. so we cant really do anythin bout it also.
What we have to do is clearly explain the rules, brief thru,answering question before match start.. just in case if there's anything happen.

anyway, i do not wish like last year WCG, so messy, many probelms. well i do hope this year ESWC2006 will be runnin smoothly, nothing happen. then i will be very happy d.

haha...
this year ESWC , the qualifier held in Clutch Gamers , their promotion not really good , not so many gamers know about it... sweat.gif
Cyclone87
post May 1 2006, 02:15 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(aveh @ Apr 30 2006, 07:16 PM)
ZZzzz, stil no replay of melaka tourney?? Ns tourney is going to finish soon, and the replay of melaka sill cannot be download @_@
The replay was out 2 week ago i think. After the tourney..i have dl it but now cant view it anymore because my war3 already 1.20d.
nles
post May 1 2006, 02:19 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ May 1 2006, 02:15 PM)
The replay was out 2 week ago i think. After the tourney..i have dl it but now cant view it anymore because my war3 already 1.20d.
I thought as long is 1.20 you should be able to watch it no matter it is a,b or c. Unless if 1.21 cant watch 1.20 replay cause I'm still able to view SMM Johor's replay and some of my old 1.20b/c replay.
jonath84
post May 1 2006, 02:45 PM

can some1 help me here!!!! i cant dl the replay from SMM website.. how come??? can any1 post it here?? thx smile.gif
aveh
post May 1 2006, 02:53 PM

the replay is out 2 weeks ago? and u have it?? Mind to share??
fishNchip
post May 1 2006, 06:19 PM

can post here.......
dennis5585
post May 2 2006, 11:52 AM

226 posts

the replay is up edi...
go smm site dl... biggrin.gif
SUSUmbalakiki
post Apr 2 2008, 11:41 PM

28 posts

wow blink net so pro....

i wonder all of 5 of them sure get blink

WOW
SUSFlizzardo
post Apr 7 2008, 10:49 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

lol we lost to blink net by 1 point at the final 20secs before the game end! we would have won the game if we stayed in fountain lol
SUSUmbalakiki
post Apr 7 2008, 04:48 PM

28 posts

lol flizardo i think u juz too noob la....u kenot fight with a team with 5 blinks u knw? =P

dun stay fountain...kids oni intend to stay in fountain

0.0266sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:28 PM