ABNxcess ABNxcess offering 10, 30 and 50 Mbps at RM129.00 &, Malaysia first digital cable TV network

Crystal2
post Aug 8 2013, 11:36 AM

450 posts

I didn't notice this sub-forum 'Broadband User-2-User' on ABNxcess and have just posted the below similar message in 'Getting Broadband'. Would appreciate any current users' advice. Thanks.

"I saw lots of bunting advertising ABNxcess Cable TV and Broadband and have pre-registered my interests in its website.

I would appreciate if anyone, who has subscribed, could comment or relate his/her experience on:
1] How long will the promotion price remain at RM98.99 (for 10 Mbps & TV) after installation?
2] How is the TV programs compared to Astro and HyppTV?
3] Any intermittent delays when viewing TV?
4] Whether its 10 Mbps broadband is stable and reliable? Any downtime so far?
5] What is the average speed recorded during speed-test?
6] Whether there will be landline or DECT Phone connectivity?
7] What is the range & speed of the built-in Wifi Router?
8] Any user email address provided? "

Thank You.

Crystal2
post Aug 12 2013, 06:50 AM

450 posts

Do you subscribe the add-on packs such as xcess Flicks?
Can we pay through post office or electronic banking like Maybank2U? Thanks.

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 8 2013, 02:27 AM)
One year.
Feel like terminating. Very little channels and hard to pay bills.
(only ABN Service centers and BSN bank)
Crystal2
post Aug 13 2013, 07:59 AM

450 posts

ABNxcess responded on my post in FB:
"- We provide Internet package of 10M, 30M and 50M, each package is having the following download and upload speed.
- We strive to ensure user obtain more than 80% of the subscribed speed.
- WIFI speed and coverage: 802.11b/g WIFI with speed of up to 54Mbps; the coverage distance is between 15m to 45m, depending on placement of the cable modem and its surrounding environment
- All Internet applications are supported including Web surfing, YouTube streaming, Torrent download etc
- We don’t provide email service
- There is currently no DECT phone or landline provided. We will advise accordingly the phone devices supported when ABN offers voice service.
We hope that helps smile.gif"

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Aug 8 2013, 11:36 AM)
I didn't notice this sub-forum 'Broadband User-2-User' on ABNxcess and have just posted the below similar message in 'Getting Broadband'. Would appreciate any current users' advice. Thanks.

"I saw lots of bunting advertising ABNxcess Cable TV and Broadband and have pre-registered my interests in its website.

I would appreciate if anyone, who has subscribed, could comment or relate his/her experience on:
1] How long will the promotion price remain at RM98.99 (for 10 Mbps & TV) after installation?
2] How is the TV programs compared to Astro and HyppTV?
3] Any intermittent delays when viewing TV?
4] Whether its 10 Mbps broadband is stable and reliable? Any downtime so far?
5] What is the average speed recorded during speed-test?
6] Whether there will be landline or DECT Phone connectivity?
7] What is the range & speed of the built-in Wifi Router?
8] Any user email address provided?  "

Thank You.
Crystal2
post Aug 13 2013, 02:38 PM

450 posts

My network (so-called expert) friend told me that new ISP will normally have lots of teething problems and it is advisable not to be early adopters. Also 10 Mbps is just enough for HD TV channels and if the TV& internet are not separated, the internet will be slow when TV is also on simultaneously. According to my friend, Unifi 5 Mbps is dedicated internet and TV has own 10 Mbps. Can any sifus confirm if my friend is talking sense? Thanks.
Crystal2
post Aug 13 2013, 10:39 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Aug 13 2013, 08:38 PM)
Your (so called expert) friend of yours was wrong in his understanding of DOCSIS technology.

Cable internet does not share bandwidth with cable TV channels. They operate on different channels simultaneously.
To achieve faster speeds DOCSIS 3.0 uses channel bonding techniques to combine 1 or more channels.

It's like one wide highway with many lanes, each lane delivering a different channel separated by guardbands. With internet they reserve a few of them for data transfers.

The drawback is since the lanes reserved for internet is only limited, when more people starts using the same lanes simultaneously, it gets awfully slow at peak times if they oversell their lines.
Thanks for the information. Learnt something today.

What if the cable modem supplied by ABNxcess is DOCSIS 2.0? Is your explanation on different channels/lanes still applicable?
Crystal2
post Aug 25 2013, 03:02 PM

450 posts

I am still awaiting installation at USJ areas after signing up in early August.

Any Sifus can comment on the equipment provided by ABNxcess?
1] Arris Motorola HD Set-Box HMC3000, and
2] Arris Motorola 'Surfboard' Cable Modem SVG1202

Are Maxis and TMnet providing similar standard (or better) equipment? Thank You.
Crystal2
post Sep 7 2013, 05:10 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(h03tn4d @ Sep 3 2013, 07:03 PM)
i was lucky that my home area subang jaya was one of the few where ABN started putting up their cables. So we got 1 month of free trial and installation.

sadly most of the channels be it promoted as 50chns but 60% of them are international non English channels.

another thing worse is that, unifi solves (modem blowing problem via lightning) but one day i came home, my ABN modem was fried.... the technician came to my house and says that this motorolla modem turns into fries easily... so im not sure how reliable their products are.

so if the modem easily gets damaged. will lead to internet disruption.

just my opinion, but i do hope TM would consider lowering their pricing.
Sorry, I have lots of question in my mind which I hope you can answer. Thanks.

Is lightning strike covered by warranty? Did ABN replace the cable modem? What about the top box? Was it damaged by lightning too? Can the TV still work without the cable modem?
Crystal2
post Jan 13 2015, 01:47 PM

450 posts

Some people are just masochist ... looking for trouble.

0.0187sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:04 PM