Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Ver. MK VII, Das Auto!

gladfly
post Jul 3 2013, 11:59 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 3 2013, 10:22 AM)
They changed the mechatronics, car still moving fine else i'll be ranting here tongue.gif
Well..mine is in the garage today for the so called "campaign". Probably they will change the mechatronics.

Anyways, another rant from me..the battery died on me this morning without any warning.

Sien lor...only lasted 2 years and 4 months the battery..hence SA said outside the warranty period.

Replacement cost 500 for local battery or RM1k for original. Told he SA..whats the point buying ori since it last 2 year plus nia. Asked them to check if there is anything draining the battery...otherwise pointless if change the battery cause the problem will be rise again

Lets see how they come back to me on this...
gladfly
post Mar 6 2014, 11:49 AM

579 posts

Guys,

I am contemplating to take a legal action against VGM for refusing to rectify a complain under the extended warranty provided by Allianz.

I just want to know, if there is anyone here who wish to tag along as I plan to bring it as class action.

Reason for denial was exceeding 2,000km during service 3 which was not my fault. However, service 4 and 5 went as planned and only now when there is claim under warranty, they denying. Total BS from VW

gladfly
post Mar 6 2014, 06:18 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 6 2014, 05:05 PM)
exceed by 2000 km?
how on earth do u exceed a service by 2000 km?

mind sharing more ?
That's according to the SC..I did exceed the service requirement but I don't know the mileage exceeded but the reason was due the SC (Old Klang Road) whom I made an appointment booked it on Thaipusam (which was a holiday after it was declared by our PM). So I went to the SC but it was closed. Mind you I had to book it 3 weeks in advance.

The next day, I called up Veemer and the SC re-arrange it a week later. By then, it passed my recommended 45k service (major). The funny thing was, when I brought the car back, the SC happily carried out the service for RM1.8k...and did not inform me that I had voided my warranty.

gladfly
post Mar 6 2014, 09:01 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Mar 6 2014, 07:09 PM)
Btw, you can always check your service book to look at your service intervals. Surely you know the mileage you sent your car in... right?
Nope, those SC didn't mark the book. That's how professional they are
gladfly
post Mar 6 2014, 09:03 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Mar 6 2014, 07:08 PM)
I think you first need to understand the issue here. The party you should be angry at, is Allianz. Not VGM. The extended warranty is covered by Allianz. Not VGM. And so, unfortunately, you have to play by Allianz rules. More importantly, you should be directing your anger towards the SC that put you in this crappy position. I've stepped into the SC on Old Klang Road before (now no longer Veemer), and before I even making an appointment, walked out and vowed never to go back.

More importantly, within a week, you exceeded the mileage by 2,000km. I believe the grace is 500km (I could be wrong here). How did you cover 2,000km in a week?
I stay at Kota Kemuning and my wife works in KL Golden triangle which is easily 120km round trip. My wife uses the car.

By the way I am not pissed at all, never raised my voice was always courteous over all this. Never once blamed the attendant as I knew it was Allianz call. Waiting for the formal denial of claim letter and will proceed to sue. I have to sue VGM as the warranty was provided by VW.. doesn't matter if the underwriter is Allianz, as it was VW promise. Its up to VW to bring Allianz as 3rd party.

This post has been edited by gladfly: Mar 6 2014, 09:08 PM
gladfly
post Mar 7 2014, 12:48 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Mar 6 2014, 10:57 PM)
120km round trip, would still be a little under 1,000km in a week... nevertheless, it would still have exceeded the 500km 'grace'.

Again, I don't think there really is a point trying to sue VGM over this. I can't see how you can win -- especially since (at least this is how I see it) your SC has screwed you over. It is really unfortunate that your SC did not fill up the book.

My car is in its 3rd year now, and I recently (nearly) had to claim extended warranty. I didn't have my service booklet because a negligent SC had misplaced it. For any sort of claims, the service booklet is the first item Allianz will look at.

Long story short, I managed to get a replacement, and all the SCs that my car was serviced at (total of three different places: TTDI, Sg Besi, Balakong) filled it up, complete with service mileage. I believe yours is in their system as well -- get them to check and fill your book.

Failing which, then I would advise you to call VGM directly and get in touch with either a) Customer Service or b) After Sales dept. Remember to ask for their direct line as the receptionist is on many occasions, missing from front desk.
Hey Bro

Thanks for taking the time to reply and for the advise. Appreciate it. However, let me try to explain a little more on why I am taking this up.

I am taking the action as a mater of principle. Now, I believe there are a lot of people who are in my exact predicament (some yet to claim the extended warranty).

Now the issue I have is this. We all know that to book a service appointment (during 2012) was a nightmare. I had to book 3 weeks in advance. Prior to booking, my mileage is below (in my case 3rd service -major) the 45k km schedule. Of course during the 3 weeks waiting for the service am I supposed to stop using the car? If so the SC should at least informed or warn..do not exceed 45k, as it will void the warranty. SC NEVER gave this warning. Eventually SC takes in the car..see the mileage exceeded 45km, should have mentioned to customer "Sir your car warranty void already" But no, the SC continues to lull the customer into believing that the warranty is still intact. We all know the reason why..so that the customer continues to service with VW and pay premium fees.

As I mentioned, this is nothing short of unethical business conduct. But its not illegal..I know. However, like in my case service 4 and 5 went on as usual and SC (Glenmarie) never mentioned that warranty was void. I even replace my battery with TTDI as the SA told m if I use OEM, it will void my warranty. RM500 for a OEM battery is as we all know, day light robbery (double the normal price).

I have other reasons, but to me..I believe the crux is how VGM treats its customer. 5 year warranty plastered all over -peace of mind but at the sight of a slight claim, rather then trying to fulfill the pledge, VGM find ways to evade liability.

At the end of the day, its VGM's liability. The SC are their authorized agents hence VGM is liable as principal. The 5 years warranty was offered by VGM. While it may not be worthwhile taking it to court (my claim was for a water pump which was estimated at 1.5k only), but as a matter of principle giving an excuse as 2k beyond recommended service schedule is BS.

Would a car that overshoots service by 2k render the whole car unfit for usage? Funny VW uses the word recommend and not compulsory. Anyway, in law there must be a material breach to enable a party to rescind the contract. Is exceeding 2k a material breach?

Anyway those are questions of law which will have to be decided by the Court. I do this for a living so to me I don't mind spending a few hundred ringgit filing fees to drag VGM to court. Even if I lose, I also don't mind since I just want my day in court.

As for customer care, the VGM call free number is probably an elaborate hoax - I have tried calling at least 20 time with no one answering. My email and reminder has not been replied in 10 days...hence my rant here...smile.gif

I DO HOPE THAT FELLOW VW BUYERS DO NOT HAVE TO GO THROUGH WHAT I AM GOING THROUGH

0.0413sec    2.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:15 AM