Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

Stefan How
post May 31 2013, 10:07 PM

248 posts

Hello guys,My cousin recently was looking for a pair of IEM headphone since his sonic gear is broken (rusted)
He use it with his galaxy note 1,using for watching MV and listen to music (commuter use) .Budget below Rm100. File Mp3 format, genre is Kpop,J pop and some rap song. If there is any IEM with control would be better (you can recommand those without control too) smile.gif Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by Stefan How: May 31 2013, 10:07 PM
Stefan How
post Aug 30 2013, 09:59 AM

248 posts

Hey guys,my friend is looking for an iem with a good isolation and seal,(he wanted an iem after he use my sony mdr ex310sl,basically he is new to iem,lol) he is using iphone 5. He use in train commuting... He listen to jpop, more to instrumental and soft music.Mp3 format,he wan the headphone with mic and control. His budget is around Rm300.. :-)
Stefan How
post Dec 1 2013, 10:34 PM

248 posts

Portable Amplifier or Normal.
Commute or home (mostly Home)
320kbps mp3
Jpop,dubstep,english and chinese song.
Budget less than Rm 300..since im new to amplifier..might need some professional here recommand me which to get rclxms.gif
Stefan How
post Dec 2 2013, 11:21 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 2 2013, 09:02 AM)
are you looking for earphones or amplifier hmm.gif
Amp smile.gif
Stefan How
post Dec 2 2013, 05:14 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Dec 2 2013, 04:37 PM)
any nice and cheap ones near RM100

i am cheapskate and want it including delivery
Monoprice IEM? smile.gif
Stefan How
post Dec 2 2013, 05:19 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Dec 2 2013, 05:15 PM)
i forgot, they must at least look good, look black, no weird shape and so forth

monoprice might sound great, cheap but look like  cry.gif
Hahaha..i know that..the design too weird..Hmm maybe fork out more $ go for jvc's carbon nanotube IEM..But local not much ppl selling..The sound quality is thumbup.gif http://www.head-fi.org/products/jvc-ha-fxd70 the look ain't that bad isnt it ><
Stefan How
post Dec 16 2013, 05:41 PM

248 posts

My friend was searching a over ear headphone for home usage.
Usage would be gaming and listening to youtubes.
Format using is mp3.
Jpop,pop and some English classical song.
Closed over ear headphone.
If possible come with a mic =D Any idea? Budget is Max Rm200.

This post has been edited by Stefan How: Dec 16 2013, 07:13 PM
Stefan How
post Feb 9 2014, 08:56 PM

248 posts

- Rig,Laptop and galaxy note 3
- movies mostly commuter (KTM)
-Mostly mp3
-ALl types,chinese and pop
- closed full size headphone or on ear closed.
-Wireless bluetooth possible 3.1-4.0
Budget max RM500

This post has been edited by Stefan How: Feb 9 2014, 09:02 PM
Stefan How
post May 7 2014, 07:49 PM

248 posts

Guys,is Yamaha eph 100 worth buying? Im using it for my phone
Mp3 320kbps
Use during commute in train. Need portability and good noise isolation.
My budget would be 400 below maybe can raise abit if there is any better iem.
Thanks in advance guys rclxms.gif
Stefan How
post May 7 2014, 08:56 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(RowanPaladin @ May 7 2014, 08:04 PM)
Fostex TE-05. Fast precise bass, clear mids and very clean reach in treble.

Isolation is also pretty good.
Does it have the so called "3d" effect like the yamaha? I havent tried out thats y im asking for input,btw thx for the recommandation gonna look into it now =) smile.gif
Stefan How
post May 7 2014, 09:29 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(RowanPaladin @ May 7 2014, 09:27 PM)
Not sure about "3D effect " but I'm assuming you mean imaging and soundstage. If so then yes, from my memory they do very well in that.

They also look very cool. I love that clean-cut look
Yes, im talking about the soundstage, how about tremble on those yammy XD ? I heard they have good instrument seperation and good clarity.
Stefan How
post May 7 2014, 09:44 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(RowanPaladin @ May 7 2014, 09:35 PM)
It's been quite sometime since I heard the eph-100, but from memory they didn't wow me when I had them.

Separation and clarity, the Fostex clearly wins. By quite a large margin.
Dang..my budget is so limited..but both of that was amazing :S And most IEM i see ppl recommanding is usually from JP idk y smile.gif
Stefan How
post May 7 2014, 09:57 PM

248 posts

Currently have the on ear headphone jvc s500,which i cant deny is bad. Its much better than my Sony EX310SL in everyway, the problem with me is always get my ear pain after like 1~2 hour session,I have tried changing like 3 pair of pads still same thing. But gonna admit CNT is Good. biggrin.gif
Stefan How
post May 7 2014, 10:11 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(RowanPaladin @ May 7 2014, 10:09 PM)
Comfort problems are the usual thing with on ears, especially those with rather sensitive ears will have a hard time with them.

Iems should be a much better fit for you.
Well ya, Thx for the input bro =)
Stefan How
post May 8 2014, 09:00 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(Jien23 @ May 8 2014, 01:29 AM)
Recently bought the eph-100. Quite happy with it. Its a very technically competent iem in my opinion. what i think:
- isolation is really really excellent, wow. Great for ur train commute.
- Sound is very coherent from bass to midrange to treble.
- It is however not exactly neutral. There's a linear boost in bass from about 300Hz down to the lowest sub bass. bass is very high in quality. tight and detailed. very good impact for an iem IMO. midrange and treble sounds very natural to me.
- Soundstaging is good, imaging is excellent.
- very comfortable, at least for me.

one thing to note is that i've been having problems with condensation on the surface of the driver grille when wearing them.
The sound in the right ear cut off for me. But i took it off for a few hours then it was fine again. This happened once.
Dam,where do you bought the Yamaha? I tried finding it in local market but none of them selling =( I heard they are discontinued cry.gif
Stefan How
post May 9 2014, 12:45 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(WaLau2014 @ May 9 2014, 09:06 AM)
Ok…previously i have post in thread, seeking for advice but nobody reply me. =( Hope that this time all sifus can help me out…

Your rig: Laptop, Phone, Tablet
- Usage: Music, Gaming, movie, beginner DJ...
- File format used in your source: mp3, wma
- Genre of music you listen to: Beatbox (mainly), pop, jazz, classical, hip hop, house, electro, dubstep, soundtrack...
- Headphone/earphone type: Closed back headphones
- Other requirements: long hours of hearing and won't harm my ears, feel comfortable, foldable (not necessary), prefer bass and treble
- Budget: RM150 (need to stretch more?)

I have done some research and read some review (mostly about audio technica and superlux) on the internet…  There are a few questions i really want to know.
1. Have anyone try Superlux HD531? I can't find review even sellers online…
2. And how about Audio Technica ATH-S300? Is it good compare to ATH-M50? I wish to buy a pair of ATH-M50, but it is out of my budget…so i hope to find a pair of headphones close to its standrad.
3. About Superflux HD681 evo. Does it leak a lot of sound when i listen to music? Because mostly i will listen music in library.
4. Last question. Does Superflux HD661 sounds good? Some of the review said that it sounds bad compare to its brother… Hope to get some opinion from the current or ex users.
Hope that all sifus here can leave comment…Thanks in advance =)
Do you prefer on ear headphone? If u do get jvc ha s500, its a good headphone with a reasonable price. It handle dubstep pretty well for me. But for long session I would advice you to change ear pad as the stock is pretty hard. The best pad I have on this is ath ws55 pad. thumbup.gif or maybe u can get hm5 pad
Stefan How
post May 9 2014, 02:06 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(WaLau2014 @ May 9 2014, 01:38 PM)
Sorry bro. I prefer over ear headphones because I have big ears. Btw, thanks for ur reply.
Hm5 pad is over ear haha haven't tried but I guess it provide better comform
Stefan How
post May 10 2014, 08:45 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(syin16 @ May 10 2014, 05:04 PM)
Hello guyz, i'm new here and looking for a headphone that suits my taste. Hope all sifu here can give me some advice and good recommendations  notworthy.gif

- Your rig: Smartphone, desktop, laptop and music player.
- What type of usage: movies, gaming, music. Basically all around.
- File format used in your source: mp3 320kbps. Can't seem to tell difference between lossless and lossy yet  rclxub.gif
- Genre of music you listen to: Pop, classic but i'm finding something that performs all around well. Not fan of rock or metal.
- Headphone/ earphone type: prefer open or over ear. not iem
- Other requirements: must be wireless over bluetooth
- Budget: around rm200-250. If less is better to save for upcoming music player

Have found both that kinda suit my needs, but asking for any other options cause my knowledge is very little comparing to all the sifus  notworthy.gif .

That's why need your guidance and experience whether any of you have ever tried MEElectronics Air Fi Runaway and Avantree Audition.

Anyone ever use those two? How was it? Found reviews on amazon and lots of customer are satisfied with them. Heard a lot of praise on MEElectronics but Avantree is quite new to me. hmm.gif

Thx for reading this  notworthy.gif
Or maybe consider getting a bluetooth receiver ? =D The freedom of changing any headphone thumbup.gif
Stefan How
post May 10 2014, 10:00 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(syin16 @ May 10 2014, 09:56 PM)
Bluetooth receiver? for the headphones bro? meaning that the headphones can connect to other bluetooth device? using what protocol bro? how about the battery? how can a normal headphones work without battery?
Ermm nono >< i mean like a bluetooth device + any choice of ur headphone,connect to ur phone (Via Bluetooth) . Something like sony SBH-20 which i currently using,u should look for higher end if you can push ur budget abit higher =)
Stefan How
post May 10 2014, 10:37 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(syin16 @ May 10 2014, 10:35 PM)
oooh, you mean like sbh50 or sbh52
Yes laugh.gif more worth in a long run,Lets say ur bluetooth headphone broke and its out of warranty.. Ur money burnt :/

0.0617sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:56 PM