Haha i am an freak audiophile myself, philosophically and sentimentally my conscious wont let me do that
Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here
Aug 21 2014, 05:00 PM
103 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Hei guys need some advice on buying earbuds for my cous's girlfriend on her birthday. Budget is RM200 max and below. I am very inexperience in budget purchases, as i am normally more acquainted with higher end purchases, but no offence. The only thing that comes to mind is the xiaomi piston and RE400 (2nd hand), are there any bang-for-buck more options here? I don't think sound signature is a problem, as i don't think she's looking to be an audiophile. Anything decent will be fine, as long as no boom boom earbuds that bleed into the mids. Please enlighten me Sifus out there
Haha i am an freak audiophile myself, philosophically and sentimentally my conscious wont let me do that |
Aug 21 2014, 05:06 PM
2,864 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: NoWhere |
QUOTE(chocosnowshake @ Aug 19 2014, 09:36 PM) After go to Jaben have a try for 2 hrs, finally get Sennheiser CX 300-II which have solid strong bass and good treble details most likely to Hippo VB. Yeah Sennheiser FTW Other than that, I found out that Final Audio Design Heaven IV is quite good ~ would have it soon~ haha Thx for the recommendation QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 05:00 PM) Hei guys need some advice on buying earbuds for my cous's girlfriend on her birthday. Budget is RM200 max and below. I am very inexperience in budget purchases, as i am normally more acquainted with higher end purchases, but no offence. The only thing that comes to mind is the xiaomi piston and RE400 (2nd hand), are there any bang-for-buck more options here? I don'tĀ think sound signature is a problem, as i don't think she's looking to be an audiophile. Anything decent will be fine, as long as no boom boom earbuds that bleed into the mids. Please enlighten me Sifus out thereĀ For girl just go for some AT with great design or Beats, they don't really care on the sound |
Aug 21 2014, 05:14 PM
914 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 05:10 PM) Haha i am an freak audiophile myself, philosophically and sentimentally my conscious wont let me do that I feel you bro! everytime see-ing my friend/family using those @@ earphone/headphone and saying they enjoy the music, I just feel like directly lend them my setup for them to listen awhile ... |
Aug 21 2014, 05:18 PM
@chabuchabu Thks for backing me up, yes i feel head-fi need better recognition although i do see much more sony budget headphones nowadays in LRTs (although i haven't really tried them). But i think this might be the right step. Just relieved my first actual headphones is the HD598 and not beats
QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 05:00 PM) Hei guys need some advice on buying earbuds for my cous's girlfriend on her birthday. Budget is RM200 max and below. I am very inexperience in budget purchases, as i am normally more acquainted with higher end purchases, but no offence. The only thing that comes to mind is the xiaomi piston and RE400 (2nd hand), are there any bang-for-buck more options here? I don't think sound signature is a problem, as i don't think she's looking to be an audiophile. Anything decent will be fine, as long as no boom boom earbuds that bleed into the mids. Please enlighten me Sifus out there Anyway back to topic , anyone experienced with good earbuds under 200? |
Aug 21 2014, 05:44 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
143 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Star Park @ sEtApAk |
Hi audiophiles sifus, need your recommendations:
Rigs: Pioneer DDJ SR Usage: DJ-ing purpose & listening to music File format: mp3 Genre of music: EDM Headphones: Noise Canceling Headphones / Closed Back Headphone Budget: RM300 - RM400 |
Aug 21 2014, 09:24 PM
438 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 05:00 PM) Hei guys need some advice on buying earbuds for my cous's girlfriend on her birthday. Budget is RM200 max and below. I am very inexperience in budget purchases, as i am normally more acquainted with higher end purchases, but no offence. The only thing that comes to mind is the xiaomi piston and RE400 (2nd hand), are there any bang-for-buck more options here? I don't think sound signature is a problem, as i don't think she's looking to be an audiophile. Anything decent will be fine, as long as no boom boom earbuds that bleed into the mids. Please enlighten me Sifus out there I think the Xiaomi piston is really good and cheap. Not to tell it has a good looking as well. |
Aug 21 2014, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 21 2014, 09:24 PM) I did some quick search for reviews and since its price reasonably bought it on the whim, not too much harm done, i guess .... |
Aug 21 2014, 09:32 PM
438 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 09:29 PM) I did some quick search for reviews and since its price reasonably bought it on the whim, not too much harm done, i guess No worries bro, really good bang for bucks. .... You will certainly be surprised for the performance it delivers at that price |
Aug 21 2014, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 21 2014, 09:32 PM) No worries bro, really good bang for bucks. Hadn't had much experience with IEM/earbuds. the only experience i had was Phonak 232 (very good balanced, my favorite so far), and FAD piano VIII ( piece of crap, i wonder how they can sell it at the initial USD 1,000 price, no offence to FAD lovers out there). But the pistons for me is just for general use to block out office squabbling and gossiping LOL. If its better than I-buds or beats earphones why not? You will certainly be surprised for the performance it delivers at that price |
Aug 21 2014, 10:33 PM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 09:36 PM) Hadn't had much experience with IEM/earbuds. the only experience i had was Phonak 232 (very good balanced, my favorite so far), and FAD piano VIII ( piece of crap, i wonder how they can sell it at the initial USD 1,000 price, no offence to FAD lovers out there). But the pistons for me is just for general use to block out office squabbling and gossiping LOL. If its better than I-buds or beats earphones why not? sorry to say xiaomi noise isolation is poor This post has been edited by ben3003: Aug 21 2014, 10:34 PM |
Aug 21 2014, 11:12 PM
4,676 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 09:36 PM) Hadn't had much experience with IEM/earbuds. the only experience i had was Phonak 232 (very good balanced, my favorite so far), and FAD piano VIII ( piece of crap, i wonder how they can sell it at the initial USD 1,000 price, no offence to FAD lovers out there). But the pistons for me is just for general use to block out office squabbling and gossiping LOL. If its better than I-buds or beats earphones why not? Aw darn... Saw this too late, I'll be getting an extra Xiaomi pair tmr and could have sold it to you lol |
Aug 21 2014, 11:15 PM
6,439 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Aug 21 2014, 11:35 PM
1,068 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
My Rig: phone, computer
- Type of usage: music, video editing, gaming - File format: mp3, flac, aac, ogg - Music genre: all - Budget: 0-100, 101-150, 151-200, and 201-250 (give me 4 recommendations based on the 4 tier price) - Headphone/ earphone type: headphone over ear (no prefer iEM) - Other requirements (if any): less than 200 gram (light and comfortable for long usage something similar to Sony MDR-10 comfort), portable. This post has been edited by asunakirito: Aug 21 2014, 11:35 PM |
Aug 22 2014, 01:48 PM
171 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Hey guys, I am looking into buying a gaming headphone for ps3 and ps4 usage. Seems like turtle beach px4 is good. But until wonder what is the difference between px4 and px5.
Hope sifu here can enlighten me. Thanks |
Aug 22 2014, 02:17 PM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
looking for recommendations..
- Your rig : iPod Nano - What type of usage : music - File format used in your source : mp3 mostly - Genre of music you listen to: rock (alternative, metal) - Headphone/ earphone type: in-ear earphone - Other requirements + budget max sgd200. i was on yamaha EPH 100 till one side went silent.. hunting for a replacement now.. |
Aug 22 2014, 02:46 PM
139 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 9 2014, 12:48 AM) Been using the m50x editing video, doesnt seem to get hot at the ear if in a air conditioned room.I think continuos of wearing it for 5-6 hours Somehow my m50x sounds lower when plug into pc compared to mac This post has been edited by mothangel: Aug 22 2014, 02:48 PM |
Aug 23 2014, 08:04 AM
24 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
looking for recommendations..
Your rig: personal compputer What type of usage : Music File format used in your source: mp3, flac Genre of music you listen to: r&b, pop , rock Headphone/ earphone type: in-ear earphone budget max Rm 150 I have list as below : BEATS Audio - HTC urBeats In-Ear Headphones Rm 119 Aerial7 Sumo Salsa Rm 139 a-Jays One Rm 159 which to choose for above list ?? any other recommendation ? |
Aug 23 2014, 08:46 AM
375 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL (Kota Damansara) |
Just received my Mi earphones! For the price, I'm actually quite impressed with how it's holding up. Good purchase!
Aug 23 2014, 11:22 AM
213 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(chastise @ Aug 21 2014, 04:25 PM) Any review or opinion on Bose QC15 vs AKG K550? Quite..... Different two headphones you're listing there Need a more comfy over head. The AKG k451 I'm using now doesn't exactly gimme the comfort. Tell us more about what you need, then we can help you out. Refer to the first post~ QUOTE(noobandroid @ May 6 2013, 06:23 PM) Other info such as the following will also be helpful to get faster and more accurate responses: - Your rig (mp3 players, amps, sound card etc) - What type of usage (movies/ gaming/ music etc) - File format used in your source (i.e. flac, mp3 etc) - Genre of music you listen to (classical, jazz, metal, etc) - Headphone/ earphone type (closed, open, circumaural, IEM etc) - Other requirements (if any) (mic, volume control, 5.1ch, 7.1ch etc) QUOTE(xxxJinGxxx @ Aug 22 2014, 02:17 PM) looking for recommendations.. If you want something that has similar sound signature to EPH 100, you could try ATH IM50 and IM70.- Your rig : iPod Nano - What type of usage : music - File format used in your source : mp3 mostly - Genre of music you listen to: rock (alternative, metal) - Headphone/ earphone type: in-ear earphone - Other requirements + budget max sgd200. i was on yamaha EPH 100 till one side went silent.. hunting for a replacement now.. Of you could try ATH IM01 - single BA driver |
Aug 23 2014, 01:36 PM
248 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
QUOTE(raeimad @ Aug 23 2014, 11:22 AM) If you want something that has similar sound signature to EPH 100, you could try ATH IM50 and IM70. How about something better than the Yamaha EPH 100 (Curious to know,as i was using yamaha as well)? Of you could try ATH IM01 - single BA driver |
| Change to: | 0.0360sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:16 AM |