Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

psychoactive
post Mar 7 2014, 06:16 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Mar 7 2014, 08:16 AM)
QUOTE(psychoactive @ Mar 7 2014, 04:03 AM)

Raise your budget for a little bit, get yourself an Audio Technica ATH-CKM500.  thumbup.gif

Nowadays all this headphones are stuff into the earhole?

btw where can i get this

Search around audio-technica seller in here. Quite a lot. smile.gif

This post has been edited by psychoactive: Mar 7 2014, 06:17 PM
psychoactive
post Mar 8 2014, 05:31 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(IronMaiden @ Mar 8 2014, 04:37 AM)
Hello there,I need headphones recommendation.

Budget: RM150
Rig      tongue.gifc Desktop stock sound.
Usage  :Music & Movies (WMP platform)
Format :FLAC,WAV,Mp3,M4a.
HpType :Closed/N.C.
Others   :Id like something with good [B]BASS[/B]
Koss PortaPro biggrin.gif buttt.. its open design.

This post has been edited by psychoactive: Mar 11 2014, 03:16 AM
psychoactive
post Mar 10 2014, 07:55 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Exogenesis @ Mar 8 2014, 06:51 AM)
Hey guys,

Hope you can recommend what Headphone I should get.

To use for iPhone and Laptop (Windows 8)
Usage - movies & music
File format  - all audio and video format eg. mp3, flac, mp4, mkv, avi....
Genre of music - A mix of everything

Requirements - Headphone
                    - Bluetooth (works for iPhone and PC)
                    - decent sound quality with some base
                    - doesn't look ugly
                    - doesn't break easily and will last me awhile.

Budget bellow RM300. Don't want to spend too much money.
RM300 imho is too low for a wireless + good build quality + decent sound quality.
Take at look at the Sony MDR-1RBT then you'll know tongue.gif

QUOTE(cipollll @ Mar 8 2014, 08:38 PM)
Earphone recommendation
Budget <120
Durable/portable
Rig:xperia miro
Use: mostly musics
Good all around sound quality, dont mind the design
If you like bass, consider SoundMAGIC E10.
Else, Koss KSC75 (on ear tho)

QUOTE(Lotus1109 @ Mar 10 2014, 03:29 PM)
Hello ~ I need some recommendations tongue.gif
For female user, so if possible don't want those big bulky tongue.gif

Budget : RM500-600
Rig      :smart phone + pc
Usage  :mostly music but sometimes movies
side notes: If possible, I want something that is available locally, meaning I don't have to order overseas... You know right, some people is worried about the international shipping tongue.gif

Thanks!
Usually those bulky sized headphone capable to produce life-like sound quality for your movies and also your musics. (Audio-Technica AD700x tongue.gif )

Nonetheless, can consider,
Audio-Technica ES700 (lively sounds and detailed)
Audio-Technica M50 (Great bass and slightly "trebled" sound)
V-Moda Crossfade M-80 (stylish looking + portable + good sound quality)
Grado SR225i (rock/metal sounds really good )
Creative Aurvana Live! (this one is not even RM500, sounds is the best among these)
thumbup.gif

psychoactive
post Mar 15 2014, 04:40 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ Mar 12 2014, 02:16 AM)
Dang my stock htc earphones went kaput and now I need a new pair.

budget: <rm250
rig: phone + pc
usage: 80% music 20% others
format: flac, mp3, video files
music genre: everything so the sound should be balance, not too bassy and not too soft.

remarks:- Prefer coziness over audio quality (bought shure se215 b4 and then sold it back due to comfort problem)
              -This will be my 'on the go' earphone so nothing cumbersome

Thanks in advance smile.gif
I would say go for Audio-Technica CKM500, there's a version with additional remote for your phone and also, the IEM has slightly u shaped sound, its not very bassy but its punchy in a way, the treble has a little bit spark for fun but not very sharp as well.

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Mar 15 2014, 02:08 AM)
AKG K67, Audio Technica M50x, or AiAiAi TMA-1?
They having diff sound signature, are you into bass/treble? Vocal?
Your music genre?
psychoactive
post Mar 15 2014, 12:21 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Mar 15 2014, 11:46 AM)
Just looking for something fun, with a lot of bass that doesn't kill the other frequencies.
Actually, scrap the AiAiAi because I may find the non-swivel cups annoying, just the M50x and K67.

My music genre varies, but it ranges from Prog rock to metal and a lot of their sub-genres, oh and also some instrumental. These are the music when I'm on the move. For sitting at my desk I have a Shure SE215-SPE.
i would personally skip the K67 as well. They sounds muffled to me.
M50x will probably fit your needs. However, I would recommend something cheaper like the Koss Pro DJ100 or the pricer SoundMAGIC HP100. (if you can find them)
They are both astonishing and i feel they are surely not overhyped as the M50 does. blush.gif
psychoactive
post Mar 15 2014, 06:34 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Mar 15 2014, 04:07 PM)
Dang.
Oh well, found another headphone to probably fill in the gap....well more like squeezing into. Pro700mk2.  laugh.gif
It stretches my budget quite a bit, but I think I can find a way.
So now, new list:
-Audio Technica Pro700 mk2
-Audio Technica M50/x
-Koss Pro DJ100

I like the 2 audio technicas because of their looks and detachable cble. As I understand it the 700 is the far bassier version of M50...which I find quite intriguing.
but honestly, the DJ100 isn't bad looking either. I would certainly be the only one wearing them around my uni that's for sure. laugh.gif How's the bass on the DJ100?
No bro, don't get the Pro700 MK2, Its not bassier version of M50. More like self-tuned only for bass emphasis headphone. It is very dark, treble is not detailed and the sounds are congested. I would say the DJ100 has pretty good solid controlled bass but lesser than m50. the dj100 have nice forward vocal, pretty good instrument seperation.

QUOTE(whitedrake88 @ Mar 15 2014, 05:06 PM)
budget: <rm1500
rig: PC
DAC: ODAC
Amplifier: Hippo Cricri
usage: Music
format: flac
Headphone Type: balance, detail, open headphone
QUOTE(whitedrake88 @ Mar 15 2014, 05:54 PM)
How the sounding if compare with Beyerdynamic dt880
If your orchestra music a lot of strings and vocal, imo go for AD900x / DT880 80ohm (since you're using cricri, do not get the 250/600 ohm version unless you wanna upgrade your amp) thumbup.gif
i do think the x1 is suitable as well but its more towards all-rounder.

This post has been edited by psychoactive: Mar 15 2014, 06:38 PM
psychoactive
post Mar 15 2014, 06:39 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Mar 15 2014, 06:36 PM)
Noted. Leaning towards the M50x now.  smile.gif
Better if you could audition the m50 and the koss tongue.gif to see which you're more into.
psychoactive
post Jun 24 2014, 02:15 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Jun 21 2014, 02:03 AM)
Budget: RM1500-RM2000

- Your rig: iPhone 5s
- What type of usage : music
- File format used in your source: Spotify (extreme bitrate)
- Genre of music you listen to: Rock, Pop, Alternative.
- Headphone/ earphone type: circumaural
- Other requirements: clarity and punchy bass.

Tempted to get beats solo II after it's been heavily marketed on world cup with all the players using it tongue.gif but i'm open to pro recommendations smile.gif
Vmoda M-100
Sennheiser Momentum
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 3 2014, 11:36 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Jul 31 2014, 09:12 PM)
Sifus, any opinion on ATH IM 02. I got an offer for RM 650. Good deal? Any other model to look out for?

I'm just going to use IEM for laptop and smartphone use, mainly gaming and youtubing. Not planning to buy amp.
RM650 is pretty good deal. You might want to upgrade your source later on, without a good source (dac/amp) it's not really unleashing the full potential of IM02. Do you listen to low quality music files? (As in from youtube) Also, Do you prefer a analytic and revealing sound? If not, avoid im02, they have the capability to tell you how good is your music is. drool.gif

QUOTE(mc_kambeng @ Aug 1 2014, 12:08 AM)
Need advice, recently im using Superlux Evo681. But i cannot longer use it. Im mostly use for gaming, music like pop, rock and dubstep and streaming. Im considering Sennheiser HD 439 and Audio Technica Ath-m50x. Which one is better? I really love good looking Ath but bass of 439 also attract me.
M50x... no regrets. smile.gif

QUOTE(RasWong @ Aug 1 2014, 11:19 AM)
Hi need advice is anyone using steelseries siberia v2? is it good?

currently using superlux hd668b,  want to use for gaming.  looking for headphone then can close up my ear like previous 1. budget around 300 +-
Wouldn't recommend Siberia v2 as a replacement to HD668B, HD668B is superior to it with any aspect (except the thinny and shrilling treble)

QUOTE(ZeeKhai @ Aug 2 2014, 10:18 AM)
Hi guys, i need some advice regarding what to buy

Rig : smartphone

Usage : generally music

Format : mp3

Genre of music : Techno, trance, and similar genre

Type of earphone preferred : IEM

Budget : at most RM100

Notes : if possible something that has slightly more bass in it and more durable?

I really appreciate all recommendations from you all x)
SoundMAGIC E10 or XiaoMi Piston V2.0

QUOTE(wyh @ Aug 2 2014, 01:30 PM)
Since didnt follow up on audio section for something. Had been using cheap akg (K581 , K321) & UE100. Need some recommendation for budget IEM
Rig : laptop & phone

Usage : Music only

Format : mp3 and etc.

Genre of music : Classical, Instrumental, sometimes Pop

Type of earphone preferred : IEM (over the ears)

Budget : Max 200, Cant afford to stretch more =( 

Notes : Prefer IEM with over the ear. Like shure 215 but cant budget constrain.
Actually RM200 max, there's no IEM with wearing over the ear able to fit in that price range. hmm.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 4 2014, 12:11 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Aug 3 2014, 11:54 PM)
Yea, too bad I don't have time to test out the IEMs and I already ordered IM 02 with additional free cable before the promotion ends.  brows.gif

As far as I recall from the head fi review, IM 02 prefers a super low output impedance, <1 ohm. So if my understanding is correct, there's no need to buy an amp? Any smartphone or laptop will do the job very well because their output impedance is low? Please correct me if I'm wrong... icon_question.gif

As for my usage, mainly I use for Dota 2, youtubing, and maybe start on some high quality music files as you mentioned. The word "analytical" you mentioned, means neutral, detail and original sound of the music file without emphasising the bass etc? Is this definition correct? If so, then it's time to enjoy real music.  rclxm9.gif
I understand, but yeah, I highly concern about your source (mobile/laptop). They are usually using an inferior DAC and also doing amping with subpar performance, it is not recommended to use IEM directly with their output. Especially for IM02, very revealing pair of IEM, thus, garbage in garbage out.
I'm not sure about how low is the output impedance is, but from what i know the source you're using usually has pretty high impedance hmm.gif

Analytical has no relation with neutral, it simply contrast with musicality. To which prefers analytical sound tend to enjoy their music with all sort of detail being shoved out clearly. Meanwhile, warmness, fleshy and thick sounding usually covers up the analytic aspect to create a much musical sound to the listener. nod.gif
For neutral, you have already explained it yourself biggrin.gif Without an emphasis on particular range of frequency response, let it be the bass, midrange, treble.

This post has been edited by psychoactive: Aug 4 2014, 12:17 AM
psychoactive
post Aug 4 2014, 12:30 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Aug 4 2014, 12:27 AM)
Notes taken, thanks. To be honest, I have no idea about the actual value of output impedance of laptops and smartphones. This info is not available on the internet.

Without a doubt, IM 02 for the money I'm paying is definitely a good buy and it's actually not that much money in the world of audiophiles. Considering this is the first ever IEM I ever bought in my life, I think starting with IM 02 is the right decision. Hope this is a good investment and last for at least next 3 years.  biggrin.gif
I second this is a pretty good choice as you entered the scene skipping the budget-fi biggrin.gif Remember though, what you're going to listen isn't the fullest of IM02. Upgrade your source next to get yourself more next level enjoyment flex.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 4 2014, 02:22 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Aug 4 2014, 01:24 PM)
Most smartphones output impedance are below 3 ohms, usually around 1 ish. Your IM02 is rated 36 ohms, and as a 'general rule', IEMs using muti-BA drivers should preferably be less than 8x the output impedance of your source. Hence for smartphones rated 3 ohms, your IEM should not be below 24 ohms.
As your IM02 is rated 36 ohms, you don't have to worry about impedance issue.
However i find following that rule strictly a bit silly as all IEMs response differently.
Generally it's damping responsible for the frequency response of a particular IEM, especially for BA-based + multi drivers IEM. In order to overcome in a basis without too much of unwanted response or distortion, better keep the impedance at a better lower level, for IEM it's still better to stick to a source which has below 1 ohm output impedance. nod.gif

QUOTE(jol lomi @ Aug 4 2014, 12:42 PM)
- Your rig: mp3 player...iphone 5
- What type of usage : only music
- File format used in your source: mp3/ apple lossless/flac
- Genre of music you listen to: vocal / rock / pop
- Headphone/ earphone type : headphone..iem
- Other requirements: comfort..bassy..clear vocal
- budget : rm200 - rm300
Audio Technica IM50 RM3xx
psychoactive
post Aug 4 2014, 06:47 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Aug 4 2014, 03:49 PM)
That might be ideal, but i find even sources with 3 ohms performs well without altering frequency responses with most IEMs except for very few like SE846 rated at 8 ohms. But IMO hearing with your own ears is still the best measurement. I know some who prefers the synergy and changes for AK100II rated at 2-3 ohms with SE846 more than their <1 ohm sources.
All down to personal preference comes to play blush.gif I remember I have heard the pairs like SE535 with different >1 ohm source... the results are pretty abysmal, I guess they are much more sensitive to the output impedance doh.gif

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 4 2014, 05:19 PM)
- Your rig: DAC Magic + E9 & iPod Classic + E7
- What type of usage: Music
- File format used in your source: mp3 and ALAC
- Genre of music you listen to: Jazz, Chinese Pop, Male Vocal
- Headphone/ earphone type: Close back, over-ear
- Other requirements (if any): comfortable for long period use

budget around RM 500++
Koss PRODJ100
Audio Technica M50x
Shure SRH840
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 5 2014, 07:54 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Aug 4 2014, 08:06 PM)
errr there areeee  lol, budgetline shure SE-112 just found in the web
Terima kasih =) akan membaca  notworthy.gif
SE112 is pretty new from what i know.
Oh yeah besides the VSD3/S, you may want to consider Brainwavz S1 as well, just remember that it is to be worn over ear. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 5 2014, 01:41 PM)
im70, im50 or gr07 BE? looking for upgrade from xba-1. still dilemma until now.. going to buy gr07 but now i saw opinion saying im70 got some wide soundstage.. makes me looking at it now smile.gif
Definitely skip the IM50 if you can get the IM70. If you like the sound of your XBA-1, i think IM70 is much suitable, it's like having an extra thick sound, very musical tuning compared to your quite flat xba-1. GR07 has the sort vocal sibilant problem to most of the users. In which that would never happen in your case with your XBA-1. smile.gif

QUOTE(iadejam @ Aug 5 2014, 02:53 PM)
hello otai2x sound..

wanna ask all you  expert opinion. my spec as below

- Your rig - PC(soundcard Xonar DX), note 3 smart phone
- What type of usage - 60% movie, 20% gaming 20% music
- File format used in your source - mp3(320kps), mkv, avi
- Genre of music you listen to - almost all kind(more soft rock and pop), some soft bass also nice
- Headphone/ earphone type  - circumaural or noise cancelling
- Other requirements - wired with or with no mic. either both also can.

what can i get with budget around RM300-RM400
For most of the usage are from movies along with your music preference, consider to raise your budget a little bit to get the Audio Technica AD700x. You won't be disappointed. nod.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 6 2014, 05:38 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(iadejam @ Aug 6 2014, 03:21 PM)
thanks bro
how much for Audio technica AD700x?? Ad700x comparing with Shure SRH840 which is better??
SRH840 is closed type and it hardly suitable for movies if compared against AD700X tongue.gif
And AD700X is around 5xx smile.gif

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 5 2014, 10:51 PM)
u mean gr07? most reviews saying that, so i dont believe every of them are using poor source smile.gif
I would say, if you find sibilance annoying and don't feel like to risk something, it's better to avoid smile.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 6 2014, 11:00 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(hensen @ Aug 6 2014, 07:54 PM)
- Your rig (mp3 players, amps, sound card etc)
Samsung galaxy note

- What type of usage (movies/ gaming/ music etc)
Mainly music and sometimes gaming

- File format used in your source (i.e. flac, mp3 etc)
Flac

- Genre of music you listen to (classical, jazz, metal, etc)
Classical, rock, pop, kpop.

- Headphone/ earphone type (closed, open, circumaural, IEM etc)
IEM earphone.

My old earphone gone when I left it in my car...
Can anyone suggest me good earphone within rm500?
VSonic GR07 Classic
Hifiman RE400

5xx
VSonic GR01
T-PEOS Altone 200

What's your preference on music?

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Aug 6 2014, 10:54 PM)
A little bit over budget but I will take into deep consideration. Any other model to recommend which is slightly cheaper?  hmm.gif
Around 3xx, Hifiman RE400 smile.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 6 2014, 11:13 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(luahanpelik @ Aug 6 2014, 11:05 PM)
What would the best choice if chg my budget to rm200 max?
I would say get the CKM500, its around RM200. smile.gif
Very very good for house, edm music.

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Aug 6 2014, 11:05 PM)
I thought Hifiman RE400 is more expensive than FAD Heaven 2?  sad.gif
Ah.. pardon me, Vsonic GR06 is pretty good its around 2xx.
But i strongly recommend that you go around 3xx price range. the performance there is quite a gap for <300
psychoactive
post Aug 6 2014, 11:34 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Aug 6 2014, 11:24 PM)
I kinda like the FAD's design. Look so classy compared to other IEM.
Any idea where I can try out those IEM?
So far the only earphone from AT I tried is MTH-50X. The bass is a bit too much for me.
I understand that you're not really a bass lover that's why i recommend you to get the RE400 since they are neutral in their regards. You'll probably prefer it more.
If you wanna try out the VSonic, you can contact liquidgal. nod.gif
psychoactive
post Aug 6 2014, 11:50 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(hensen @ Aug 6 2014, 11:41 PM)
Hmmmm
I don't think too much into it usually, as long as sounds good to me
Might be classical, vocal, instrumental, pop, rock
I like bass but not too strong like beats
GR07 is quite fit your preference. If you're not really into bass (but not bass-inadequate), can consider the GR01 around 5xx.
psychoactive
post Aug 7 2014, 12:11 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(hensen @ Aug 7 2014, 12:03 AM)
Just finished reading some reviews about those earphones and it suits me well
Thank you for your great advice
Will squeeze my schedule tomorrow to try it at jaben smile.gif
I doubt Jaben has them, try approaching liquidgal instead.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:56 PM