Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

Stefan How
post May 11 2014, 06:46 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(KyeLunC @ May 11 2014, 06:40 PM)
May I know where got sell? Or demo units? Also, I've browsed through the previous pages and found SoundMagic E10 and Beyerdynamic XP series were recommended. Personally find Beyerdynamic XP3 is more to my liking among the 3 but not sure about SoundMagic E10 and the ones you recommended..    rclxub.gif
Xp1-3 can be found in Jaben
Stefan How
post May 14 2014, 02:14 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 14 2014, 01:28 PM)
hmm want ask what is best budget portable headphone for travel in KTM and LRT train

my rig: mainly HTC M7 phone (with poweramp player), or PC stock soundcard  unsure.gif
usage: music on traveling , sometimes movies or gaming in late night or when someone drilling nearby, then i had to use headphone
file format: MP3.....  sweat.gif
genre music: chinese classic like terresa teng, sometimes japanese enka songs, Kung Fu hustle OST sometimes, initial D those euro beat , kill la kill OST sometimes, anime J-pop....  rclxub.gif

headphone type: prefer light for travelling , also able to block most of the sounds from train so i can watch movie in train.

i was using in ear bud from sony one (can hang on ear that type) and for longer time of the usage it is somehow slip out from my ear, i also dont like to use stock ear bud from bluetooth tags/ phone because it can't hang on my ear.

i also own ATH Pro5V and it is very tight and the sponge is too small till many years endurance and finally i swap with shure's with larger sponge then problem solved, but still tight for cracking my skull lol.

budget i think maybe: 200-300 myr  unsure.gif
headphone or IEm? yawn.gif Well i use Jvc s500 for ktm,which works fairly good,its just that issue with comfort as i wear specs and having a big head so ya. It might differ. The S500 isolation was quite good,when on half bar which was pretty loud, passenger nearby cant really hear anything (Might be the engine of ktm covering it up.) CNT(Carbon nanotube) is like an all rounder for me. so ya, CNT FTW XD
Stefan How
post May 14 2014, 02:55 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 14 2014, 02:26 PM)
using IEM (called in-ear bud from sony catalog  unsure.gif ) for long time till the rubber come out oil already lol..
not really sure ATH brand nice or not for that  unsure.gif

but what i want find is headphone because i don't want my ear get cucuk by IEM anymore XD
Well i still used my Sony MDR Ex310SL (IEM,4 years old XD) old model though, Maybe try ATH XS5 i havent test it out before but they said more like a basshead headphone. biggrin.gif Just suggesting maybe other sifu's can recommand you other brand XD
Stefan How
post May 14 2014, 02:57 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ May 14 2014, 01:31 PM)
Hi guys, need recommendation an earphone for budget below RM200. Thanks!

- Your rig: Computer/Phone
- What type of usage: Music
- File format used in your source: Spotify, youtube
- Genre of music you listen to Classical, Bass, Accoustics
- Headphone/ earphone type: prefer in-ear earphone
- Other requirements (if any) Budget below RM200
Beyerdynamic xp1-3 ? Not sure which is which but try google it as each model handle different sound signature
Stefan How
post May 14 2014, 03:23 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 14 2014, 03:12 PM)
my one is this, bought since ipod touch 2nd gen era. (exclude the bluetooth dongle )
[attachmentid=3970403]

by the way overear headphone for travel is good? rm 300 is not enough budget?
i have been thinking if pay so much for light weight travel headphone that expensive more than ATHpro5v that i paid for rm 270 that time.... it is feeling like paying a rm4k gaming laptop while my rm 2.7k desktop still can perform better than that. unsure.gif
Wat is that Sony sbh20? Im using it too haha.. maybe try check this brand rha ma750i.. I have no idea what's the quality like as I never use before haha so ya. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Stefan How: May 14 2014, 03:23 PM
Stefan How
post May 15 2014, 02:26 PM

248 posts

Just wondering,I have Google search but still dun understand a single abt thing DAC or Amp and what's the use of using it. Anyone can explain it? Just dun get it why people use those for their headphone. blink.gif
Stefan How
post May 15 2014, 04:52 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 15 2014, 03:37 PM)
i'm not using it but i think it is like equalizer in music player... DAC is Direct to Analog Converter.
people using it not for their headphone only... more like for music.

pretty much like how you adjust your colour preference on your monitor so everyone have their own taste for music, some like more clarity, some more like bass, some more like mid tone bla bla bla you got it.

unsure.gif
I only use equalizer on my phone for my iem .. so dac is actually a device that lower or provide more current and voltage for high impedance headphone?
Stefan How
post May 15 2014, 07:00 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ May 15 2014, 06:15 PM)
Hi Stefan.

DAC stands for Digital to Analog Converter.
Music stored in your computer/phone/music player is in digital format. In order to translate the binary code into analog sound signal, it will pass through a DAC. The sound signal is usually a line level analog output.

Amp is an amplifier for the line level analog signal.
After the sound signal is converted from digital to analog, the amplifier is used to amplify and control the volume of the audio signal before it is sent to your headphones/earphones/speakers.

All music players/phones/computers have their own DAC and amp, however they may not always be good quality. When people buy other DAC and amp, they want a better quality component to process the audio signal.

Good quality headphones are revealing, meaning that they are transparent enough to let the listeners know if the source of the music is good or bad. When you use good quality headphones, you will also need good quality amps and DACs, or else the headphones won't be able to sound their best.

Headphones also have different impedance. Higher impedance headphones are harder to drive, so they require more powerful amps. Lower impedance headphones are easy to drive, but they hiss if the amp is not suitable or too powerful.

If you have any more questions don't be shy to ask.
Wow, at least i can take in more than half of the info,Thx man. notworthy.gif So basically,DAC is something like a processor in the dev that convert those digital audio file to sound wave(Analog) right? While amp,is a device,use to push more current or voltage for those higher impedance headphone to shine . Do they need amp to sound the best? Is amp something like control the audio loudness,Bass,treble and stuff like that? So lower impedance headphone dun really need the aid of amp? rclxub.gif
Stefan How
post May 15 2014, 09:03 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Problem @ May 15 2014, 07:49 PM)
An amp as it is, is too amplify a signal, period. And yes, an amp purpose is able to push out in terms of watts, some amp are capable to push out more voltage into higher impedances while some don't. It all depends on how the manufacturer designs it. This is back to basic physics where

W = A * V

where W = watt, A = ampere and V = voltage

Not all products need an amp to shine as some are tuned and design to specifically work with internal amps from your portable devices like your iPad, iPhone, smartphones,tablets, PC's, etc

Often people misread thinking that low impedance don't need an amp where they should also look at the manufacturer's specification of sensitivity as it shows an indication of how much decibel of sound it can produce at 1mW of power

Take a look at the following examples:

CODE
Beyedynamic T1

Transducer type . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Dynamic
Operating principle. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Semi-open
Frequency response . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 - 50,000 Hz
Impedance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 600 Ω
Nominal SPL . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 102 dB (1 mW / 500 Hz)

CODE
Hifiman HE-6

Frequency Response: 8 to 65 KHz
Impedance: 50 Ohm
Efficiency: 83.5 DB
Weight: 502 g

To the uninformed, most would think that the T1 would need an amp to drive it optimally due to its 600 ohm nominal impedance while the HE-6 with its 50 ohm do not need one.

This is where they are wrong as the efficiency of 83.5 is much lower than the T1's sensitivity of 102 db. The Hifiman HE-6 is the one that requires even more power in terms of power compared to the T1
How do u get the watt? I mean voltage is the impedance or ampere? Coz from what i know is that ohm thingy is like internal electrical resistant. But most manufacturer doest come out the watt and ampere needed to powered their product.

So basically its something like this?

CODE
Jvc Ha S500
Freq respond:8hz-25000hz
Impedance:32Ω
Handling capacity:1000mw (IEC)

CODE
Yamaha EPH 100
Driver Type:Dynamic, Closed
Driver Unit :Φ6 mm (1/4”)
Impedance:16 ohms
Sound Pressure Level:104 dB ±3 dB
Frequency Response: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
Weight (with Cable):13.5 g (0.46 oz)

i know its stupid to compare an on ear headphone to an IEM,as that is wat i own..
So the one that need amp was the yamaha? Please correct me if im wrong sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Stefan How: May 15 2014, 09:30 PM
Stefan How
post May 15 2014, 09:58 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Problem @ May 15 2014, 09:51 PM)
The Yamaha HA S500 has 106 db/1mW and EPH 100 has 104db +- 3db at 1mW (I'm guessing), they are both extremely sensitive to when it is fed 1mW of power and produces enough volume at 1mW. Anything that is >90db at 1mW is generally quite loud and prolong loud volume is dangerous to people unless you dont mind developing tinnitus and going deaf.

Just take this as a hint, most and I really mean most mass consumer grade products typically don't need an amp as they are efficient as it is playing directly from your portable devices already.
Oh,alright. You have any idea about the freq range thingy? Not sure is it a hoax or wat,people tend to recommand me to get headphone at freq range of 5-25khz+ Why is that? Human ear can only operate at 20hz-20khz. As you stated,some headphone goes up tp 65khz.. But is not in our range.. Whats the point on having so high freq range? rclxub.gif
Stefan How
post May 15 2014, 10:01 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 15 2014, 09:52 PM)
want ask some generic question, since i easy access with LRT and KTM, is midvalley radio shack is a good place for buying portable headphones? (and test)

or lowyat? or KLCC?

or buy via online? but online i cant test the headphone like how i bought my Pro5v and it is very tight sad.gif

also generic brand like Sony is generally good for what range? philips? ATH? Senheiser ?

how about those steel series headphones?
Do you mind walking 5km? From subang KTm to SS15? XD You can test there Jaben i mean, they selling headphone there too.
Stefan How
post May 15 2014, 11:18 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ May 15 2014, 11:02 PM)
Its gives the sound a physiological effect. As in you get to 'feel' the music in a sense. But also, treble that extends beyond the human hearing gives a more realistic sound and also a smoother treble.

But anyway, I think you're going way OT with your questions relative to the topic of this thread, no?
Oh alright,srry about that just wanna know more abt it :S sweat.gif
Stefan How
post May 18 2014, 01:44 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ May 18 2014, 01:42 PM)
Jaben new place at NU Sentral. 1 minute walk from kl sentral monorail, KTM and lrt. No need to walk 5 km tongue.gif
Oh,didnt knew that,I only know subang as i was there in weekdays XD
Stefan How
post May 23 2014, 08:39 PM

248 posts

Was wondering, why when i plug my s500 to my phone and the vocal sound really abit dull,but with quite punchy bass. But when i connect my s500 to my laptop,the vocal sound become more brighter (or should i say more obvious?) and loud . But the bass sound bloated. Any idea what happen there? rclxub.gif
Stefan How
post May 23 2014, 11:23 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 23 2014, 11:11 PM)
what is that  rclxub.gif
Its like,the vocal sound louder but bass bloated when connected to pc. On phone,its not so loud for vocal.. but bass was good.
Stefan How
post May 23 2014, 11:43 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 23 2014, 11:33 PM)
what is s500  rclxub.gif
Oh LOL jvc s500
Stefan How
post May 24 2014, 09:17 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 24 2014, 12:06 AM)
you need a DAC/amp  nod.gif
Like? Idk anything about any famous dac/amp around market,but found one,that is Fiio E6 which is portable use, and what is the price range for such stuff? :S
Stefan How
post May 26 2014, 10:09 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ May 25 2014, 10:44 AM)
Fiio E6 is around RM100+. It's a pure amp, not DAC.
You can also try UD110 V2 around that price range. Tested it yesterday. Mid and treble is quite clean and outstanding compare to onboard sound card/hp build in dac. Bass is a bit muddy but it's quite acceptable and worth the price.
But that is a usb doogle type,its a dac with build in amp right? Hmm was looking for a portable use one. But i don't know which amp/dac is the entry level sweat.gif
Stefan How
post May 27 2014, 11:27 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ May 27 2014, 12:31 AM)
Thanks for the recommendation, is the wire easily being replaceable?

After further research, where can i found shop that hold the product below?

RHA MA750 / MA750i
Yamaha EPH-100
Rock-It Sounds R-50
VSonic GR07 MKII
Fischer Audio DBA-02 mkII
Dunu DN-1000
JVC HA-FXT90
Yamaha eph-100 is discontinue,but u still can find some forumer to import over here. =) Others i believe u can find them in lowyat forum.
Stefan How
post May 27 2014, 11:42 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 27 2014, 11:35 AM)
not true  doh.gif
Well malaysia official page is discontinued,then others not right? Example Singapore? Been to their site you still can buy from Sing i think. unsure.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0284sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:28 AM