Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

Ask_Yip
post Aug 10 2014, 06:37 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Aug 10 2014, 05:23 PM)
- Your rig: PC, laptop (all onboard soundcards), iphone 5
- What type of usage: movies, gaming (fps, dota), music
- File format used in your source: mp3
- Genre of music you listen to: rock, metal, pop
- Headphone/ earphone type: closed
- Other requirements (if any): none.

Looking at ATH-M50X, AD-700, AKG-K550 and Beyer COP.

Which would be the best bang for buck?
COP, adjustable bass, customizable look, can attached mic, recent price cut, easy to drive, what else can you ask for?
Ask_Yip
post Aug 12 2014, 08:47 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Aug 12 2014, 02:28 AM)
What about Sony MDR-7506? Seems cheap. But them being studio cans, would it be too analytical?
I don't see people using this for gaming lol
Ask_Yip
post Aug 14 2014, 01:35 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(facade88 @ Aug 14 2014, 08:32 AM)
Would appreciate your thoughts on the matter  icon_question.gif
My vote for Shure for detachable cable, can upgrade cable and have longer life span.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 15 2014, 05:02 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(hamdanchiuyanyehh @ Aug 15 2014, 02:30 PM)
Hi, I wan to buy a 1st new headphone, can you suggest me?

- Budget : RM300-500 : low but good quality smile.gif
- Your rig (Pc : UD100DAC, Iphone 4s)
- What type of usage (music)
- File format used in your source (flac and mp3)
- Genre of music you listen to (rock, jazz, classical, acoustic, pop)
- Headphone type (closed - over the ear)

What I considering:
- M50x : Jaben & Harvey Norman Sell at RM700... I have test the units, so damn satisfy of it, but overbudget T_T
- Shure 440 : RM3XX... I feel like... too bright?
- M40x: no test unit in Jaben and harvey norman... wat are the differences between m40x and m50x?
- DT 770 pro : not consider it bcoz need amp and too exp...
- Or can you suggest me other model same like M50x? I actually keep searching for M40x... but no test unit... Price RM398

Thank you
Have you try some Sennheiser? HD4XX is in this price range I think.

But if you like m50, m40 wont sound too far different since they are same series, but AT not my cup of tea.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 15 2014, 05:25 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Aug 15 2014, 05:22 PM)
M40X sound really different from M50X
Less bass and much more flat sound. Both have their pros and cons, there are times when M40X sounds better for certain music, or parts of a song.
fischer audio fa-004 (if i'm not mistaken about the model) sounds quite good, and comes with replacable pads. But if you didn't like Shure SRH 440, this might sound too bright for you as well. And there is very little bass as well.

If you did like M50X for the bass, you might dislike M40X, but overall M40X is amazing for the price  smile.gif
is it? sorry for the wrong info, not a fan of AT hehehe
Ask_Yip
post Aug 18 2014, 06:08 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(lexusss @ Aug 18 2014, 02:23 PM)
Thx for the suggestion! will checkout Jaben soon.
i listen to pop song, anime song, anime ost.
for anime song, usually it tend towards more bass. but i like "original" sound. dont like bass boasting earphone.
do you have any recommendation for 150 ~ 250 in-ear earphone?

i actually like apple handsfree that kind of sound. but i don think in-ear will have that kind of sound.
Sennheiser CX-200 / 300, won't go wrong with Sennheiser.

QUOTE(chabuchabu @ Aug 18 2014, 05:52 PM)
Question : Should I get dt880 ? If yes 250ohm or 600ohm?

rig : cube c30 mp3 player , xiaomi3 , laptop , desktop
amp : Fiio E11 , Fiio E7 , Shoyun 306a , asus U1
headphone : ms2i, q701, AD900X , Denon D2000 driver with cap ayam casing
earphone : Cube F1, tdk-ba200, Vsonic VSD1

format : mp3 (320kbps) , FLAC

music : prefer song with less bass. most enjoy warmth and soft music. But most of the time k-pop, english hit song, anime song

reason for dt880 : wanted to look for a comfortable headphone that I can put on long time also will not feel like it is there. haha. Currently, even AD900X , maximum I only can use it for 4 hours.
Have to tried Sennheiser HD 595/598, HD 600/650?

I can wear HD 595/600 for very long hour and listen without feeling fatigue.

And I think E7 have not enough power to bring the best out of DT 880 600 ohm, I will suggest you to go for the 250 ohm version.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 18 2014, 07:53 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 18 2014, 07:32 PM)
Sennheiser HD600 is less dark and has very neutral sound. Also very comfortable smile.gif
Well.. i suggest upgrade your dac instead of amp, 306a is decent but E7 is a little bottlenecked.
HD600 with decent setup will bring you to heaven
Ask_Yip
post Aug 18 2014, 10:24 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(Problem @ Aug 18 2014, 08:29 PM)
The sky if the roof, so many possibilities  brows.gif  brows.gif
yeap diff combo diff feel whistling.gif
Ask_Yip
post Aug 21 2014, 05:06 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(chocosnowshake @ Aug 19 2014, 09:36 PM)
After go to Jaben have a try for 2 hrs, finally get Sennheiser CX 300-II which have solid strong bass and good treble details most likely to Hippo VB.
Other than that, I found out that Final Audio Design Heaven IV is quite good ~ would have it soon~ haha

Thx for the recommendation biggrin.gif
Yeah Sennheiser FTW flex.gif

QUOTE(applezhai @ Aug 21 2014, 05:00 PM)
Hei guys need some advice on buying earbuds for my cous's girlfriend on her birthday. Budget is RM200 max and below. I am very inexperience in budget purchases, as i am normally more acquainted with higher end purchases, but no offence. The only thing that comes to mind is the xiaomi piston and RE400 (2nd hand), are there any bang-for-buck more options here? I don'tĀ  think sound signature is a problem, as i don't think she's looking to be an audiophile. Anything decent will be fine, as long as no boom boom earbuds that bleed into the mids. Please enlighten me Sifus out thereĀ  notworthy.gif
For girl just go for some AT with great design or Beats, they don't really care on the sound icon_idea.gif
Ask_Yip
post Aug 25 2014, 01:30 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Aug 25 2014, 12:17 PM)
Hi, all

just want to ask from audiophiles
how big difference a high end earphone and xiaomi piston?
becoz i might get a high end earphone soon, havent got the chance to try one how good it can be  smile.gif

budget <700
>bring your xiaomi and your music player
>go to headphone shop
>listen to your xiaomi
>listen to other earphone with the same song

>profit
Ask_Yip
post Aug 25 2014, 03:05 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Aug 25 2014, 02:02 PM)
shops in my place no give tester set  sad.gif
one of my fren got monster earphone, gonna borrow from him to compare  brows.gif
what earphone do u use?
Where you live?

See my signature. brows.gif
Ask_Yip
post Aug 27 2014, 04:13 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Aug 27 2014, 08:11 AM)
Anyone own any of this earphone? Sony xb70,xb50 or ex650. In dilemma to buy which one.
XB for bass, EX for balance.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 27 2014, 04:21 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Aug 27 2014, 04:19 PM)
already bought XB50. Awesome earphone.
congrats, enjoy it.

I started from XB 300, hahaha
Ask_Yip
post Aug 28 2014, 08:29 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(rexksviilow @ Aug 27 2014, 09:30 PM)
LOL can tell me the shop name where u buy your headphone?

mine cheap Edifier H285 right side cant hear....
planning to buy SoundMAGIC or Sennheiser CX200 ...
go search garage sales got a lot of seller.

reputable seller mr. E1 - AKG

This post has been edited by Ask_Yip: Aug 28 2014, 08:33 AM
Ask_Yip
post Sep 2 2014, 01:47 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Sep 2 2014, 02:11 AM)
Guys, need a recommendation for a good pair of headphones(closed/full sized around the ear) no more than rm100, main usage is for watching movies and gaming. Most important for me is the comfort, a little less on the quality actually since I'm no audiophile, but of course goods sound quality is always better. I would also like to know where I can find the recommended set around kl area. Thanks in advanceĀ  thumbup.gif
100, full size, around ear...

I think only Philips have... If you can up a bit can go for Sennheiser HD 202, around 160.

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Sep 1 2014, 11:17 PM)
Just wondering. How good is the KFC headphones?
Please don't be pissed at Me.
repost to kopitiam for more attractive answers
Ask_Yip
post Sep 2 2014, 04:49 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(jyu_bonk @ Sep 2 2014, 04:27 PM)

I need suggestion on getting a bluetooth headphone. I can't think anything else except beats dr dre, and I only knew this brand. Can you guys suggest me the best wireless headphone?

Sony, Sennheiser, Philips, Jabra...
Ask_Yip
post Sep 3 2014, 09:28 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(jyu_bonk @ Sep 3 2014, 08:29 AM)
I'm not really pro in this sort of thing as for me, buying headphones is depends on their design (i'm noob in learning technology T_T). Is MDR-1RBT the SQ is considered good enough?

How about the JBL wireless series?
If you are willing to spend 1.5k for headphones, why not some money and time and pay a visit to Jaben / E1 / any headphone shop that you can try the headphone?

I am sure they are more than happy to assist and recommend you the best they have.

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 2 2014, 11:57 PM)
To be honest, its hard to find an affordable Bluetooth headphone which has both SQ and cheap pricing. Most, if not all Bluetooth sucks to a certain point.
The most annoying is - no battery biggrin.gif
Ask_Yip
post Sep 5 2014, 09:45 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

IMO, if only on mobile phone, SE535, IE80 and 1964 will be wasted. I choose Westone 3 if only for mobile phone, good enough already.

QUOTE(Eric.Hp @ Sep 4 2014, 10:53 PM)
Hey guys, getting a new headphone for my friend's birthday. Thanks in advance

Rig: Sony smartphone and laptop
Usage: Normally for Music
File format: MP3
Genre: Pop rock, metal, edm, dubstep
Headphone/ earphone type: IEM
Other requirements: Slightly more bass than treble
Brand: Preferably Sony (he's a big Sony fan) but other brands can consider
Budget: 100-150

Thanks again smile.gif
XB Series IEM, I think the cheapest is 150++
Ask_Yip
post Sep 5 2014, 08:36 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(trade99 @ Sep 5 2014, 08:00 PM)
My headphone DENON just spoiled... falled on floor.. inside the speaker no more sound and speaker lose...
Recommend me new headphone please...
Rig: Samsung note/ dekstop
Usage: Normally for MUSIC and MOVIE
File format: MP3/ CD
Genre: A lots...
Headphone/ earphone type: Cover whole ear, leather
Other requirements: Im not sure about this, but i do like more bass for movie and some of club music and concert type music
Brand: Any
Budget: Below RM 800 , better with bundle amp ! (if have)

icon_rolleyes.gif

icon_question.gif
Beyer Custom One Pro
Ask_Yip
post Sep 6 2014, 11:34 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(trade99 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:32 AM)
tried... still bass not strong enough for me...
then...

Beats.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0575sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:53 AM