[WTA]About PSU, Need recommendations

TSLightningChan
post May 6 2013, 12:45 AM, updated 11y ago

420 posts

Hey sifus and pros..

I am in a confusion about PSU. I have an old PC powered by a 350W(300W Pure) PSU.

Specs
Intel G620 2.6Ghz
6GB DDR3 Ram
2x250GB 7200RPM Sata HDD
1x DVDR-RW
ATI HD4670 512MB

I just received a HD4850 and as expected the PC wont start due to lack of power. I thought of giving the PC a PSU upgrade but not planning to get expensive one(not worth spending so much for an old PC). I have tried experimenting with the PSU and 4850 by unplugging everything leaving the motherboard, processor and and 4850 still the PC wont boot due to lack of power(turns off immediately after pressing power button.)

What kind of PSU and how many watt is recommended for my current setup to run a 4850 and possibly another sata HDD?.

I have been browsing through the garage sale section for PSU but find it very confusing. Some 700W PSU are cheaper than 450W PSU(of the same brand). rclxub.gif
bad melatonin
post May 6 2013, 07:51 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

use this to look for ur system requirement:
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
dont get confuse wt price for psu. it is vary. some has tier/efficiency such as level 80+, 80bronze, 80silver, gold, platinum & so on...

eg 400w & 750w psu:
- Seasonic M12II 750W (80+bronze) @ RM479
- Seasonic X400 (80+gold) @ RM479

personally i nvr settle for anytg below 80+bronze.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bad melatonin: May 6 2013, 07:56 AM
Clem1982
post May 6 2013, 09:20 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ May 6 2013, 07:51 AM)
use this to look for ur system requirement:
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
dont get confuse wt price for psu. it is vary. some has tier/efficiency such as level 80+, 80bronze, 80silver, gold, platinum & so on...

eg 400w & 750w psu:
- Seasonic M12II 750W (80+bronze) @ RM479
- Seasonic X400 (80+gold) @ RM479

personally i nvr settle for anytg below 80+bronze.. tongue.gif
No need to get such a high end PSU for TS's system, the 750W is overkill and the 400W is not that suitable too...the 4850 will work with anything that can give it dedicated 250W so a good 500W PSU will be just fine.

My suggestion is to grab the FSP Hexa 500W at RM149 in LYP and your system is good to go.

If you want something beefier, you can get the Silverstone Strider 600W for RM299.

If you have cash tu burn, the Seasonic 550W Gold for RM359 or Antec 550W platinum for RM469 is the next step
bad melatonin
post May 6 2013, 09:28 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ May 6 2013, 09:20 AM)
No need to get such a high end PSU for TS's system, the 750W is overkill and the 400W is not that suitable too...the 4850 will work with anything that can give it dedicated 250W so a good 500W PSU will be just fine.

My suggestion is to grab the FSP Hexa 500W at RM149 in LYP and your system is good to go.

If you want something beefier, you can get the Silverstone Strider 600W for RM299.

If you have cash tu burn, the Seasonic 550W Gold for RM359 or Antec 550W platinum for RM469 is the next step
actually im just giving example to ts dat same price psu doesnt mean always will b same wattage (due to psu rated eg bronze, silver, etc...) laugh.gif
andrewtho
post May 6 2013, 09:55 AM

Hooded Knight
5,885 posts

500w PSU should be enough. Look for a decent one like Hexa or Gigabyte. Will cost less than 200
laurelgt
post May 6 2013, 01:31 PM

LEARN & SHARE
1,160 posts

For your setup , a 500 Watts is more than enough. Even 450 Watts Unit is good enough. As long as it is a true power model.

FSP Hexa 500

Gigabyte Powerrock 500.

Is a good choice.
sanderz
post May 6 2013, 04:33 PM

Vista Outside
3,583 posts

Or mine, AcBel Ipower G550 500Watts. Last time bought at RM150+- at SRi Computers.
winter01942
post May 12 2013, 05:38 PM

Rating 5/5
855 posts

well actually if you get a good power supply (something like a silverstone strider 600W as mentioned by Clem), then you can also use the power supply in future computers, as the power is sufficient and the efficiency is there too, no point wasting around rm150 then getting a new pc and buying another newer power supply then...

but if you're sticking to this rig for a long time and not planning to upgrade, then a reliable 500W power supply will do the job just fine
TSLightningChan
post May 25 2013, 06:42 PM

420 posts

Thanks for all the heads up sifus and pros..

Now I have a shopping list biggrin.gif
Searingmage
post May 25 2013, 11:35 PM

1,809 posts

I would recommend FSP Hexa 500W for your case..
But as others mention, gigabyte powerrock is a good choice too..
TSLightningChan
post May 27 2013, 11:14 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(Searingmage @ May 25 2013, 11:35 PM)
I would recommend FSP Hexa 500W for your case..
But as others mention, gigabyte powerrock is a good choice too..
Taken note of all the sifus and pros recommendation and shall go lowyat later rclxms.gif
homerthewhopper
post May 27 2013, 07:02 PM

always low on budget
1,009 posts

with that current hardware a 500watt 80plus psu is enough
because im currently using an i3 and 6870
i only use gigabyte powerock 500w and its working just fine smile.gif
homerthewhopper
post May 27 2013, 07:03 PM

always low on budget
1,009 posts

QUOTE(LightningChan @ May 27 2013, 11:14 AM)
Taken note of all the sifus and pros recommendation and shall go lowyat later  rclxms.gif
ive handled both hexa and powerock
i recommend powerock because all the cables are sleeved

0.0166sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:59 PM