Travel Bali, Everything on Bali!

shelynssl
post Oct 31 2008, 09:13 AM

59 posts

Hey guys... I have just back from Bali last month and have blogged my 7 days bali trip in details in my blog with the recommended food, places and accommodations in Bali.

I even did the hiking to Gunung Batur to enjoy the sunrise... and I was told by the tour guide that we were the only Malaysian team that he has ever seen in 20 years time that did the hiking!!

I did diving there too... We have fully utilized our 7 days trip but too bad we ran out of budget and gave up the dolphin trip cry.gif I really love dolphin...

Check out my My Travel and Living Blog thumbup.gif

This was our itenary:

Day 1:

* Arrive Bali at 2:00pm.
* Start looking for hotel or losmen in Legian/Seminyak area. Well, we didn't book the hotel in advance because we were backpackers, must act like a backpacker :-p... kidding... it was mainly because we were going to spend 7 days in Bali, so we tried to get cheap accommodations which might not be able to book online. Moreover, we will be moving around to explore the island as much as we can, so it would be more convenient without attached ourselves to a fix location.
* Visit Uluwatu for sunset.
* Dinner in Jimbaran Beach.
* Night walk at Legian/Seminyak area.

Day 2:

* Check out Legian/Seminyak to Sanur. Sanur is a quiet beach area that we wished to spend some peaceful nights at Sanur.
* Visit Ubud. Ubud is a great place for shopping and relaxing.

Day 3:

* 1:00am early in the morning, start a road trip to Mount Batur.
* 3:00am arrive at Mount Batur, start conquering the volcano.
* 6:00am enjoy the sunrise.
* 12:00pm back to the hotel.
* Evening time visit Tanah Lot for sunset. (Look like we love sunrise and sunset a lot)

Day 4:

* 8:00am check out Sanur heading Padang Bay.
* One morning dive and one afternoon dive at Padang Bay.
* Check in hotel in Padang Bay. Spend a night there after diving.

Day 5:

* Check out Padang Bay, head towards Tulamben.
* Another 2 dives at Tulamben.
* Back to Kuta and look for accommodation.

Day 6:

* Rest and Relax and hunt for nice food in Kuta.
* Explore Kuta area, i.e. shopping.
* Evening, fly kite. It is very important to fly kite at the beach.

Day 7:

* Rest and relax. Enjoy the last day in Bali.

Have a look at it and I hope you guys like my info.

I have all the expenses details that I have spent in Bali too... should serve you as a good reference. Enjoy rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by shelynssl: Oct 31 2008, 09:14 AM
shelynssl
post Oct 31 2008, 05:05 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 23 2006, 01:10 AM)
yo guys..anyone been to bali recently? how's the accomodation over there? anyone got any experience..pls tell me!! which hotel is better..!! not too luxurious pls!!  blush.gif  blush.gif which place IS A MUST TO visit?!  drool.gif  drool.gif would renting a car there be recommended during our stay there?!

rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  still planning on where to go biggrin.gif
If you want a reasonable price decent accommodation, I would recommend Pondok Prima at Sanur. It's Balinese cottage style of hotel, clean and cheap. Check out the details at Budget Hotel, my blog. But Sanur is a bit far away from Kuta. The reason we stayed there is becoz it is more quiet. Unless you love the happening place like Kuta.

QUOTE(musangpulut @ Apr 27 2006, 03:20 PM)
dear quack...internet connection at Bali was slow like shit! still using the dial up connection and in the same time charge me Rp15,000 (+-RM6) per hour..damn pricey for window98 pc!!!!
Haha... I think one hour RM6 is very good deal... I just came back from Sipadan, they charged RM10 for 15 mins!!

Added on October 31, 2008, 5:12 pm
QUOTE(jenzl @ Oct 31 2008, 11:12 AM)
hehe..i'm taking that bayu indah down as a note for my next visit. seriously i went to jimbaran bay..and yes...the view is good but the food...argh..maybe i went to the wrong place. it's not worth for the food which we ordered...there were crab, fishes, squids but you bet, those in Telok Gong, Malaysia is 100% more fresh and tastier.  it's located at the far end of the beach side restaurant (forgotten the name).
although they gave us the discount (coz we asked) of 20%, but we have to wait a real long time.
the cost was RM130 per person (we have 5 persons and we ordered 2 dinner sets)

btw...anyone know where to find crispy duck? i went and had smoked duck from ubud. kinda ok only.

the massage i had was from green garden spa. it's a 'for her' package...comes with basic pedicure (just a gentle feet scrub), body scrub, floral bath, facial (face massage), body massage, tea and brownie, outdoor jacuzzi (just a normal jacuzzi) and steam (in the steam room). the cost is RM 120. massage wise is so-so...ambiance is ... ok ok...but since i'm taking it with my bf so it's great...LOL. very relaxing i'd say.

i think goa gajah is a must too! btw shelynssl, i'm reading your blog..gonna take it as my ref the next time i go also...hehe

btw..i wanna ask, if it's okay to change to rp at the airport? some rates i saw were quite attractive
Hi Jenzl, thanks for your visit to my blog rclxm9.gif

I agree with Jimbaran bay, freaking expensive and the food so so only... not worth the price at all... we could definitely get better seafood here in Malaysia.

Regarding the crispy duck, I found the Kuta area normal hawker stalls crispy duck was fantastic... I love it so much.

I don't usually change the money in the airport, I am very sure airport will not give better deal than other places. So far I found that Mid valley money changes giving the best rate.

Added on October 31, 2008, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(wongck @ Oct 31 2008, 08:57 AM)
Day 1
- Don't sleep. Should go out. Very happening in Kuta City. Visit Ocean Beach, most happening place to hangout than HardRock.

Day 2
- They said Ratu is very famous for massage. But dun know where is it.
- Uluwatu (Sunset + Dinner) If ur driver bring u to d restaurant sure kena chop 1. All tipu 1 la sunset + dinner. Nothing special.

Day 4
- Should buy all ur souvenier at sukawati. Is quite cheap there.
I agree on Day 2, Uluwatu is really nothing impressive at all. Unless you watch the kecak dance, or else it's just a place to see the cliff with sunset.

This post has been edited by shelynssl: Oct 31 2008, 05:29 PM
shelynssl
post Nov 1 2008, 01:21 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 31 2008, 10:55 PM)
Sis,

Wow..Your Bali trip definitely my dream but I can't afford going to those snorkeling & diving sites...super dupper expensive  rclxub.gif
BTW, Saw your 520K bill for a simple dinner at Matahar Bumbu Bali...Yeah I noted this new "bungalow" style restaurants too and I hv been warned by hotel staff on those high end restaurants....Super dupper expensive...

Just compare to my earlier posted bill from Lia Cafe...The same fish that cost me 45000 rupiah/Kg is selling at 95,000rupiah..more than double  rclxub.gif ..The prawn..OMG 350,000rupiah  rclxub.gif u really kena ketuk- kaw-kaw too...In Lia Cafe, king prawn probably around 100rupiah or less!!  thumbup.gif ...And I tell u my daughter & wife luv it so much and until Today that cheap & nice dinner still lingering in their mind.  biggrin.gif

So for those going to Jimbaran Bay, Please dun ever listen to your driver advices...They all are getting commission from those restaurants!! Go there yourself & check the price from stall to stall at the Old attap style satlls & not those newer bungalow stle restaurants... vmad.gif ...I think those restaurants really spoilt the images of Jimbaran bay.....BTW, the original Jimbaran seafood is at the Attap stile area not those semi-D bungallows style restaurants.. mad.gif ..BEWARE>>
Yeah... I knew it was a complete rip-off dining there in Jimbaran Bay... your Lia Cafe is really cheap!!
I wasn't recommended by the taxi driver, I was recommended by most of my friends to dine at Jimbaran Beach!! Exactly the place where I went.

I guess they have increased the prices... it wasn't this expensive last year when my friends went.
shelynssl
post Nov 4 2008, 01:49 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 4 2008, 11:44 AM)
Hehe..u should hv explainjed earlier on whether u'r on budget or on shopping spree mah  biggrin.gif

Although it's possible on RM400-RM500 as what Kucingfight & I did on budget constraint, do bring xtra for contigency. I prepared RM1500 for the trip (3pax) but only used RM800...So do your calculation. BTW, food is not cheap in Kuta ho even the Mc D more expensive than Jakarta & KL!
You guys didn't go for island hopping or any water activities, right?
Coz you guys really spent so little. shocking.gif

My Travel & Living
shelynssl
post Nov 4 2008, 02:16 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 4 2008, 02:14 PM)
Can't afford >USD150 boat ride to Nusa Penita & outlying island...Even going to Pulau Payar from Langkawi @RM120/pax oledi so expensive for me  cry.gif
That's true, actually...

So this year I'm broke... next year will probably go to Gunung Tahan and that's it... no more money to spend tongue.gif

My Travel & Living
shelynssl
post Nov 6 2008, 12:20 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 5 2008, 09:38 PM)
AQha,,I know why why so expensive,,Turtle island...The last I checked it cost me almost USD200 per boat..The almost they can give after discout also about USD150..& also the jimbaran seafod dinner probably they have ketuk- kaw-kaw there so that's make up the RM1300 gaps...well it's up to u but roughly those entrance tickets & illegal toll collectors can't be so expensive  hmm.gif
RM1500 for 6 pax inclusive meal and accommodation isn't expensive at all right?
As long as you are happy taukey, spend a bit more for some interesting activities... since you are all the way to Bali, enjoy to the max, explore the island to the max. You might not be there anymore in the future.

Anyway, take the local tour is always cheaper than driving yourself. Unless you don't do any activities at all and only lepak around.

My Travel & Living
shelynssl
post Nov 12 2008, 12:54 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Nov 12 2008, 11:54 AM)

lastly, there are many POLO Ralph Lauren shops which sell imitation POLO stuff and are pretty expensive, do not fall 4 them since most shirts are >rm100

What do you mean imitation POLO stuff while the same things were sold in their air-port also?
And i think except working shirts that cost slightly above RM100, most of the t-shirts are below RM100.
I just know they sell it much cheaper than here in m'sia is because they are made in Indonesia.

Most of Polo Ralph Lauren's range are made in developing countries.

Polo Ralph Lauren used to make most of the polos in China, but in the past couple of seasons they have been using progressively cheaper countries. i remember them starting with South America (Bolivia and Peru mainly) and then South East Asia (Bangladesh and Indonesia).
for the most recent Australian season, there has been a noticable drop in fabric quality. probably due to the fact that they are still charging the same prices as 5 years ago.

i have heard that Polo RL uses different source countries to sell in different markets. eg. the polos sold in the US typically are made in Mexico or South America, while the polos sold in Europe & Australia are typically made in Asia.

So I guess that's why they sell cheaper in Indonesia but it doesn't mean they are fake. Their quality are ok also.

My Travel & Living
shelynssl
post Feb 18 2009, 04:04 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(scsam @ Feb 18 2009, 11:34 AM)

25/04 Day 3 6am Dolphin trip - hotel - hot spring Banjar - Gilgit waterfall - Strawberry Stop - Pura Ulun Danu Bratan- Bedugul - Ubud-(Dinner- IBU OKA Babi Guling) (Tegal Sari)

Wow Dolphin trip!! I wanted to go for Dolphin trip too, but really out of budget after taking diving trips and Hiking trip to Batur Volcano.

I hope you can see the Dolphins. One of my friends who went for dolphin trip but ended up didn't see any dolphin at all.

.:My Bali Trip:.

shelynssl
post Apr 30 2009, 05:51 PM

59 posts

Just some Bali experience and photos to share:

.:Bali Trip:.

Spectacular views of Mount Batur:

Bali Funeral:

Tanah Lot:

And many more from my blog include diving trips, if you're interested. tongue.gif
shelynssl
post Sep 6 2009, 02:21 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Sep 6 2009, 11:19 AM)
Aside from Ibu Oka, do u know where else can find nice Babi Guling for dinner since I would be taking lunch at Kintamani
Since Ubu Oka is the best and most authentic place to try Babi Guling safely, you might want to consider taking a day trip to Ubud while trying their babi guling, provided you spend enough days in Bali, of course.

Lunch at Kintamani is actually just so so, but you can have a nice spot overlooking Mount Batur.

We actually hiked all the way up to Mount Batur for the breathtaking sunrise view :-)

0.0552sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:07 AM