QuackSilver
post Apr 23 2006, 11:59 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 23 2006, 03:10 AM)
yo guys..anyone been to bali recently? how's the accomodation over there? anyone got any experience..pls tell me!! which hotel is better..!! not too luxurious pls!!  blush.gif  blush.gif which place IS A MUST TO visit?!  drool.gif  drool.gif would renting a car there be recommended during our stay there?!

rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  still planning on where to go biggrin.gif
was there back in June 2004

i stayed at the Inna Grand Bali Beach hotel, 5 star hotel (my parents went to MAS travel fair and got this package, around RM 800 for 4 days 3 nights, includes return air tickets and hotel accommodation heheh)

hmm.. my suggestion, rent a driver for a day to bring you around. you're bound to see them everywhere, keep bargaining with them, you'll get a good price. tip, speak malay! they'll most likely think that you're a local if you speak malay with them, which is good. example, i went for a white water rafting trip for half the price than what i was suppose to pay (paid USD 30 instead of USD 60 hehehe tongue.gif)

oooh, you must try out Cola Susu! definitely not for those who are diabetic laugh.gif
QuackSilver
post Apr 23 2006, 02:02 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 23 2006, 03:58 PM)
omg..airasia recently offered package on the website including air fare n accomodation is rm1.9k  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

i try booking during the august holiday period..checked just now!!! mm..gotta replan it sad.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

dude..rm800 only from the matta fair! per-person or the ur entire family?!  drool.gif  drool.gif
per person la hahah. if whole family, wa lau eh, deal of the century laugh.gif

hmm.. i remember air asia had a package for Bali in October 2004. for RM 399, 4 days 3 nights at a 4 star hotel with return air tickets. at that time, a redang package was costing RM 400 at that time lol cool.gif
QuackSilver
post Apr 23 2006, 04:43 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 23 2006, 05:36 PM)
how do u get those holiday package? the airasia website? the holiday package?
it was in the newspapers. i remember seeing the ad on the front page of The Star
QuackSilver
post Apr 23 2006, 05:32 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(musangpulut @ Apr 23 2006, 07:24 PM)
elo bro... Im at bali rite now...hehe... can u give me info about your hotel budget?? so I can help u out if i can...

I stayed at Sari Inn...RM60 per day..5 minutes walikng distance to the legian beach(beside kuta beach) and 15 minutes leisure walk to kuta town centre...trip to kuta using kijang will cost u 20k rupiah..never take a taxi if they quote u a higher price..

by the way, if money was not a probs for u..choose nusa dua..there a lot ofr 5 star hotel there compared to kuta..and a lot of privacy also mehh...
upss..another tips...RM2k to 4K was more than enough to explores a whole bali with your scandal for a whole week! (7days like I do)hehe..plz note that was not including airasia ticket and condom price..

okay..wanna lepaking at legian beach rite now...chow!

opsss..forget 1 more thing...my favorite drinks at Bali....the cheap and refeshing TehBotol!!!!hehe

another 1..hehe

1) it was advised to rent a jimny plus driver to take you around Bali rather than to drive it by yourself..you may lost or lanngar org..the road was sempit an full with sepeda motor(kapchai)cost including bensin+driver+suziki jimny+tips+parking ticket+lunch+entrance tikets will be around 300k to 400k rupiah per trip....

2)place of interest = papuan routes(sawah padi along bukit bukau,kinta mani,kuta(for shopping),gua gajah,singaraja,ubud,bedugul and its lakes,tanah lots,spices farm,etc etc..arghhhhhhhhhhhhhh tooo many la... Bali was a paradise in earth..I will come back one day!!!!!
if you were to take taxi, do take the blue cabs. they run according to meter. there's another taxi company which does the same thing, but i can't recall which taxi company it is

Teh Botol? hmm..never encountered it when i was there. Cola Susu FTW!

ps: musangpulut, how's the internet connection in Bali? i remember paying a fortune for some shitty connection back there lol
QuackSilver
post Apr 27 2006, 03:38 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 23 2006, 09:13 PM)
would it be advisable to go at the end of the year? around december?
well it is the peak period, it will be a bit more expensive to go then. then again, i might be wrong on this

QUOTE(scoch @ Apr 24 2006, 08:20 PM)
would it be better if i just go with USD instead of rupiah ?  unsure.gif
i used mainly rupiah when i was there

QUOTE(Traveler @ Apr 25 2006, 04:46 PM)
Went to Bali earlier this year. Stayed at Conrad Bali in Tanjung Benoa (just a little north of Nusa Dua), for USD120/night (nett). Be aware that hotels in Bali add about 21% tax (10+11) to the offer rates that you usually see. I managed to get a special nett rate at the Conrad that was about 30% lower than normal nett rates.
So if you are sharing with a friend, then the cost is only USD60/night. Plus because I stayed for 4 nights during a promotion, I got a free one-night stay in any Hilton/Conrad hotel worldwide  biggrin.gif. Will probably use that in Europe, where a 1-night stay in a Hilton is about 150-200 euros... not bad value eh?
I think if you are going to Bali, you should either go for the really cheap accomodations (coz it's so cheap there) or go for the high-end places (also coz its so cheap there!). IMHO, Bali is the best place within 3 hours flight of KL to go splurging coz it's cheaper to splurge in Bali in luxury than it would be to travel mid-range in Malaysia.

Comparatively... a 6-hour spa treatment package in Conrad is about RM330/pax (incl. dinner), while at Pangkor Laut, it is RM1k/pax (no dinner). So from here alone, you can see the relative values.
well said, agree with you on being the best place within 3 hours. was tempted to do something like a day trip there when air asia had the free air tickets thing going on hehe

QUOTE(musangpulut @ Apr 27 2006, 05:20 PM)
dear quack...internet connection at Bali was slow like shit! still using the dial up connection and in the same time charge me Rp15,000 (+-RM6) per hour..damn pricey for window98 pc!!!!
haha, i remember the good ol' connection. they charge you by hour? mine was charged per minute after paying the initial 10 minutes
QuackSilver
post Apr 30 2006, 02:17 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

wow. Uluwatu is bloody beautiful. too bad i didnt go there when i was there.

oh well, there's always next time laugh.gif

edit: all the Bali threads merged, making this the one stop thread for Bali laugh.gif

This post has been edited by QuackSilver: Apr 30 2006, 02:22 PM
QuackSilver
post May 7 2006, 04:01 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(triangle-sun @ May 5 2006, 11:46 PM)
it's quite dangerous to go ANYWHERE at all nowadays. what with terrorism n etc etc getting more n more emerged. sad.gif make me cant go BALI only cry.gif

my gosh!!~ the pics posted by musangpulut is magnificant! really make me just wanna hop on the plane n stay in that resort a.s.a.p!! really amazing place BALI is rclxms.gif
hmm, IMO, you're already letting the terrorist win by letting fear take over you. remember, they are called terrorist for a reason, and that is to put terror into people.

and yes, i felt safe in Bali smile.gif

QUOTE(musangpulut @ May 6 2006, 11:30 PM)
tips how to survive bomb attack at Bali was quite simple....STAY AWAY FROM PLACES WHERE  MANY WHITE PEOPLEs HANG AROUND e.g Hard Rock Cafe,high class restaurant,5 star hotels  AND U WILL BE SAVE...hehe...the bombers will never attack a place where there is many local peoples...it's like bunuh bangsa sendiri..hehe..good luck!
  u read too much newpapers dude..if u wait until all the terrorist die..u wil not going anywhere except to Petaling Jaya SS2 for your whole life..we live only once..so live it to the fullest!!!
bro, use the quote function next time. keeps things organised wink.gif
QuackSilver
post May 22 2006, 08:35 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ May 21 2006, 12:07 PM)
yor... u not kia si ar?
my fren all went taiwan... hai~~ 20days backpack.
and heard previously from one of my fren says that.. go bali is qutie cheap wor.. so now ma considering lor.. or mayb phuket
erm, i went there to have a good time, not to think of my death?

and yes, the things in Bali is cheap. go back a few pages and read what traveler posted

0.0522sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:58 PM