5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung GALAXY S4 official thread V.2, LTE will launch at June :)

benny888
post May 2 2013, 12:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

For those who might have missed it, this video shows the launching of the S4 at various places in KL

benny888
post May 2 2013, 01:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ May 2 2013, 01:11 PM)
Omega
This rom taken down already many days. No idea when he will upload revised version
Have only tested brood rom but fail to install. Developer did this rom without even testing it as he doesnt have the phone. Rom looks attractive as lots of bloatware taken off
benny888
post May 2 2013, 01:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(azuradaniel @ May 2 2013, 01:15 PM)
May i know which application best to root download & install application to MicroSD. TQ
Root follow what I described in post 3

App to sd you can try existing folder mount, directory bind
Best wait for swap internal memory to external SD . Now only available for S3 n Note2
benny888
post May 2 2013, 01:25 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

TS: please remove quick flasher n preroot rom as both cannot work to root phone
benny888
post May 2 2013, 04:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ May 2 2013, 04:16 PM)
Baron, mind u give the set CPU apps link? thanks smile.gif
Setcpu from playstore. You need root n to undervolt/overvolt kernel must support
Never tried on S4 as I find battery life is decent enough
benny888
post May 2 2013, 04:29 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ May 2 2013, 03:00 PM)
Benny, other's can use or not but where got the preroot ?
i removed the the quick flasher liao.. wink.gif
Your odex root n test root entry
benny888
post May 2 2013, 04:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SnailWithFingers @ May 2 2013, 03:37 PM)
How to undervolt the professor? Means the processor absorbs excess battery juice and the battery used up very fast? @.@
Root it and use app such as setcpu. There are several others app too. just google for undervolt n underclock app. You need to test as these apps need compatible kernel
benny888
post May 2 2013, 06:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Update on S4 battery life. At 50% battery life left I have achieved 2 hours 51min screen on time. This I would say is good considering all my internet stufffs thro 3g n no wifi used. Getting 5 hours SOT should be no problem. Notice too the 5+ hours phone idle but with 3g still on battery left drop is insignificant

This post has been edited by benny888: May 2 2013, 06:28 PM
benny888
post May 2 2013, 06:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chun8692003 @ May 2 2013, 06:35 PM)
Hi guys,

do you know where to buy the 32gb version? prefer to have a bigger storage.
Taiwan now ?
Maybe some of those 3rd party shops will bring in - just wait and continue to check their sales thread or PM them to update you once available : consider directd or satugadget.com as possible source
From Samsung M'sia absolutely no idea but based on S3, probably in another 3-4 months after the 16GB is available

benny888
post May 2 2013, 08:01 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I can still see many shops/stalls at LowYat selling this phone. I noted that all with SME warranty stickers. I did not bother to ask them about it. These guys selling it at higher price than official prices ??
benny888
post May 3 2013, 06:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(eshinetv2 @ May 3 2013, 05:16 AM)
guys any of u got heating up easily problem? my fren told me his s4 play games around 2-3min, and it start to heat up to 40'c . I in the dilemma of choosing htc one or s4
My experience using the HTC One it gets hotter faster than S4. Because of this the HTC1 battery life suffers. Example just on 3g browsing within 15 mins HTC1 will hit 38 degreeC while S4 most is 33 degree C. I never test on gaming. Overall HTC1 is generally "hotter" vs S4
benny888
post May 3 2013, 07:06 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

My battery usage stats after nearly 24 hours
Screen on time 5+hours . I rate this as good vs HTC1 (4+), Nexus 4 ( 3.5), Xperia Z (4.5). Definitely can never match Note2 ( 7-8 hours). All these numbers based on 3g no wifi being used. With wifi, SOT could gain another hour
Notice when phone idle battery drop is minimal
Overall happy with it

benny888
post May 3 2013, 08:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(eshinetv2 @ May 3 2013, 08:12 AM)
i though htc one is build in metal, so the heating issue is better than s4 (plastic)
On metal you will feel the heat more obvious as is a better conductor vs plastic
Anyway I m just telling you my experience using both phones
If you are serious gamer get HTC1 purely because its internal memory you have 26gb left while is only 8.8 gb on s4. Until there is a solution to move games data to ext card you have to live with the miserable storage
Or wait for 32gb S4 in another 3-4 months later
Finally operating temperature is based on chip efficiency n not related to build materials. Build material affect heat transfer out to your palms only. Metal apparently allows better heat transfer out to minimize heat buildup internally but how efficient depends on the phone

This post has been edited by benny888: May 3 2013, 08:27 AM
benny888
post May 3 2013, 08:34 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(abahwafi @ May 3 2013, 08:29 AM)
Why compulsory to purchase the casing ?? Really hate this kind of sales tactic.

KIV my plan to get S4 due to this matter. vmad.gif
Based on seller alieamin (SEP) they are forced to take in the S4 together with other lukewarm models as a package. This affect their profits. Phone margin is low while is ridiculously higher for accessories. For some buyer example me, I preorder n took delivery on day one got free flipcases n no compulsion to buy with accessories
benny888
post May 3 2013, 09:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ May 3 2013, 08:50 AM)
I bought my set from Maxis with one year contract at only RM1849.00. My company paid my bill. biggrin.gif  My only concern is whether Maxis register my set for the warranty. Still not receive the SMS from Samsung sad.gif . May have to register it myself.
Based on most user feedback who buy from telco just pray they will register for you
If you did not recieve any sms confirmation after a week, PM fellow user fallenout n he can register for you n is free service from him. Give him your name , phone n imei number n youvshould get reply the next day. He had done this for me 3 times in the past
benny888
post May 3 2013, 09:07 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ May 3 2013, 09:03 AM)
If I'm not mistaken..the initial opening for gallery takes abit of time because it's generating the thumbnails I think?
First time always slow as need to buildup caches. Subsequent launch is much faster
Unless you use nomedia gallery will detect every single image it can find in your phone
Use nomedia designation to disable showing those stuff you dont want
Google how to use nomedia
I prefer using quickpic as it launch faster n with better editing function

This post has been edited by benny888: May 3 2013, 09:10 AM
benny888
post May 3 2013, 11:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ May 3 2013, 11:23 AM)
+ Rooting successful at fren phone
doh.gif... Benny, do u done on flashing other custom rom or just left it there..????
Hi There..  improve the sluggish camera..
improve the stability... smile.gif
this update considered as minor update...
No ; still on stock
Stock is not bad and I removed most of the bloatware already. battery life is good - see my earlier posting this morning
Awaiting Omega to upload his rom again
benny888
post May 3 2013, 02:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Breakthrough for Samsung S4. Not easy to get accepted for us in USA defence dept
http://m.androidcentral.com/samsung-galaxy...edium=twitterpt

benny888
post May 3 2013, 02:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ May 3 2013, 02:30 PM)
are you still on nova or default launcher?
i am wondering if you use nova launcher, will some of the S features removed?
Only most of samsung widgets cannot use which anyway i never like
Phone features not affected
benny888
post May 3 2013, 10:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Doritoes @ May 3 2013, 09:07 PM)
It makes sense.
Using s4 now and I really love the Samsung apps. Is their way to differentiate themselves.
There are plenty of storage options, microsd, and Dropbox.
If memory not enough, wait for 32gb models.
I am indeed surprised that you are now using a S4 despite your unhappiness over it, which you had clearly expressed at : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2793148
You didn't do any research before buying it ?? Based on all your comments you appear knowledgeable-lah !! Than why buy it ? To convince yourself is a lousy phone ?

I quote some of your comments :

Firstly, S4 doesn't have LTE. Ppl who tell u that it doesn't matter bcos u might not be always in LTE areas are just plain idiots.
Rmbr, u r paying over 2k plus and SAMSENG doesn't give u latest tech. Fact is, they are just greedy and love to milk fanboys tits dry.

Secondly, s4 is all plastic crap. They used the fugly design over and over in budget and mid range models. WTF!!!
Imagine if u pay over 180k for Honda accord. But the same body with only difference wt Honda city is just the size, engine, more cabin lights, etc.

Thirdly, s4 has nothing new to offer compare to s3. With nobody to copy, SAMSENG struggles to capture the imagination. Foolish gimmicks like air view, smart stay only impress stupids.

HTC on the other hand, uses premium materials, real innovation with sense technology.

What is the point of having powerful processor if the software is still crap? Many ppl has complained that the gallery is lagging even though with octa core and 2 gig RAM!!!!
Even iPhone 2G never lags even a heartbeat when viewing photos.
SAMSENG engineers are only concern on making the best software for the next model e.g. Note 3, s5/6/7

This post has been edited by benny888: May 3 2013, 10:01 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:29 AM