> Military Thread V9, Happy birthday Malaysia & ATM ke 50 & 80

SUSmenj
post May 21 2013, 09:44 PM

314 posts

I just found this thread, I didn't know LYN has a military thread biggrin.gif I have a military blog, btw.
SUSmenj
post May 21 2013, 10:29 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ May 21 2013, 10:02 PM)
Welcome my friend

though I do hope it got it's own subforum rather than buried somewhere in kopitiam section  sweat.gif
Thanks, will be spending my time here as often as possible.
SUSmenj
post May 22 2013, 01:27 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(heavyduty @ May 21 2013, 10:35 PM)
where is this blog you speak of?
Since you asked...

http://mydefencereview.com
SUSmenj
post May 22 2013, 02:57 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ May 22 2013, 01:32 AM)
nice blog design~  rclxms.gif
LOL, thanks.

BTW...does anyone know what is the status of Ops Daulat in Lahad Datu? There doesn't seem to be any news coverage on the operations these days. Have the insurgents been wiped out?

This post has been edited by menj: May 22 2013, 02:59 AM
SUSmenj
post May 22 2013, 12:02 PM

314 posts

The only Ketua Pemuda in UMNO that was never given a ministerial post...Zahid Jawo Komidian.
SUSmenj
post Sep 1 2013, 07:02 PM

314 posts

Never seen this unit before, what is its name?
SUSmenj
post Sep 1 2013, 07:21 PM

314 posts

Oh sorry didn't see that, LOL. What does the acronym STAR stand for? And won't their function overlap with ATM's PASKAU unit?
SUSmenj
post Sep 3 2013, 08:50 PM

314 posts

I am told that this is a Panser made in Indon and we are buying from them. Why can't we develop our own Panser?
SUSmenj
post Sep 3 2013, 09:24 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Sep 3 2013, 09:04 PM)
We bought them for UN mission

Google AV8 dude, where u been?
I'm still in the learning process learning about our military weapons and capabilities tongue.gif It's a new "hobby" of mine, so please forgive me if I sound stupid when asking questions.

SUSmenj
post Sep 3 2013, 09:25 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Sep 3 2013, 09:10 PM)
Btw we don't use panser term.
What is the term we use?
SUSmenj
post Sep 3 2013, 09:37 PM

314 posts

I spend more time in the Football thread at Lowyat, but I am tired of being ignorant about my own nation's military capabilities when other people (read: INDONS) are boasting about their Kopak-Sus, Dent-Sus and the list goes on....so I wish to learn more about this. Fill me in!

I did search for the AV-8 btw and found this...is this what you were talking about?

This post has been edited by menj: Sep 3 2013, 09:39 PM
SUSmenj
post Sep 3 2013, 10:26 PM

314 posts

I have found some Malaysian military blogs but sometimes the specific information I need are not there and besides, these blogs are scattered all over the place. Experienced enthusiasts might not find it a problem, but it is for me since I am relatively a noob in this.
SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 03:36 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Sep 4 2013, 08:59 AM)
AV (Armored Vehicle) = Kereta/Kenderaan Perisai
Only indo use panser
OK, that explains the "AV" in AV-8 tongue.gif
SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 03:58 PM

314 posts

Is this unit from VAT69 or PGA? Hell, sometimes I really get confused between the two tongue.gif

SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 08:06 PM

314 posts

Can someone identify this?

SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 08:26 PM

314 posts

And this is cool, too!

SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 08:55 PM

314 posts

I like the knife. Is this guy still around?

SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 09:12 PM

314 posts

SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 11:57 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Sep 4 2013, 09:57 PM)
To easily explain it,according to my understanding,Police paramilitary units are split into 2 units:
1) PGA: Police Paramilitary units for general duties such as raids,road blocks & supporting police operations (general duties=gerakan am)
2) PGK: Pasukan Gerakan Khas contains 2 units for specialist duties (specialist duties=gerakan khas)

i) VAT 69: Specialist jungle paramilitary units

ii) UTK: Specialist SWAT-type units for urban/built-up areas
Then again,this is from my own knowledge and understanding. If i'm mistaken,please correct la  blush.gif
That photo was from Ops Daulat. I presume that both PGA and the two sub-PGK units must have been called in during the operation, then?

Updated: Video I found on UTK.

This post has been edited by menj: Sep 5 2013, 12:10 AM
SUSmenj
post Sep 4 2013, 11:59 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 4 2013, 10:01 PM)
no more, the passed away last year
nah, the story is fabricated by the journalist,
we don't really know if the journalist even understand the story
but since he is no more with us, doubt that we will hear the real story
Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi ra'aji un.

It is most likely the story is indeed true, but it did not involve today's KOPASSUS, and it is also probable that the knife was not even part of that story. Or it could be that the knife was indeed taken away from the enemy during that time period, but the scabbard with "KOPASSUS" written on it came in later. I don't think that old man would lie about his experiences.

This post has been edited by menj: Sep 5 2013, 12:09 AM

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0511sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:14 AM