Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v3, y510p, where are you?

vyonxhin
post Jun 16 2013, 09:21 AM

42 posts

Guys! i am using Y480 Dos version, i bought a msata and i wanted to use it as caching and OS boot drive, but i saw some thread about bios in this lappy doesnot allow me to do caching... any clarification and guide about that? Thanks
vyonxhin
post Jun 16 2013, 09:52 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Jun 16 2013, 09:27 AM)
refer to my earlier post about using ExpressCache for y500. Should be the same for you if your bios don't have raid config.  smile.gif

Bro.. i haven saw it, but i saw this... however should i install boot into the msata 1st, or configure it as a cache drive 1st...? do i nid to create partition for that? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Thanks.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vyonxhin: Jun 16 2013, 09:56 AM
vyonxhin
post Jun 16 2013, 10:15 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Jun 16 2013, 10:08 AM)
It all depends on what function you want the msata to do. 1st, the chipset used in the Y500 is the H76, which does not come with raid - meaning that youc can't use Intel's caching solution.

If you want to use expresscache, just install the msata, boot into windows and the software will take care of things for you.
My rig is Y480, which used HM76 as well...
So that means if i want to use my msata as my bootdrive AND Cachedrive, i just install my windows 8 and install expresscache on it ?
vyonxhin
post Jun 16 2013, 10:51 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Jun 16 2013, 10:33 AM)
Install the OS directly to SSD is still a better solution than ExpressCahce
your name... youre SLS right? hmm.. SSD i did considered that, however i would nid to move my HDD out of it and replace my ODD which for me is trobulesome.
PS. btw can i use ssd as cachedrive as well?

QUOTE(slimfox @ Jun 16 2013, 10:37 AM)
yes it works. Install mSata, boot up install expresscache, everything is auto after that.
thanks biggrin.gifD!!!

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Jun 16 2013, 10:38 AM)
Of course. Any solution that uses the full SSD speed is a better solution all around. I've said as much a few post back. That assumes however that affordability is not an issue. Not everyone can afford to splurge an extra RM400++ just to install a 120-128GB msata.

For now, the solution is there. You want cache, can, just stick the msata in an install the aformentioned drivers, and you are good to go.
actually i haven bought it yet... but am right now considering mushkin atlas deluxe 120gb which max read write at 500++ MB/s...
i wanna peak my laptop performance by setting up boot and cache buffering into that msata.
vyonxhin
post Jun 16 2013, 11:45 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Jun 16 2013, 11:12 AM)
Hmmm, u r who ar? haha...
Same group with you during youth camp haha... SYS here... aiks... msata make me headache...
vyonxhin
post Jun 16 2013, 07:31 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Jun 16 2013, 11:56 AM)
LOL, well I dun much prefer mSATA than SATA SSD as the HDD location has relativity high temp when idle mode than other part(HDD working temp is 55 degree C, when idle sometimes reach 4X degree C)....
So I install SATA SSD to the HDD part (as it can working in high temp such as 70-75 degree C ), then HDD move to ODD by using HDD caddy bay...
BTW pm ur full name lol, I forgot ur full name ady and as well as fb acc. .... hehe
I do know about that... just troublesome and lazy change... and i have to bundle an external odd too...
From some reliable source tell that ssd probably will dropprice faster than msata in the future due to its high demand..

0.0508sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:27 AM