i use to tune tune a lot with his car
but end up play back passives
sounds so much better
neo79
post Jun 16 2006, 12:12 AM

87 posts

Driftmeister,

Yeash, thats one reason I will go back to 2 way after this set shows it age. I dont wanna go active.. Hahah, I know a guy who is running 3 active and been tuning since 3 years ago!
TSmattchin
post Jun 16 2006, 01:12 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

find 1 sifu from either 1

-kf audio
-sound quest
(both IASCA competition super winner)

make sure pocket got enuff $$$ then
it's done
SIMPLE!!
neo79
post Jun 16 2006, 10:23 AM

87 posts

KF? Lots of hype over this place and seen some of their cars. Not bad. But I dont frequent them so asking him to tune sure cost a bomb... Hahah

Sound Quest's Jerry? Met him once. Nice chap... Maybe I pop by over to SQ and see what he thinks... Hehehe...
TSmattchin
post Jun 16 2006, 12:12 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

sound Quest very nice service 1.. once u installed things from them.. they'll keep u update for the latest ICE products...

he!he!he!... pouring poison rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Azam87
post Jun 18 2006, 12:46 PM

Hey! ur eclipse CD-5425 comes with crossover right? u can run it active immediately after u add another 2 channel amp for ur sub
TSmattchin
post Jun 18 2006, 02:34 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

yes.. it's true tat the 5425 comes wif crossover but the freQ range r all set aledi.. so.. no point.. there r times i regreted getting this HU
Azam87
post Jun 18 2006, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(mattchin @ Jun 18 2006, 02:34 PM)
yes.. it's true tat the 5425 comes wif crossover but the freQ range r all set aledi.. so.. no point.. there r times i regreted getting this HU
nvm lor... sell it to me. i thought of buying 5415 for RM650 at ACP
TSmattchin
post Jun 19 2006, 12:21 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

QUOTE(Azam87 @ Jun 18 2006, 03:11 PM)
nvm lor... sell it to me. i thought of buying 5415 for RM650 at ACP
ACP trading? uuuh.. they still selling CDT there?
hmm... i'll sell it but not so soon.. maybe in 3 months time.. he! he!..
seriously forward 2 upgrade my HU...
Azam87
post Jun 20 2006, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(mattchin @ Jun 19 2006, 12:21 AM)
ACP trading? uuuh.. they still selling CDT there?
hmm... i'll sell it but not so soon.. maybe in 3 months time.. he! he!..
seriously forward 2 upgrade my HU...
hehe... dont forget to PM me whenever u feel like selling it. smile.gif
neo79
post Jun 20 2006, 01:05 PM

87 posts

zam,

poison him la~!
Azam87
post Jun 20 2006, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(neo79 @ Jun 20 2006, 01:05 PM)
zam,

poison him la~!
haha... i cannot poison anyone la... in fact im still using stock HU... mattchin, hows ur sound staging? was it tuned properly? no matter what brand ure using, tuning is still the most important and exciting part in ICE. Does ur sub match ur mid?
Azam87
post Jun 20 2006, 10:07 PM

Hello, i just wanna give my opinion on the tweeters position. I think its based on ppl's preferences. As long as u don't point ur tweeters facing the windscreen its ok. Some ppl like it "crossfire" way. Some ppl dont like the tweeter sound go directly to the passenger's ear. So what they do is they face the tweeters opposite each others. Well please correct me if im wrong. I'm a nooB in ICE. cheers
Azam87
post Jun 20 2006, 10:15 PM

Matt! one more question. Ur a/d/s P450.2 (bridged) is for ur sub or mid? that is a for channel amp right? if it does, then run it active la. If u dont have a crossover its still fine. Use ur passive crossover for mid and straight to amp for ur tweeter.
TSmattchin
post Jun 21 2006, 08:54 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

QUOTE(Azam87 @ Jun 20 2006, 10:15 PM)
Matt! one more question. Ur a/d/s P450.2 (bridged) is for ur sub or mid? that is a for channel amp right? if it does, then run it active la. If u dont have a crossover its still fine. Use ur passive crossover for mid and straight to amp for ur tweeter.
my p450.2 is for my front speakers bcz a/d/s produces a very good sound quality. i'm currently using 50x2 for my focal and the other 50x2 i left it empty. i know it's a waste bcz if i bridged it the sound is very messy although it is producing 150x2 after i briged.

regarding running active.. it's still in my mind bcz not enough dough($$$).. tongue.gif i would prefer the whole thing run active rather than u suggested the semi active HE! HE! i would prefer my ICE installer 2 choose their own preffered crossover bcz the tuning will definately done by them.

hmm.. u r driving a MYVI rite? have u notice anything about the distance between the mid and tweeter? it is quite a distance if 2 compare wif other cars. it is highly recomended 2 use a HU wif TA(time allignment) to do the staging. no matter if u want it 2 b center o the driver.. i ask myself b4 getting this HU.. do i really know how 2 hear the staging nor imaging..? my answer would b.. dono bcz once u on it LOUD.. music is all around the car.. blush.gif

regarding the match between my mid and woofer.. hmm.. thanks 2 my installer's tuning.. he did it well and i'm satisfied.. wif an adjustment in my avionix (2channel) amp the woofer delivers wat i wanted. bear in mind tat it is better for an amp 2 control the woofer rather than the woofer 2 control the amp.
there r ppl who don like 2 spend the money for their woofer's amp.. and they onli focus on the woofer itself..

my conclusion for a woofer is
rm500's woofer=rm1000's amp
500rms's woofer=1000rms amp (700rms also can larhh tongue.gif )

i've paid a lot of tution fees for ICE liao.. i learn 2 minimize the cost for the best result. sweat.gif
Azam87
post Jun 21 2006, 11:43 PM

No matter how u ICE system is, tuning the most important part. If ur installer did a good job. Congratulation. Full external XO just cost around 300++
TSmattchin
post Jun 21 2006, 11:58 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

QUOTE(Azam87 @ Jun 21 2006, 11:43 PM)
No matter how u ICE system is, tuning the most important part. If ur installer did a good job. Congratulation. Full external XO just cost around 300++
the crossover.. i'll let my installer to determine.. tat's y gathering the dough.. laugh.gif
TSmattchin
post Jul 24 2006, 11:41 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

juz changed my woofer's amp from AVIONIXX to the new ALPINE V12 monoblock... having a great control of my woofer now.. thumbup.gif for the amp.. underated amp
0hmyg0d
post Jul 26 2006, 10:19 PM

219 posts

can i replace the oem rear speaker wif mid bass speaker..?
i jus hope 2 get more bass than the oem speaker..
wil the speaker fit well..?
TSmattchin
post Jul 27 2006, 12:53 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

i think i can't help u wif this.. cz i dono the size of the rear speakers.. cz i haf abandoned them.. he! he biggrin.gif

haf u try 2 gain the bass settings wif ur current HeadUnit? seriously.. i don think ur HeadUnit can gif u lots of power 2 drive the mid...

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:17 PM