Tok Bali RC Club
672 posts

hi.. just curious..
is we legal to own the eagle?

julchin_09
post Apr 22 2006, 12:06 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Wah, you'd have to catch one I guess......
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 22 2006, 12:11 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

I dont think so coz there are so few of them. Personally from a moral stand point i rather you not get this as one of your "pet" coz such bird are so beautiful and so few that i simply can not imagine they in a confine space. Let them soar through the sky free. smile.gif
HuonHengChai
post Apr 22 2006, 12:28 PM

Goblin Techie
3,820 posts

say "NO!" to wild caught animals

Cruel enterprise 

Many animals do not survive the long journey and the stress of being yanked from their natural habitats. Due to the illegal nature of the trade, the animals are often squeezed into containers to evade detection. Many die during the transportation process. The mortality rate could be as high as 50%, according to Shepherd. 

In July 2000, 22 Cites Appendix II birds, including mountain hawk eagles, Brahminy kites, Malay Fish Owls and an Indian black eagle were found in the two suitcases of an English smuggler at Heathrow Airport in London. 

The birds had been stuffed into tubes with their feet bound with electrical tape. Six died during the flight from Bangkok while others were found in sickly conditions. 

The man was later sentenced to six and a half years in jail. 

"Wildlife criminals should be treated like any other criminal," says Shepherd. "A fine of a few thousand ringgit fine will not serve as a deterrent." 
source
wei
post Apr 22 2006, 12:42 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

haha... kept one injured one before, flew and hit my neighbour glass door.
it was a good memory. their claw is demm strong, u can still fill the pain even wearing a industry use protective glove. release the poor thing after 2 months biggrin.gif so happy to see it flew a way.
julchin_09
post Apr 22 2006, 12:43 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

OPPPS.....

SAY NO TO WILD CAUGHT ANIMALS..
julchin_09
post Apr 22 2006, 12:44 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 22 2006, 12:42 PM)
haha... kept one injured one before, flew and hit my neighbour glass door.
it was a good memory. their claw is demm strong, u can still fill the pain even wearing a industry use protective glove. release the poor thing after 2 months biggrin.gif so happy to see it flew a way.
oH So the eagle did recover lar....How did you keep it? In a cage or tie its leg with a rope/string? Being a wild specimen, was it obedient when you handle it?
wei
post Apr 22 2006, 01:04 PM

6,496 posts

yeah, the fella recovered. I kept it on my father's large bird cage lor. it will attack, claw on my hand whenever i put my hand in the cage, very scary. with the glove and let it stand on it. It doesnt fear me, feed it with pork meat. Do not try ocean fish, it will make them vomit. Because they are in-land animal.
aimeh
post Apr 22 2006, 02:41 PM

466 posts

wa .. nice man .. i wanna rare 1 also .. haha ... and wei u hav a great experince leh .. haha nice nice
TSioriamd
post Apr 22 2006, 08:28 PM

Tok Bali RC Club
672 posts

wa.. so many ppl mad bout this.. hehe...
not catch it yet.. but someone offer me to own one....
i think its white malaysian eagle and its lot here
ill think bout it

wink.gif
aimeh
post Apr 22 2006, 11:24 PM

466 posts

but still .. say no to wild catch la ... maybe u catch 1 is mohter, then her son son all waitting her go back home ... sad u know ..
CreepyCrawly
post Apr 22 2006, 11:50 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(ioriamd @ Apr 22 2006, 08:28 PM)
wa.. so many ppl mad bout this.. hehe...
not catch it yet.. but someone offer me to own one....
i think its white malaysian eagle and its lot here
ill think bout it

wink.gif
1. I think you need a license to keep an eagle
2. Why do u want to catch an eagle to put in ur house? How big is the cage u own ?
3. " its lot here " ---> this is the attitude that push animals to endangered level doh.gif

crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 23 2006, 01:19 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Yups, most wild birds of prey in Malaysia needs licence from the Jabatan haiwan.... If not, once people find out, they can confisticate the bird and can get summon.

An eagle needs a really really big cage or it can go depress and pluck out its feathers, bang its head againts the cage bars or stressed out.

Only rear an eagle if can provide them enough flight room.
hao
post Apr 23 2006, 01:27 AM

Quills™
5,469 posts

Eagles are protected species in Malaysia right? And if your cage isn't large enough for it to fly around, it'll just stand whole day long and soon enough, it lost its ability to fly again.
julchin_09
post Apr 23 2006, 02:54 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Ish, they're so big how to provide ample flying space in a cage? I think best leave them in the wild unless it was a chick raised from young being in a confined space and with constant human contact.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 23 2006, 04:24 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Apr 23 2006, 02:54 AM)
Ish, they're so big how to provide ample flying space in a cage? I think best leave them in the wild unless it was a chick raised from young being in a confined space and with constant human contact.
That's why not many have eagles.... Wild ones hard to feed wan... coz my brother rescued a hawk before, we tried to nurse it coz it couldn't fly, but it didn't eat, in the end gave to zoo but too late, died liao....

My brother even rescued a Frog mouth, damn weird bird and we nurse it till healthy and gave it to Bird Park coz it also couldn't fly.

Better wild birds of prey stay wild and free. Kesian them if lock up in a small cage. Those people that have eagles have large large aviaries and they aren't wild, more like hand tame and can fly freely and come back when called.
aimeh
post Apr 23 2006, 04:51 PM

466 posts

ya ... thatz are good trainer ..
Killerz622
post Apr 23 2006, 11:47 PM

T-S 002 MungenZ
9,841 posts

I bet its illegal to own one
Even u are lucky enought to catch one,i bet u are crying when buying food for them....
wei
post Apr 24 2006, 02:24 PM

6,496 posts

yea it's illegal to keep them. u need license.
same as owl too.

that's why i release it instead of keep it. this large bird need large space for keeping. atlease 5ft x 5ft space for the smaller sp. and their feeding are costly compare to other pet animal.
julchin_09
post Apr 24 2006, 03:08 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Oh...Owls also need license eh? So many ownls at my place here.

0.0159sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:34 PM