modem box, no work log, just pics to show

TSexkay
post Apr 22 2006, 02:07 AM, updated 20y ago

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

well well, just like ianho ( click to view )made the mods to his modem due to the heat it emits,

i did made my modem mod too with the same reason, heat.

due to the fact we have housemates and modems and routers are best placed in a common area so that when one needs to restart the modem and router it could be done easily, we decided to put it at the staircase area since there's a plug point nearby and well its pretty public.

It started with the modem being mounted upside down on the staircase plank.
things goes alright for 3 days until the modem got heated up the other way round ( due the the upside down placement ) and start going bonkers and disconnecting itself every 10 minutes.

we're pretty pissed off and well, straight away i took out my screwdrivers and drill , get a microwave safe lunch box ( those u get from tarpaoing food ones, clear tupperware kind ) drilled damn lot of holes on that lunch box, pop the modem in, connect it and name it "Bento box"

well it works pretty fine tho.. just that it looks ugly and have to sit on the staircase and we're afraid that someday it might be stepped on or kicked down the stairs,

hence an upgrade is needed.

Calculations were made and a cardboard box made out from IKEA cardboard ( so happen i just bought some furniture from ikea sales ) did quite well and it stays that way for a few weeks

so i finally got some time and bought some acrylic. take out the measurement sheets i did last time for the box and well did it again on acrylic.

so this is the outcome.

this is where it's placed

a stripped down Aztech provided by TMNUT with a fan blowing at it.

another angle

the Belkin router with fan blowing from below ( same thing here, got air intake holes but rather blocked like the modem case.. but since it got lifetime warranty, we don't want to pop it open. )

the PSU and the blowing out fan at the other side

the overview

another angle

look at those CABLES!!! still finding time trying to erm.. fix them nicely.

ps:/ masking tapes are there so that incase the top panel decided to give way ( since it's not light and only held by 3 screws ) or either the sticking part is not strong enuff, there's still some masking tape to hold it.

well i'm seeing a new box to be made with better designs and stuffs.

ArcAngelD
post Apr 22 2006, 09:46 AM

Woah.. looks a bit unsafe... u should maybe try reinforce the things with metal brackets tongue.gif
youngkies
post Apr 22 2006, 10:36 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

u place the whole thing under the stair?
2uk3y
post Apr 22 2006, 11:04 AM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

why u hangup there, why dont just put it down...??
btw where is ur pc, upstair or downstair....?? biggrin.gif
and one more thing the box really big, did u manage to put other stuff ???
TSexkay
post Apr 22 2006, 11:38 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(ArcAngelD @ Apr 22 2006, 09:46 AM)
Woah.. looks a bit unsafe... u should maybe try reinforce the things with metal brackets tongue.gif
yeah, that's gonna be in 2nd version with 3mm acrylic ( this one is built with 2mm)

QUOTE(youngkies @ Apr 22 2006, 10:36 AM)
u place the whole thing under the stair?
Yup cuz all major PCs on 1st floor.

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Apr 22 2006, 11:04 AM)
why u hangup there, why dont just put it down...??
btw where is ur pc, upstair or downstair....?? biggrin.gif
and one more thing the box really big, did u manage to put other stuff ???
all PC upstairs hence the best place to place it is under the staircase. right in the between the front and back room

2nd version will be silmming it down.

wad other stuffs are u thinking about? care to share? CCFLs? hahah

This post has been edited by exkay: Apr 22 2006, 11:40 AM
mADmAN
post Apr 22 2006, 02:36 PM

10,530 posts

after the mod how is it after being on after a long period of time?? is it still screwy??? or the connection has stabilized?
TSexkay
post Apr 22 2006, 02:59 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 22 2006, 02:36 PM)
after the mod how is it after being on after a long period of time?? is it still screwy??? or the connection has stabilized?
of course no more problem caused by modem.. thumbup.gif

but then the DSlam getting crazy on rainy days.... rclxub.gif
eBola
post Apr 22 2006, 08:02 PM

blah
1,928 posts

wahlau. thumbs up for the most gay mod ever ive seen.

creativity knows no limits!
gerrard capashen
post Apr 23 2006, 04:04 PM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

i think instead using PSU, why dont u use adapter for fan..
woundxp
post Apr 23 2006, 08:28 PM

366 posts

HAHA nothing better to do laugh.gif
amirsubhi
post Apr 23 2006, 08:34 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

hurm....a bit waste of electricity i guess for da part of ur psu....eventhough only small amount draw to fan..but still there's power loss due to heat n all.......n dat cost power....maybe u can try another alternative......such as...power da fan directly from ac adapter....but since u not sure how much volt da router.....maybe sum other external adapter u can get at shop...that adjustable voltage one

but..hurm...there's a limit of current right to the fan.....a resistor might do da job??

This post has been edited by amirsubhi: Apr 23 2006, 08:38 PM
TSexkay
post Apr 24 2006, 02:55 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(eBola @ Apr 22 2006, 08:02 PM)
wahlau. thumbs up for the most gay mod ever ive seen.

creativity knows no limits!
erm.. ghey in wad sense arr? sweat.gif

QUOTE(gerrard capashen @ Apr 23 2006, 04:04 PM)
i think instead using PSU, why dont u use adapter for fan..
QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Apr 23 2006, 08:34 PM)
hurm....a bit waste of electricity i guess for da part of ur psu....eventhough only small amount draw to fan..but still there's power loss due to heat n all.......n dat cost power....maybe u can try another alternative......such as...power da fan directly from ac adapter....but since u not sure how much volt da router.....maybe sum other external adapter u can get at shop...that adjustable voltage one

but..hurm...there's a limit of current right to the fan.....a resistor might do da job??
I'm pretty bad when it come to electronics ( ie. counting voltage, resistance, amps, bla bla etc. ) hence a PSU make my day easier...

pizzaboy
post Apr 24 2006, 08:47 AM

9,495 posts

gay in a good sense i'm sure

0.0141sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:31 AM