even if they write. 3kmah.. maybe 2.5kmah only the highest... |
Jul 3 2013, 01:49 AM
1,810 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
To prevent overcharging the powerbank, eventho it is equipped with auto cut off system,
i always record the time it plugs in to my phone, and usually it take the same amount of time to gets recharged.. mine is windows phone 8, so i pin a special tiles that count down 1 hour and half.. After the time ends, it will alarm me. even tho my phone still does not get fully charge, (cos im using wifi browse utube watever) it indicates that i have been using the powerbank for 1 hr and 30 min.. If i want to continue using it, i can set again the countdown or using stopwatch. so the total hours will be added up, and i will know how long to charged the powerbank fully..that way, i wont hook up the powerbank to charger mkre than it needs.. usually ngam ngam it will stop blinking when i check. actually have been planning to get small stopwatch and stick it to the powerbank, but not yet find.. Haha.. already got apps.. This post has been edited by thesun: Jul 3 2013, 01:59 AM |
Jul 14 2013, 06:19 PM
Aug 3 2013, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(chrisqck @ Aug 3 2013, 12:40 PM) Hi All, 2800mah x 3.7V / 5V = 2072mah..WTA some clarification with regards to 1st post... So if I have a 2800 mAh and the handphone battery is 1700 mAh, how do I calculate what the the true charge capacity ? Appreciate if could explain also the reason behind the calculation. I would like to learn more about powerbanks : ) Thanks in advance. should be able to charge ur phone at least one times with phone off.. if on wifi, play video etc while charging, wont fully charge of course. powerbank mah times nominal powebank battery output, 3.7V, divide by its output voltage which is 5V.. simply said, the 2800mah is at 3.7V, if change voltage to 5V, mah will drop.. |
Aug 4 2013, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(chrisqck @ Aug 4 2013, 08:39 PM) Thanks for the reply. 1. Correct, but not too far lah.. If 16800mah, charge iphone one time only, obviously tipu punya.Assuming that the powerbank is made of multiple cylindrical batteries output at 3.7V, the powerbank consolidates the output of each battery into one main output, the USB interface, which discharge at 5V. Hence the formula used above, correct ? I have a YooBao YB-645 which claims to have the capacity of 8800mAh. The Input was stated as 5V/1500mA and the output was stated as 5V/1000mA. So based on what I understand so far, a) 8800mAh * 3.7V = 32,560 then 32,560 / 5V = 6,512 mAh is the ACTUAL capacity (assuming 100%). Further Questions : 1) Is 100% output capacity a reasonable expectation for NEW powerbanks or is it by nature not possible ? (Kinda like buying a 1TB HDD is not possible to get *exactly* 1TB space inside) 2) Input basically just tells you at what rate it is charging the power bank, rite? It doesn't in any way change the total capacity of the powerbank since the capacity is already fixed, right ? 2. Yes. |
Aug 13 2013, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 11:19 AM) yes usb is 5V but it's also charging a lower volatage 3.7V handphone battery.. so means MAh will increase back.. cannot say like that, charging voltage must higher than batt voltage, if not, no potential difference, no flow..so just compare powerbank capacity with handphone battery since both is 3.7V type , of cos with some conversion losses.. no such increase back. |
Aug 13 2013, 12:15 PM
Aug 13 2013, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 12:17 PM) yes, charging voltage must higher than charged device.after the charged device obtain its full charging capacity or at certain limiting voltage, there will be cut off mechanism. same as charging car battery, charger is at 16V. car battery where got 16V nominal? |
Aug 13 2013, 12:30 PM
Still doesbt increase back the mah..
Aug 13 2013, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 12:34 PM) Overcharging Lithium-ion still the excess v doesnt increase back the mah..Lithium-ion operates safely within the designated operating voltages; however, the battery becomes unstable if inadvertently charged to a higher than specified voltage. Prolonged charging above 4.30V forms plating of metallic lithium on the anode, while the cathode material becomes an oxidizing agent, loses stability and produces carbon dioxide (CO2). The cell pressure rises, and if charging is allowed to continue the current interrupt device (CID) responsible for cell safety disconnects the current at 1,380kPa (200psi). must be crazy to pump 5V directly into a 3.7V battery.. |
Aug 13 2013, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 12:38 PM) QUOTE(thesun @ Aug 3 2013, 12:50 PM) 2800mah x 3.7V / 5V = 2072mah.. should be able to charge ur phone at least one times with phone off.. if on wifi, play video etc while charging, wont fully charge of course. powerbank mah times nominal powebank battery output, 3.7V, divide by its output voltage which is 5V.. simply said, the 2800mah is at 3.7V, if change voltage to 5V, mah will drop.. |
Aug 13 2013, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 12:48 PM) that;'s why I said from that 5V going into the phone circuit will be reduced back to 4.2-3.7V charging.. the capacity wont be just 2072mah.. no, cos the excess voltage is not used, dissipate as heat or whatever..think in terms of WH, 2800mah x 3.7 = 10.36WH at 5V it'll still be 10.36WH when it goes back into the phone battery of 3.7V it'll still be 10.36WH (less conversion inefficiencies) its like splash/pour water from a full bucket of water directly into a small bottle opening.. whatever amount of water can go in thru the small opening, go in the bottle.. Excess will spill.. |
Aug 13 2013, 01:17 PM
Step down means loss.
estimation using the pb mah x 3.7/5 is still correct |
Jan 2 2014, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jan 2 2014, 10:10 AM) Got myself Pineng Powerbank from TaoBao .... Straight from Pineng itself.. definitely original.... No doubt... however , this powerbank is disappointing.... u charge using data cable?Tried to charge my S4 from 40% to 90%.... around 1300mAh... took me 2-3hours to do so ... using 2.1A port ... average charging was 300-500mAh per hour...not as stated of 2A / 1A .... charging history was based on 3rd party android apps... But to be fair , i got it for RM50+ for a 15,000mAh powerbank . for this price , i didnt expect anything , so long it didnt spoil after using for few times... I still prefer YooBao which can charge much more faster than Pineng ... The review placed by TaoBao user is simply useless... never ever trust china ppl review ... they have never use high quality product ... LOL or using provided cable? |
Feb 11 2014, 07:35 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
How to crack open pineng powerbank properly?
care to share the steps? |
Feb 11 2014, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(x-treme @ Feb 11 2014, 07:46 PM) oo... i see..somehow i tak jadi buka already, actually my usb port become loose, deswai feels wanna open, but somehow i manage to use sharp object to re-raise the 4 metal notch(?) that holds the usb firmly.. now my usb cable dont simply tercabut when i put the powerbank in my bag... |
Mar 27 2014, 05:03 PM
Aug 23 2014, 01:03 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(kennobi @ Aug 23 2014, 12:45 PM) Hi all, saw one which might be good, Ramoss sailing, claim to have a 3.1 max output charging and 2.1 input. 10,000mAh Rm150+. If it's true it will charge your gadget super fast since its the only one with the 3.1 output. Anybody have that might want to share your experience here, would appreciated. 2.1A + 1A = 3.1A |
| Change to: | 0.0355sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:22 PM |