-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V.XLVII-+♠+-, Persona the Recycled Besi

s7ran9er
post Apr 29 2013, 09:36 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

Recently just serviced my radiator, the top plastic cover of the radiator was replaced and as well as the thermostat. The main culprit was the thermostat because it was faulty and hence the blockage and the plastic cover burst'd.

Total damage: RM250(Rad. Service) + RM80(Thermostat) + RM40(Labour)

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: Apr 29 2013, 09:36 AM
s7ran9er
post Apr 29 2013, 11:28 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Apr 29 2013, 10:25 AM)
use custom thermostat.. PM mengsuan
i duno is d custom thermostat or not, when im doing downhill drive, d temperature will drop below 70C (from the meter) somewhere around 65C estimation...temp will rise back to normal once go back to flat/uphill ride
should have bought it from mengsuan really. sad.gif
s7ran9er
post May 12 2013, 10:46 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

fuhh, FS really that powderful?

and since talking about tayar, wanna ask about the rims, any stock rims user here got dented because of masuk potholes?
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 09:04 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

Woah seems like everyone changed their rims here eh?

How often does your car overheat? Especially non-IAFM version, what could be the problem? I have repaired the radiator casing, changed the thermostat. On Monday morning drove all the way from Karak highway to KL, stopped by at the petrol station close to my home, got back up to the car, air cond felt warm and by the time I saw meter reached 120 the car stopped and steer locked.

Parked my car and let it cool down.

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: May 13 2013, 09:05 AM
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 09:11 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ May 13 2013, 09:07 AM)
Practically rare even though I kena once and it was the radiator leaking.
same here, I drove this car for 20k KM+ already (since I got it), this is the second time I'm seeing the termo meter reached 120. water pump failure? This only happens whenever I turn off and start the car again.
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 09:19 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ May 13 2013, 09:14 AM)
sweat.gif You drove the car until it stopped and steering locked? U got serious shit there.
I decided to stop at the road side when the car's thermometer reached 120degree. Before the traffic light the car's dashboard all lit up and engine turned off automatically, steering locked probably because I was turning.

Luckily it was morning the car cool off quite fast, started the car again, air-cond felt cold (a relief sign for me), drove a while back to home. But, few minutes later before heading to office, started the car, air-cond felt warmer, thermometer tunjuk the usual 11 o'clock. The end result? Burn fat walk to office.

the word "but" makes amazing things happen.

His encounter worse than mine

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: May 13 2013, 09:32 AM
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 09:43 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ May 13 2013, 09:41 AM)
blink.gif Stock battery? Why is it related to engine overheat?  rclxub.gif
thought I salah paste link. ohmy.gif
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 10:45 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

something looked like this when car on stall:

but seriously, all lit up after starting and driving not long.

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: May 13 2013, 10:48 AM
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 10:51 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ May 13 2013, 10:47 AM)
shocking.gif The indicator for the temperature meter gone south east liao.
well, the thermometer wasn't being honest, I've only seen it like A B C only.

original photo: source

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: May 13 2013, 10:52 AM
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 11:06 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 13 2013, 10:57 AM)
If you read the post by mengsuan, you would have known our thermostat is partially for show only. Point A for cold start, the standard Point B for normal temperature is there regardless of the actual temperature reading. Even if exceed 90, it will still stay at Point B. Then when overheat, jump straight to Point C.

It is similar to those car with a single light for temperature. Green means ok, then Red means overheat liao, no seeing rising temperature like the other car makes. One way to go, change to the custom-made thermostat that Mengsuan uses.
I've red about Mengsuan's thermostat but right now I'm considering getting the car to Proton SC to diagnosed the problem. The non-IAFM ECU doesn't support bluetooth reading hence there's no actual accurate reading for the temperature (only the car knows) AFAIK.

The fan stopped spinning right after I've turned off the car whereas other Proton Persona drivers noted the fan kept spinning even the car has been turned off after a long drive or high speed driving.
s7ran9er
post May 13 2013, 09:20 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ May 13 2013, 07:04 PM)
If your car has ever overheated due to some reasons like faulty fan or leaking radiator, the engine block or gasket of your engine has probably warped due to extreme heat. Even after you have fixed the earlier cause of overheating, the gasket will leak between combustion chamber and the water cooled section, effectively boiling the water when a bit of load is applied to the engine.

Never let your engine reach to the red point, the damage is permanent until you do a top overhaul to grind flat the block and replace gasket.
By time the meter move, the coolant temperature is way over 100. Most drivers don't find enough time to notice the quick rate of meter increase, until when they saw it at the red section or until the engine seize.
Thanks for the insights mengsuan notworthy.gif

Seems like the fan has reached its time.
s7ran9er
post May 14 2013, 08:50 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

fuhh! Got the radiator fan replaced, hence the car becomes louder, is a good sign!
s7ran9er
post May 17 2013, 09:27 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

Last I saw one or two persona/gen2 with the smoke rear lamp mentioned by ckdenion last time, it's looks really good during night!
s7ran9er
post May 20 2013, 01:19 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

yo after changing the radiator cover and a brand new fan motor, here's the result, the meter still raise over 90 which is really shocking. Finally, sent to a Proton Service Center near my place and the problem was the temp. sensor, replaced the faulty one and never seen my meter raised over the 90. Later I developed a phobia, hence I kept starring at my temp meter every 5 minutes of driving. sweat.gif
s7ran9er
post May 20 2013, 02:25 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ May 20 2013, 02:13 PM)
temp. sensor? the thermostat u mean?
thermostat was replaced together with the radiator cover (not cap) before.

the problem was temperature gauge sensor. RM120 with labor, (check gau gau)

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: May 20 2013, 03:43 PM
s7ran9er
post May 23 2013, 11:34 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 23 2013, 10:41 AM)
Becoz the govt REALLY no $$$ liao. Reducing price of RON95 now is not sustainable anymore with the government treasury condition.

National Debt is ultra high at 55% of GDP, whatever balance they have, they go buy a pencil for RM200, a chair for RM5000 and a mariner binocular that cost RM2700 but bought by government for RM50000 a piece. Where the difference goes, EVERYONE have figured out liao but government say staff blur make mistake, ya right, paying the price of a BMW for a proton, staff so blur....

Now they giving RM1500 to 1BRIM but since no money to pay, they gonna use GST to get back RM3000 from each person they gave RM1500 to. With the govt ultra low on $$$, don't expect any price reduction on mass production cars. Tax incomes from sales of cars are quite substantial and desperately needed by our cash strap government now. With GST implemented, expect tyre price to goes up, food to goes up, inflation to goes up and I guess the only thing not going up is our income.
it's either you work extra to earn more or find another way out. Ultimately when both options are unavailable, change government in the next coming election.

Else, ride a bicycle.

---
side note, just noticed my car has some water coming out from the exhaust, I'm not ready to jump to the conclusion that I have a blown gasket since there's no visible white smoke or any coolant reduction. shakehead.gif

What could it be?
s7ran9er
post May 23 2013, 11:55 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ May 23 2013, 11:44 AM)
During cold start / early morning/ night situation?  hmm.gif
I've did some search, if you start engine and did a short drive to a place you will see water coming out from exhaust, usually not spills but only dripping.

Some say is a common problem, some have even said that you have a working and efficient engine, absolutely normal.

s7ran9er
post May 23 2013, 01:54 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 23 2013, 01:46 PM)
Normal to have water dripping out of exhaust.

Hydrocarbon (petrol) + Oxygen => CO2 + water + POWAHHH

If got water spray out of exhaust like a water hose at a car wash, then not normal ph34r.gif
lol those water hose really powahhh~ rolleyes.gif

How much for air cond service ah usually?
s7ran9er
post May 26 2013, 04:46 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(gcooi90 @ May 26 2013, 03:01 PM)
Ok, mod done, duit habis.

Pasang Sony 6 speakers, fog lamp and xenon bulb. =S
how about HU? whistling.gif
s7ran9er
post Jun 3 2013, 05:22 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(optronix31 @ Jun 3 2013, 04:29 PM)
kena lock out before while pump petrol...now always carry spare key with me...
lol how did you manage to get the car door open then??

1.3973sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:16 AM