126 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Hardware Official Microsoft Surface Thread V1

Silverfire
post Aug 14 2013, 03:38 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Aug 14 2013, 03:30 PM)
Surface do comes with trial MS Office, u need to purchase to license to activate it
If I remember correctly, the Pro comes with a trial? However RT comes with activated MS Office 2013 Home & Stud.

This post has been edited by Silverfire: Aug 14 2013, 03:39 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 14 2013, 03:47 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 14 2013, 03:38 PM)
If I remember correctly, the Pro comes with a trial? However RT comes with activated MS Office 2013 Home & Stud.
Surface Pro come with a desktop Office trial version.
Surface come with Office RT (not a desktop apps per se) that has OneNote, Word, Excel, PowerPoint.

Once W8.1RT come along, the Office RT that come with it will have OneNote, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Outlook.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 14 2013, 03:52 PM
Bujal.x
post Aug 14 2013, 04:00 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 14 2013, 03:37 PM)
Not sure about the Surface Pro but the Surface RT comes with Office Home & Student 2013 RT
whats the different?
ZRong223
post Aug 14 2013, 04:28 PM

864 posts

Surface Pro is exactly a PC, or laptop or whatever you want to call, in terms of SOFTWARE. So what about the Microsoft Office in the newly bought desktop or laptop? You got the answer.

That's why I get Surface RT even though it's expensive before that. I would like to get a normal laptop instead of Surface Pro at that price.
Bujal.x
post Aug 14 2013, 04:35 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Aug 14 2013, 04:28 PM)
Surface Pro is exactly a PC, or laptop or whatever you want to call, in terms of SOFTWARE. So what about the Microsoft Office in the newly bought desktop or laptop? You got the answer.

That's why I get Surface RT even though it's expensive before that. I would like to get a normal laptop instead of Surface Pro at that price.
is antivirus is a must on rt?
richard912
post Aug 14 2013, 04:48 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Aug 14 2013, 04:35 PM)
is antivirus is a must on rt?
Windows RT has a specific version of Defender loaded in the OS. Since RT is ARM based and not intel/x86, malware written for the standard versions of Windows will not infect RT. Most malware uses a flash or java based loader so you may see that part of the malware try to execute on your Surface RT or RT based device, however, the infecting portion of that malware will not install or run.
Bujal.x
post Aug 14 2013, 04:50 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 14 2013, 04:48 PM)
Windows RT has a specific version of Defender loaded in the OS. Since RT is ARM based and not intel/x86, malware written for the standard versions of Windows will not infect RT. Most malware uses a flash or java based loader so you may see that part of the malware try to execute on your Surface RT or RT based device, however, the infecting portion of that malware will not install or run.
thanks for the explanation..got offer rm1250 for almost a month surface rt with touch keyboard..im using iconia w700 before but cant stand the weight..surface same weight with ipad 4 right?
underworld
post Aug 14 2013, 04:52 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Aug 14 2013, 04:50 PM)
thanks for the explanation..got offer rm1250 for almost a month surface rt with touch keyboard..im using iconia w700 before but cant stand the weight..surface same weight with ipad 4 right?
if you can wait
wait for this bulk RM 850 new with touch kb

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2880665&hl=

richard912
post Aug 14 2013, 04:54 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Aug 14 2013, 04:00 PM)
whats the different?
Home and Student version should only be used for non-commercial purposes whistling.gif
Bujal.x
post Aug 14 2013, 04:56 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 14 2013, 04:52 PM)
if you can wait
wait for this bulk RM 850 new with touch kb

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2880665&hl=
cant wait..based on my experience buying in bulk,it takes around 15-20 days..
richard912
post Aug 14 2013, 04:58 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Aug 14 2013, 04:56 PM)
cant wait..based on my experience buying in bulk,it takes around 15-20 days..
Good things come to those who (can) wait notworthy.gif
Bujal.x
post Aug 14 2013, 04:59 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 14 2013, 04:58 PM)
Good things come to those who (can) wait notworthy.gif
im tabletless almost for month now sad.gif ~~cant tahan browsing using small screen..
richard912
post Aug 14 2013, 05:06 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Aug 14 2013, 04:59 PM)
im tabletless almost for month now sad.gif ~~cant tahan browsing using small screen..
You then have 2 choices.... continue to strain your eyes for now from using small screen or strain your wallet by paying non-bulk price icon_rolleyes.gif
underworld
post Aug 14 2013, 05:16 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

try nego the price with the seller
mR.hyDE
post Aug 14 2013, 06:34 PM

186 posts

Just chat with David, customer service of Microsoft Store and he said any enquires pls email to SurfaceEDU@Microsoft.com, which is a department to handle this offer and i found that the promotion is now extended to 30 September :
from this website
http://www.microsoft.com/student/en-au/Off...bid=KE7J9dZklRC
and the pdf is here
Brochure:
Attached File  Surface_RT_for_Education_Brochure.pdf ( 603.28k ) Number of downloads: 25

FAQ:
Attached File  Surface_RT_for_Education_FAQ.pdf ( 324.38k ) Number of downloads: 11

TSXirality
post Aug 14 2013, 07:16 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Aug 14 2013, 04:28 PM)

For some people who find laptop is heavy and yet want laptop function. They can choose Surface Pro. Better than Vaio Duo 11 imo
atih007
post Aug 14 2013, 10:06 PM

1,612 posts

Here's what I found the faq.

QUOTE(mR.hyDE @ Aug 14 2013, 06:34 PM)
Just chat with David, customer service of Microsoft Store and he said any enquires pls email to SurfaceEDU@Microsoft.com, which is a department to handle this offer and i found that the promotion is now extended to 30 September :
from this website
http://www.microsoft.com/student/en-au/Off...bid=KE7J9dZklRC
and the pdf is here
Brochure:
Attached File  Surface_RT_for_Education_Brochure.pdf ( 603.28k ) Number of downloads: 25

FAQ:
Attached File  Surface_RT_for_Education_FAQ.pdf ( 324.38k ) Number of downloads: 11

hmwgbworld
post Aug 14 2013, 10:12 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(atih007 @ Aug 14 2013, 10:06 PM)
Yea, I also noticed that MY isn't in the list.
However, my Uni is Australia based. Not sure eligible for this offer or not hmm.gif .
mR.hyDE
post Aug 14 2013, 11:24 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(atih007 @ Aug 14 2013, 10:06 PM)

may the FAQ isnt up to date yet ba, anyway pls recommend trusted seller , i not very interested but if its just around 650 i will buy one hehe
Bujal.x
post Aug 15 2013, 08:53 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 14 2013, 05:16 PM)
try nego the price with the seller
got rm1200..lucky me bacause the unit is sealed.the seller got it from lucky draw..

126 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:58 PM