What is min spec to run BF3 @ 45-60fps constant?, At lowest detail.

TSBoldnut
post Apr 26 2013, 10:18 AM, updated 13y ago

2,209 posts

Hopefully this is the right section to ask for system requirements, because the guys @ hardware Q&A probably have less idea out the game then here.

Seriously guys the min spec requirement EA provide barely able to run Multiplayer 64players. it is soo misleading. I got fps from 15-40fps only. but most of the time @ 20-30fps

I want to play it @ 45-60fps at all condition even on the worst map @ Caspian Sea till metro 64players. that means at worst possible condition I will not drop below 45fps and stays @ 50-60fps most of the time

So What is min spec to run BF3 @ 45-60fps constant @ lowest detail @ 1680x1050? I dont care about quality, more towards smooth gameplay.

my computer spec:
Pentium E5800 @ 3.2GHz @ 800fsb
4GB DDR2 800 RAM
Gigabyte EP41-UD3L
Gigabyte 9800GT 512MB
Screen resolution : 1680x1050 @ 22 inch

Acbel 450w PSU. link below
http://www.acbel.com/eng/Product.aspx?id=48&&sd=31&&pid=182 [acbel.com]

My Goal & budget: To spend the smallest amount of money to reach 45-60fps @ lowest detail @ 1680x1050

I got a 2500K rig, but I got 2x BF3, so the second rig must be able to play smooth fps.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Apr 26 2013, 10:19 AM
omgimahero
post Apr 26 2013, 10:25 AM

479 posts

U gotta up your GPU & PSU if you want to optimize your FPS.

But if you search around more, you'll find this...

BF3 Tweak Guide

edit: see the minimum requirements, of 8800 gt or gtx560... this is probably the 'minimum' benchmark for a optimum smooth and quality gameplay biggrin.gif

Read also:
BF3 CPU Build Guide

How to reduce lag

This post has been edited by omgimahero: Apr 26 2013, 10:28 AM
TSBoldnut
post Apr 26 2013, 03:33 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(omgimahero @ Apr 26 2013, 10:25 AM)
U gotta up your GPU & PSU if you want to optimize your FPS.

But if you search around more, you'll find this...

BF3 Tweak Guide

edit: see the minimum requirements, of 8800 gt or gtx560... this is probably the 'minimum' benchmark for a optimum smooth and quality gameplay biggrin.gif

Read also:
BF3 CPU Build Guide

How to reduce lag

wow lol I didnt know Nvidia had a guide for it.

Major thanks.
but then it only shows GTX260 as min for 1680x1050 @ low detail. no CPU guide for low preset.

So I figure a 2.6-3GHz core 2 quad + 7770/650ti will do the trick? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Apr 26 2013, 03:33 PM
omgimahero
post Apr 26 2013, 04:01 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Apr 26 2013, 03:33 PM)

Major thanks.
but then it only shows GTX260 as min for 1680x1050 @ low detail. no CPU guide for low preset.

So I figure a 2.6-3GHz core 2 quad + 7770/650ti will do the trick?  hmm.gif
Yes a 650ti can do the trick smile.gif hehehe, i'm upgrading to GTX560TI tomorrow wheeee~ flex.gif

edit: btw, lets do a comparison

This post has been edited by omgimahero: Apr 26 2013, 04:07 PM
nymerine
post Apr 26 2013, 04:03 PM

920 posts

Major thanks.

My rig (below) still crawling around 30-40fps, dip as low as 15fps during fight. Avoid old generation quad cores.
TSBoldnut
post Apr 26 2013, 04:52 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Apr 26 2013, 04:03 PM)
My rig (below) still crawling around 30-40fps, dip as low as 15fps during fight. Avoid old generation quad cores.

ur speed is C2Q 2.5GHz? mind trying OC to 3GHz?

What GPU? at what resolution, is it low detail?

if can try it for me do I dont need to waste money on those overprice Q9xxx, jump straight to i3.

Everdying
post Apr 26 2013, 07:04 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,731 posts

my proc is a q8400...and i can say u need better.
at 1920x1080 with my ati 6950, i get around 30-40fps.
so yea, get a better proc a couple steps up, and there is your minimum.
nymerine
post Apr 26 2013, 10:18 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Apr 26 2013, 04:52 PM)
ur speed is C2Q 2.5GHz? mind trying OC to 3GHz?

What GPU? at what resolution, is it low detail?

if can try it for me do I dont need to waste money on those overprice Q9xxx, jump straight to i3.
It's already 3Ghz, downclocked during bench because power saving.
ASUS HD7850 DC2, 1920x1080 @ high/mid/low gave me same fps, pretty clear it's CPU bottleneck.
YakAttack
post Apr 26 2013, 10:21 PM

141 posts

Major thanks.

I'm running with a core i3 3220 and Sapphire 7770 OC ghz edition and I get 40-60fps on High/Ultra settings, however, I play on 1600x900 resolution. For your resolution, the 7770 may give you the same frame rate on low settings but I wouldn't put my money on it. Go for the 7850, if your budget allows.
marfccy
post Apr 26 2013, 10:33 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

I suggest gettin a new i3 3220 RM334 then add in a HD7770 or GTX650 Ti. More than sufficient for 900p gaming

Can get ultra settings on it minus AAs
TSBoldnut
post Apr 26 2013, 11:13 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Apr 26 2013, 10:18 PM)
It's already 3Ghz, downclocked during bench because power saving.
ASUS HD7850 DC2, 1920x1080 @ high/mid/low gave me same fps, pretty clear it's CPU bottleneck.

same fps as in what fps? got 40-60?

like that macam wanna go 3220 lol. C2Q so underpowered and exp.
nymerine
post Apr 27 2013, 08:03 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Apr 26 2013, 11:13 PM)
same fps as in what fps? got 40-60?

like that macam wanna go 3220 lol. C2Q so underpowered and exp.
Nope, just roam around 20-40fps, dip 15 when fighting. Yep, please get SB/IB. Performs way better than old generation quad cores.
TSBoldnut
post Apr 27 2013, 09:44 AM

2,209 posts

thanks guys, u guys 1000% more helpful than those battlefield forum people.

gonna skip core 2 quad then head to a used i3 instead. might wanna wait Haswell i3 see the diff or not.

(*I dont have budget for any i5)

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Apr 27 2013, 09:45 AM
nymerine
post Apr 27 2013, 01:42 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Apr 27 2013, 09:44 AM)
thanks guys, u guys 1000% more helpful than those battlefield forum people.

gonna skip core 2 quad then head to a used i3 instead. might wanna wait Haswell i3 see the diff or not.

(*I dont have budget for any i5)
No problem, dont forget to add some more ram as well, mine running sluggish quitting the game.

0.0184sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:15 AM