Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.20, Nikon when you fix the D600 dust gate!?

popcorn513
post Apr 26 2013, 12:01 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Agito avatar is Akb Minami Minegishi?
popcorn513
post Apr 26 2013, 05:09 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 26 2013, 12:08 PM)
no, my avatar is korean cosplayer tongue.gif

more picture inside spoiler tongue.gif

Looks like Akb member, need to flatten moar

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Apr 26 2013, 05:13 PM
popcorn513
post Apr 26 2013, 05:11 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Apr 26 2013, 05:02 PM)
How to get a sharp image of the moon? I tried before taking a few shots of the moon but ended up with a bright spot instead. icon_question.gif

Thanks!
300mm, spot metering, tripod, manual focus?
popcorn513
post May 1 2013, 08:22 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

photo by Popcorn513, on Flickr
First time shot running horse

How to get sharp image for running horse running at 80km/h? Already pump shutter to 2000

I use back button continuous focus and burst

This post has been edited by popcorn513: May 1 2013, 08:28 PM
popcorn513
post May 2 2013, 01:04 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ May 1 2013, 10:46 PM)
what lens you using? get a faster glass should be okay
D7000 70-300 vr2

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 1 2013, 11:38 PM)
the horse looks fine to me? maybe more dof?
anyway, what body u using? whatever it is, almost all bodies got 'af focus tracking with lock-on'...set it to the minimum if something is running towards / away from u.
'af focus tracking with lock-on'...set it to the minimum if something is running towards / away from u.

What this mean? Better use dynamic track with minimum focus point?

For shooting the running horse to my direction
What is the best autofocus setting to use?
1)  AF-S or
2) AF-C
I think af-c better since I can track the horse and burst, but I always get blur image when burst shot

And for AF-Area Mode, what is better?
1) Single-Point 
2) dynamic
3) 3D

Autofocus speed will change depend on the autofocus setting right? 
And I suppose single point will be fastest, and then the dynamic 9 point?

I tried to use the af-c single point af area mode, but seems I hardly get sharp image even use shutter 2000.

Thinking to try use Af-c dynamic 9 point next time.
popcorn513
post May 2 2013, 01:10 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

This is the sample of lost focus shot, donno why it lost focus because
I shot at max 300mm or
I donno how to focus properly or
Shutter too slow at 1/1000

popcorn513
post May 2 2013, 09:01 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 2 2013, 10:12 AM)
Single Point (Middle) and AF-C
If you use large aperture like f/2.8 then your DOF will be more shallow, so use smaller aperture to get more DOF

If the image Out Of Focus, the fast shutter speed won't make any difference.

Also when you use AF-C mode, there are additional settings in the menu like Release when LOCK-ON (or something like that), which means, it only allow you to capture the image when it's actually LOCKED ON (but this doesn't mean it's 100% accurate, just it won't let you capture if the camera didn't lock on focus).
Another setting is how long delay before it re-focus, by default there is some delay, so it won't refocus when the subject moves. For your scenario, the subject is moving towards you, so you might not want the delay? Try and experiment it yourself, but firstly, using smaller aperture will help. Shooting in broad daylight, you don't need to use the largest aperture available on your lens.
notworthy.gif great advice sifu
Will try play around these setting, and ya definitely will use smaller aperture
Thanks a lot thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ May 2 2013, 10:29 AM)
AF-C
and 3D mode is my fav mode of all! 99% usage biggrin.gif

Works fine in most situation!
Making focus and recompose so much easier!
QUOTE(Everdying @ May 2 2013, 11:40 AM)
u got D4...this one D7000...diff league tongue.gif
D7000 3d track is not fast enough for me I think

And ya I do try use it to focus recompose (alternative for manual focus point)
But it not always focus at correct point sometime

This post has been edited by popcorn513: May 2 2013, 09:02 PM
popcorn513
post May 2 2013, 09:07 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Really wild, running without his master
popcorn513
post May 3 2013, 09:34 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦