9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.20, Nikon when you fix the D600 dust gate!?

celciuz
post Jun 30 2013, 09:36 PM

14,037 posts

Orait, cars!

IWASAKI apr R8 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Jun 30 2013, 11:16 PM

14,037 posts

Mach GOGOGO SYAKEN Ferrari458 GT3 by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Starting to like shooting like this... no need pan -> high hit rate. Only problem? Tarak bokeh like those f/2.8!!!
celciuz
post Jul 1 2013, 12:44 AM

14,037 posts

Wah red disc brakes, I don't have such shots T_T, been shooting more of the head on LOL

SUBARU BRZ R&D SPORT vs. ManePa LAMBORGHINI GT3 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Jul 1 2013, 07:17 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 1 2013, 02:00 AM)
i cannot get front shoot, only can get elevated side shoot, fire splitting is difficult for me as well sad.gif

i didnt noticed about the brake until i go to the grand tower last turn there where they do hard braking

Lamborghini hard braking @ Sepang GT 2013 by K_S16, on Flickr
Same location, different angle...

GT500 Champion, CALSONIC IMPUL GT-R driven by Tsugio Matsuda and Joao Paulo de Oliveira by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Jul 9 2013, 01:16 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 9 2013, 11:04 AM)
I was just wondering. What governs the ability for a PC to process (or load) a 36MP RAW photo? Will it definitely be laggy?  hmm.gif

Even my maxed out M14x R1 has problems (lags occasionally) processing the 36MP photos from the D800, RAW ones, of course  sweat.gif
Its still sluggish especially with alot of editing, and using SSD didn't help  hmm.gif
I'm on i7-3770, 16GB and SSD... so far so good biggrin.gif
celciuz
post Jul 10 2013, 12:04 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 9 2013, 01:58 PM)
Awesome machine you have there bro, jelly jelly  wub.gif
laugh.gif , not that much faster compared to my previous E8400 and SSD... but well when generating the SDE damn fast!

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 9 2013, 02:05 PM)
16GB SSD for editing and import then after that transfer to normal HDD for backup/keeping?
16GB of RAM <-- but it doesn't help much sad.gif my LR gets sluggish when it hits about 3GB RAM usage... wonder why it doesn't use more of it... I'm already on 64-bit system.

I'm using 120GB SSD SATA 3, basically my files are saved on HDD, but the cache and catalog are on SSD.
celciuz
post Jul 10 2013, 12:17 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 10 2013, 12:15 AM)
is LR 64 bit? some software is not designed to used up that much RAM
Definitely, running on LR 64-bit.
celciuz
post Jul 10 2013, 11:17 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 10 2013, 10:33 AM)
Lightroom 4?
celciuz
post Jul 11 2013, 11:00 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 10 2013, 12:13 PM)
What type of graphic card ? ANd memory of gc ?
To be honest I don't remember... I didn't buy new GC for this PC, using my old 4870 GS, should be 1GB vRAM.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 10 2013, 02:59 PM)
Try to save your files on SSD when editing, after finish edit can move them to HDD.

Another possible issue is virtual memory, but install your OS on SSD should b MUCH better than HDD performance.
Tried, but no significant differences. My OS installed on SSD, and my virtual memory is on SSD as well, but rarely got usage since I have 16GB RAM.
celciuz
post Jul 11 2013, 11:46 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 11 2013, 11:25 AM)
gc problem smile.gif
I used LR and PS on my friend's system, similar to mine but he has a GTX280. Also same feel ._. You sure GC plays a role here?
celciuz
post Jul 11 2013, 11:53 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 11 2013, 11:48 AM)
tell me why those graphic designer need quadro system then ? smile.gif
GTX 280 quite old card right ?
If you're referring to CGI etc, I agree. But we are now talking about Lightroom.

*not sure how old is the GTX280, but should be higher end than my HD4870.
celciuz
post Jul 11 2013, 01:55 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 11 2013, 12:08 PM)
GTX280 released yr 08
Lightroom actually quite hunger for ram and etc.
But well, I run on my i5 rig, 16gb and SSD no lag hmm.gif
You must be using some high end graphics card I assume?

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jul 11 2013, 12:14 PM)
Correct, Lightroom doesnt need decent GC, but as u say saving at hdd and ssd deliver almost same speed, especially when u spot removal, and brush alot, it start lagging, im running on ssd crucial m4, 8gb ram , i5 also feel abit lag sometime when doing alot of layer brush, editing 18mp raw file only, I cant imagine how slow if edit d800 raw @@"
From my experience, I shoot with both D700 and D800 in NEF 14-bit lossless, basically during post processing as I arrange the images based on shoot time I can't exactly tell if I'm editing on 12MP or 36MP... feels similar to me in terms of speed and system responsiveness, but I have a habit of generating all the 1:1 previews ready. And yes I use a lot of spot removal too + brush layer ever since LR4 and now LR5 I rarely get into Photoshop unless I need liquify.
celciuz
post Jul 11 2013, 07:28 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 11 2013, 06:49 PM)
Yea when editing, the difference is minimal since it's already loaded in memory. But when you load next picture, I think there should be difference. Or even startup lightroom or when you activate lightroom from background, etc.

Didn't really monitor VM, but from my previous experience, seems Windows will use VM even if you have more than enough RAM.

Are you on Windows 7 or 8?
I'm on 7, 8 didn't catch my attention yet LOL.
celciuz
post Jul 11 2013, 10:46 PM

14,037 posts

Awaiting for the MBP Haswell to arrive... at the moment my notebooks aren't powerful enough sad.gif But I was thinking if my desktop with i7-3770 also not that smooth... I wonder how would the MBP perform :S
celciuz
post Jul 12 2013, 07:44 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 12 2013, 01:18 AM)
is that your PSU aging? XD
because my old rig PSU aging (still working) and power output slowly decrease till it spoil my graphic card recently. and HDD nearly die...

till my friend use my new PSU to feed higher power to make it normal state  unsure.gif

i'm not sure about that la.
My PC is assembled last year, all new except GC is old. Using a Corsair TX650M.

QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 12 2013, 05:02 AM)
Retina mbp 15 is fast! But of course expensive sweat.gif  laugh.gif

I tried LR5 on my studio imac 27 inch, seems to be okay. Didnt try with D800 raw file yet though lol
Yeap, but its the only few with IPS screen. I actually prefer Windows, but haven't seen one with IPS and good price. I mean if the Windows is going to cost as much as a MBP, might as well buy a MBP?

But at the moment waiting for Haswell, since its around the corner. Just don't like buying Apple items when it has release for sometime since its close to EOL. I always buy them when they release, "last longer".
celciuz
post Jul 12 2013, 10:44 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jul 12 2013, 09:29 AM)
Awesome tip, will try this out smile.gif

Btw, another way to "speed up" would be to disable automatically saving to .xmp which I read somewhere. Downside, if you are halfway editing and LR crashes, you loose your edits. LR5 isn't as stable LR4 on my system, maybe due to the .xmp saving perhaps? sad.gif
celciuz
post Jul 12 2013, 01:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 12 2013, 12:02 PM)
I've seen alot of windows based laptop and alot of them doesnt have a screen as nice as mbp. Viewing angle on some of the laptop are just horrible, off center abit cannot see anything already. The one which has usually will cost almost similar to mbp laugh.gif

That is one of the reason i choose mbp over normal windows based laptop tongue.gif
Yeap, same as me! But I'm waiting for the Haswell to arrive instead, definitely grabbing a 15" MBP.
celciuz
post Jul 12 2013, 02:09 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 12 2013, 01:43 PM)
it is good for carrying around and their screen is awesome!!!

but for semi-gamer like me i still prefer desktop + windows with a 30" LCD TV laugh.gif
Besides, Apple logo looks more up market LOL! Well, just saying tongue.gif

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 12 2013, 02:05 PM)
last time used as living room TV, but the reception in my condo no good so i use it as my monitor, somehow the old CRT TV can get better reception than the new TV doh.gif

but TV dynamic range not very good la, color also not very accurate

if really use for photo editing better use LCD with IPS panel
My parent's room TV is a 50" IPS wor, but light bleed damn jialat -.-
celciuz
post Jul 12 2013, 04:04 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 12 2013, 03:36 PM)
50" drool.gif wub.gif

if the middle part is still good then okay lar
IPS and VA is very common among those LCD TV actually, I haven't seen any TN tv yet.
celciuz
post Jul 12 2013, 08:51 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 12 2013, 05:39 PM)
How about the upcoming Illegear 13" with Haswell i7, Nvidia GTX765M, FullHD IPS, and full customizability (HDD/SSD/Wirelless cards/RAM/etc.)?  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Sounds interesting, what's the price like? biggrin.gif

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0566sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:12 PM