WTA - Mini Heat Pump
TSidoblu
Apr 25 2013, 10:21 PM, updated 13y ago
I'm wondering how does this thing works and if anyone install one ? It's suppose to heat up water but the part that intrigues me most is that it releases cool air that I can cool my place with......hmmm how does that works? It uses R22 gas like an Aircon? And energy saving at the same time? Info - Saves up to 80% of your heating bills. Description - The PECOL® Mini Heat Pump is based on our revolutionary technology - Energy Multiplier. This product can effectively save up to 80% of your water heating bills and is ideal for your entire household’s hot water supply, 24 hours a day. On top of that, you will also enjoy cool air generated as a by-product as it is of the MHP system. Specifications - » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Features - Great Savings on Electricity Safe & Quiet Minimum maintenance Space efficient Pollution Free Fully guaranteed Free Cool Air
skng03
Apr 25 2013, 10:31 PM
how much? cheaper/ expensive if to compare with solar heater, let say model mhp 50
petlu28
Apr 25 2013, 10:41 PM
Need change all PVC piping?
JinXXX
Apr 25 2013, 11:11 PM
what is the power usage ???,
so far i see the heating element/back up is 3kw...
normal usage when using the heat pump/aka reverse aircond mode
ozak
Apr 26 2013, 10:30 AM
The technology same as the local making heater SEER. Just search the seer website.
They use the peltier tech to transfer the heat. And it is reverse if you want it cool. I use this devise to overclock my pc last time.
TSidoblu
Apr 26 2013, 11:02 AM
thanks ozak ... hmmm....the comparison between Seer's Hybrid and Pecol Mini Heat Pump Seers - http://seers.com.my/our-product/centralize...ot-water-system Pecol - http://www.pecol.com.my/faqs.php#MiniHeatPump  At first, I thought the Pecol one sounds too good to be true but now the Seer's unit lagi magical Are they really that efficient? It sounds like free energy.....almost This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 26 2013, 11:09 AM
ozak
Apr 26 2013, 03:23 PM
I have read this for sometime. It is save electrical compare to the instant heater and boiling type. Seers have few model.
But the con's is, it take time to heat up the water. So it best to let it ON whole day. It doesn't consume much power. The heating ceramic element have to change every few yrs. As what the saleman told.
For the cost, cheaper abit than solar heater. But I would rather get the solar heater for few more hundred. At least solar heater total no use electrical.
TSidoblu
Apr 26 2013, 03:44 PM
i wonder if this thing is cheaper to run compare to just ordinary storage water heaters. i guess for a household full of people it will be more economical but say for one or two person....
the Seer's unit doesnt seem to use compressor or freon like other heat pumps. im sure there are some pros and cons to this, just wonder what
Calvin Kline
Apr 29 2013, 10:56 PM
If look carefully, the Seer system uses DC12v. So 12V means less electricity consumption than 240V? Or how should I put it, the electrical goods in USA 110V uses less power than Malaysian 240V? The answer now is obvious, 'NO'. the hot water recovery is too slow 60L/min for 0.5kW input with 2kW heating capacity. Slow and inefficient from my understanding. Agree with Ozak, you got to on 24hrs, end up power consumption might be the same or higher. 12V uses less electricity? As for the MHP, it will consume quite a fair bit electricity, as the compressor is 1hp and above. If you want to get the cool air, better install the 1hp Aircond. But Pecol has a good system that gives free hot water. Modify your existing AC split unit and add in a water heater tank. But this modification will cost you RM2k+ with installation for 60L tank. But what happened if you never switch on the AC for one week? Then you got to switch on the 3kW heating element? Hehe. Nothing is for free. Hoho. Only Sun is free for this moment. There should be more R&D how to fully utilize our solar power.
ozak
Apr 30 2013, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 26 2013, 03:44 PM) i wonder if this thing is cheaper to run compare to just ordinary storage water heaters. i guess for a household full of people it will be more economical but say for one or two person.... the Seer's unit doesnt seem to use compressor or freon like other heat pumps. im sure there are some pros and cons to this, just wonder what The concept of this heat pump running is like aircon split unit. What your outdoor unit do in aircon is, it dissipate the hot air out from the condenser coil by fan. Once the gas cool down in the condenser, the compressor will pump back to your indoor unit. And you get the cool air. For the hot water heat pump, the condenser is exchange the heat with another coil fill up with gas. The exchange coil will transfer the hot gas to the hot water storage tank. Gradually heat up the water till the setting temperature. And you get the benifit of cool air indoor just like aircon. You just think like an aircon concept running will do.
ozak
Apr 30 2013, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(Calvin Kline @ Apr 29 2013, 10:56 PM) If look carefully, the Seer system uses DC12v. So 12V means less electricity consumption than 240V? Or how should I put it, the electrical goods in USA 110V uses less power than Malaysian 240V? The answer now is obvious, 'NO'. the hot water recovery is too slow 60L/min for 0.5kW input with 2kW heating capacity. Slow and inefficient from my understanding. Agree with Ozak, you got to on 24hrs, end up power consumption might be the same or higher. 12V uses less electricity? As for the MHP, it will consume quite a fair bit electricity, as the compressor is 1hp and above. If you want to get the cool air, better install the 1hp Aircond. But Pecol has a good system that gives free hot water. Modify your existing AC split unit and add in a water heater tank. But this modification will cost you RM2k+ with installation for 60L tank. But what happened if you never switch on the AC for one week? Then you got to switch on the 3kW heating element? Hehe. Nothing is for free. Hoho. Only Sun is free for this moment. There should be more R&D how to fully utilize our solar power. Actually I suspect the ads is misleading for seers hot water. In electrical learning, lower voltage and higher voltage or AC/DC doesn't mean save power. It didn't relate to save power at all. What we consumer need to know is the WATT. This is the real consumption that the unit will use to run or heat up something. Our home meter is measure the actual WATT using in kilowatt perhour (KWH). You buy all the electrical applicant will tell you how many WATT the unit is using. Is it save energy or not. For seers hot water tank, it need a converter from AC240v convert to DC12v to run the heat pump. In the brochure it state average running power is 0.24kw or 240w. So how long it need to heat up the water in the tank?
Calvin Kline
Apr 30 2013, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 30 2013, 09:39 AM) Actually I suspect the ads is misleading for seers hot water. In electrical learning, lower voltage and higher voltage or AC/DC doesn't mean save power. It didn't relate to save power at all. What we consumer need to know is the WATT. This is the real consumption that the unit will use to run or heat up something. Our home meter is measure the actual WATT using in kilowatt perhour (KWH). You buy all the electrical applicant will tell you how many WATT the unit is using. Is it save energy or not. For seers hot water tank, it need a converter from AC240v convert to DC12v to run the heat pump. In the brochure it state average running power is 0.24kw or 240w. So how long it need to heat up the water in the tank? From Idoblu's Seer spec, SL-100L 0.24kW will need one hour to heat up 30L (30L/hr). If you manage to consume all the first 100L, it will take 3hr 19min 48sec to heat up the following 100liters of water. This is the time required to save electricity. So, the choice is yours, Waiting time Vs Electricity saving. Comparing with the conventional boiler tank (80L) which uses 3kW heating element, most boiler will take less than 30mins to heat up 80L of water. Then, you have to see how much is your 2hr++ worth. Fast, pay more
JinXXX
Apr 30 2013, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Calvin Kline @ Apr 30 2013, 09:26 PM) From Idoblu's Seer spec, SL-100L 0.24kW will need one hour to heat up 30L (30L/hr). If you manage to consume all the first 100L, it will take 3hr 19min 48sec to heat up the following 100liters of water. This is the time required to save electricity. So, the choice is yours, Waiting time Vs Electricity saving. Comparing with the conventional boiler tank (80L) which uses 3kW heating element, most boiler will take less than 30mins to heat up 80L of water. Then, you have to see how much is your 2hr++ worth. Fast, pay more  get a bigger tank and let it run.. slow and steady wins the race ? no.. i think we need to see the angle of maintaining the temp eg 100 liters heated up to 60 Celsius, compare over night, how much power does it take to maintain the temp at 60, how good the insulation also comes to discussion here... i somewhat like the seers concept can install it in the attic where its hot.. so it can recover the heat from there...
TSidoblu
May 1 2013, 07:41 AM
So bottom line (for layman like me  ) Is mini heat pump or ordinary water storage heater more energy saving? I only care about how much electricity bill I have to pay each month and not worry about initial equipment cost, etc Seer is out of the consideration (for me) This post has been edited by idoblu: May 1 2013, 07:43 AM
JinXXX
May 1 2013, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ May 1 2013, 07:41 AM) So bottom line (for layman like me  ) Is mini heat pump or ordinary water storage heater more energy saving? I only care about how much electricity bill I have to pay each month and not worry about initial equipment cost, etc Seer is out of the consideration (for me) zero electric bill... solar water heater..
ozak
May 1 2013, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ May 1 2013, 07:41 AM) So bottom line (for layman like me  ) Is mini heat pump or ordinary water storage heater more energy saving? I only care about how much electricity bill I have to pay each month and not worry about initial equipment cost, etc Seer is out of the consideration (for me) As Jinxxx said, go for free energy. I have sturdy before the usage which is the best for me. At the end, solar heater is better. In term of initial cost, solar is expensive. But won't run far from the seer. Unless the seer cost can go down till half of the solar heater. Usage cost, solar heater is free energy. Zero bill. Safety. Longer lifespan. I m not sure the heat pump cost.
JinXXX
May 1 2013, 12:32 PM
for landed we have the option for solar water heater.. what about condo..
whats the cheapest method for full unit for water heater ???
TSidoblu
May 1 2013, 12:38 PM
Somehow I don't like the idea of a solar heater. I think it needs quite a bit of maintenance. No Sun that time it runs on electricity which is quite a bit due to the large tank. Got Sun that time, I don't need hot water
Anyway for me it's not possible - condo mah
ozak
May 1 2013, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 1 2013, 12:32 PM) for landed we have the option for solar water heater.. what about condo.. whats the cheapest method for full unit for water heater ??? Instant heater. Cheap and lower cost usage. But cannot get big shower feeling lah.
JinXXX
May 1 2013, 12:56 PM
in regardings to solar water heater.. now days.. more and more homes punya roof truss all using the besi one..
how many ppl actually strengthen their trusses and all when installing a solar water heater ?
cause i see the "c" channel like so "fragile"....