QUOTE(zzerosz @ Jun 17 2018, 01:26 AM)
Hi all sifus
I am from accounting and finance background and currently working as a corporate advisory in a boutique advisory firm.
I'm now considering to enroll in the part-time course of either BoJ (external course in UM) or LLB of UoL (most likely will enroll the classes in BAC). I understand the course structure or modules are different for both of the courses. So I would like to have some feedback from you guys before I make my decision.
1) I understand that the BoJ is mainly based on Malaysian Law and UoL is based on U.K. Law. But when come to looking for a job after the graduation, does the candidate with the LLB of UoL have the advantage compare to the BoJ? As I heard from some practitioners that practice in U.K Law always has the advantage.
2) Is the requirement of admission to the CLP is to have at least second upper for the LLB of UoL (external course)? or even with a second lower LLB is more than enough?
3) Is it possible to do the UoL LLB (external course) purely by self-study? Or I should say, is it doable? Because I'm actually done the self-study on CFA and ACCA but I'm not sure whether it is the same thing for this course or it is a different ball game.
4) I'm turning 25 this year and I assume to get the CLP by age 29. Is it a little too old for me to start as the pupilage? I understand there is no age restriction on this. But I'm not sure whether in the field is there any norm in age discrimination.
Thank you in advance and in a meanwhile, I will continue my research on this matter in order to make a wise choice. Cheers!
Hi. I probably can share a little cause we have similarity.
Ive done uol llb, clp, acca and cfa and i must say finance or accounting related papers are generally easier for self study, as the subject matter is pretty much straight forward and less arguable (except cfa l3). If you done self study for cfa l3 then u might hace a fair chance to pass first year llb.
Having said that uol llb interntional program is "meant for self study" but i think it is better to attend lesson + take the opportunity for networking. I didnt end up practicing law for obvious reason, remuneration. Think properly first if law is really what you want to do. Age doesnt matter. I know a prof who passed his clp exam at the age of 4x plus. He also has prior accounting background.
To sit for clp u only need second lower.