indoor water feature, water feature / koi pond

ShadowR1
post Apr 26 2013, 02:26 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

I have a koi pond in my living area. Its a 10' x 10' x 4' deep and a 3' x 11' x 5' deep filter.
Humidity is not as issue at all as per say by some. Cant say much bout fengsui.
Let me know what I can help.

***edit***
My pond is in service for 4 years now.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Apr 26 2013, 02:27 PM
ShadowR1
post Apr 27 2013, 07:41 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Here u go ...
Cant remember the cost liow ... take extra effort for the filter eg ... mechanical and bio chamber
ShadowR1
post Apr 28 2013, 10:38 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(ryzzal @ Apr 28 2013, 09:16 PM)
Thats nice...

Can recommend ur contractor?
My self is the PM, I hire 3 Indonesian worker to do it. Total construction time around 3 months.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Apr 28 2013, 10:53 PM
ShadowR1
post Apr 28 2013, 10:40 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 28 2013, 09:57 PM)
How frequent you clean your pond?
Btw, it is a nice pond.
Never clean the pond before. Once a month flush the settlement chamber and 6 months once clean the whole filter chamber.
Filter chamber consist of 5 chamber (settlement, brush, brush, bio, pump)
ShadowR1
post Apr 28 2013, 10:50 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

For those who is considering to build a koi pond, indoor or out door. My advise is to ask your contractor to give you a schematic drawing of the pond and share it here. I might be able to help to prevent future "aiyah ... should have thought of that" incident. There are loads of peeps out there who claim to have build lots of koi pond before but in actual fact they know nuts bout koi. Rule of thumb of building a koi pond is do it right the first time. Playing with concrete has no second chance.
ShadowR1
post Apr 28 2013, 10:52 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Apr 28 2013, 08:31 PM)
Whats your dog doing in that pond?
My dog enjoy koi as well, she will lepak there and look at the koi every now and then.
ShadowR1
post Apr 29 2013, 03:41 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 29 2013, 02:31 PM)
6 months clean once???  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
How you achieve that, everyone that i ask around they say must clean once a month, and it cost about RM 200 to clean once.
Mind to share how you flush the settlement chamber?
I have a 2" drain pipe in each of my chamber link to the drain, this is in place because I can chose which chamber to drain without draining all the chamber.

I just pull the 2" pvc in the settlement chamber and viola ... all the gunk is gone.
ShadowR1
post Apr 29 2013, 06:06 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Apr 29 2013, 03:49 PM)
nice.. can share more picture.. this is dry pond is it? mean water below the glass panel? great way to display without having nightmare of water splashes..
The water level is about 12" below the glass panel. The pond is covered by 3 feet of glass and another 3 feet by concrete slab. It stretch deep into the living hall. More pict ah ... errr what you wanna see.
ShadowR1
post Apr 29 2013, 06:11 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 29 2013, 04:32 PM)
That is easy maintenance.
Is your pond expose to sunlight?
Errr ... once a month flushing of the settlement chamber will take me 15 minutes to flush and another 30 minutes to fill it back up = yeah, relatively easy.

6 month once full filter cleaning is different, it takes me aprox 1 hour to take out all the media eg. brush, bio beads to clean with high pressure jet and put it back and another 1 hour plus waiting time to fill the water back to my designated level. Quite a workout for the weekend for some. sweat.gif

***edit***
My pond is expose to very limited sunlight (UV). My main door is about 5 feet away to the pond and that's the only way sunlight can penetrate to the pond and my house is facing south. There are some algae build up on the pond wall but just a light green hue, nothing serious as to algae bloom and no string algae.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Apr 29 2013, 06:14 PM
ShadowR1
post Apr 29 2013, 08:30 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Apr 29 2013, 07:48 PM)
well, i cant imagine the pond.. so, basically what seen in the pic is only a part of the pond which is half your living hall (unseen part of pond), and half is glass with open surface?
Here a draft for you to understand better ...
Koi is not that hard to keep as a hobby provided you read tonnes of information about koi behavior, symptoms of sickness and remedy method, water parameter eg complete nitrogen cycle, maintain stable water ph / kh ect ... and I can go on and on but not to scared off anione who is tempting to have koi, its not rocket science. Trust me rolleyes.gif .

I cant be more agree with you on the part when come feeding time ... thumbup.gif they will always have that "Oik ... mana makan" FACE ...

ShadowR1
post Apr 29 2013, 11:24 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 29 2013, 09:41 PM)
Wan! Half year service also DIY ah?  notworthy.gif
There some good doing it yourself, you gets to know if there is something is wrong with your pond hence the trouble if was not spotted earlier.
Some parasite might colonize your filter chamber and this could lead to an outbreak which in turns take more of your time to treat or worst ... whole pond submarine turn up side down.

1 hours not that bad la ...
ShadowR1
post Jul 6 2013, 01:55 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(abunuha @ Jul 6 2013, 12:34 PM)
Can u show us your filter setup pictures?
Gib me some time to dig for the photo as my pond is commissioned 3+ years ago. Its a 3' x 11' in total and consist of 4 chamber.

1st vortex to collect all heavy sediment
2nd brush for fine sediment
3rd bio chamber with heavy aeration
4th coral + pump

I should have a dry chamber so that filter chamber flushing job can be made easier.
ShadowR1
post Jul 6 2013, 08:07 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(abunuha @ Jul 6 2013, 06:40 PM)
Where is your filter located?
Under the staircase.
ShadowR1
post Jul 17 2013, 05:37 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(abunuha @ Jul 6 2013, 06:40 PM)
Where is your filter located?
Here u go ....

ShadowR1
post Jul 22 2013, 01:18 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jul 22 2013, 11:05 AM)
wow~ impressive.
Thought of doing a pond too, but when it comes to filtering.
It takes alot of money to buy quality medias.
The pump itself already squeezing money out of my purse 24/7.
So i'm still pending my dream.
You are right and wrong. Generally there are two media for the filtering system, mechanical and biological.
For mechanical, those brush will last a very long time so one off purchase, if I remember correctly I bought mine at Rm12 per pcs and approx 40 of it in my brush chamber.

For biological media, I use aquaclay if i spelled it correctly but you can opt for cheaper option eg crystal bio, siporax, ceramic ring and the like. All works the same. Biological media will last for a very long time as well with periodic cleaning. (back breaking works)

Pump nowadays consume much less juice le ... this world where got free lunch la ...
ShadowR1
post Jul 22 2013, 02:47 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ Jul 22 2013, 01:53 PM)
If only i have your skill and DIY, can save money as hiring the company to build pond and supply filter cost a bomb.
I understand how you feel, been there done that. Be very careful when selecting a contractor for Koi pond as many will say all sort of things to convince you and some will even bring you to visit some of their works but still know nuts bout Koi pond.
ShadowR1
post Jul 22 2013, 06:14 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jul 22 2013, 04:37 PM)
which pump would you recommend?
It depends on what is your application is for.

- water featurel, what is the size of the feature wall and the size of the water retention area.
- koi pond, what is the size of the pond or the tonnage.

The main difference of the two is that for water feature, you dont really need a powerful pump unless its a huge water feature facade.
As for koi pond, you have to consider the turn over of the pond water, minimum for koi pond is one cycle per hour and the more cycle turn over the better. You have to look at the design of your koi pond as to where to locate you return pipe so that the flow is evenly distributed.
ShadowR1
post Dec 25 2015, 12:27 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Dec 24 2015, 09:30 PM)
I am in the midst of renovating my house and wanting to build a fish pond out in my garden area. Want to have water feature to flow down from the wall into the pond. Not sure what is consider a good design and what media / material / equipment needed for all of this
Tell me what yo want ... what you know ... and we can work from there.
ShadowR1
post Jan 2 2016, 07:23 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Dec 25 2015, 07:11 AM)
Well I don't know anything about pond and water feature. Doesn't even know how the filter or pump works. I will like a pond about 3 feet wide 1.5 feet deep and 5feet long. A feature wall about 6 feet height. Want to have water following down from the wall into the pond.
Sorry for the late reply, was away for awhile.

1.5 feet deep is too shallow, make it 2' or better still 2.5', when the pump for the water feature kick in, your pond water will be reduce by quite a lot.

How about filtration ? you will be using external canister filter or you will have the filter chamber incorporated to the pond ?

***edit***
Is your pond indoor ? having an indoor pond with a water feature wall is quite noisy if its indoor (I learn it the hard way)

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Jan 2 2016, 07:25 PM
ShadowR1
post Dec 22 2020, 11:43 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Cheeky @ Dec 22 2020, 11:38 PM)
I am thinking of building a koi pond inside my house. I heard from MBPJ that there is a rule that the pond should be at least two feet away from the house boundary but I cannot find this rule anywhere. Does anybody know anything about this? Appreciate your help.
Wua ... u necro a 4 yo tread ah ...

Never hear that before ... but mine is mpkj la.

0.0339sec    1.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:45 AM