STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V130, Bull rally after GE

jasontoh
post May 9 2013, 11:33 AM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ May 9 2013, 11:15 AM)
This happens especially in O&G industry... jump 1 time your salary jump 30%, who dun wan? Better than buying stocks lol
There is a limit of how many times you can jump. Eventually your skill set is not on par with your pay and you will face termination.
jasontoh
post May 9 2013, 02:47 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ May 9 2013, 02:43 PM)
rclxub.gif I chicken run............sell too early

but still 40% in half year
Still better than pana's 116% in 30 months, in fact twice the record biggrin.gif

jasontoh
post May 9 2013, 02:51 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 9 2013, 02:48 PM)
No, I didnt top up anything since 1st time buy.

Dividend received is use to minus my cost.

So far received RM1,990 dividend from GAB over the years.
Your 116% up is after minus all the div as cost? hmm.gif
jasontoh
post May 9 2013, 02:58 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 9 2013, 02:50 PM)
But according to min wages, maid is excluded from min wages, until now scratching head to understand the logic of it.

I am the one support maid getting min wages, as too cheap maid wages is not a good trend for raising family and can spoil kids future as well.
I have seen some kids even tighten shoe string also need to call maid instead do it themselves, want to drink water, call maid to do. Everything kakak this kakak that.
Living cost too high. Both husband and wife need to work in order to stay in big house and get big cars
jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 03:25 PM

8,438 posts

Actually writing off dividend as cost is an effective way to calculate the real profit from specific stock, unfortunately, I'm too lazy to do it. Without updating the dividend as cost, your cost will remain the same until you sell it, either at loss or gain, but it will never be the real net gain/loss.
jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 03:33 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 10 2013, 03:27 PM)
Take one example

Referring Insider Asia model portfolio #500 & #501

Counter : GENTING

The author received a 3.5 sens dividend, and it was adjusted into their costing, bringing down their costing from 9.43 to 9.395

So is he wrong?
I think it's correct. Different people have different style. I did not do it because I'm too lazy to track it. I would say, for you, if you do so, you will get real profit rather than I'm just having "not so real" as all my dividends/bonus issues/right issues/warrants are not included as the cost. If stock is in profit, I would say, it will be definitely be more than what I actually mentioned. Eg. a stock give RM3 give 20c div, and I sold at RM3.50, my profit would be just 50c rather than 70c. I would say this method is best measure if you want to see the real profit, but to me, agak-agak also can already, as I don't want spend time adjusting the cost.
jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 03:34 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 10 2013, 03:29 PM)
If investments are for future retirement for example , u need to build  an amount for future expenses ( with inflation factor ).

Or else yr money kinda  depreciates let say 7% a year.
If dividend, I just take the yield per annum. So assuming I want to have 60K per annum to retired, I would need at least 1M of investment capital in the dividend stocks that give me a net gain of 6% per year.
jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 03:44 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 10 2013, 03:41 PM)
Well, If yr retirement is 30 years down the road , yr present 60K  expenses need to be inflation compounded at let say 5 to 10% ( % is  let say only ) i.e your future estimated expenses .
I believe, barring any unforseen circumstances, my expenses will not be at 60K per annum as I would have already finish paying off my house and car loan. Not to mention, I still have EPF and maybe even rental income. So, the 5K per month usage is already include with the inflation.
jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 03:55 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 10 2013, 03:49 PM)
1) Car is one tricky future lumpy item, do not know how long it could last even if u do not intend to buy another car in the future
2) Health level drops, but health expenses may go up
3) children expenses
4) parent expenses
5) etc etc
1)Good maintenance will prolong the lifespan of the car lo.
2)That's why need insurance
3)That's why don't spoon feed them
4)If you are very old, I think parents also same.
5) yawn.gif
jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 03:56 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(cks @ May 10 2013, 03:51 PM)
I think u get the wrong concept...
I also dunno where he is wrong, but his calculation looks a bit wrong to me. I just can't figure it out.
jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 04:01 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 10 2013, 03:59 PM)
Care to explain why based on the example.
What's the gain? And what's the percentage gain?

My method

Gain = Sell price + dividends - buy price = 1.50 + 40 - 1.00 = 90 sen.

Percentage gain = Gain / buy price = 90 sen / 1.00 = 90%.
I think, if you never deduct the dividend cost, you won't bother put dividend as your gain, just like I never. So your gain will be 50/1.00 a.k.a 50%.

Using the dividend minus cost will give you a real net gain, which you then minus your initial cost aka RM1.00
So, you will get 90c/1.00 = 90%.

jasontoh
post May 10 2013, 04:09 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 10 2013, 04:07 PM)
Despite being a trader, I do keep a record of my dividends and if I want to review my performance, I will ADD the dividends to my gain.
Ok, so it's only me who never keep track. In fact, I never added any of the "entitlements" for all the stocks I have bought and sold, and I think this way to way too wrong already. sad.gif
jasontoh
post May 11 2013, 10:55 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ May 11 2013, 08:02 PM)
Sold off all my klse counter to take profit.
Go for golden agri and wilmar.

Bye bye klse  biggrin.gif
cheers.gif I'll be attacking Singapore stocks soon. Wait for me to join you biggrin.gif
jasontoh
post May 13 2013, 09:03 AM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ May 13 2013, 09:02 AM)
hmm.gif CI +10p, 1800 really soon
VROOOOMMM!!! tongue.gif
jasontoh
post May 13 2013, 10:20 AM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 13 2013, 09:37 AM)
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/695100

Good reading, MBSB wants to become full fledged bank and plans for capital raising in second half of this year. (Rights Issue, Dividend Reinvestment Plan or bonds). Personally I think it would be rights issue.  biggrin.gif
VROOOMMMM!!! biggrin.gif
jasontoh
post May 13 2013, 10:35 AM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 13 2013, 10:14 AM)
haha it is yr choice.

I did sell my 50% Tambun off, leaving 50% bal to collect dividends.

I apply zero cost investment concept.. yawn.gif
I agree with this style. I'm practicing the same as well so that I don't miss out on any bull run, but at the same time, my capital will not tie to a stocks for loooooooooonnnnnnnnnng time. yawn.gif
jasontoh
post May 13 2013, 10:38 AM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ May 13 2013, 10:34 AM)
hmm.gif Property perform good this year...............simply 50% gain in half year
Unfortunately not all cry.gif
jasontoh
post May 13 2013, 10:50 AM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 13 2013, 10:47 AM)
Properties are no more selling like Galaxy 3 or 4.

Smaller companies may have better profit margins than the big ones hmm.gif
I buy smaller companies one. Big ones like Mahsing sold long long time. But really not much movement. sad.gif
jasontoh
post May 13 2013, 08:51 PM

8,438 posts

QUOTE(gark @ May 13 2013, 05:01 PM)
I don't know about you, but when prices of stock rise up like crazy with no catalyst, it scares me .. so sell sell sell.

But sell slowly, not all 1 shot. Go up sell some, go up again sell some..until finish  sweat.gif

If it goes down like a rock then only i will buy. laugh.gif

Another one approaching my sell list after divvy is 2054... go up like rocket... since CIMB gave a glowing review doh.gif
I think our stocks have been going sideways while everywhere on the globe is in bullish mode, thus we are actually catching up. In fact my US stocks have been steadily rising to about 20% this year alone, and although one of it has been dropping recently, but compare to the stocks in KLSE, it fares well ahead. Only after election, my KLSE stocks have been pushing 8% post GE, so I would think that a nice 12% would have brought me to where my US stocks is, and would be ideal. Anyway, with companies pending to pay dividend, I am quite bullish all range bull might be on going for a little longer. Well, at least that's what I hope as well.
jasontoh
post May 14 2013, 10:49 AM

8,438 posts

Economy and world problems will have impact to the fundamentals of stocks. To me a fundamentalist can only ignore chart and fear factor.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0428sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:06 PM