Alcatel One Touch Glory 2S [Official Thread], AKA T'POP

ninask
post May 26 2013, 08:51 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(MrMocha @ May 26 2013, 06:50 PM)
The good thing about this phone is that, it gives a feeling of do-whatever-i-want-even-if-its-bricked-also-not-too-sad.

Advantage to me as this is my 1st experience fiddling with android sys.

Here is the guide i found on the net on how to remove bloatwares. the steps are logic enough.

But, yeah, there's a 'but', the step on 'choose Root Explorer', i got a 'failed' msg. Sure the root permission is granted, but it is something about "sorry test failed, this feature cannot being run on your phone"

Even if i bypass that step, directly want to delete the apk file, nuh... cannot also.
Cannot delete, cannot move, only can freeze.

cry.gif

to those who might got lucky, here's the step by step.

***(Copypaste)****

Explanation
Alcatel included a new partition where are the most system apps (/custpack partition). For this reason apps such as Root Uninstaller don't work completely, although detect the apps, they are not able to uninstall apps because they are programmed to search in /system and /data partitions...

You will learn to uninstall them manually, in a little long but safe method.

Steps
For example, I will uninstall the application: Pinball.

1. In ES File Explorer press Menu button (top left corner) -> Tools and choose Root Explorer, root permission will prompt you, accept.
Note: This step is not necessary if you're just going to uninstall applications of the /custapack partition.

2. Return to the main screen and click on Bookmarks -> / (phone icon).

3. Find the custpack folder and then app. Here are the most of system apps.

4. Search Pinball.apk app (name can vary), hold down on the app until it pops the context menu, then choose Delete and press OK.
Note: Rather than delete the application, you can cut and save it on the SD card to have a backup in case you want in the future reuse it.

5. Exit Es File Explorer and run Link2SD, press Menu -> More and Clear Dalvik-cache.

6. Link2SD will search unnecessary cache, and will let you know if it find something, Press OK.

7.That's it, now you have to restart your phone.

***end-copypaste***
I just use link2sd. Convert to system app > convert to user app > uninstall. Cloud backup & apps on sd were abit tricky tho.
MrMocha
post May 26 2013, 09:12 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(old_calculator @ May 26 2013, 08:29 PM)
I wanna ask u guys, for a rm50 phone, how is the performance compared to say.. Galaxy Y?

I think both of them more or less the same spec but here the alcatel wins the price hands down laugh.gif
The performance is damn worth it for rm50.

The screen quality is nothing to write home about.
Just enough, but definitely not razor sharp. (2/10 of SuperAmoled perhaps?)

Camera wise... freaking forget it. seriously. Ignore it. (unless you are a fan of 3gp)

as a 3rd backup phone, good enough.
Battery hold almost 24hr. depending on how heavy u use it.

Just the frequent insufficient memory is kind of annoying. Even when you move the apps to SD, sometime to install certain apps, we still need a certain space on internal memory.
If not, cannot proceed in installing em.

this "insufficient storage available" problem is quite popular among android user, yes, eventhough you got how many free GB on SD.

hmm... sooner or later, someone might need to do step by step of setting up this phone to be the smoothest rm50 machine.
A bare minimum with no bloatware and enough to run standard app like those FB, Whatsapp and all. biggrin.gif
mastering89
post May 26 2013, 09:37 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

Mine running solely for instagram whatsapp waze shazam and occasional radio (no need earphone to activate, good wut!). with installed go locker , go theme launcher. still smooth as butter (after remove n freezing some of those bloatwares , have cleared ram around 140/2xxmb)

i suggest that for facebook twitter just use the mobile browser, good enuf for twitter. save space and ram summore biggrin.gif
!@#$%^
post May 26 2013, 09:38 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 26 2013, 09:37 PM)
Mine running solely for instagram whatsapp waze shazam and occasional radio (no need earphone to activate, good wut!). with installed go locker , go theme launcher. still smooth as butter (after remove n freezing some of those bloatwares , have cleared ram around 140/2xxmb)

i suggest that for facebook twitter just use the mobile browser, good enuf for twitter. save space and ram summore biggrin.gif
I only use it for whatsapp, browsing and GPS at most. Facebook app definitely no-no. LOL. Using Xperia Launcher about 8mb ram. Quite light
mastering89
post May 26 2013, 09:47 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

tried the live wallpaper, the S3 water touch thingy. eat too much battery and ram sweat.gif
also did the benchmark using Antutu, this guy beat SamsungGalaxy S (the first) flex.gif
aku_dia
post May 26 2013, 09:54 PM

1,041 posts

can anybody help me...
how to install official rom for this phone..."wrong phone model" using one touch upgrade s software.. want to get sim unlock to use maxis with it... no need to root or flash custom rom
MrMocha
post May 26 2013, 10:18 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(aku_dia @ May 26 2013, 09:54 PM)
can anybody help me...
how to install official rom for this phone..."wrong phone model" using one touch upgrade s software.. want to get sim unlock to use maxis with it... no need to root or flash custom rom
Perhaps you are using wrong manager.

Download Here
faux_pas
post May 26 2013, 10:47 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ May 26 2013, 09:38 PM)
I only use it for whatsapp, browsing and GPS at most. Facebook app definitely no-no. LOL. Using Xperia Launcher about 8mb ram. Quite light
im using mihome launcher. i think its much much more lighter than golauncher and experia launcher. icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif
old_calculator
post May 26 2013, 11:45 PM

Don't go away
980 posts

QUOTE(MrMocha @ May 26 2013, 09:12 PM)
The performance is damn worth it for rm50.

hmm... sooner or later, someone might need to do step by step of setting up this phone to be the smoothest rm50 machine.
A bare minimum with no bloatware and enough to run standard app like those FB, Whatsapp and all.  biggrin.gif
Nice review there man. By the looks of it, the best rm50 spent on phone probably nod.gif
jayXzMx
post May 27 2013, 01:33 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(old_calculator @ May 26 2013, 11:45 PM)
Nice review there man. By the looks of it, the best rm50 spent on phone probably  nod.gif
By the way u can use link2sd and swapper (need root permission) then u can have alot of apps and ur ram will extended depend on ur setting. smile.gif
!@#$%^
post May 27 2013, 02:12 AM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(jayXzMx @ May 27 2013, 01:33 AM)
By the way u can use link2sd and swapper (need root permission) then u can have alot of apps and ur ram will extended depend on ur setting. smile.gif
AFAIK only can increase 'internal memory'. Care to explain more about the RAM?
ZodeHide
post May 27 2013, 03:55 AM

Hello guys,how about changing the fonts in this phone..anyone know how?

girlgeneration
post May 27 2013, 04:15 AM

how long time taken to flash this phone using onetouch upgrade software??? o.O
ZodeHide
post May 27 2013, 04:36 AM

info for those who were thinking in expanding this phone RAM ..this phone kernel is not swap compatible..means u cant add more RAM using RAM Expander apps..just use Link2sd apps and froze those unwanted things or either delete it to light up ur phone RAM..i manage to free my RAM up to 40mb and still using NextlauncherLite,Golocker,Wechat plus widgets and it runs smoothly like butter on a hot pan..hehe..im really satisfied with this phone,50 ringgit only meh~
naruto_412
post May 27 2013, 10:20 AM

102 posts

anyone try waze on it ? thinking to get this phone for gps purpose ? btw does the gps work offline with such as papago apps . or tom tom ?
!@#$%^
post May 27 2013, 10:43 AM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ May 27 2013, 10:20 AM)
anyone try waze on it ? thinking to get this phone for gps purpose ? btw does the gps work offline with such as papago apps . or tom tom ?
works with papago. but might need to use gps test for faster logon to the satellites
naruto_412
post May 27 2013, 10:48 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ May 27 2013, 11:43 AM)
works with papago. but might need to use gps test for faster logon to the satellites
what do u means by gps test ?
!@#$%^
post May 27 2013, 10:50 AM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ May 27 2013, 10:48 AM)
what do u means by gps test ?
It's an android app. Not only it functions to test whether your phone's GPS is working, it also helps to logon to the satellites.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...s.gpstest&hl=en
naruto_412
post May 27 2013, 10:58 AM

102 posts

didnt know such apps exist . thanks btw .
old_calculator
post May 27 2013, 11:48 AM

Don't go away
980 posts

QUOTE(jayXzMx @ May 27 2013, 01:33 AM)
QUOTE(ZodeHide @ May 27 2013, 04:36 AM)
info for those who were thinking in expanding this phone RAM ..this phone kernel is not swap compatible..means u cant add more RAM using RAM Expander apps..just use Link2sd apps and froze those unwanted things or either delete it to light up ur phone RAM..i manage to free my RAM up to 40mb and still using NextlauncherLite,Golocker,Wechat plus widgets and it runs smoothly like butter on a hot pan..hehe..im really satisfied with this phone,50 ringgit only meh~
Thanks for the tips dude thumbup.gif
Could be handy in the future biggrin.gif

72 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:15 AM