Alcatel One Touch Glory 2S [Official Thread], AKA T'POP

MrMocha
post May 27 2013, 09:26 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ May 27 2013, 09:24 PM)
I cant use my keyboard it seems i unistalled the app for keyboard input choice.
Anyone here can recommend me which app I need to fix this ?
I replace the stock keyboard with SwiftKey keyboard. (awesomely predictive. Got English and Malay)
The stock one keep mistyping for some reason for the key near the bezel.
MrMocha
post May 28 2013, 12:01 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ May 27 2013, 11:58 PM)
Just got my rm50 alcatel today, pure white, yet to check it out, just back from work laugh.gif

No ics 4.0 for us right? Anyway the size is great for a backup phone, dual sim somemore. smile.gif

Still got many things to learn from you guys notworthy.gif
hmm.gif Dual sim?
MrMocha
post May 29 2013, 12:32 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(funtikar @ May 29 2013, 12:17 PM)
eh camne ko unlock sim? call digi ke?

BTW baru beli hp ni semalam dengan rebate tapi beli dgn harga rm139, dulu rm50, seller tu cakap rm50 tu limited promotion ke kena scam ni? mellow.gif
=_= yep, kene scam. (if its the same model)
Normal shop mmg macam tu.
Yang aku jumpa minggu lepas, dia mmg cakap ada stok, tapi bukan under digi, rm100. Yg digi punya xde stok katanya. (bye-bye)

Only the participating shop and digi outlet je rm50.
MrMocha
post May 30 2013, 01:30 AM

193 posts

Is there any difference between factory restore vs rom flashing?

Though this is my 1st android,
this is certainly not my last.
iOS is good in its own. But there's a limitation enforced by apple. This cannot, that cannot, this cannot share, that cannot transfer.
The smoothness is good though. own a 3GS iphone.

Now android already got alternative to cater my preference, be it in style, interface, functional or even smoothness.

I'm eyeing a dual sim android next.
Watch list:
- Galaxy Core (seems like my 1st target)
- HTC Desire 600 (will depend on the price, heard something like overpriced)

honorary mention:
- Galaxy Win

p.s: what do you guys think?

This post has been edited by MrMocha: May 30 2013, 01:30 AM
MrMocha
post Jun 1 2013, 12:38 AM

193 posts

after a few series of experimenting, i made a decision to clean install on the phone.

1- Using One Touch Upgrade S 2.8.0 I flashed the phone.

*Remove the battery for the entire process. Made sure that laptop could recognize the phone. (Win8 64x) Then i removed the phone again.
Open up the software, clicked start. waited till it ask to connect my phone via usb. Connected, wait for software to finish download.
at one point it will ask to remove the phone. so just remove it, and click the button in the software. "Upgrade" button if i'm not mistaken.
Then it will ask to connect your phone again, so do as it says. It will continue to install the fresh ROM into the phone.
It will inform for when the process end.

2- Time to setup my SD card. I follow the Tutorial
Once done with the formatting the SD card, put it back into the phone, put the battery and turn it on.

3- Rooting the phone.
Following the Mgyun method. Really. the easiest way. A couple of clicks, and done. It will install a Chinese SuperUser.
Tutorial by mR.hyDE
Might be a bit different from the pic because of the latest version of mgyun software. But it still work generally the same.

4- Download SuperSU from Play Store. Install, and open it up. does it ask to update binary? click yes, format type, normal.
See 3 tabs in that SuperSU? The Apps, Logs and Settings?
Click Setting, scroll down and find Install SuperSU into /system. hit on that.
it automatically uninstall the chinese version of superuser and all work as dandy. All english version now.

* Special case, Want to understand the chinese word when prompted for permission?
Explaination by bluehaze

5- Open up Link2SD app, and continue the setup from the previous tutorial for linking the app to sd.

Done.
Link2SD also capable to uninstall the custpack/app. aka unwanted software that cannot be deleted normal way.
that is also being teach here a few pages back. gotta go and find it yourself. Something about converting the custpack app to system app > to user app > delete.

All the best~ cool2.gif

MrMocha
post Jun 1 2013, 01:52 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(keeystar @ Jun 1 2013, 12:30 PM)
hi, how do you flashed the phone by using One Touch Upgrade S 2.8.0?
I couldnt find the phone model which is one touch 4010x, options only 4005 4010 4030 and so on.
when I chose 4010 which I supposed it to be same as 4010x, it said wrong model and asked me to reselect again
hmm...
I choose 4010. without the x. and everything works fine on my end.
MrMocha
post Jun 1 2013, 07:28 PM

193 posts

Unlocking Tutorial

Prepare Your IMEI number (from the box or you could dial *#06#)
and that Digi Phone Number (if you are calling using the sim, then its ok)

1- Call Digi Careline - 0162211800
Input 1 (english) > then input again 1 (for connecting to operator)

2- Tell them you want to unlock your Alcatel phone. They'll ask a few details like name and your IMEI.

3- They will tell you the unlock code. so wrote that down.

4- Change to other sim card. After reboot, the phone will ask for the code. Enter the code.

5- Next dial *#*#3646633#*#*

6- scroll down and click SIMMeLock

7- and follow the step

>>SIM PERSONALIZATION - UNLOCK PERMANENTLY - FINISH

>>NETWORK PERSONALIZATION - UNLOCK PERMANENTLY - FINISH

>>NETWORK SUBSET PERSONALIZATION - UNLOCK PERMANENTLY - FINISH

>>SERVICE PROVIDER PERSONALIZATION - UNLOCK PERMANENTLY - FINISH

8- Done

It never bother to ask me the code again, though it might take a few second longer to connect to your other sim network after reboot. Dont worry, it will connect and no more lock.

p.s: Thanks to ninask and others.
MrMocha
post Jun 2 2013, 08:10 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Jun 2 2013, 07:54 PM)
I am using link2sd but I am still having problem with such as insufficient storage when i try to install from play store. There lots of space left on my sd and internal storage.
Anyone having this problem? And what did you guys format your sd second partition into? I did mine to ext4 not sure if thats the problem.
Mine is ext2.
MrMocha
post Jun 2 2013, 08:22 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Jun 2 2013, 08:11 PM)
Do you still have the insufficient storage problem?
i havent install much apps yet, but no warning of insufficient, yet.
This is my 2nd round with the phone.
1st is the experiment, more with the rooting, freezing and deleting bloatware.

2nd is where i flashed back with one touch software, root again, format my SD to be used with link2sd.
But i do see a change in installation destination.

Perhaps because yours is ext4 that the prob arise again?

Check in Link2SD. Summon up the menu and click Storage Info.

Mine is as attached.
MrMocha
post Jun 2 2013, 08:55 PM

193 posts

Current Layout

But i do have a problem moving certain icon.
like a software glitch.

perhaps due to the launcher i'm using.

MrMocha
post Jun 3 2013, 09:33 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Shahzz85 @ Jun 3 2013, 09:26 PM)
hahhaha..me too..still failed to restore back....
Honestly, what did you guys do that make your phone bricked in the 1st place?
i kind of curious now.
MrMocha
post Jun 3 2013, 09:55 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Shahzz85 @ Jun 3 2013, 09:47 PM)

based on that pic,i think my phone root already,right?..or still not?..sorry..noob...huhuhu..
too small la bro. use the attachment function in the post. can put bigger pic. I need to see the word beside the gray ROOT word.
MrMocha
post Jun 3 2013, 10:04 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Shahzz85 @ Jun 3 2013, 09:58 PM)
[attachmentid=3469773]
Congrat. Your phone is rooted. now just need to install SuperSU and update, so it will automatically overide and uninstall the chinese version of superuser.
MrMocha
post Jun 4 2013, 12:51 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Ray_rAy @ Jun 4 2013, 12:43 AM)
Hi there, I wanna ask why I still couldn't uninstall some of the apps tat I dont wan??? I already peformed sd partitioning though.
Mr. Ray_rAy, please feel free and be kind to reread the other member posts.
we been talking about this phone and all of its quirky.
On how to root,
on how to unlock,
On how to delete any apps,
on almost everything minus the only issue is the one that the updater software keep rejecting the phone model.

for your question, it is even being posted yesterday. Seriously just recently.

all the best. smile.gif

MrMocha
post Jun 6 2013, 07:12 PM

193 posts

Here's my another finding.

You can only reflash and upgred the ROM once using One Touch upgrade S.

after that it will detect the latest version of ROM and will stop automatically.
MrMocha
post Jun 6 2013, 09:19 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jun 6 2013, 08:15 PM)
that's strange. cus when i got the phone i upgraded right away with one touch upgrade. after that i tried to root but failed. reflashed with one touch upgrade the 2nd time without problem
i see.

thank you, i will investigate this further.
as i force-installed mihome launcher, one of the problem that i encounter is whenever i reboot, it will stuck at the one touch logo.

so last time because i unable to re-flashed using one touch upgrade,

i enter the recovery mode, and restore from there.
MrMocha
post Jun 7 2013, 01:07 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(namasayadin @ Jun 7 2013, 12:50 AM)
yea ur problem is same with me..last night i have to reflash because of factory reset..the setup wizard always force close in my phone..

so i would like to inform that please dont delete these 2 apps..
-setup wizard
-alcatel help

because of this u might have to reflash again because of the wizard will always forced close..
or anyone can justify this?
I have long uninstalled Alcatel Help. no prob so far.
though i do keep Setup Wizard.
MrMocha
post Jun 7 2013, 01:28 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(mR.hyDE @ Jun 7 2013, 01:24 AM)
if i were not wrong swapper require
- root
- custom kernel which support swap
and we re still in the stock kernel
i do believe something like that also.
the furthest we can do right now is just create extra partition and combine with link2sd.

none so far manage to increase RAM or atleast of whom i'd known.
MrMocha
post Jun 7 2013, 08:28 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ Jun 7 2013, 08:20 PM)
err i am confuse, i cant uninstall the apps that i don want through link2sd or titanium backup. whenever i wanna uninstall it show "fail to locate apk file" why?

I have upgrade my phone and rooted.
because those apps are not in the system directory nor even user directory.

instead it is in a custom pack directory, thus the reason that warning came out and the reason of why you cant uninstall it normal way.

u need to use Link2sd, convert the app to system app, then convert again to user apps, then you can delete.
MrMocha
post Jun 8 2013, 10:33 PM

193 posts

Call Dropping?

My phone is rooted and unlocked.
And now been using celcom prepaid in it.

I've noticed this warning "Restricted access changed" that keep popping up regularly on my phone.

This is the main culprit for call dropping and few more network related problem on my phone.

At the moment i still figuring how to solve this problem. Havent found any solution just yet.

Any of you guys getting the same prob?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0390sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:54 PM