Grant thorton vs Baker tilly, which one is better?

TSjackie_god
post Apr 19 2013, 09:23 PM, updated 13y ago

23 posts

Hi, i recently got offer from grant thorton n baker tilly.
May i know which one is better in terms of employee benefit and working culture and environment?
By the way, since Baker Tilly has merged with Moores Stephen, is this meaning that BT is growing n bigger size firm than grant?
Which one will provide higher paid in the long run?
MaxReddevil
post Apr 19 2013, 09:55 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(jackie_god @ Apr 19 2013, 09:23 PM)
May i know which one is better in terms of employee benefit and working culture and environment?
By the way, since Baker Tilly has merged with Moores Stephen, is this meaning that BT is growing n bigger size firm than grant?
Google Grant Thornton, they won best networking of the year and highest growth as of last year.I think benefits in accounting firms is bad but what you learn will be valuable.
yoona007
post Apr 21 2013, 01:39 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ Apr 19 2013, 09:55 PM)
Google Grant Thornton, they won best networking of the year and highest growth as of last year.I think benefits in accounting firms is bad but what you learn will be valuable.
Audit life no pain no gain. do not expect good benefit
wen lan
post Apr 25 2013, 09:53 PM

13 posts

Honest take, say no to GT, best networking of the year and highest growth of last year is all "Grant Thornton International", not Malaysia version's "SJ Grant Thornton".

GT is big international, but in Malaysia it ain't.

Depending on your luck, you'll find issues such as crazy working hours and crazy deadlines. Well u can say that with most auditing firms BUT in GT, these craziness is coupled with slow career progression. Meaning u might get stuck on entry level position for almost 2 years just because not enough space to promote you upwards.

I'm not sure on other audit firms but best to avoid GT wink.gif
SUSwhitesabre
post May 19 2013, 01:35 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(jackie_god @ Apr 19 2013, 10:23 PM)
I agree with the person above "Wen Lan". I had first hand experience in GT Penang for ard 6-7 months before i quit. I can tell u GT international may have some standard, BUT SJ Grant Thornton sucks big time. Why?? Lemme sum for u.

1) Working hours and workload is crazy, but they dun giv u overtime. It's normal to have crazy working hours in all firms, but in GT, u work like a cow, but u dun get wat u deserve.

2) They accept ALL KINDS of jobs, some with very very low audit fee, then force u to do 1-2 days audit for jobs which is impossible to complete within 2 days. They even do charity, meaning u do free audit for clients, give u 1-2 days ONLY.

3) And about job progression, yes, in GT, there's no job progression or job prospect. Work 2 years, u're still an audit associate. They have too many levels, which does not exist in other audit firms. I have colleagues working almost 5 years, but only senior level. In big4 like KPMG, u would have been a manager or equivalent.

4) And then, there's the ACCA exam thingy. I have seniors already 5 yrs there, but still not yet complete ACCA. Why? Workload issue. Unlike other firms (i'm not sure tho), in GT, u may something like 2 weeks field work here, nxt 2 weeks field work there. They dun have 1 weeks for us to clear our files and so on. With so many stack up, when can we finish?? Weekends (sat and sun) and yes, no overtime paid.

5) Overtime is paid in the form of annual leave. 2 hrs of OT = 2 hrs of leave. Collect 8 hrs = 1 day leave. BUT, when you resign from the company, they will apportion your annual leave, and yes, apportion you overtime claim annual leave too. WTF but i din complain. I just wanted to resign at that time.

6) Lastly, the seniors there is not friendly. Unless you can get into politics with them, you'll end up being their item for gossip. They'll backstab you, make use of u. I had senior who force me to take her files for her from the filing room. Heck it's your audit, but why should I help? In the end, she complained to the manager and i had a scolding for not helping. WTF so childish.

7) Lastly, politics very important in GT Penang. There's a manager there who's very very bad. You'll nid to bodek her evyday to hav a good life. It's coz she's the one setting the audit calendar, thus if she's on good terms with u, then u're lucky. If not, u'll suffer a torrid time there.
SUSwhitesabre
post May 19 2013, 01:36 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(jackie_god @ Apr 19 2013, 10:23 PM)
One final piece of advice, NEVER EVER STEP INTO GRANT THORNTON. Don't say I didn't warn you. But it's your choice.
MaxReddevil
post May 19 2013, 01:47 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ May 19 2013, 01:36 PM)
One final piece of advice, NEVER EVER STEP INTO GRANT THORNTON. Don't say I didn't warn you. But it's your choice.
Applies in GT penang only? Im considering moving out also sighh

This post has been edited by MaxReddevil: May 19 2013, 01:49 PM
wen lan
post May 20 2013, 12:47 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ May 19 2013, 01:47 PM)
Applies in GT penang only? Im considering moving out also sighh
I'm not sure about GT PENANG but in KL, yes it really depends heavily on ur luck, ur timing is right then u get the progression u deserve, otherwise if not many above u resign, u might be denied opportunity for progression. One reason is because of tight budget by big boss, if budget is tight and few resignation, they cant just promote u as it'll exceed the budget.

Thats what u get with a firm which stay largely stagnant and low growth.
SUSwhitesabre
post May 21 2013, 08:19 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(wen lan @ May 20 2013, 01:47 AM)
I'm not sure about GT PENANG but in KL, yes it really depends heavily on ur luck, ur timing is right then u get the progression u deserve, otherwise if not many above u resign, u might be denied opportunity for progression. One reason is because of tight budget by big boss, if budget is tight and few resignation, they cant just promote u as it'll exceed the budget.

Thats what u get with a firm which stay largely stagnant and low growth.
Lol seems like GT Penang and KL suffer the same fate...guess why?? The managing partner of KL is a friend of Penang's GT Partner. LOL. Mr. Devil, u're currently working in GT?? Tough luck man...leave if u can...dun let ur life waste away at such a stingy firm. Penang's GT Partner always say "do u know you're a cost to the firm". LOL
shirley_andy
post May 22 2013, 09:30 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ May 21 2013, 08:19 AM)
Penang's GT Partner always say "do u know you're a cost to the firm". LOL
LOL~ Need to watch out for the time cost, must not let it burst tongue.gif
SUSwhitesabre
post May 22 2013, 09:46 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ May 22 2013, 10:30 PM)
LOL~ Need to watch out for the time cost, must not let it burst  tongue.gif
In GT, time cost SURE BURN. Bring home do lo. In my 6-7 mths in GT, I have audited alot of company solo. And mostly sure burn eh. Guess why? For example, a company with small revenue, we charge ard 1k to 1.5k. Partner's portion is ard RM500. LOL need to get around 1.5hrs to him, oredi 750. Manager is around RM250. Need at least 1.5 hrs too, so around RM375 already. Total?? RM1,125 already. Us? RM65 per hour, give u 2 days or 16hrs to complete it. How much? More than 1k. Total more than 2k already. How can not burn??

And giv u 16 hours, IMPOSSIBLE TO COMPLETE. GT Penang's printing and photocopy machine always hang or paper stuck. We spend around 2-3 hrs a day fixing the dumb machine. And they usually give days, not hours. So if 2 days, meaning 2 days. So whether got emergency or some shitty senior throw some stupid admin work at u, u still must complete ur audit within 2 days. And impossible 2 days eh. Sometimes, some things, no matter how good our analysing skills is, still must ask client. Some shit client will say call back later or will take leave, then nobody can handle their work. So our work will be half complete.

But then, u still must hand up when it is 2 days already, by hook or by crook. Some for me, sometimes i just crack up some stupid reason to cover up. Over the 6-7 mths, I have learned a few tricks to cover up like why sales increase or decrease. Usually standard answers from client eh like "demand increase, sales increase, purchases also increase lo" Analysing must be smart. If purchase goes down while sales goes up, i'll say the cost dropped, so purchase total cost drops lo. Haha in GT, must be smart.

One more thing abt time cost, it sure burn eh. So just either bring home do or stay OT in office do lo. Haha definitely cannot claim OT eh. Stupid policy saying only doing PLCs can claim OT. And OT claim is 1-1 ratio for annual leave. U OT 2 hours, claim extra 2 hours annual leave. Damn cheap firm. GT Malaysia lacks standard and staff welfare. My advice, dun stay too long. You're just wasting time and life there.
pej1990
post Jun 14 2013, 09:18 PM

13 posts

Can i know more info. Is this all true???im thinkinh of going there to work
pej1990
post Jun 14 2013, 10:39 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ May 22 2013, 09:46 PM)
In GT, time cost SURE BURN. Bring home do lo. In my 6-7 mths in GT, I have audited alot of company solo. And mostly sure burn eh. Guess why? For example, a company with small revenue, we charge ard 1k to 1.5k. Partner's portion is ard RM500. LOL need to get around 1.5hrs to him, oredi 750. Manager is around RM250. Need at least 1.5 hrs too, so around RM375 already. Total?? RM1,125 already. Us? RM65 per hour, give u 2 days or 16hrs to complete it. How much? More than 1k. Total more than 2k already. How can not burn??

And giv u 16 hours, IMPOSSIBLE TO COMPLETE. GT Penang's printing and photocopy machine always hang or paper stuck. We spend around 2-3 hrs a day fixing the dumb machine. And they usually give days, not hours. So if 2 days, meaning 2 days. So whether got emergency or some shitty senior throw some stupid admin work at u, u still must complete ur audit within 2 days. And impossible 2 days eh. Sometimes, some things, no matter how good our analysing skills is, still must ask client. Some shit client will say call back later or will take leave, then nobody can handle their work. So our work will be half complete.

But then, u still must hand up when it is 2 days already, by hook or by crook. Some for me, sometimes i just crack up some stupid reason to cover up. Over the 6-7 mths, I have learned a few tricks to cover up like why sales increase or decrease. Usually standard answers from client eh like "demand increase, sales increase, purchases also increase lo" Analysing must be smart. If purchase goes down while sales goes up, i'll say the cost dropped, so purchase total cost drops lo. Haha in GT, must be smart.

One more thing abt time cost, it sure burn eh. So just either bring home do or stay OT in office do lo. Haha definitely cannot claim OT eh. Stupid policy saying only doing PLCs can claim OT. And OT claim is 1-1 ratio for annual leave. U OT 2 hours, claim extra 2 hours annual leave. Damn cheap firm. GT Malaysia lacks standard and staff welfare. My advice, dun stay too long. You're just wasting time and life there.
Hav you worked there before??
wen lan
post Jun 15 2013, 12:10 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(pej1990 @ Jun 14 2013, 09:18 PM)
Can i know more info. Is this all true???im thinkinh of going there to work
go where? mind to specify which company in which city?
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 09:45 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(pej1990 @ Jun 14 2013, 11:39 PM)
Hav you worked there before??
I came out from there last year. How would I not know. You're joking right with your question. Nway GT is definitely not a good place unless you can strive almost everynite till 10-11pm without OT claim, and nxt morning still arrive in time for work before 8.30am. Then, the salary is also very low considering mid-tier firms like BDO pays more and have almost the same or even lesser workload. Then, there's this crazy attitude that leaving at 6.30pm is considered leaving VERY EARLY. Unless you have classes after work, you're considered leaving early. There's no peak and off peak. There, it's only super peak and less peak. Super peak, PLCs together with SMEs. Less peak, ALOT of SMEs. Worst of all, there are managers who knows they are wrong, but pretend they are right and still push the blame to you. Even when you're on field, your managers will still rush you back to office to clear any reviews, then you havta go back at nite after finishing your field work. Be reminded, report date sometimes are like 2-3 months away and still, they rush to finish it. I'm fair though. Finish early means collecting pay cheque early from client. Tiring life indeed.
pej1990
post Jun 15 2013, 11:25 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ Jun 15 2013, 09:45 AM)
I came out from there last year. How would I not know. You're joking right with your question. Nway GT is definitely not a good place unless you can strive almost everynite till 10-11pm without OT claim, and nxt morning still arrive in time for work before 8.30am. Then, the salary is also very low considering mid-tier firms like BDO pays more and have almost the same or even lesser workload. Then, there's this crazy attitude that leaving at 6.30pm is considered leaving VERY EARLY. Unless you have classes after work, you're considered leaving early. There's no peak and off peak. There, it's only super peak and less peak. Super peak, PLCs together with SMEs. Less peak, ALOT of SMEs. Worst of all, there are managers who knows they are wrong, but pretend they are right and still push the blame to you. Even when you're on field, your managers will still rush you back to office to clear any reviews, then you havta go back at nite after finishing your field work. Be reminded, report date sometimes are like 2-3 months away and still, they rush to finish it. I'm fair though. Finish early means collecting pay cheque early from client. Tiring life indeed.
Is there a pronlem with the culture there??any racism there like favouring one type of ppl overvthe other?? Ive actually thought of working there . According to internet its the top ten
MaxReddevil
post Jun 15 2013, 12:31 PM

718 posts

Honestly, so many ppl have left GT KL, even though thry were there was less than a year. If u r chinese u dont need to worry, but if you only speak english you have to worry also.
pej1990
post Jun 15 2013, 03:09 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ Jun 15 2013, 12:31 PM)
Honestly, so many ppl have left GT KL, even though thry were there was less than a year. If u r chinese u dont need to worry,  but if you only speak english you have to worry also.
Lol wat do you mean if i speak english only i need to worry?? Arent the working papers and work done in english or all dobe in mandarin??
pej1990
post Jun 15 2013, 03:11 PM

13 posts

Ive got a friend who just joined gt just joined only . He tells me they give him dinner at six . Food like mee hoon n nasi lemak is given as dinner. Got free makan some more how is that not taking care of the staff??
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 04:37 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(pej1990 @ Jun 15 2013, 04:11 PM)
Ive got a friend who just joined gt just joined only . He tells me they give him dinner at six . Food like mee hoon n nasi lemak is given as dinner. Got free makan some more how is that not taking care of the staff??
You're talking about GT Penang or KL? I'm from GT Penang last time, not KL. Secondly, they are ALL CHINESE, no Malays or Indians in GT Penang. PURE CHINESE. Thirdly, there's no racism or anything like English speaking or chinese speaking. It's just politics. It's like DAP vs MCA, chinese vs chinese. And there are managers u nid to handle, all with different requirements and different types of pressure. Some will call you at 6pm when you're on field audit, calling you to come back and clear the reviews. Imagine you expect to be out till 9pm on field, still need to rush back settle. Worst of all, date of report 2-3 months away. Staff welfare sucks in Penang GT. No idea about GT KL, but GT Penang is horrible. ^^

Oh and your statement of top 10. LOL it's true GT INTERNATIONAL is world no.5 now, overtaking BDO and others. HOWEVER, it's INTERNATIONAL. GT Malaysia is called SJ Grant Thornton, thus not even top 8. Behind Bakers, BDO and Horwarths. I;ve heard bad rumors about GT KL but i do not want to say anything as I've never experienced anything there. But evythg I said abt GT Penang is 1st hand experience. Up to u think decide.

This post has been edited by whitesabre: Jun 15 2013, 04:41 PM
teraformz
post Jun 15 2013, 04:42 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ Jun 15 2013, 04:37 PM)
You're talking about GT Penang or KL? I'm from GT Penang last time, not KL. Secondly, they are ALL CHINESE, no Malays or Indians in GT Penang. PURE CHINESE. Thirdly, there's no racism or anything like English speaking or chinese speaking. It's just politics. It's like DAP vs MCA, chinese vs chinese. And there are managers u nid to handle, all with different requirements and different types of pressure. Some will call you at 6pm when you're on field audit, calling you to come back and clear the reviews. Imagine you expect to be out till 9pm on field, still need to rush back settle. Worst of all, date of report 2-3 months away. Staff welfare sucks in Penang GT. No idea about GT KL, but GT Penang is horrible. ^^
Hi I was called for an interview fr GT kl , should I go for it?? Can u tell me more abt why it's not good ?? As in is the culture there good or bad n the ppl there friendly or not??
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 04:44 PM

290 posts

The welfare sucks to the point that even office biscuits also we havta pay for it. RM5 for juniors, seniors RM10, managers 20 and partner 50. But i've NEVER seen managers or partner's name on the record book for contribution. Even our annual dinner is supported through this fund collected from staff. Haha
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 04:45 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 15 2013, 05:42 PM)
Hi I was called for an interview fr GT kl , should I go for it?? Can u tell me more abt why it's not good ?? As in is the culture there good or bad n the ppl there friendly or not??
Sorry you're talking abt GT KL. I wont say anything. No experience there. What I heard are rumors so I'll keep to myself. ^^. Might get sued for speculating. ^^
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 04:53 PM

290 posts

I would like to state something here regarding my views. Everything I've stated up to now and for future, is from my first-hand personal experiences and from my ex-fellow junior colleagues. Whatever I have told, depicts only our situation. You may not suffer as much as we do if you join. There are some who works there happily. I'm not saying there isn't. It's how u mingle with them. One thing though, although it's same all audit firms will squeeze their staff, it depends how much they squeeze only. If squeeze u dry till ur health is at risk, then there's no worth in workig there.

To whoever joining them, you can go experience yourself. Penang GT alot girls anyway. Ratio between guys and girls are 1:8.
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 05:02 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 15 2013, 05:42 PM)
You're fresh grad? Lemme tell u something. In working world, no matter where, there's no friendly people if your EQ is freaking low. Get mingled around and you'll find them nice. If you have a big office, there sure are some gossips. I've seens 2 seniors very close to each other talking and laughing. A and B for instance. When you put B and C together, they'll gossip about A. Haha this is working life. Will you be friendly to people who will potentially affect your promotion? We're talking about pay cheque increasing by RM300-400 per mth against the loser getting nothing. Still friend?? Haha culture wise, everywhere also got rotten culture eh la unless you're the boss. Hoho
teraformz
post Jun 15 2013, 05:08 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ Jun 15 2013, 05:02 PM)
You're fresh grad? Lemme tell u something. In working world, no matter where, there's no friendly people if your EQ is freaking low. Get mingled around and you'll find them nice. If you have a big office, there sure are some gossips. I've seens 2 seniors very close to each other talking and laughing. A and B for instance. When you put B and C together, they'll gossip about A. Haha this is working life. Will you be friendly to people who will potentially affect your promotion? We're talking about pay cheque increasing by RM300-400 per mth against the loser getting nothing. Still friend?? Haha culture wise, everywhere also got rotten culture eh la unless you're the boss. Hoho
I've also heard rumors too I just need to clarify so I won't end up resigning before a year and wasting my time there, if all is as was said here then I don't want to have a bad experience in my first job the effects will be devastating for me lol.
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 05:15 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 15 2013, 06:08 PM)
I've also heard rumors too I just need to clarify so I won't end up resigning before a year and wasting my time there, if all is as was said here then I don't want to have a bad experience in my first job the effects will be devastating for me lol.
It depends on how you see it. I've never regretted joining them though. I can tell you something. I quitted a few mths after super peak. If you can go through the super peak period and then leave, no matter what effects, i'll say it's positive. Hardship first, then evythg in future seems very easy to handle. If you take the easy way out, you'll never see hard things. Then your life will really be wasted. With what i've said, you can be prepared for the worst, but do your best. Strive pass the super peak from January-March then leave. You'll come out a true man.

Like people used to say, whoever has seen hell, will be stronger than those with no idea how hell looks like. ^^ then in future, whatever rock someone throws at you, you can make gold out of it. Look at the bright side. I won't say GT is all bad. At least I came out very strong, well liked by my current superiors for work efficiency and effectiveness. ^^
teraformz
post Jun 15 2013, 05:18 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ Jun 15 2013, 05:15 PM)
It depends on how you see it. I've never regretted joining them though. I can tell you something. I quitted a few mths after super peak. If you can go through the super peak period and then leave, no matter what effects, i'll say it's positive. Hardship first, then evythg in future seems very easy to handle. If you take the easy way out, you'll never see hard things. Then your life will really be wasted. With what i've said, you can be prepared for the worst, but do your best. Strive pass the super peak from January-March then leave. You'll come out a true man.

Like people used to say, whoever has seen hell, will be stronger than those with no idea how hell looks like. ^^ then in future, whatever rock someone throws at you, you can make gold out of it. Look at the bright side. I won't say GT is all bad. At least I came out very strong, well liked by my current superiors for work efficiency and effectiveness. ^^
I've heard lots of ppl resign fr that side coz of the differences
SUSwhitesabre
post Jun 15 2013, 05:25 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 15 2013, 06:18 PM)
I've heard lots of ppl resign fr that side coz of the differences
Of course resign. Stay so long do what. 6 months actually enough oredi. Because to be a Certified Accountant one of the requirement is at least 6 months and above in a company. If you jump when u're below 6 months, MIA wont recognise it. So to them, you hav no working experience. Anyway just join la. Pass nxt March, 9 months, then leave. ^^ Add oil!!!
MaxReddevil
post Jun 15 2013, 05:32 PM

718 posts

Great advice whitesaber, if you cant get into big4 now, just join GT for the experience no harm. After that try to hop over to big4.
teraformz
post Jun 15 2013, 05:38 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ Jun 15 2013, 05:32 PM)
Great advice whitesaber, if you cant get into big4 now, just join GT for the experience no harm. After that try to hop over to big4.
Got offer from big four but I heard gt good coz they got awards for being a good company but after hearing wat goes on inside I am scared
MaxReddevil
post Jun 15 2013, 05:49 PM

718 posts

As mentioned by whitesabre, award is for the international one. Honestly, if you want to progress faster in your career join big4. Not sure how many people but in GT there are some who remained as a junior for 2 years.
wen lan
post Jun 15 2013, 08:42 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(pej1990 @ Jun 15 2013, 03:11 PM)
Hi pej1990, I think I can give u clearer pic if u enquiring more on GT KL rather than GT Penang. Yes admin provide light dinner, its one of the nice thing, but that being said, you join a company for career growth, not to get free light dinner.

There are good and bad points, so to keep it short, I'll say this:

If you're expecting GT to be half of something like big4, if you focus on climbing the corporate ladder fast, or atleast steadily, then I'd say GT might not be suitable UNLESS you're lucky and join correct timing.
But if you like friendly environment and colleagues, working like a family, then ya the people here(also depends on your luck which group or which type of colleagues) are quite nice.

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 15 2013, 04:42 PM)
If you got free time and don't need to waste any annual leave, its always no loss to attend any interview, be it learn more about the company or build up ur interview skills.
Culture is good, but (depends on luck) the lack of opportunity might frustrate certain group of people.

QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ Jun 15 2013, 05:49 PM)
As mentioned by whitesabre, award is for the international one. Honestly, if you want to progress faster in your career join big4. Not sure how many people but in GT there are some who remained as a junior for 2 years.
Average time before u progress from Junior to Associate is around 1 year(minimum and if you're lucky) to 2 years(either u bad performance, or u unlucky cuz no space to promote u upwards when not many above you resign)
winnie619
post Jun 19 2013, 09:32 PM

445 posts

wow! lots stories! it seems not a good place to work..
still thinking of apply this firm..
herm.. now i gonna think twice..

Winnie2011
post Jun 20 2013, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 15 2013, 04:42 PM)
I think work in GT KL is just like a heaven, coz i saw auditor sleep in client place during normal office hour.
teraformz
post Jun 21 2013, 11:54 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(Winnie2011 @ Jun 20 2013, 08:40 AM)
I think work in GT KL is just like a heaven, coz i saw auditor sleep in client place during normal office hour.
Hahah biggrin.gif he too tired so he sleep la nothing wrong also he is a human also
wen lan
post Jun 23 2013, 01:06 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Winnie2011 @ Jun 20 2013, 08:40 AM)
are you the client's staff? brows.gif
teraformz
post Jun 23 2013, 10:20 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(wen lan @ Jun 23 2013, 01:06 AM)
are you the client's staff?  brows.gif
Maybe she gt take sum pictures this will be interesting
Winnie2011
post Jun 24 2013, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 21 2013, 11:54 AM)
Hahah biggrin.gif  he too tired so he sleep la nothing wrong also he is a human also
I don't think the auditor is tired, maybe the auditor is too free & has nothing to do, tat's y the auditor can sleep few hrs there. laugh.gif
popopipi
post Jun 24 2013, 07:52 PM

i have experiences working in merged companies. usually, the first 4 years will be hostile where the both side will say their previous company (b4 merge) is better.

but, considering the plus side as a new person, u'll get to experience the way of working of 2 culturally different company and good as a learning curve
teraformz
post Jun 29 2013, 07:22 PM

14 posts

Do they give overtime???
kiub
post Jun 29 2013, 08:09 PM

QUOTE(teraformz @ Jun 29 2013, 08:22 PM)
Do they give overtime???
yes, 3 times.
teraformz
post Jun 29 2013, 08:42 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(kiub @ Jun 29 2013, 08:09 PM)
yes, 3 times.
Wat do you means three times??
lin_utean
post Aug 19 2013, 01:25 PM

Hi there,

wow so many of you seemed to know alot about Grant Thornton...hey i jz gt called up for an interview with Grant Thornton Penang dis comin wed...can anyone of you tell me wad kind of assessment will i be given?like accounting test?essay test?IQ test?...or any tips for interview questions? Im so nervous at the moment..I gt called up for an interview by BDO before and wasnt really prepared for it..so i tink i dont faired well in BDO's interview cry.gif
jakelin
post Aug 26 2013, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(lin_utean @ Aug 19 2013, 01:25 PM)
Hi there,

wow so many of you seemed to know alot about Grant Thornton...hey i jz gt called up for an interview with Grant Thornton Penang dis comin wed...can anyone of you tell me wad kind of assessment will i be given?like accounting test?essay test?IQ test?...or any tips for interview questions? Im so nervous at the moment..I gt called up for an interview by BDO before and wasnt really prepared for it..so i tink i dont faired well in BDO's interview  cry.gif
Hi lin_utean, can i get some advise from you regarding the sj grant thornton interview? What will be probably asked by them. Thanks biggrin.gif
joejee
post Aug 27 2013, 08:53 AM

228 posts

BDO is better smile.gif
wen lan
post Aug 27 2013, 08:13 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(joejee @ Aug 27 2013, 08:53 AM)
BDO is better smile.gif
may I know in terms of what? working culture? audit methodology? audit software? I'd like to know more about this Company if you have experience working here before. How are the colleagues like? How are the method of doing things? Very rush? Heavier responsibility on senior or on manager? etc.
Nardev87
post Sep 2 2013, 02:04 PM

48 posts

Who are the main audit clients for Baker Tilly and GT?
wen lan
post Sep 2 2013, 11:08 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Nardev87 @ Sep 2 2013, 02:04 PM)
Who are the main audit clients for Baker Tilly and GT?
Unless they are PLC, I don't think anyone should leak such information on a public forum.
beehun
post Nov 2 2013, 02:14 PM

woah..lot's of negative stories about GT Penang & KL...

This post has been edited by beehun: Sep 18 2015, 03:49 PM
vchl
post Jan 7 2014, 03:18 PM

Can anyone share the working environment in GT KL advisory? Specifically on transactions advisory services.

wenzhenzhen
post Nov 30 2014, 12:36 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ May 22 2013, 09:46 PM)

So agree with your statement!! Although I am not from GT, my experience is same with yours hahahaha!!!
So now are you still in audit line??
hamdanchiuyanyehh
post Dec 14 2014, 01:07 PM

177 posts

Hi, can any1 gv me suggestion?
My current status is fresh grad,pass 13 out of 14 acca papers, waitin p4 results...

Gt kl offer me rm900 internship for 6 months n the reason is I not yet pass all acca papers... ( I actually apply audit junior position)
I think it is unreasonable...
shirley_andy
post Dec 14 2014, 07:14 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(hamdanchiuyanyehh @ Dec 14 2014, 01:07 PM)
Hi, can any1 gv me suggestion?
My current status is fresh grad,pass 13 out of 14 acca papers, waitin p4 results...

Gt kl offer me rm900 internship for 6 months n the reason is I not yet pass all acca papers... ( I actually apply audit junior position)
I think it is unreasonable...
Do you have degree/adv diploma? If no then unfortunately thats the case with other firms as well unless u willing to get bonded.
hamdanchiuyanyehh
post Dec 14 2014, 08:08 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Dec 14 2014, 07:14 PM)
Do you have degree/adv diploma? If no then unfortunately thats the case with other firms as well unless u willing to get bonded.
I jz start cat n acca after secondary school, I do hv intern for 3 mths in small firm b4..
shirley_andy
post Dec 14 2014, 09:29 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(hamdanchiuyanyehh @ Dec 14 2014, 08:08 PM)
I jz start cat n acca after secondary school, I do hv intern for 3 mths in small firm b4..
but u didn't take up the option to obtain the OBU degree right? well unfortunately the firms have their own policy, without a completed ACCA and without a degree meaning you're still unqualified therefore they unable to offer you a position.
ang1222
post Mar 27 2015, 02:42 PM

226 posts

Do anyone know GT KL offer how much salary for acca fresh graduate in audit junior position ?
MaxReddevil
post Mar 27 2015, 05:44 PM

718 posts

should be 2900 or 3000 if not mistaken
ang1222
post Mar 27 2015, 08:34 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ Mar 27 2015, 06:44 PM)
u got friend who working inside ?
MassimoTuna
post Mar 27 2015, 10:44 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(whitesabre @ May 19 2013, 05:35 AM)
2) They accept ALL KINDS of jobs, some with very very low audit fee, then force u to do 1-2 days audit for jobs which is impossible to complete within 2 days. They even do charity, meaning u do free audit for clients, give u 1-2 days ONLY.
So despo
fcuk90
post Mar 27 2015, 10:50 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ Mar 27 2015, 05:44 PM)
thumbup.gif GT pay should be > Baker .

But Baker promotion twice a year .
shirley_andy
post Mar 27 2015, 11:13 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 27 2015, 10:50 PM)
thumbup.gif  GT pay should be > Baker .

But Baker promotion twice a year .
GT got 2 promotion period per year as well, just that impossible to be promotion both occasion unless have previous experience from other firm and downgraded
MaxReddevil
post Mar 28 2015, 10:57 AM

718 posts

GT promotion is slow unless someone joined earlier than you quits and leave. Possibility of being a junior for 2 years is high
Slyp
post Feb 18 2017, 06:23 PM

903 posts

Applied for both but only GT called up. Which firm has more PLC clients?
sikentut
post Feb 20 2017, 09:38 AM

87 posts

Gt has more
ck2chan
post Feb 21 2017, 01:20 AM

2,145 posts

Just try for yourself. Youngster can have more time to test and feel which firm suit you.
EY now have fix holiday period for a week. Compulsory leave.
BDO, GT, Horwath not too far away on attracting good talents.
Smlj96
post Feb 21 2017, 06:10 PM

32 posts

I am interested to join here after my graduation. Bt im still thinking whether wn to intern in gt or go other place first and go gt afterwards...can anyone gv me advice on this?
If possible i would like to bond with the company to get acca paper or icaew
ls8815733 P
post Aug 4 2020, 04:29 PM

Probation

QUOTE(whitesabre @ May 22 2013, 10:46 PM)

ls8815733 P
post Aug 4 2020, 04:40 PM

Probation

Maybe you got treated like a full- time employee with more specific work tasks as an intern. The fact is you will learn the real working experience. You can learn many things, especially in accounting knowledge. The Senior gave opportunities to review points for you to know how to identify weaknesses during the audit process. Overall it is good learning to work here.
ls8815733 P
post Aug 4 2020, 04:41 PM

Probation

Working in GT might be challenging due to many industries to handle but i think all audit firms are better learning environment
hksgmy
post Aug 4 2020, 10:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

All audit jobs start off as slave drivers with super long hours and shit working environment. My wife used to complain non-stop when she started in audit decades ago.... thank god those days are behind us now.
Jszeon
post Apr 8 2021, 05:40 PM

196 posts

Just say No to GT Malaysia... Please... Their workload is the same as other audit firms but remuneration is much lower. Better go other firms.

0.0427sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:39 PM