Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V29, Latest Malaysia Firmware - EMC2

mydragoon
post Apr 19 2013, 10:59 AM

7,044 posts

just wanna check if anyone else is having this alarm clock problem that is still affecting my wife's S3.

the problem, in summary:
* alarm clock does not ring
* blocking mode set but alarm is allowed
* phone is in silent/ vibrate mode but alarm volume is OK
* stock ROM -- factory wipe also still same thing
* restart phone will normally fix this problem for a few days
* sometimes, it gets really bad to the point even incoming calls dun ring (when the vibrate/ silent mode is disabled and outside the block hours)

a quick check on XDA shows some others have reported something similar...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2185515
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1981575&page=4 (this one is similar, though its Note2 thread)

mydragoon
post Apr 26 2013, 08:09 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 22 2013, 12:00 AM)
nope, is EMC2, check the build number
that 1 is modem
weird... my wife's s3 build number ends with I9300XXEMA2

got the update prompt last night. hopefully this fixes the alarm bug. another weird thing... firmware dun even mention anything like performance improvement, stability, etc... just say sth like got update... install? tongue.gif

Samsung should look at Asus... Asus details their changes on their website.
mydragoon
post Apr 26 2013, 10:06 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 26 2013, 09:53 AM)
That is JAN build and is not the latest
Last week I have my son S3 motherboard replace FOC ( sudden death issue) and firmware was EMC2
This is Sammobile record

Country/Carrier Date Version PDA CSC Kies
Malaysia  2013 March  4.1.2  I9300XXEMC2  I9300OLBEMC2 
Malaysia  2013 January  4.1.2  I9300XXEMA2  I9300OLBEMA1
hi benny888, thanks for the info...

now this is stupid... this firmware only got OTA to my wife's phone last night... and there's supposed to be an even newer one... this Samsung really... doh.gif

0.0390sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:40 PM