Technical Xbox 360 and LCD monitors or ur normal tv, Feedback that'll ease ur decision making

xxboxx
post Apr 18 2006, 12:49 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,259 posts

for a HD quality yet cheaps get SONY KV-DB29M61. only for RM1.8k icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Apr 18 2006, 12:50 AM
xxboxx
post May 7 2006, 04:47 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ May 7 2006, 02:22 PM)
Actually, it's ED/ PAL resolution, meaning that you can get ~576 instead of the normal 720++ lines resolved over the TV. I have a KV-DA29M61 and I'm regretting now. (New one is just a slight revision, I don't expect them to drop a super fine pitch tube inside)

THe ONLY Sony True HD CRT TVs are the KV-HR series- 3000+ ringgit.
I just realised I was ripped, emailed to Sony, got no response... somebody sue them.

the cheapest KV-HR models is KV-HR29M61 which is RM4k++, and it still not true HD since it is not widescreen. the plus point it have super fine pitch.

for the resolutions, i reads it somewhere KV-DA/DB upconverts 720p signal to 1080i. and i believe KV-HR also doing the same thing. the only reason KV-HR looks better than KV-DA/DB is because of super fine pitch, more dot per-inch, which makes the tv much more expensive. but the KV-DA/DB models price is only half from KV-HR.
xxboxx
post Aug 6 2006, 01:06 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Aug 6 2006, 11:54 AM)
Sorry mzaidi, i liked G.R.A.W but not most of the others

im thinking of getting G.R.A.W and another game, btw is graw coop compatible?
yes, graw can co-op. thru system link or over LIVE.
xxboxx
post Oct 8 2006, 02:48 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(perky @ Oct 8 2006, 01:59 PM)
Hello guys,i have a 43 inch projection tv which is hd ready but its not widescreen. Shud i just use this tv to play the 360 or should i get the 24inch dell widescreen monitor ?
43" running widescreen, should be in thirty something inches. still much bigger than 24" widescreen. i don't know about burn-in tho. tongue.gif
xxboxx
post Dec 13 2006, 07:41 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Dec 13 2006, 02:17 AM)
I just noticed that mine is not that black as well for Gears of War. I guess it's the game. Nothing's wrong with ur monitor. Coz on my pc black looks very black
heard that using vga connection, the colour will look washed out a bit. like the orange will become red, and black is not really black.
xxboxx
post Dec 14 2006, 08:42 AM

5,259 posts

the cable that you have is the composite cable, which consist of yellow jack for video. yup, you need the second picture cable, the component cable.
xxboxx
post Dec 15 2006, 04:36 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 15 2006, 10:24 AM)
Does HD make that much difference? I currently do all my gaming on a 32" non-HD TV. Planning to buy a 360 over the weekend, I do kind of have extra budget available for maybe one of the 20" Dells.
even a jump from 480i to 480p makes alot of difference. the graphic look so sharp. if 720p/1080i, it's like 3-5 times better.

last time i choose to play my xbox1 on 19" monitor @ 480p instead of my 29" tv @ 480i. thats how good it look like. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 15 2006, 10:37 AM)
HDTV makes a difference, trust me... but to be honest i see no difference between 720p and 1080i. Ask some tech junkie  unsure.gif

1080i/p only looks better than 720p when you are using tv bigger than 40"

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 15 2006, 12:21 PM)
Which one is 'technically' better?

technically 720p is better coz it has more pixel. but if you have tv that can accept 1080i signal and display it as 1080p, it would look much better.
xxboxx
post Dec 20 2006, 12:31 AM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 19 2006, 11:57 PM)
OK ... I need some expert advice ... after getting my 360 I realize it's not reaching it's full potential without HD.

Now, I've narrowed it down basically to the Dell 2007 WFP, mostly because the 24-incher is a little out of my budget. However, the 2007WFP has no component inputs, so how will I connect the 360 to the LCD? The description says:
I'm assuming I'll need a seperately-purchased cable for this?

Which is better, 360 --> VGA or 360 --> Component?
for 360, component looks better than vga. it has something to do with how the color being output.

whats up with everyone wanna buy DELL? i saw Acer 19" widescreen monitor go for 0.7k only.
xxboxx
post Dec 20 2006, 12:45 AM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Dec 20 2006, 12:37 AM)
bcoz with Dell there's a scaler so u can maintain the 16:9 aspect ratio but the rest will stretch it to 16:10. Also, for Dell 2407WFP, VGA looks better than component, but that's simply bcoz the 2407 series had issues with the component input. But then again, if one had a 2407, it's better to use VGA and 1080p output option anyways. tongue.gif tongue.gif

but for the 20" also have the scaler?
1080p @ 24"? i think it has been proven screen size less than 50" won't see any difference between 720p or 1080i/p.
xxboxx
post Dec 20 2006, 01:39 AM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Dec 20 2006, 01:14 AM)
yes... just to maintain the 16:9 aspect ratio. I'm using Dell 2007WFP remember? Also, yes there is a difference when u choose the 1080p option even on a 24" lcd. Why? Well since lcd works best at native res, choosing 1080p will give u the sharpest image over 720p which give a slightly blurry output, most obvious are the text. Yeah, for movies maybe one can't see much of a difference, but with games which involves a lot of text dialogs and HUDs, it's quote obvious really. If one can't see any difference of 1080p on a 24", then why would any PC users opt to use 1920x1200 as desktop res instead of let's say..... 1280x720? The difference is there, u just had to experience it yourself.  sweat.gif

well i suppose the difference is noticeable since it is monitor that has more dot per-inch than standard tv. some more sitting very close to it. but bumping it up to such high resolution won't the text become too small? like running 1024x768 at 15" monitor.
xxboxx
post Dec 20 2006, 12:10 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(fair-pley @ Dec 15 2006, 05:35 PM)
Im confuse. Mine LCD TV support up to 1080i signal. Q is, how the hell i know it can display as 1080p??  blink.gif

Furthermore mine got HDMI input. I'm assume the HDMI usually support to 1080p no??

somehow miss your post earlier. what i meant was if your tv support upscale 1080i signal and display it as 1080p, that would look better. but since redbull has said that your tv max display is 1366x768, thats mean if you put it as 1080i, the tv would downscale it to 720p.
xxboxx
post Dec 26 2006, 07:20 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 26 2006, 10:27 AM)
Anyone here mind to share any experience with the Japanese lcd TV model that requires step down transformer in Malaysia. Found out that the new sony bravia x model just been released there with an acceptable price list, and going to tokyo..next month too...and how much normally the custom will charge for the duty of lcd tv...

electronic stuff if not mistaken is taxed 30%

QUOTE(matty @ Dec 26 2006, 10:51 AM)
the estimated drop of lcd and plasma tv will drop another 20% - 30% by the 2nd half of next yr. one of my fren who work at sony malaysia told me la. how true, itu i also dunno... hehehe..... so can we wait that long ?

it's true, lcd price was expected to drop by 40% next year. and now even china brand also come out with lcd tv, those branded company sure have to lower the price to keep competing.
xxboxx
post Jan 1 2007, 12:35 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Jan 1 2007, 09:56 AM)
nope~. Composite is mostly all tv have it~. but most of 29 inch TV above does comes with component input already..

but don't think can go 720p ... only 480p

mostly tv that HD only got 480p. the normal tv, only 480i even tho got component input.
xxboxx
post Jun 10 2007, 12:06 PM

5,259 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Jun 10 2007, 01:29 AM)
Hello all,

Erm i got a question here it might sound silly (prolly thats why i do not wanna star a new thread about this?) but any help would be greatly appreciated. Well, instead of playing split screens in some racing or shooting games, can i actually have 2 screens (via VGA) with a single console? If possible, how?

Thank you.
not possible. there are currently no console that can have 2 screen except PS3, wait... that's what SONY said on E3 2005 when MS shows XB360. tongue.gif

0.0297sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:27 PM