Sungai Wang

TSalmaine
post Apr 11 2013, 09:33 AM, updated 13y ago

825 posts

saw a few units were on sale in iproperty.....is it worth to buy? Do they still has the crowd like those days?

* Lower Ground got few units at 621 sf from RM6.1m to RM6.3m, ROI from 5.1 to 5.5%
* Ground Floor got few units from 320 sf to 527 sf at from RM3m to RM3.3m, ROI from 2.8 to 3.6%
* First Floor 338 sf at RM1.88m, ROI 4.1%
* Second Floor got few units from 338 sf to 690 sf from RM1m to RM6.4m, ROI from 4.7 to 5%
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 11 2013, 09:39 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(almaine @ Apr 11 2013, 09:33 AM)
saw a few units were on sale in iproperty.....is it worth to buy? Do they still has the crowd like those days?

* Lower Ground got few units at 621 sf from RM6.1m to RM6.3m, ROI from 5.1 to 5.5%
* Ground Floor got few units from 320 sf to 527 sf at from RM3m to RM3.3m, ROI from 2.8 to 3.6%
* Second Floor got few units from 338 sf to 690 sf from RM1m to RM6.4m, ROI from 4.7 to 5%
Most super prime or super hot commi are not bout initial roi. Its the cap appre tat matter the most in long run. Hence holding power is important in SW.

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Apr 11 2013, 09:41 AM
Chris Chew
post Apr 11 2013, 09:52 AM

10,387 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Apr 11 2013, 09:39 AM)
Most super prime or super hot commi are not bout initial roi. Its the cap appre tat matter the most in long run. Hence holding power is important in SW.
Agree with Giggs boss ... ROI is not the utmost important in prime commi, but cap appreciation and quality tenant with repayment.

Donald Trump
post Apr 11 2013, 10:18 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(almaine @ Apr 11 2013, 09:33 AM)

U dont know why suddenly got so many on sale?? rolleyes.gif
Lcsx
post Apr 11 2013, 10:19 AM

1,016 posts

If you wanna invest in Sungai Wang, keep an eye of any upcoming catalyst. That is what I would do, find a reason to invest in it.
But also you must study the risk associated with it. Sungai Wang may or may not be able to keep its position. The Pavilion side now is thriving and may take your business. Furthermore there are many upcoming new malls.

One problem I see for Sungai Wang is the lack of main person managing it. A place with a strong single manager tends to do better than those with many individual owners.

Ie. 1 Utama, Midvalley, Empire Subang > Berjaya Times Square

This post has been edited by Lcsx: Apr 11 2013, 10:23 AM
TSalmaine
post Apr 11 2013, 10:58 AM

825 posts

QUOTE(Lcsx @ Apr 11 2013, 10:19 AM)
If you wanna invest in Sungai Wang, keep an eye of any upcoming catalyst. That is what I would do, find a reason to invest in it.
But also you must study the risk associated with it. Sungai Wang may or may not be able to keep its position. The Pavilion side now is thriving and may take your business. Furthermore there are many upcoming new malls.

One problem I see for Sungai Wang is the lack of main person managing it. A place with a strong single manager tends to do better than those with many individual owners.

Ie. 1 Utama, Midvalley, Empire Subang > Berjaya Times Square
Agree with you. Thanks for sharing.
TSalmaine
post Apr 11 2013, 10:59 AM

825 posts

QUOTE(Donald Trump @ Apr 11 2013, 10:18 AM)
U dont know why suddenly got so many on sale?? rolleyes.gif
Not sure.....bcoz of pavilion?
KLsooner
post Apr 11 2013, 12:44 PM

737 posts

Cashing out on high valuation. Several years ago, Capital Land offered about 4M on average to buy out the whole block but unsuccesfull. The crowd is still there, mainly foreigners. Surprisingling "Ong" after so many decades.

This post has been edited by KLsooner: Apr 11 2013, 12:45 PM
Donald Trump
post Apr 11 2013, 08:20 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(KLsooner @ Apr 11 2013, 12:44 PM)
Cashing out on high valuation. Several years ago, Capital Land offered about 4M on average to buy out the whole block but unsuccesfull. The crowd is still there, mainly foreigners. Surprisingling "Ong" after so many decades.
Haha...u sure?..Dont take our friend to HOLLAND" brows.gif

Silfrijin
post Feb 26 2018, 02:23 PM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

Today marked the official moved out of Parkson from this mall.
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 26 2018, 02:58 PM

20,146 posts

Buy now and pray some cash rich developer will biy out the entire complex.....demolish and rebuild

By the way what happens to the bb plaza next door?
yw188
post Feb 26 2018, 03:40 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Feb 26 2018, 02:23 PM)
Parkson had moved out from this mall?
selinix
post Feb 26 2018, 03:42 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(yw188 @ Feb 26 2018, 03:40 PM)
Yes all gone and empty
Silfrijin
post Feb 26 2018, 03:43 PM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

QUOTE(yw188 @ Feb 26 2018, 03:40 PM)
They put a notice on the roller shuttle, but I did not take a photo of it and they are packing all the stocks and moving out.

Besides that, some other shops also closing down too.
selinix
post Feb 26 2018, 04:03 PM

7,343 posts

I wonder what capita land management going to do to fill hp those empty lots. Parkson moving out is probably one of their biggest tenant going out so far
nexona88
post Feb 26 2018, 04:07 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

better to demolish and rebuild the whole place with new concept...

then it's would be BBB tongue.gif

icemanfx
post Feb 26 2018, 04:57 PM

21,457 posts

Shopping mall needs to remodel to keep up with competitions, demographic change, etc. As sg wang is owned by many, couldn't adept to change will be left behind by the market.

Silfrijin
post Feb 26 2018, 09:02 PM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 26 2018, 04:57 PM)
Shopping mall needs to remodel to keep up with competitions, demographic change, etc. As sg wang is owned by many, couldn't adept to change will be left behind by the market.
How about Fahrenheit 88 ?
Even remodelled, refurbished and renovated, still cannot do well, some tenants also left already.
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 26 2018, 09:20 PM

20,146 posts

Need to demolish and rebuild lah...

Cannot change bottle dun change wine....

Low ceiling dodgy parking unfriendly lots.....tak ngam with vision 2020 jor
tictac88
post Feb 26 2018, 09:29 PM

191 posts

the lot size is too small to build any meaningful mall to compete with the closet premier mall such as pavilion now. they have tried renovated a bit in recent years, carpark is upgraded, torn down the wasteful water fountain on the lower ground floor, gotten rid of the old toilets, launch a premium food court similar to lot 10 etc. but business is just keep getting worse and worse until key tenants moving out one by one. at this point it is hard to imagine how to draw crowds into this mall. maybe they will have to wait for bb plaza to be rebuilt first.
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 26 2018, 09:35 PM

20,146 posts

Haiz....kul will never be like orchard road ..

After pavillion want to visit another mall also tak boleh....the rest of malls either too rich for my wallet or empty malls with nothing u need and want to get.

Cant wait for lalaport n lend lease to start operating.

This post has been edited by BEANCOUNTER: Feb 26 2018, 09:36 PM
aspartame
post Feb 26 2018, 10:17 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(tictac88 @ Feb 26 2018, 09:29 PM)
the lot size is too small to build any meaningful mall to compete with the closet premier mall such as pavilion now. they have tried renovated a bit in recent years, carpark is upgraded, torn down the wasteful water fountain on the lower ground floor, gotten rid of the old toilets, launch a premium food court similar to lot 10 etc. but business is just keep getting worse and worse until key tenants moving out one by one. at this point it is hard to imagine how to draw crowds into this mall. maybe they will have to wait for bb plaza to be rebuilt first.
This BB plaza gonna be big?
Wenny K
post Feb 26 2018, 10:24 PM

201 posts

they have been trying to get new tenants and refurbish the mall, but then i still dun see any improvement out of tis plan~ existing tenants have grand sales all yr round too~ i really wonder how's their ROI though.. n wats their rental fees? im seriously curious of how they can survive..
icemanfx
post Feb 26 2018, 10:25 PM

21,457 posts

The only likely opportunity for sg want to redevelop is forced acquisition like ampang park or sold for the price of land it rested on.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Feb 26 2018, 10:28 PM
Silfrijin
post Feb 26 2018, 10:43 PM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

QUOTE(Wenny K @ Feb 26 2018, 10:24 PM)
they have been trying to get new tenants and refurbish the mall, but then i still dun see any improvement out of tis plan~ existing tenants have grand sales all yr round too~ i really wonder how's their ROI though.. n wats their rental fees? im seriously curious of how they can survive..
The energy is too stale already, small scale of refurbishment difficult to renew it.
Ray Leee
post Feb 26 2018, 11:03 PM

200 posts

is sg wang gonna end up like ampang park soon?? hmmm...
Silfrijin
post Feb 26 2018, 11:08 PM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

They need to create a theme and rebrand the mall into something which is not found in the vicinity.

It looks like they want to gather and build up theme based on game, anime, hobby etc.

But better don't end up like the complex besides Kota Raya.
Jagalat
post Feb 26 2018, 11:41 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Feb 26 2018, 03:23 PM)
Wow.. I was there last week.... Saw Pakson operating but didn't realize the moving out notice.....
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 27 2018, 01:44 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Feb 26 2018, 11:08 PM)
They need to create a theme and rebrand the mall into something which is not found in the vicinity.

It looks like they want to gather and build up theme based on game, anime, hobby etc.

Wat complex beside kota raya?

Surprisingky pertama still standing....
myhouse
post Feb 27 2018, 07:33 AM

344 posts

Locals use to hang around here... a place they grew up..but will inclux of migrants n arabs in BB...locals no longer like it..better buy from neighborhood mall
selinix
post Feb 27 2018, 07:53 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Wenny K @ Feb 26 2018, 10:24 PM)
The management will give 80% discount off the rental to keep tenants, even with that some tenants cant even survive
Silfrijin
post Feb 27 2018, 10:40 AM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 27 2018, 01:44 AM)
Wat complex beside kota raya?

Surprisingky pertama still standing....
Wisma 星马
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 27 2018, 12:33 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Feb 27 2018, 10:40 AM)
Wisma 星马
I thought sinmah is inside or part of kota raya, no?
selinix
post Feb 27 2018, 03:31 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Feb 26 2018, 11:08 PM)

Mall is too old with weird layouts. Best option is to demolish and rebuild.

Saw some artist impression on the BB plaza land, a new mall and service apartment but so far only a pile of rubble and the emptied yayasan selangor building is still standing.
SUStikaram
post Feb 27 2018, 03:35 PM

10,722 posts

i am shock that Sg wang still can get RM6 mixed rice @ 2018
SUSYH1234
post Feb 27 2018, 05:57 PM

372 posts

next to kotaraya is sinar kota, occupied by metrojaya in the very beginning, now mydin?

i used to hang out in sg wang, kotaraya n pertama during school days, i still patron sg wang from time to time, due to nostalgia, but now getting harder to find things to do or shop.

the most recent activity why i was in sg wang is due to some small concerts, and also dinner at u village. most of the time, just pass by when i wanna visit lowyat.

SUSYH1234
post Feb 27 2018, 06:00 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Feb 27 2018, 03:35 PM)
i was told the rooftop curry laksa is very nice, n cheap.
alvinkyen
post Feb 27 2018, 06:05 PM

40 posts

haha yeah... probably the only good thing left there... affordable lunch
nexona88
post Feb 27 2018, 06:44 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

yeah..
affordable food available..
the only good thing there notworthy.gif
Quang1819
post Feb 27 2018, 07:02 PM

2,604 posts

Glory days of Sungai Wang are gone. So is Times Square.

Now the ones that are happening are those mid mid/high like Sunway Velocity and so on
Silfrijin
post Feb 27 2018, 09:48 PM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 27 2018, 12:33 PM)
I thought sinmah is inside or part of kota raya, no?
No, different, the side mall is at the junction, shared with Wisma Fui Chiu.
MonGJiHyo
post Feb 28 2018, 11:57 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Feb 26 2018, 11:41 PM)
Wow.. I was there last week.... Saw Pakson operating but didn't realize the moving out notice.....
same like maju junction parkson? sudden closure or close with very short notice? hmm.gif

wao.. really cheap blush.gif
hummels
post Mar 1 2018, 07:12 AM

161 posts

people dont go to sungai wang anymore, even bukit bintang is boring...only those banglas, indons, myanmar, nepalese, pakistani hang around there...
ManutdGiggs
post Mar 1 2018, 07:49 AM

13,761 posts

http://www.epbt.gov.my/osc/Proj1_Info.cfm?Name=669704&S=S

Concorde oso habik
nexona88
post Mar 1 2018, 08:06 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(hummels @ Mar 1 2018, 07:12 AM)
people dont go to sungai wang anymore, even bukit bintang is boring...only those banglas, indons, myanmar, nepalese, pakistani hang around there...
Bkt bintang area is mostly tourist...
And yeah.. Those people u listed are there too..
Nowadays mos would like to go MV or 1U 😁
SUSYH1234
post Mar 2 2018, 12:19 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 1 2018, 08:06 AM)
Bkt  bintang area is mostly tourist...
And yeah.. Those people u listed are there too..
Nowadays mos would like to go MV or 1U 😁
i am curious y tourist dun go to mv n 1u, sg wang shd resuscitate into a tourist focus spot. perhaps not so high end one, or they did but not that success?
nexona88
post Mar 2 2018, 12:57 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(YH1234 @ Mar 2 2018, 12:19 PM)
i am curious y tourist dun go to mv n 1u, sg wang shd resuscitate into a tourist focus spot. perhaps not so high end one, or they did but not that success?
Well I guess not much exposure compare with those malls in Bukit Bintang like Pavilion 🙏

U know those who come Malaysia.. KLCC & Bukit bintang is must visit place.. That's also what Tourism Malaysia promo.. Also those beach / cristal clear sea off Sabah... 😁
myhouse
post Mar 2 2018, 01:17 PM

344 posts

Malls now thematic play...tourist go lowyat for IT & phones...Pavillion for brands....Sg Wang...huh? Night market? Local brand? Food?
BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 2 2018, 01:29 PM

20,146 posts

There are plenty of tourists in mv n pyramid.
The hotels in mv full of tourists.
aspartame
post Mar 2 2018, 02:11 PM

3,165 posts

Go one U and then? Nothing much to do after that. Klang Valley shopping too scattered. Should do like Bangkok. Siam area shopping malls more than KV all shopping malls combined. That's why Bukit Bintang area needs more mega malls! Build and they will come!
BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 2 2018, 02:17 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 2 2018, 02:11 PM)
Go one U and then? Nothing much to do after that. Klang Valley shopping too scattered. Should do like Bangkok. Siam area shopping malls more than KV all shopping malls combined. That's why Bukit Bintang area needs more mega malls! Build and they will come!
Somehow i dont find shopping malls in bkk very attractive ..

Orchard road is diff story.
nexona88
post Mar 2 2018, 06:33 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

there's reason why it's not like Bangkok..

the planner have different idea...

they don't want direct competition..

just Imagine say MV, Suria, Pavillion, & 1U all in 1 area.. which one would survive / have more crowd?
BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 2 2018, 09:27 PM

20,146 posts

Bb was supposed to be shopping precinct......some 30 to 40yrs ago.....
MonGJiHyo
post Mar 2 2018, 10:07 PM

2,699 posts

sg. wang days are over...
nexona88
post Mar 2 2018, 10:45 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

SG Wang must be redeveloped..
Without proper planning.. Sure die / close shop.. Much worse...
BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 2 2018, 11:01 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 2 2018, 10:45 PM)
The problem is strata title, required 100% owners to agree.
Quang1819
post Mar 3 2018, 12:13 AM

2,604 posts

Went there few days back. The whole mall was almost empty lol
Quang1819
post Mar 3 2018, 12:17 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 2 2018, 10:45 PM)
Can't really redevelop.

The way they are have been like this for decades. I always feel that small shops with low ceiling are their uniqueness, but sadly 1Shamelin copied their concept and now the whole mall has been empty since its opening lol

A funny thing is, I found out now lalazai and lalamui are much lesser compare to my time decade back lol. Probably they are one of the reason why TS and SW's business not as heng as last time laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Quang1819: Mar 3 2018, 12:18 AM
icemanfx
post Mar 3 2018, 12:32 AM

21,457 posts

bb is the center of golden triangle; the location, location and location of property investment as peached by most if not all property guru. it seems location, location and location alone is not enough to ensure appreciation or sustainable return.

a myth busted.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Mar 3 2018, 12:37 AM
selinix
post Mar 3 2018, 12:33 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Mar 3 2018, 12:17 AM)
Can't really redevelop.

The way they are have been like this for decades. I always feel that small shops with low ceiling are their uniqueness, but sadly 1Shamelin copied their concept and now the whole mall has been empty since its opening lol

A funny thing is, I found out now lalazai and lalamui are much lesser compare to my time decade back lol. Probably they are one of the reason why TS and SW's business not as heng as last time laugh.gif
Redevelop meaning the whole building need to be tore down and rebuilt.. there is nothing unique about low ceiling, it being a dead mall now shows there is nothing worth keeping it's uniqueness

This post has been edited by selinix: Mar 3 2018, 12:34 AM
icemanfx
post Mar 3 2018, 12:40 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Mar 3 2018, 12:33 AM)
Redevelop meaning the whole building need to be tore down and rebuilt.. there is nothing unique about low ceiling, it being a dead mall now shows there is nothing worth keeping it's uniqueness
Low ceiling was to save construction cost and air con running cost.

BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 3 2018, 01:00 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 3 2018, 12:32 AM)
bb is the center of golden triangle; the location, location and location of property investment as peached by most if not all property guru. it seems location, location and location alone is not enough to ensure appreciation or sustainable return.

a myth busted.
Doeant matter if sg wang cant survive but the land cost is not cheap.....location x3....wont go wrong.
MonGJiHyo
post Mar 3 2018, 10:14 AM

2,699 posts

Can't really redevelop.

malls with low ceiling doesn't really appeal to people nowadays.. and surprisingly 1 shamelin still can survive till today..lol

A Big Maze mall with cinema
Quang1819
post Mar 3 2018, 11:59 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Mar 3 2018, 10:14 AM)
malls with low ceiling doesn't really appeal to people nowadays.. and surprisingly 1 shamelin still can survive till today..lol

A Big Maze mall with cinema
Yeah. I wonder how that Y&Y still operates it after so many years. But it's a good thing that the mall is still running. Else that piece of land confirm sell it for condo blocks

nexona88
post Mar 3 2018, 12:54 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Can't really redevelop.

Really cannot brain with the low ceiling thingy...

As for the lala crowds.. They go different place now...
icemanfx
post Mar 3 2018, 01:01 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 3 2018, 12:54 PM)

Probably the mall owner was a regular to sg wang, found sg wang was busy for over 30 years. Hence, insisted to follow.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Mar 3 2018, 01:02 PM
BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 3 2018, 01:07 PM

20,146 posts

different era heng different thing lah.....

even landed....dulu landed houses with more than 1 bathroom is luxury jor.
Jagalat
post Mar 3 2018, 01:32 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

One or two months ago, when l visited Sg Wang, both KFC and McD located were no longer there. These two restaurants used to be located next to each other.
I asked around, no one seems to be able to provide a consistent answer.
selinix
post Mar 3 2018, 04:46 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Mar 3 2018, 01:32 PM)
One or two months ago, when l visited Sg Wang, both KFC and McD located were no longer there. These two restaurants used to be located next to each other.
McD has move out long ago. KFC is still around
nexona88
post Mar 3 2018, 05:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 3 2018, 01:07 PM)
different era heng different thing lah.....

even landed....dulu landed houses with more than 1 bathroom is luxury jor.
Hehehehe
As time pass by..
The old things changes..
m0n0p0ly
post Mar 3 2018, 06:16 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Mar 3 2018, 12:32 PM)
How about the mix rice on top floor?
Jagalat
post Mar 3 2018, 09:42 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(m0n0p0ly @ Mar 3 2018, 07:16 PM)
Didn't go there often but still see some mix rice stalls...
nexona88
post Mar 3 2018, 11:51 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(m0n0p0ly @ Mar 3 2018, 06:16 PM)
The rm6 one right..
I think still surviving.. But not long 😁
MonGJiHyo
post Mar 4 2018, 06:05 PM

2,699 posts

where do Lala go now? Times square ah? hmm.gif
BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 4 2018, 09:45 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Mar 4 2018, 06:05 PM)
where do Lala go now? Times square ah? hmm.gif
Time square middle easterners rite?

Never went beyond ground floor on time square......
Jagalat
post Mar 4 2018, 11:37 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(Shir L @ Mar 5 2018, 12:13 AM)
capita land owns cheras sentral aso right? y all the projects they buying ot bought already are not doing good at all? wat else are by capita land?
cheras sentral still can survive only because of TGV there
Maylan owns Cheras Sentra.
Capital lan owns also Tropicana Siti Mall..

Wenny K
post Mar 4 2018, 11:46 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Feb 27 2018, 07:53 AM)
The management will give 80% discount off the rental to keep tenants, even with that some tenants cant even survive
wow! n how did u get tis info? shakehead.gif
selinix
post Mar 4 2018, 11:54 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Wenny K @ Mar 4 2018, 11:46 PM)
wow! n how did u get tis info?  shakehead.gif
I know a couple of people who runs their business in this mall. Just hang around and ask some business owners there, you probably can get some information also or they probably going to tell you how long of a contract they have left and can't wait to get out from the mall

This post has been edited by selinix: Mar 4 2018, 11:58 PM
Wenny K
post Mar 5 2018, 12:03 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Mar 4 2018, 11:54 PM)
I know a couple of people who runs their business in this mall. Just hang around and ask some business owners there, you probably can get some information also or they probably going to tell you how long of a contract they have left and can't wait to get out from the mall
so relating back to the question prompted on this thread, do u still think tat this person shud rent a lot in sg wang? guess not right? since u mentioned tat lots of them aso cant wait to get out from the mall
selinix
post Mar 6 2018, 09:33 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Wenny K @ Mar 5 2018, 12:03 AM)
so relating back to the question prompted on this thread, do u still think tat this person shud rent a lot in sg wang? guess not right? since u mentioned tat lots of them aso cant wait to get out from the mall
Whether the person should rent or not is depending on a lot of factors. Location? type of business? tourist/locals? operating expenses?

Most of the tourist business are still surviving couple with the lower rental rates now.
MonGJiHyo
post Mar 6 2018, 11:04 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(Shir L @ Mar 4 2018, 11:13 PM)
capita land owns cheras sentral aso right? y all the projects they buying ot bought already are not doing good at all? wat else are by capita land?
cheras sentral still can survive only because of TGV there
cheras sentral.. another failed mall waiting to close down.. doh.gif

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Mar 4 2018, 11:37 PM)
Maylan owns Cheras Sentra.
Capital lan owns also Tropicana Siti Mall..
heard Tropicana biz has becomes worse.. many tenants had moved out.. hmm.gif
nexona88
post Mar 6 2018, 11:22 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Mar 4 2018, 11:54 PM)
did they say where they plan to move after contract ends?
AskarPerang
post Mar 6 2018, 11:53 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Mari-mari. Lelong units available:
http://www.lelongtips.com.my/search/Sungei%20Wang%20Plaza
selinix
post Mar 7 2018, 02:49 PM

7,343 posts

http://www.cmmt.com.my/portfolio_overview.html

90.9% committed occupancy rate as per 31 dec 2017? Seriously
happyking4ever
post Mar 7 2018, 02:58 PM

354 posts

problem is none of the mega malls gonna survive if someone concentrate building them at bukit bintang area. because other malls in other areas gonna divert most of the crowd away. they will need to force closure of most of the other malls first, left with those successful one like Mid Valley, 1U and Sunway Pyramid. but of cos that can never happen.

happyking4ever
post Mar 7 2018, 03:06 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 3 2018, 12:32 AM)

a myth busted.
actually the downfall of sungai wang really begun when mrt started and shut off the bb plaza entrance. ironically mrt was built at this location with the golden triangle as main focus, supposedly going to bring in huge crowd when completed. but end up both bb plaza and sungai wang ended up dead and in life support when mrt became operational.

before that sungai wang still had a thriving businesses with all kinds of shops and vendors operating there. now bookshop closed, mobile providers all moved out, all "video" shops gone, most of the food courts on 2nd and 3rd floor which used to thrive there had shutdown, the themed shopping area on 6th floor was gone, kfc and mcdonald moved out, and more than half of other tenants such as hush puppies, delifrance etc had closed shop for good.

nexona88
post Mar 7 2018, 03:27 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Mar 7 2018, 02:49 PM)

Waiting for contract to over whistling.gif
Wenny K
post Mar 8 2018, 12:30 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ Mar 7 2018, 03:06 PM)
actually the downfall of sungai wang really begun when mrt started and shut off the bb plaza entrance. ironically mrt was built at this location with the golden triangle as main focus, supposedly going to bring in huge crowd when completed. but end up both bb plaza and sungai wang ended up dead and in life support when mrt became operational.

before that sungai wang still had a thriving businesses with all kinds of shops and vendors operating there. now bookshop closed, mobile providers all moved out, all "video" shops gone, most of the food courts on 2nd and 3rd floor which used to thrive there had shutdown, the themed shopping area on 6th floor was gone, kfc and mcdonald moved out, and more than half of other tenants such as hush puppies, delifrance etc had closed shop for good.
agree~~~ tats y im still towards the idea of not renting nor investing on tis project to the person hu asked us for advice(s) one.. my reply wud surely b - not to get it.
selinix
post Mar 8 2018, 08:56 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 7 2018, 03:27 PM)
Waiting for contract to over whistling.gif
Not sure how to get the 90.9% figure out, but clearly when you pay a visit even 80% is questionable
nexona88
post Mar 8 2018, 09:29 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Mar 8 2018, 08:56 AM)
Not sure how to get the 90.9% figure out, but clearly when you pay a visit even 80%  is questionable
Just to make the books look good..
Those didn't visit would surely be happy see the good percentage written 😁
selinix
post Mar 8 2018, 09:35 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ Mar 7 2018, 03:06 PM)

KFC is close for renovation, they are re-opening back
Jagalat
post Mar 8 2018, 10:07 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Mar 7 2018, 03:49 PM)

Also, notice the independent valuation (done last year) of SWang(FH) is lower than the Mine(LH at golden triangle location) .....How come?
gks
post Mar 8 2018, 10:12 AM

3,834 posts

CMMT didn't own 100% of Sungai Wang. They just own about 60% of retail space.
Jagalat
post Mar 8 2018, 10:19 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Mar 8 2018, 11:12 AM)
CMMT didn't own 100% of Sungai Wang. They just own about 60% of retail space.
So their committed occupancy rate of 90.9% is only calculated based on the 60% retail space?
gks
post Mar 8 2018, 10:26 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Mar 8 2018, 10:19 AM)
So their committed occupancy rate of 90.9% is only calculated based on the 60% retail space?
Yup of course

The other lots are stratified. Which pose a challenge during maintenance, marketing etc.

This is the same issue faced by the summit.
SUSYH1234
post Mar 9 2018, 01:48 PM

372 posts

the one with almost full occupancy rate is pavilion, klcc, mv, 1u, s.pyramid, lowyat, n surprisingly ioi mall n citymall is also quite good, velocity not too bad.

i still think sg wang is at one of the best location, just a matter of strategy n good mgt?
urbanite
post Mar 9 2018, 03:09 PM

275 posts

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-mall-strategy/
nexona88
post Mar 9 2018, 04:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(YH1234 @ Mar 9 2018, 01:48 PM)
the one with almost full occupancy rate is pavilion, klcc, mv, 1u, s.pyramid, lowyat, n surprisingly ioi mall n citymall is also quite good, velocity not too bad.

i still think sg wang is at one of the best location, just a matter of strategy n good mgt?
Problems is multiple owners..
CMMT don't own the whole place...
So kinda hard 😢
BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 9 2018, 05:19 PM

20,146 posts

Maybe can turn into 'mall museum'...show casing the evolusion of malls in malaysia.....keke
nexona88
post Mar 9 2018, 06:43 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 9 2018, 05:19 PM)
Maybe can turn into 'mall museum'...show casing the evolusion of malls in malaysia.....keke
just google it..

seems like Europe have such thing as Mall Museum..

Mall museums are a new development resulting from the 2007–2010 global recession, where museums take over large spaces within shopping malls, making beneficial use of the space and leveraging the foot traffic of the malls to bring more people into museums, exhibits and other educational venues.

Ckmwpy0370
post Mar 9 2018, 08:30 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(hummels @ Mar 1 2018, 07:12 AM)
Sungai Wang was old time famous, Now is not up to the trend.
Not only these area, even KLCC also full of those foreign workers you mentioned visiting there!
SUSMNet
post Mar 9 2018, 09:04 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 9 2018, 05:19 PM)
Already proposed to them but get turned down.
nexona88
post Mar 23 2018, 10:23 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Major Facelift tongue.gif

https://www.pressreader.com/malaysia/the-st...281496456823560
Clement1001
post Mar 23 2018, 11:59 AM

914 posts

CMMT have only 205 out of 674 parcels in sungai wang. And they are fully committed to revamping the place, but as i went there last weekend, those strata owners tenants are really like selling Pasar Malam goods. How to Jump start, damn difficult sweat.gif
selinix
post Apr 26 2018, 07:06 PM

7,343 posts

So the parkson section will be rename to “Jumpa” with individual shop lots after renovating and exterior fecelift. Lets see if they can make it alive again.
HELLO HELLO
post Apr 26 2018, 09:37 PM

5,436 posts

Times square KL killed sungai wang. cool2.gif

now or future which mall with sama market sama target group can K.O Times square? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by HELLO HELLO: Apr 26 2018, 09:40 PM
myhouse
post Apr 26 2018, 09:45 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(HELLO HELLO @ Apr 26 2018, 09:37 PM)
Times square KL killed sungai wang.  cool2.gif

now or future which mall with sama market sama target group can K.O Times square?  rolleyes.gif
Dun forget Ecoworld build new mall at pudu jail due in 2020
HELLO HELLO
post Apr 26 2018, 09:50 PM

5,436 posts

QUOTE(myhouse @ Apr 26 2018, 09:45 PM)
Dun forget Ecoworld build new mall at pudu jail due in 2020
Macam target highend, then different group liao.

Time squares kl is mid low end and lala abeng, ah kao and ah lah punyai tempat, those customers formerly from Sungai Wang. Ecoworld mall can?

This post has been edited by HELLO HELLO: Apr 26 2018, 09:51 PM
myhouse
post Apr 26 2018, 10:20 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(HELLO HELLO @ Apr 26 2018, 09:50 PM)
Macam target highend, then different group liao.

Time squares kl is mid low end and lala abeng, ah kao and ah lah punyai tempat, those customers formerly from Sungai Wang. Ecoworld mall can?
Since Sg Wang strive on jinjang joe..most are old n prosper..no more those era..need to upgrade for uncle & aunty jinjsng joe😂

BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 26 2018, 11:28 PM

20,146 posts

No lah...

Both sg wang n berjaya is strata owned lots.

Lalaport and pavillion are not.
icemanfx
post Apr 27 2018, 02:01 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 26 2018, 11:28 PM)
No lah...

Both sg wang n berjaya is strata owned lots.

Lalaport and pavillion are not.
Stratas owned shopping mall couldn't evolve to cater for demographic change, most if not all will eventually decay.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 27 2018, 02:02 AM
selinix
post Apr 27 2018, 09:00 AM

7,343 posts

They need to bring back the locals to this mall, can't sustain which just foreigner business alone
aspartame
post Apr 27 2018, 09:27 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 27 2018, 02:01 AM)
Stratas owned shopping mall couldn't evolve to cater for demographic change, most if not all will eventually decay.
There are not many strata owned malls to begin with. I think what determines whether a mall survive or not is not strata or not but their size. A mall must be very big or big enough for people to make an effort to go there. Sungei Wang is too small to compete. It used to be sufficient in the 70s and 80s but not anymore. Times Square has taken over the role of Sungei Wang. It is still relevant because of its size. It offers what the rest of the other mega malls cannot offer - something like Platinum mall of Bangkok but of course not so many small shops compared to Platinum. However, it still has many floors on top and can be filled up if there is a demand for such shops.
Xaser_3
post Apr 27 2018, 11:35 AM

Because I Fly, I envy no man on earth...
10,536 posts

Too many malls competing against each other. Waiting for en-block sale, a big developer to buyout, demolish and rebuild a better, new and modern building.

Btw, the SW location is prime and worth a lot by itself.
Ckmwpy0370
post Apr 27 2018, 01:41 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Apr 27 2018, 11:35 AM)
Too many malls competing against each other. Waiting for en-block sale, a big developer to buyout, demolish and rebuild a better, new and modern building.

yes
but too small, the owner must think out of the box to compete with others Otherwise investment of refurbishment is a waste
Same to Empire Tower or Low Yat plaza last time.
icemanfx
post Apr 27 2018, 01:42 PM

21,457 posts

Without consent of every strata owners, en-block sale is almost impossible except acquisition by gomen. Location may be prime or super prime but value can't be unlocked.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 27 2018, 01:43 PM
selinix
post Apr 27 2018, 01:51 PM

7,343 posts

same goes to the Imbi plaza + the parking lot beside it, so much potential to be unlocked if they going to re-built the whole place, can turn into some hotel/office
BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 27 2018, 02:14 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 27 2018, 01:42 PM)
Without consent of every strata owners, en-block sale is almost impossible except acquisition by gomen. Location may be prime or super prime but value can't be unlocked.
malai laws still pretty outdated. Still need 100% consensus to buy out a strata titled property.
BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 27 2018, 02:16 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Apr 27 2018, 01:51 PM)
same goes to the Imbi plaza + the parking lot beside it, so much potential to be unlocked if they going to re-built the whole place, can turn into some hotel/office
if current BB still remain in the 70's, investors will simply move away and create pavilion, lalaport, TRX and perhaps PNB shopping district.

well at least authority has clamped down on feet masak parlour along Jln BB. devil.gif
aspartame
post Apr 27 2018, 03:09 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 27 2018, 02:14 PM)
malai laws still pretty outdated. Still need 100% consensus to buy out a strata titled property.
How to achieve 100%? 90% still got chance. Malai got many eat full sell pau people.

This post has been edited by aspartame: Apr 27 2018, 03:09 PM
Xaser_3
post Apr 27 2018, 03:23 PM

10,536 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 27 2018, 02:16 PM)
if current BB still remain in the 70's, investors will simply move away and create pavilion, lalaport, TRX and perhaps PNB shopping district.

well at least authority has clamped down on feet masak parlour along Jln BB. devil.gif
So true. As it is BB area is mostly populated by foreigners now. It was even on the headlines of one of our MM newspaper. Sorry don't have SOS to quote atm.
nexona88
post Sep 25 2018, 10:20 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Sungei Wang Plaza will be set for a much-needed revival as Capitaland Malaysia Mall Trust’s (CMMT), who owns 62 per cent of the mall, wants to transform the iconic place.

According to The Edge Markets, CMMT says that they want to renovate the place to make it glistening gold by mid-2019.

There will be a 3D screen which will play around with lights both day and night.

Other new things that visitors can expect to see is the rebranding of Sungei Wang’s five-storey annexe block as JUMPA.

They want this rebranded retail space to include a family entertainment park, large format specialty retail stores, edgy fashion brands, F&B, beauty products and supermarket.

This transformation would be the third time that the mall is given a major refurbishment and reconfiguration since 2013.

MonGJiHyo
post Sep 25 2018, 11:00 AM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 25 2018, 10:20 AM)
Sungei Wang Plaza will be set for a much-needed revival as Capitaland Malaysia Mall Trust’s (CMMT), who owns 62 per cent of the mall, wants to transform the iconic place.

According to The Edge Markets, CMMT says that they want to renovate the place to make it glistening gold by mid-2019.

There will be a 3D screen which will play around with lights both day and night.

Other new things that visitors can expect to see is the rebranding of Sungei Wang’s five-storey annexe block as JUMPA.

They want this rebranded retail space to include a family entertainment park, large format specialty retail stores, edgy fashion brands, F&B, beauty products and supermarket.

This transformation would be the third time that the mall is given a major refurbishment and reconfiguration since 2013.

sungai wang's glory days are over.. many shops has closed down including a lot of stalls at the food court located at top floor..

even parkson had moved out.. and hearsay giant had closed down as well.. hmm.gif

lalabeng nowadays prefer to shop at BTS.. laugh.gif

selinix
post Sep 25 2018, 11:04 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Sep 25 2018, 11:00 AM)
sungai wang's glory days are over.. many shops has closed down including a lot of stalls at the food court located at top floor..

even parkson had moved out.. and hearsay giant had closed down as well.. hmm.gif

lalabeng nowadays prefer to shop at BTS.. laugh.gif
Giant didn't close down, they are renovating, they are making the small entrance from the side at Giant to be bigger and extending the floor space.

Parkson moving out so they can re-do the whole area to be JUMPA, seriously they should learn to use a better name..

This post has been edited by selinix: Sep 25 2018, 11:05 AM
DesRed
post Sep 25 2018, 11:36 AM

Delta Echo Sierra Eight Five
2,867 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Sep 25 2018, 11:04 AM)
Giant didn't close down, they are renovating, they are making the small entrance from the side at Giant to be bigger and extending the floor space.

Parkson moving out so they can re-do the whole area to be JUMPA, seriously they should learn to use a better name..
Maybe they came up with that 'Jumpa' name to signify a meeting hub of people from different nationalities, races and all walks of life? laugh.gif

On a serious note, not sure why CapitaMall chose this name of all other names. hmm.gif
Xaser_3
post Sep 25 2018, 11:43 AM

10,536 posts

Fuiyoh, transformation under Capital Land incoming. Looking forward to see the newly refurbished Sungai Wang after being runed down for so many years. Those iconic and nostalgic days will be missed.
MonGJiHyo
post Sep 25 2018, 12:03 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Sep 25 2018, 11:04 AM)

oic.. thought the biz is damn bad until Giant also moved out.. tongue.gif

yes.. JUMPA name is weird.. should use a better name

Imagine there is a conversation going on between 2 people:

A: Nanti jumpa kat mana?
B: jumpa kat jumpa..

laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(DesRed @ Sep 25 2018, 11:36 AM)
Maybe they came up with that 'Jumpa' name to signify a meeting hub of people from different nationalities, races and all walks of life? laugh.gif

On a serious note, not sure why CapitaMall chose this name of all other names. hmm.gif
same goes to why they chose "3 Damansara" name for Tropicana City mall.. doh.gif

Jagalat
post Sep 25 2018, 12:27 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

I preder the existing "run down" mall as we can have more options around this area. Food in Sg Wong are in general better price than nearby mall, just to quote an example... Get get chap fan...
Jumpa lagi....just JUMP to other malls if better price

This post has been edited by Jagalat: Sep 25 2018, 12:29 PM
BEANCOUNTER
post Sep 25 2018, 12:30 PM

20,146 posts

Typical change of wine bottle but not the wine.
Why even bother?

Might as well demolish the entire place and new planning again.

Just buy out all owners lah

They are sitting on gold mines
Ckmwpy0370
post Sep 25 2018, 03:55 PM

3,821 posts

low ceiling internal walk way make you feel a little squashed, not comfortable
they should renovate internal and external as well NOT only the surface only

nexona88
post Sep 25 2018, 04:03 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 25 2018, 11:43 AM)
Fuiyoh, transformation under Capital Land incoming. Looking forward to see the newly refurbished Sungai Wang after being runed down for so many years. Those iconic and nostalgic days will be missed.
Well I'm looking forward what they can do with the mall..
The place is strategic.... Just that it failed to attract crowd because lack of wow factors...
nexona88
post Sep 25 2018, 04:05 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Sep 25 2018, 12:27 PM)
I preder the existing "run down" mall as we can have more options around this area. Food in Sg Wong are in general better price than nearby mall, just to quote an example... Get get chap fan...
Jumpa lagi....just JUMP to other malls if better price
Agreed with the food part..
That the only thing I feel worth.. Others... Lack of wow factors to attract people around...
happyking4ever
post Sep 25 2018, 04:09 PM

354 posts

jumpa is such a stupid name. should just rename it to Golden River which sounds nicer and preserve its identity.

selinix
post Sep 25 2018, 04:11 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ Sep 25 2018, 04:09 PM)
jumpa is such a stupid name. should just rename it to Golden River which sounds nicer and preserve its identity.
Was told the sungei wang name is still there. Jumpa is just for the ex-parkson section of sungei wang
MonGJiHyo
post Sep 25 2018, 04:17 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Sep 25 2018, 03:55 PM)
low ceiling internal walk way  make  you feel a little squashed, not comfortable
they should renovate internal and external as well NOT only the surface only
yes.. damn agree on this.. especially for the lower floor where the concourse is.. damn LOW ceiling which makes people feels very uncomfortable..

besides, the toilets for male and female are separated which means male toilet on one floor but female toilet on another floor (have to climb the stairs behind to reach it)..

if they just renovate facade but ignoring the old interior design.. it will be useless hmm.gif

Ckmwpy0370
post Sep 25 2018, 04:54 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Sep 25 2018, 04:11 PM)
Was told the sungei wang name is still there. Jumpa is just for the ex-parkson section of sungei wang
they should re-branding the Sungei Wang to something more superior !
for example:
Sunway Group:
Sungei Way become Sunway
logo from "SW" became "S"
Xaser_3
post Sep 27 2018, 08:29 AM

10,536 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 25 2018, 04:03 PM)
Well I'm looking forward what they can do with the mall..
The place is strategic.... Just that it failed to attract crowd because lack of wow factors...
I am quite sure it will rise again and continue to improve under the management of Capital Land. They have a good and proven track record.

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Sep 25 2018, 04:54 PM)
they should re-branding the Sungei Wang to something more superior !
for example:
Sunway Group:
Sungei Way become Sunway
logo from "SW" became "S"
They most probably would rename or rebrand it, since under Captial Land management. See what happened to DiJaya's Tropicana City Mall.
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 27 2018, 08:38 AM

13,761 posts

Besides sg Wang, I can c retailers r oso suffering gao gao lately. Giant closed down few outlets in 2nd and 3rd quarter in 2018. Not many took note of tat.

But for sg Wang giant is refurbishing n not closing down for sure. They hav many coke sapoters here 🤣🤣🤣
Xaser_3
post Sep 27 2018, 08:56 AM

10,536 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Sep 27 2018, 08:38 AM)
Besides sg Wang, I can c retailers r oso suffering gao gao lately. Giant closed down few outlets in 2nd and 3rd quarter in 2018. Not many took note of tat.

But for sg Wang giant is refurbishing n not closing down for sure. They hav many coke sapoters here 🤣🤣🤣
I think the Giant there making healthy profits from those foreigners in the Bukit Bintang area. Those Giants that closed down most probably located in suburbia or remote areas.
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 27 2018, 10:03 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 27 2018, 08:56 AM)
I think the Giant there making healthy profits from those foreigners in the Bukit Bintang area. Those Giants that closed down most probably located in suburbia or remote areas.
End last yr n early tis yr yes many giants closed down due to kpi n lease expiring.

But tis round 4 of them in klang valley. And another big giant store gonna close vely soon. Tis due to lease expiring. Which oso means they r not doin extremely well like last time. Consumers somehow switched to higher end grocer with more varieties in term of quality products. Especially fresh market section.
MonGJiHyo
post Sep 27 2018, 05:14 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Sep 27 2018, 10:03 AM)
End last yr n early tis yr yes many giants closed down due to kpi n lease expiring.

But tis round 4 of them in klang valley. And another big giant store gonna close vely soon. Tis due to lease expiring. Which oso means they r not doin extremely well like last time. Consumers somehow switched to higher end grocer with more varieties in term of quality products. Especially fresh market section.
most of the time Giant's fresh market section has weird smell.. it happens a lot at the Viva Home outlet(which already closed on last year)..

totally no mood to buy those things.. lol
kh8668
post Sep 27 2018, 05:52 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Sep 27 2018, 05:14 PM)
most of the time Giant's fresh market section has weird smell.. it happens a lot at the Viva Home outlet(which already closed on last year)..

totally no mood to buy those things.. lol
https://themalaysianreserve.com/2018/09/19/...ibution-centre/

lol
kh8668
post Sep 27 2018, 05:53 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

Five Giant Outlets To Shut Down By 5 November
Published by Tang Ruxyn — 27 Oct 2017, 12:22 PM
The Giant outlet in Bercham, Perak will also be relocated.

#news #giant #closing #closedown #hypermarket #business
Cover image via YNHB
It has been reported that five Giant Hypermarket outlets will cease operations by 5 November

C6a7Image via GoWhere.my
According to media reports, the affected outlets are:
• Giant Sri Manjung (Perak)
• Giant Sungai Petani (Kedah)
• Giant Shah Alam City Centre (Selangor)
• Giant Selayang Lama (Selangor)
• Giant Sibu (Sarawak)

The closures were confirmed by GCH Retail (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd yesterday, 26 October. The group is the operator and owner of Giant. GCH said that these outlets have reached the end of its lease term at these premises.

"The group said it has reviewed its operations and the decision was made to improve efficiencies and productivity," The Sun Daily reported.

It was also reported that the Giant outlet in Bercham, Perak, will be shifting to a new premises

GCH Retail Sdn Bhd, who also owns Cold Storage, Mercato, and Jasons Food Hall stores, revealed that the new facility is much more spacious - double the size of the current store. The group added that the outlet will provide more offerings and range of products for its customers.

"In addition, by the end of this year, GCH Retail will be relaunching a new exciting concept store by Cold Storage in KLCC (Kuala Lumpur City Centre).

"The group will continue to deploy its resources to raise the bar to create positive retail experiences for our customers. We look forward to serve our customers in all our stores located across the country," the group added.

News of the closures comes days after netizens speculated that the Sri Manjung outlet might be shutting down

A861Image via Facebook
B6eeImage via Facebook
Several posts on social media have claimed that the Giant store in Sri Manjung, Perak, has underperformed its peers in the challenging market environment, and suffered losses for four consecutive years.

There were also claims that it was due to these losses that Giant decided not to renew lease, whereby the monthly rent is at RM150,000.

nexona88
post Sep 27 2018, 07:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

nowadays people don't go Giant anymore..

either Tesco, NSK or Mydin laugh.gif
Sand Dust
post Sep 27 2018, 07:31 PM

600 posts

Just buyout, demolish and rebuild with apartments on top of the mall.
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 27 2018, 08:45 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Sep 27 2018, 05:53 PM)
Five Giant Outlets To Shut Down By 5 November
Published by Tang Ruxyn — 27 Oct 2017, 12:22 PM
The Giant outlet in Bercham, Perak will also be relocated.

#news  #giant  #closing  #closedown  #hypermarket  #business
Cover image via YNHB
It has been reported that five Giant Hypermarket outlets will cease operations by 5 November

C6a7Image via GoWhere.my
According to media reports, the affected outlets are:
• Giant Sri Manjung (Perak)
• Giant Sungai Petani (Kedah)
• Giant Shah Alam City Centre (Selangor)
• Giant Selayang Lama (Selangor)
• Giant Sibu (Sarawak)

The closures were confirmed by GCH Retail (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd yesterday, 26 October. The group is the operator and owner of Giant. GCH said that these outlets have reached the end of its lease term at these premises.

"The group said it has reviewed its operations and the decision was made to improve efficiencies and productivity," The Sun Daily reported.

It was also reported that the Giant outlet in Bercham, Perak, will be shifting to a new premises

GCH Retail Sdn Bhd, who also owns Cold Storage, Mercato, and Jasons Food Hall stores, revealed that the new facility is much more spacious - double the size of the current store. The group added that the outlet will provide more offerings and range of products for its customers.

"In addition, by the end of this year, GCH Retail will be relaunching a new exciting concept store by Cold Storage in KLCC (Kuala Lumpur City Centre).

"The group will continue to deploy its resources to raise the bar to create positive retail experiences for our customers. We look forward to serve our customers in all our stores located across the country," the group added.

News of the closures comes days after netizens speculated that the Sri Manjung outlet might be shutting down

A861Image via Facebook
B6eeImage via Facebook
Several posts on social media have claimed that the Giant store in Sri Manjung, Perak, has underperformed its peers in the challenging market environment, and suffered losses for four consecutive years.

There were also claims that it was due to these losses that Giant decided not to renew lease, whereby the monthly rent is at RM150,000.
Boss tis news is for 2017. Those for 2018 r not announced. 😬😬😬
Quang1819
post Sep 27 2018, 10:13 PM

2,604 posts

Renaming the building to JUMPA is the worst decision doh.gif

Capitaland at its best again.

This post has been edited by Quang1819: Sep 27 2018, 10:14 PM
Quang1819
post Sep 27 2018, 10:16 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2018, 07:02 PM)

The glory days of Econsave are long gone as well lol
aaron1717
post Sep 27 2018, 10:19 PM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 27 2018, 10:16 PM)
The glory days of Econsave are long gone as well lol
not really... most of their standalone branches making fat profit... haha... those inside malls are the ones suffering... otherwise... they are actually flying in term of profitability...
Quang1819
post Sep 27 2018, 10:26 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Sep 27 2018, 10:19 PM)
not really... most of their standalone branches making fat profit... haha... those inside malls are the ones suffering... otherwise... they are actually flying in term of profitability...
Hm... But quite a few of their branches in Cheras are gone couple years back. One is forced out due to land ownership like Connaught's branch, but they never open a new one either after that. Its been a while since they last opened any new outlets. And I went to Malacca's outlet which is their standalone, the crowd was pretty bad too
aaron1717
post Sep 27 2018, 10:45 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 27 2018, 10:26 PM)
Hm... But quite a few of their branches in Cheras are gone couple years back. One is forced out due to land ownership like Connaught's branch, but they never open a new one either after that. Its been a while since they last opened any new outlets. And I went to Malacca's outlet which is their standalone, the crowd was pretty bad too
the connaught one will make a come back ma... after majestic maxim completed... generally still okay... the boss still as egoistic as ever... always press suppliers' pricing... haha
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 27 2018, 10:52 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Sep 27 2018, 10:45 PM)
the connaught one will make a come back ma... after majestic maxim completed... generally still okay... the boss still as egoistic as ever... always press suppliers' pricing... haha
Ah lai
DesRed
post Sep 27 2018, 10:57 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2018, 07:02 PM)

What about AEON and AEON Big? I do remember seeing lots of people shopping at both places whenever I'm at MidValley. laugh.gif

And I recall that the AEON Mall in Maluri is also doing quite well there.

Quang1819
post Sep 27 2018, 10:58 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Sep 27 2018, 10:45 PM)
Open under the condo? It would be like that old Carrefour nearby Maluri then
Quang1819
post Sep 27 2018, 11:00 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(DesRed @ Sep 27 2018, 10:57 PM)
What about AEON and AEON Big? I do remember seeing lots of people shopping at both places whenever I'm at MidValley. laugh.gif

Aeon MaxValue crowd in Sunway Velocity also not bad. Seems like Cheras lang got richer brows.gif

This post has been edited by Quang1819: Sep 28 2018, 08:49 AM
MonGJiHyo
post Sep 27 2018, 11:02 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 27 2018, 11:00 PM)
Aeon MaxValue crowd in Sunway Velocity also not bad. Seems like Cheras lang get richer brows.gif
Village Grocer crowd at mytown also not bad.. laugh.gif

DesRed
post Sep 27 2018, 11:22 PM

2,867 posts

Aeon MaxValue crowd in Sunway Velocity also not bad. Seems like Cheras lang get richer brows.gif
Forgot about that one, but yeah, saw lots of ppl there too. laugh.gif

But some of the fruits and veges at most of the AEON affiliated outlets (e.g. original, BIG and MaxValue) aren't that fresh, tho. Prefer those from either Village Grocer or BIG.

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Sep 27 2018, 11:02 PM)
Yeah, and I sometimes shop there for some groceries (those which cannot be found at the wet market, TMC and AEON outlets, that is). biggrin.gif
Quang1819
post Sep 28 2018, 08:52 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Sep 27 2018, 11:02 PM)
Nowadays residents no longer go Segi or common Aeon and Giant already laugh.gif All must be high class one haha
Quang1819
post Sep 28 2018, 08:54 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(DesRed @ Sep 27 2018, 11:22 PM)
Forgot about that one, but yeah, saw lots of ppl there too. laugh.gif

But some of the fruits and veges at most of the AEON affiliated outlets (e.g. original, BIG and MaxValue) aren't that fresh, tho. Prefer those from either Village Grocer or BIG.
Yeah, and I sometimes shop there for some groceries (those which cannot be found at the wet market, TMC and AEON outlets, that is). biggrin.gif
Heck sometimes fruits in pasar malam and pasar pagi are mostly expensive doh.gif
Family used to buy vegetables in pasar pagi, now rather buy them at Aeon
selinix
post Sep 28 2018, 08:59 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 27 2018, 08:29 AM)
I am quite sure it will rise again and continue to improve under the management of Capital Land. They have a good and proven track record.
They most probably would rename or rebrand it, since under Captial Land management. See what happened to DiJaya's Tropicana City Mall.
Mind sharing which mall capital land manage that is doing well?

As far as i know the 3Damansara seems to be getting worst after they bought over, partially also because of stiff competition from Starling / Atria

Sungei Wang has never improve before, they constantly throwing huge rent discount to keep tenants
Xaser_3
post Sep 28 2018, 09:02 AM

10,536 posts

Well, that is a wise decision and move by the management, better to cut their losses while ahead rather than trying to remain relevant by bleeding out to death.

Times are tough so consolidation is very crucial not to fall into the red.

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 28 2018, 08:54 AM)
Heck sometimes fruits in pasar malam and pasar pagi are mostly expensive doh.gif
Yup, totally agree. Hyper markets like Aeon and Tesco sell much cheaper than those morning wet markets or pasar malam.
aaron1717
post Sep 28 2018, 09:06 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 27 2018, 10:58 PM)
Open under the condo? It would be like that old Carrefour nearby Maluri then
yeap... its in the brochure of the project... anchor tenant with a brand new building for econsave... well its actually doing well all these while there... very suits the local buyers pricing... in term of grocery shopping... they really one of the lowest in term of pricing...

the one that really struggling are tesco... they just holding on well because they gt rental income... lol... their supermarket doing very badly actually...
DesRed
post Sep 28 2018, 09:48 AM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 28 2018, 08:54 AM)
I noticed that the quality and price for fruits at the pasar tak tentu one. I went to the PJ Old Town wet market on some weekends to buy some fruits and vege and noticed this. As an example, apples being sold at a few stalls can sometimes range from RM 10 for 5 pcs or RM 10 for 10 pcs (quality can vary). In the end, we prefer the fruits being sold at one roadside fruit stall on OKR which is next to the NPE flyover as they're fresh at a decent price.

As for veges, the pricing are generally cheaper (for some) but the quality also varies. Some of the veges sold by certain stalls looked withered, so have to go from stall to stall to look for decent-looking veges.

This post has been edited by DesRed: Sep 28 2018, 09:48 AM
nexona88
post Sep 28 2018, 09:49 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(DesRed @ Sep 27 2018, 10:57 PM)

AEON seems good...
Well maybe because they got those Japanese products...

MV don't talk... Every big tenants is generating $$$... From fast food to GSC 😎
Ckmwpy0370
post Sep 28 2018, 10:02 AM

3,821 posts

Aeon MaxValue crowd in Sunway Velocity also not bad. Seems like Cheras lang got richer brows.gif
Kepong AEON ,AEON BIG or TESCO also very crowded, the cars q up to parking lead to jam up at main road doh.gif
Xaser_3
post Sep 28 2018, 10:16 AM

10,536 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Sep 28 2018, 10:02 AM)
Kepong AEON ,AEON BIG or TESCO also very crowded, the cars q up to parking lead to jam up at main road doh.gif
High density populated area mah. Lots of people but only 3 Hypermarket's to cater for their needs.
Quang1819
post Sep 28 2018, 10:17 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Sep 28 2018, 09:06 AM)
yeap... its in the brochure of the project... anchor tenant with a brand new building for econsave... well its actually doing well all these while there... very suits the local buyers pricing... in term of grocery shopping... they really one of the lowest in term of pricing...

the one that really struggling are tesco... they just holding on well because they gt rental income... lol... their supermarket doing very badly actually...
Owh... Didn't know that. Thought they're not interested in Cheras anymore laugh.gif
Yeah, they do stay very competitive. But because of those foreign workers they hire never keep up with the hygiene of the store, made a lot of people stayed away from it. I've seen cockroaches and rats on vegetables right in front of me doh.gif

True lol. After Tesco moved in not much crowd anymore as compared to Carrefour oddly. Then they ceased operation after 2 years then now NSK took over
Quang1819
post Sep 28 2018, 10:19 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Sep 28 2018, 10:02 AM)
Yeah weh. Whenever pass by can see all the cars jamming into the parking laugh.gif
kh8668
post Sep 28 2018, 10:57 AM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Sep 27 2018, 08:45 PM)
Boss tis news is for 2017. Those for 2018 r not announced. 😬😬😬
oh no..still got stores to close up?
MonGJiHyo
post Sep 28 2018, 10:59 AM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 28 2018, 08:52 AM)
Nowadays residents no longer go Segi or common Aeon and Giant already laugh.gif All must be high class one haha
don't underestimate those uncles or aunties doing grocery shopping, they may dress simple but they spend on high class grocery shopping, e.g village grocer, maxvalu prime brows.gif

QUOTE(selinix @ Sep 28 2018, 08:59 AM)
Mind sharing which mall capital land manage that is doing well?

As far as i know the 3Damansara seems to be getting worst after they bought over, partially also because of stiff competition from Starling / Atria

Sungei Wang has never improve before, they constantly throwing huge rent discount to keep tenants
IMO, the only good thing after capitaland bought over 3 damansara is that they had refurbished the dirty toilets..

tenants wise.. it's getting bad as more tenants are moving out and the crowd is reducing hmm.gif
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 28 2018, 11:09 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Sep 28 2018, 10:57 AM)
oh no..still got stores to close up?
Yup. 4 in klang valley for the last few mths after raya.

Noone really took note la.
Quang1819
post Sep 28 2018, 11:18 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(DesRed @ Sep 28 2018, 09:48 AM)
I noticed that the quality and price for fruits at the pasar tak tentu one. I went to the PJ Old Town wet market on some weekends to buy some fruits and vege and noticed this. As an example, apples being sold at a few stalls can sometimes range from RM 10 for 5 pcs or RM 10 for 10 pcs (quality can vary). In the end, we prefer the fruits being sold at one roadside fruit stall on OKR which is next to the NPE flyover as they're fresh at a decent price.

As for veges, the pricing are generally cheaper (for some) but the quality also varies. Some of the veges sold by certain stalls looked withered, so have to go from stall to stall to look for decent-looking veges.
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 28 2018, 09:02 AM)

Times are tough so consolidation is very crucial not to fall into the red.
Yup, totally agree. Hyper markets like Aeon and Tesco sell much cheaper than those morning wet markets or pasar malam.
They used to be cheaper and fresher as well. Now more expensive yet sell lower grade doh.gif
Quang1819
post Sep 28 2018, 11:19 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Sep 28 2018, 10:59 AM)
don't underestimate those uncles or aunties doing grocery shopping, they may dress simple but they spend on high class grocery shopping, e.g village grocer, maxvalu prime brows.gif
I've seen an uncle pulling those pasar bag around Garden, but Patek on his wrist laugh.gif
AskarPerang
post Feb 2 2019, 09:38 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

ManutdGiggs
post Feb 2 2019, 09:50 PM

13,761 posts

Giant is back

icemanfx
post Feb 2 2019, 10:03 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Feb 2 2019, 09:50 PM)
Giant is back
Unker, how many units you have in sg wang?

MonGJiHyo
post Feb 2 2019, 10:24 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Feb 2 2019, 09:50 PM)
Giant is back
sungei wang already lost its charm.. so many closed shops.. people especialy lalachai already moved their lepak port to times square a.k.a new sungei wang.. laugh.gif
ManutdGiggs
post Feb 2 2019, 10:32 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 2 2019, 10:03 PM)
Unker, how many units you have in sg wang?
Jackpot if u guess it korekly
Jagalat
post Feb 3 2019, 01:22 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Feb 2 2019, 11:24 PM)
sungei wang already lost its charm.. so many closed shops.. people especialy lalachai already moved their lepak port to times square a.k.a new sungei wang.. laugh.gif
BTS level5 onwards till the MakD, a lot of lala shoppers lepak-ing there..If one had been there these few years, onr will notice a great mix of various cultures(not just one lala group) ranging from SE lala Asians to ME families....
From the business strategy point of view, it maybe a good move for Sg Wong to do renaming in order to attract this segment of customers....
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 3 2019, 11:12 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Feb 3 2019, 01:22 AM)
BTS level5 onwards till the MakD, a lot of lala shoppers lepak-ing there..If one had been there these few years, onr will notice a great mix of various cultures(not just one lala group) ranging from SE lala Asians to ME families....
From the business strategy point of view, it maybe a good move for Sg Wong to do renaming in order to attract this segment of customers....
I went there twice recently, pretty quiet for an inner city mall.....only noticed few cats around.
mini orchard
post Feb 3 2019, 11:40 AM

14,511 posts

Bernama / February 02, 2019

Giant supermarket reopens at Sungei Wang Plaza

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 2): Giant Supermarket has reopened at Sungei Wang Plaza here after a complete revamp, while incorporating a new store concept, which offers customers an engaging shopping experience.

Located at the heart of the Golden Triangle area, the store is one of the oldest Giant supermarkets in Malaysia.

We spent a great deal of time to understand the needs of our customers when they visit us at Giant Supermarket Sungei Wang.

“Every detail in the store has been meticulously planned and implemented for one purpose, namely to provide the best shopping experience to our customers,“ GCH Retail (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd managing director Pierre-Olivier Deplanck said in a statement today.

GCH Retail is the operator of the Giant hypermarkets and supermarket chain.

The new Giant Supermarket Sungei Wang store will also see the introduction of new products and items, while expanding its variety of ready-to-eat food items such as an extensive Korean range.

Ckmwpy0370
post Feb 3 2019, 11:56 AM

3,821 posts

IMPO, i dun think Sungai Wang can back to those glory days even is rebranding or refurbishment as still the same provided totally revamp or restructure.
icemanfx
post Feb 3 2019, 12:16 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Feb 3 2019, 11:56 AM)
IMPO, i dun think Sungai Wang can back to those glory days even is rebranding or refurbishment as still the same provided totally revamp or restructure.
The mall management doesn't has complete control over tenants mix, could only leave to market force to determine whether could meet intended customers.
Jagalat
post Feb 3 2019, 02:53 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 3 2019, 12:12 PM)
I went there twice recently, pretty quiet for an inner city mall.....only noticed few cats around.
BTS? Week days? Try MakD level...
I went to BTS for the past 5 weekends(afternoon-evening), observe super mixture of diverse cultures of lala groups...
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 3 2019, 03:16 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Feb 3 2019, 02:53 PM)
I went to BTS for the past 5 weekends(afternoon-evening), observe super mixture of diverse cultures  of lala groups...
what is BTS????

I think weekdays...…..

usually just ground and lower ground floors only.
ManutdGiggs
post Feb 3 2019, 03:22 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 3 2019, 03:16 PM)
what is BTS????

I think weekdays...…..

Berjaya times square my genius
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 3 2019, 03:50 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Feb 3 2019, 03:22 PM)
Berjaya times square my genius
Tq janitor....

I was talking abt sg wang not berjaya times square.
ManutdGiggs
post Feb 3 2019, 04:25 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 3 2019, 03:16 PM)

👇
👉what is BTS???? 👈. 
                    ☝️
I think weekdays...…..

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 3 2019, 03:50 PM)
Tq janitor....

🤔I was talking abt sg wang not berjaya times square.🤔
MonGJiHyo
post Feb 3 2019, 06:36 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Feb 3 2019, 01:22 AM)
i neva been to BTS for such a long time ever since that place is full of lala shoppers.. the last time I went there, it's totally a "cemetery" atmosphere starting from 5th floor onwards all the way to 10th floor.. except you see toto offices on upstairs.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Feb 3 2019, 04:25 PM)
sweat.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MonGJiHyo: Feb 3 2019, 06:37 PM
nexona88
post Feb 3 2019, 08:09 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Same here...
BTS or Sg Wang...
Both long time didn't go..
Not my type of place 😕😏

Any new stuff / attraction now 😑
Ckmwpy0370
post Feb 3 2019, 08:41 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 3 2019, 08:09 PM)
Same here...
BTS or Sg Wang...
Both long time didn't go..
Not my type of place 😕😏

Any new stuff  / attraction now 😑
i dun think so.
most of the consumers young generations preferable Mid Valley, 1U or Pyramid as after shopping can go for watch movies
Sungai Wang/Time Square tak ada!
Ckmwpy0370
post Feb 3 2019, 08:42 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Feb 3 2019, 02:53 PM)
I went to BTS for the past 5 weekends(afternoon-evening), observe super mixture of diverse cultures  of lala groups...
BTS? was thought Bandar Tasik Selatan biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
leodinouknow
post Feb 3 2019, 09:15 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Feb 3 2019, 09:41 PM)
i dun think so.
most of the consumers young generations preferable Mid Valley, 1U or Pyramid as after shopping can go for watch movies
times square ada cinema loh
Jagalat
post Feb 3 2019, 11:00 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Feb 3 2019, 09:42 PM)
BTS? was thought Bandar Tasik Selatan  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Luckily not the Korean group....
Try visiting L4 to MakD level, you will be "amazed"...
nexona88
post Feb 4 2019, 10:35 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Feb 3 2019, 08:41 PM)
i dun think so.
QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Feb 3 2019, 09:15 PM)
times square ada cinema loh
Yeah. BTS have GSC 👍..
But the place lack the the X factor to attract people 😬
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 4 2019, 12:16 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 10:35 AM)
Yeah. BTS have GSC 👍..
But the place lack the the X factor to attract people 😬
if you view those self made travel KUL YouTube video, especially by westerners, more likely or not, they will intro KLCC (as iconic buildings) and BTS (in door themepark) and Pavilion BB. almost none of them will feature midvalley, 1U and Sunway Pyramid.
nexona88
post Feb 4 2019, 02:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 4 2019, 12:16 PM)
if you view those self made travel KUL YouTube video, especially by westerners, more likely or not, they will intro KLCC (as iconic buildings) and BTS (in door themepark) and Pavilion BB. almost none of them will feature midvalley, 1U and Sunway Pyramid.
Yet u see those place (bold) full with people during weekends whistling.gif how? Magic 😑
ManutdGiggs
post Feb 4 2019, 02:05 PM

13,761 posts

Many travellers dun bother to explore places other than tourist spots.

Not many ll b able to allocate time to travel far away fr tourist spots. Money is 1 thg. Time is another.

It's too commercial. But again noone can say no to dao dao.
mini orchard
post Feb 4 2019, 02:07 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 02:01 PM)
Yet u see those place (bold) full with people during weekends whistling.gif how? Magic 😑
Major shareholder ma.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 4 2019, 02:07 PM
leodinouknow
post Feb 4 2019, 05:19 PM

990 posts

nobody intro those area to foreigner lo. so only local go there.
nexona88
post Feb 4 2019, 05:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Feb 4 2019, 05:19 PM)
nobody intro those area to foreigner lo. so only local go there.
google info all in fingertips cool2.gif
that what I do if visit any others countries..
MonGJiHyo
post Feb 4 2019, 06:45 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 02:01 PM)
people just love to go those (bold) place no matter how many amount of new malls opens.. hahaha
leodinouknow
post Feb 4 2019, 07:41 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 06:49 PM)
google info all in fingertips  cool2.gif
that what I do if visit any others countries..
lol you go other country, i believe you google tourist spot, tourist mall which represent the area or country. i believe 10mall, you wont visit all 10 in oversea ba? 😅
nexona88
post Feb 4 2019, 07:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Feb 4 2019, 06:45 PM)
people just love to go those (bold) place no matter how many amount of new malls opens.. hahaha
This I have to agree...
No matter how many malls open up... These always the top choice 👍👍
nexona88
post Feb 4 2019, 08:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Feb 4 2019, 07:41 PM)
lol you go other country, i believe you google tourist spot, tourist mall which represent the area or country. i believe 10mall, you wont visit all 10 in oversea ba? 😅
Hahaha..
Really hardcore visit 10 malls...
And I have to say.. The malls in KL is much better & more sophisticated 👍👍👍
leodinouknow
post Feb 4 2019, 08:20 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 09:01 PM)
Hahaha..
yeah maybe chose top3 favourite and interesting to you de based on google info.

indoor theme park at bts already lost it shine long long time ago, now popular is decoration each season like christmas, new year. congrat to 1U win top1 mall christmas deco 2018 👏👏
ManutdGiggs
post Feb 4 2019, 08:25 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 07:59 PM)
This I have to agree...
No matter how many malls open up... These always the top choice 👍👍
QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Feb 4 2019, 08:20 PM)

indoor theme park at bts already lost it shine long long time ago, now popular is decoration each season like christmas, new year. congrat to 1U win top1 mall christmas deco 2018 👏👏
Those shoppers in those bolded malls must hav missed the travel KUL YouTube video
nexona88
post Feb 4 2019, 08:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Feb 4 2019, 08:20 PM)

Well long time didn't go BTS..
Previous went to their indoor theme park... Okay... Now waiting for Genting one 😑
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 4 2019, 09:20 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 08:01 PM)
Hahaha..
You mist understand ppl from the west dont have the shopping culture in a big mall.

To them its haunting.

Shopping culture only happens in asia.

Interestingly even chinese hk taiwanese tourists also never really raved much abt malls in kul.....

Food yes.
nexona88
post Feb 5 2019, 10:37 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Asian love shopping malls..
For Malaysian.. Its free AC 😕
icemanfx
post Feb 5 2019, 10:59 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 5 2019, 10:37 AM)
Asian love shopping malls..
For Malaysian.. Its free AC 😕
Shopping mall is popular among those whose home is cramp and uncomfortable.
nexona88
post Feb 5 2019, 11:38 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 5 2019, 10:59 AM)
Shopping mall is popular among those whose home is cramp and uncomfortable.
What to do..
Nowadays house all small small size... To make it affordable...
Then breed like no tomorrow.. So only joy is visit malls...
MonGJiHyo
post Feb 5 2019, 10:55 PM

2,699 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2019, 08:32 PM)
Well long time didn't go BTS..
Previous went to their indoor theme park... Okay... Now waiting for Genting one 😑
aside from indoor theme park.. nothing really attracts me to go BTS.. sweat.gif
nexona88
post Feb 6 2019, 02:46 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(MonGJiHyo @ Feb 5 2019, 10:55 PM)
aside from indoor theme park.. nothing really attracts me to go BTS.. sweat.gif
Hehehehe..
Many choice available...
Why needed to BTS 😑
Ckmwpy0370
post Dec 24 2019, 01:33 PM

3,821 posts

New indoor theme park at Jumpa Annex in Sungei Wang Plaza

https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/travel...door-theme-park
Johnsmith1175
post Dec 24 2019, 02:01 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Dec 24 2019, 01:33 PM)

It looks strange to me to have this kind of theme park in the middle of city.. also not many local stay nearby. Will tourist go pay money and play? Even in New Zealand the land of all kind of extreme games also doesn't have this kind of activity in the Wellington City. Not sure this really works or not.

With sungai wang theme park concept, any successful example with this kind of theme park in the city?

Around sungaI wang area really only lowyat plaza doing well. Lot 10 is either you see it half alive or half dead. Mainly cater for Japanese goods and foods.

BTS is really a place for people to get cheap goods till today many tourists love to go there and lalaport gonna open in few years time. Down the road got kenangan mall butik wholesale center.

Ckmwpy0370
post Dec 24 2019, 02:28 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Johnsmith1175 @ Dec 24 2019, 02:01 PM)
It looks strange to me to have this kind of theme park in the middle of city.. also not many local stay nearby. Will tourist go pay money and play? Even in New Zealand the land of all kind of extreme games also doesn't have this kind of activity in the Wellington City. Not sure this really works or not.

With sungai wang theme park concept, any successful example with this kind of theme park in the city?

Around sungaI wang area really only lowyat plaza doing well. Lot 10 is either you see it half alive or half dead. Mainly cater for Japanese goods and foods.

BTS is really a place for people to get cheap goods till today many tourists love to go there and lalaport gonna open in few years time. Down the road got kenangan mall butik wholesale center.
There was an indoor theme park in Yahoo mall quite some time, cannot sustain anyway.
But this new indoor theme park, have different, more towards adventures and excitement activities
hope this park can sustain n move forward otherwise another failure project

Xaser_3
post Dec 25 2019, 09:55 AM

10,536 posts

QUOTE(Johnsmith1175 @ Dec 24 2019, 02:01 PM)

You have very good points mentioned, most of them which flashed my mind whilst reading the star article.

I totally agree with you that this theme park would most like doom to fail. I remembered that BTS had a mini theme park inside as well. Not sure if it's still operating or not, since I haven't been there in years. Another mall to have a theme park inside is Sterling Mall in PJ. But there concept is slightly different because it more towards adventure style, coming from the company that built the Escape theme park in Penang.

Give it some time and wait and see the outcome for the theme park in Sungai Wang

icemanfx
post Dec 25 2019, 11:08 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Dec 24 2019, 01:33 PM)

Those go shopping is different profile/group from extreme sports. believe esports fit more to shoppers family/group.

Xaser_3
post Dec 25 2019, 11:11 AM

10,536 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 25 2019, 11:08 AM)
Those go shopping is different profile/group from extreme sports. believe esports fit more to shoppers family/group.
Believe me, if the rental wasn't an issue, they would consider having both without bleeding every month.
icemanfx
post Dec 25 2019, 11:12 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Dec 25 2019, 11:11 AM)
Believe me, if the rental wasn't an issue, they would consider having both without bleeding every month.
esports capex is much higher than extreme sports.
Zwean
post Dec 25 2019, 03:09 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 25 2019, 11:08 AM)
Its just like Camp 5 in 1 Utama.

Shoppers don't go there, climbing enthusiasts do.

Different target market.
icemanfx
post Dec 25 2019, 03:10 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Dec 25 2019, 03:09 PM)
Its just like Camp 5 in 1 Utama.

Shoppers don't go there, climbing enthusiasts do.

Different target market.
There is no doubt there will be some customers, the question is whether is financially feasible?
Zwean
post Dec 26 2019, 10:30 AM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 25 2019, 03:10 PM)
There is no doubt there will be some customers, the question is whether is financially feasible?
It is not our job to debate feasibility of the business.

If it is it will stay open, if it is not it will close down.

Only time will tell.
icemanfx
post Dec 26 2019, 10:55 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Dec 26 2019, 10:30 AM)
It is not our job to debate feasibility of the business.

If it is it will stay open, if it is not it will close down.

Only time will tell.
Forum is a place for debate and discussion.
Xaser_3
post Dec 30 2019, 10:03 AM

10,536 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 26 2019, 10:55 AM)
Forum is a place for debate and discussion.
I second this. Be nice and civilised to each other.

0.0892sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:53 PM